Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Brian Smith Leaves Roosters

Slippery Morris

Come on Doust. Follow suit mate and sack our coach.

http://news.smh.com.au/breaking-new...h-to-exit-sydney-roosters-20120905-25drc.html

Brian Smith will not coach the Sydney Roosters next NRL season after the club announced he would leave by mutual consent.
The club's chairman Nick Politis and chief Executive Steve Noyce met with veteran mentor Smith on Wednesday before announcing the decision.
The Roosters, who will welcome dual international Sonny Bill Williams next season, are now on the lookout for a new coach.
Roosters chairman Nick Politis paid tribute to Smith's efforts at the club since joining from Newcastle in 2010, when he led the team to the grand final in his first season in charge.
Advertisement
"One of Brian's greatest strengths is developing young talent and he wholeheartedly embraced our strategic plan in relation to developing talented young players and he leaves the club in an extremely strong position in this area," Politis said.
"A man of strong values, Brian embraced the clubs values honesty, respect, self-control, pride in the Roosters jersey and leaves behind a strong culture that will continue to grow moving forward."
The Roosters were Smith's fifth NRL club since he commenced his head coaching career with Illawarra in 1984.
The club said it would make a decision on a future coaching appointment "in the foreseeable future".

Owen Da Saints

Come on Doust. Follow suit mate and sack our coach.

http://news.smh.com.au/breaking-new...h-to-exit-sydney-roosters-20120905-25drc.html

Brian Smith will not coach the Sydney Roosters next NRL season after the club announced he would leave by mutual consent.
The club's chairman Nick Politis and chief Executive Steve Noyce met with veteran mentor Smith on Wednesday before announcing the decision.
The Roosters, who will welcome dual international Sonny Bill Williams next season, are now on the lookout for a new coach.
Roosters chairman Nick Politis paid tribute to Smith's efforts at the club since joining from Newcastle in 2010, when he led the team to the grand final in his first season in charge.
Advertisement
"One of Brian's greatest strengths is developing young talent and he wholeheartedly embraced our strategic plan in relation to developing talented young players and he leaves the club in an extremely strong position in this area," Politis said.
"A man of strong values, Brian embraced the clubs values honesty, respect, self-control, pride in the Roosters jersey and leaves behind a strong culture that will continue to grow moving forward."
The Roosters were Smith's fifth NRL club since he commenced his head coaching career with Illawarra in 1984.
The club said it would make a decision on a future coaching appointment "in the foreseeable future".

It will also be interesting to see who they replace him with, when you consider all the talk about them making a play for Bellamy for 2014 !
I reckon they will promote from within (Taylor, Elloitt) for 2013.
I also think that was their way of keeping Mitchell Pearce !

Wobbygong

I would take him any day over Price.
I'd take Paul McGregor over Price lol, I am scared that may become a reality lol

Come on we all know the person has to have some former affiliation with the club, that Bennett era was just too crazy and outside the box type thinking and as you will attest we only had a modicum of success during his time.

TheRev

its a little scary because you would assume he has left with another job in mind.. but Smith has pretty much been everywhere now.. and failed each time >.>

Mr Red

its a little scary because you would assume he has left with another job in mind.. but Smith has pretty much been everywhere now.. and failed each time >.>

well Smith has coached Stgeorge and Illawarra, so maybe he wants the trifecta and coach Stgeorge-Illawarra :(

Godz Illa

I'd take Paul McGregor over Price lol, I am scared that may become a reality lol

Come on we all know the person has to have some former affiliation with the club, that Bennett era was just too crazy and outside the box type thinking and as you will attest we only had a modicum of success during his time.
Your dual personae of aggressive pessimism and passive-aggressive sarcasm is twisting around on itself. Pick one per post pls

jenninga

I would take him any day over Price.
Even though Smith has never won a comp,i have always rated him.He has always made an impact with every club he has coached.Not only taking 3 clubs to the GF but also making the big calls at the Knights making them competitive again..May be a roughy for the Warriors gig though,just a hunch only my opinion .

namecaps

It is a pity Price was not off to the warriors and maybe take doust with him as doust has done some good things but seems to take the easy way out on important decisions like when he made his mate Brown coach when the dragons had most of the Australian side playing for them a decent coach would have got at least one premiership with that team and then he follows up one of the nrls best coaches [Bennet] with his [never before coached a first grade] under study Price when all other nrl clubs are signing top coaches which attract top players the dragons have made an attempt to buy just about every good player that has come on the market but no top players want to play under Price and until Doust does the right thing by the club and signs a decent first grade coach no one of note will sign, we have lost Gasnier, Smith, Costigan, Byod, Scott and Young ret. Hornby ret, and have only been able to sign a few ordinary players no big name first grade players.
It is going to be another long season in 2013.:(

Mr Red

It is a pity Price was not off to the warriors and maybe take doust with him as doust has done some good things but seems to take the easy way out on important decisions like when he made his mate Brown coach when the dragons had most of the Australian side playing for them a decent coach would have got at least one premiership with that team and then he follows up one of the nrls best coaches [Bennet] with his [never before coached a first grade] under study Price when all other nrl clubs are signing top coaches which attract top players the dragons have made an attempt to buy just about every good player that has come on the market but no top players want to play under Price and until Doust does the right thing by the club and signs a decent first grade coach no one of note will sign, we have lost Gasnier, Smith, Costigan, Byod, Scott and Young ret. Hornby ret, and have only been able to sign a few ordinary players no big name first grade players.
It is going to be another long season in 2013.:(

where is possm....

Fire

Can't wait until our 2013 season rolls around and we start killing it. At least it shut all the soft merkins and Price haters up.

Smith will probably go to NZ. He seems to go well for the first couple of years and then ends up in conflict e.g. Eels, Kights and Roosters.

64 Dragon

Hey namecaps, have you ever heard of commas, full stops and paragraphs? You need them if you want others to read your posts and make sense of them!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Dragons with a capital D, always.

Smith will probably go to NZ. He seems to go well for the first couple of years and then ends up in conflict e.g. Eels, Kights and Roosters.

Similar pattern with the Dragons as well:
1991: just missed the finals
92 & 93: made the GF
94: missed the finals and suffered our worst ever loss at that time (61-0 to Manly)
95: out in week one of the finals.

He just seems to peak too early. Good news though, I hear there's a nasal delivery treatment now readily available. Wonder if he's tried it?

Slippery Morris

I would love him back at the Dragons. A brilliant coach. Ask Hindmarsh who has been coached by him and he will tell you. He would be ideal for the Dragons as they are the type of playing group that would excel under him. In other words no superstars who think they know it all to cause friction at the club like he probably had at the Chooks with Anasta, Pearce etc.

I broke that story out ages ago as I heard Politis wanted him gone and what he wants he gets. Smithy wanted Perrett and Anasta to stay and Politis wanted them gone. From there it was downhill.

Smithy would still be the Dragons coach and they would have won some more premierships but he left cause there were rumours Saints were merging with the Chooks and that Gould was taking over. He was not sacked from Saints he left cause he felt unwanted. Got Saints to 2 Grand Finals in his first 2 years, can't be that bad. They were great years appart from the Grand Final. Saints were playing well and a joy to watch. NOt like know. They are terrible to watch. Thanks Pricey....