Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Brent Webb to wear the White V?!

Iafeta

Skinner said:
Iafeta, I am fine with Webby (and I think I called him Brett instead of Brent
earlier on - so apologies for that) playing number one for the Kiwis. The selector
should always pick the guy that he thinks is the very best for that particular
spot. If they think that Webby is the best fullback in this, or even outside, this
country then, they must stand or fall by that decision.

My thoughts are that there are better guys going around.

skinner

In honesty mate, I wish there were. Motu's playing centre for a poorly performed Castleford side and couldn't make the Broncos/Warriors first grade side consistently over the past year, Floyd can't make first grade squads and Karmichael Hunt has done the dirty on us. Hunt was the answer, but he's made his bed let him sleep in it. I believe they'll put Paul into hooker.

I don't want to mix and match and drop a non specialist into the position because I think both Vaeleki and Vagana have shown how much of a disaster that can turn into.

ozbash

(and I think I called him Brett instead of Brent
earlier on - so apologies for that)

his name is wibb, brunt wibb and if he ever wears a kiwi jersey i will dance nekkid in front of the main stand at nth harbour.

accy stanley

Well lucky you is all I can say to have Brent Webb on your team more power to the Aussies....... Don't you guys go saying about stealing talent from NZ at least he wasn't 12 when he left there :p

Skinner

ozbash said:

his name is wibb, brunt wibb and if he ever wears a kiwi jersey i will dance nekkid in front of the main stand at nth harbour.

Jaysus.....I can't wait....... :lol: :lol:

AliN

Skinner said:
ozbash said:

Jaysus.....I can't wait....... :lol: :lol:

haha, me neither..that'd get the crowd going for sure :shock:

As for Webb, he's definitelty not a test fullback, maybe another position, but not at fullback... please Ando!!

Iafeta

accy stanley said:
Well lucky you is all I can say to have Brent Webb on your team more power to the Aussies....... Don't you guys go saying about stealing talent from NZ at least he wasn't 12 when he left there :p

This is exactly the point New Zealand are making. If you can do it, we can do it also. Queensland have made no bones about the fact they want Webb and think highly of him, as much as its to fill Karmichael Hunt's fullback spot (A Kiwi taken from New Zealand with the lure of Origin), its to show that we are able to do it also. I just hope Webb scores a hat-trick to shut hypocrits like Gus Gould up.

dazza

ozbash said:

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Perenara

Brent Webb has had a patchy year but was one of our best last year. His last 2 games against Souths and Canberra have been excellent ... a reflection of the player power around him returning to full strength. He will consolidate my opinion with another strong performance this week with our best team fielded for many many rounds.

There are quite a few kiwis playing in Britain who could do the jersey justice - Lesley Vainikolo, Shontayne Hape, Tavita Vaikona, Joe Vagana, Logan Swann,
Motu Tony, Robbie Paul, Richard Swain, Willie Poching, Ali Laui'ti'i, David Solomona etc

Then in Aussie there is Alex Chan, David Kidwell, Stephen Kearney, Ruben Wiki, Paul Whatuira, Tony Puletua, Joe Galuvao, Frank Pritchard, Paul Rauhihi, George Carmont, Matt Utai, Nigel Vagana, Andrew Lomu, Sonny-Bill Williams, Hutch Maiava, Nathan Cayless and Jason Cayless.

Then of course from the Warriors we have Brent Webb, Stacey Jones , Awen Gutteinbeil, Louis Anderson, Jerry Seuseu, Sione Faumuina, Vinnie Anderson, Jerome Ropati, Francis Meli, Iafeta Palea'aesina, Lance Hohaia, Wairangi Koopu, Karl Temata, Monty Betham, Evarn Tuimarvarve, Epalahame Lauaki, Thomas Leuluai, Clinton Toopi, Henry Fa'afili and Tevita Latu.

Now, with a wealth of talent like this, you should be able to make up a fairly top level side.

This would be 17 plus 3 reserves.

1 Brent Webb
2 Lesley Vainikolo
3 Sonny-Bill Williams
4 Clinton Toopi
5 Francis Meli
6 Robbie Paul
7 Stacey Jones
8 Jason Cayless
9 Richard Swain
10 Paul Rauhihi
11 Ruben Wiki
12 Ali Lauititii
13 Tony Puletua

14 Vinnie Anderson
15 Iafeta Palea'aesina
16 Joe Galuvao
17 Sione Faumuina

18 Nigel Vagana
19 Nathan Cayless
20 Jerome Ropati

NZ Warrior

Just put anyone other than Nigel Vagana at fullback. I don't think he could have had a worse game than he did at the back that night.

I'd endorse Brent Webb in the #1 for the Kiwis.

ripper

Agreed, OzBash and CarlNZ who think that loading the Kiwis/Warriors with Bartercard Hacks is gonna suddenly make League More Popular in NZ

The Public of NZ will only support a league team if they win, and history has shown that the Warriors win, people like them, and when weve won, weve had Aussies leading the way

carlnz

ripper73 said:
Agreed, OzBash and CarlNZ who think that loading the Kiwis/Warriors with Bartercard Hacks is gonna suddenly make League More Popular in NZ

The Public of NZ will only support a league team if they win, and history has shown that the Warriors win, people like them, and when weve won, weve had Aussies leading the way

Where the hell did i say this?? I said their is heaps of talent in the Bartercard...some are better than Webb!!

Were do you think Sonny Bill Williams was playing before he signed for the Bulldogs?

There goes my point....people like you havent been to see these teams play so will not know whats coming through...

ripper

and why hasnt anyone seen these teams/players play? because its a competition which gets all the half decent players poached by NRL/Union leaving all the hacks behind.

Humphrey

kia ora storm said:
Brent Webb playing for NZ...my god we are not that desperate !!..

:roll: :roll: #-o

Apparently we are !! And Irene Van Dyke he's not :lol:

Guess Sel Pearson and the boyz at the the NZRL wont ever be able to winge about poaching again.. It will be the end of their argument once and for all

Iv got to agree with Accy Stanley too about the hippocrisy thats going on re Carmichael Hunt. 12 year old moves to Oz with his folks, callas Australia home and makes his name. Why shouldnt he represent Australia??

Conversely Brent Webb comes here for three years, cant even get a run in the State of Origin let alone Australia - and we want him to wear our silver fern. Give me a break!!!!!

Iafeta

Humphrey said:
kia ora storm said:
Brent Webb playing for NZ...my god we are not that desperate !!..

:roll: :roll: #-o

Apparently we are !! And Irene Van Dyke he's not :lol:

Guess Sel Pearson and the boyz at the the NZRL wont ever be able to winge about poaching again.. It will be the end of their argument once and for all

Iv got to agree with Accy Stanley too about the hippocrisy thats going on re Carmichael Hunt. 12 year old moves to Oz with his folks, callas Australia home and makes his name. Why shouldnt he represent Australia??

Conversely Brent Webb comes here for three years, cant even get a run in the State of Origin let alone Australia - and we want him to wear our silver fern. Give me a break!!!!!

Humphrey, you're joking? Hypocrisy? Give me a break. Its not limited to Karmichael Hunt who sounds as Kiwi as by the way, the accent is stronger than mine. Its a heck of a lot of players, the Thorns, the Carrolls, the attempt on Craig Smith - and then even further down. They were seriously courting Benji Marshall who's been in Australia what, 2/3 years at best? They were also after Sonny Bill Williams, same scenario same with Matt Utai and I believe they even made approaches to Roy Asotasi. Talk of freakin hypocrisy, Willie Mason played the Kiwis on a New Zealand passport!

For the tens of players its happened to, Sel Pearson and the NZRL wants to show that if its good for the goose, its good for the gander. Good on them. You can't compare one example to a locker full of examples. No way in the blue hell.

Humphrey

Im not backing the Aussies on this one mate. You raise good points BUT the hippocrisy I refer to will be if they (Pearson/NZRL et al) make any further claims against the Aussies pinching/approaching players once Webb has worn the Kiwi jersey. The cant beat them join them scenario will censor that #-o

And just as an aside - I dont think my fifty year old ears are failing me yet but Hunt with a Kiwi accent :roll:

Skinner

Well, it's done deal anyway. Fitness allowing, Webby will be wearing the Kiwi
jumper with the number 1 on the back.

Skinner

Skinner

ozbash said:

Hone up those dancing skills there MrBash. This is going to be better
than the test :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Skinner