Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Brian Smith on the radio...

Cayless off the bench only, 15 minute bursts, probably in the Tsoulos spot.

PJ's injury should still leave some uncertainty about whether a coach pins his main strike halfback hopes on him, if he even ends up coming to Parra. Therefore Witt has to be the first choice answer at 7, and has to be given the confidence by the coach to know that he is throughout the off season.

I hope this isn't Smith playing mindgames with the guy, as whatever he may have tried during last off-season obviously had a detrimental effect on Witt's play.

Misty Bee

Smith is a dead set idiot. He has given Witt 2 chances this year - ie the only first grade games he has played with a 5/8. And, we won both. Smith might not rate the sides, but without a proper scrumbase partnership, both teams beat us. Makes you wonder how high we would have been if Smith didn't balls up the scrumbase all season!

I don't think Witt will be the next all time great that some seem to predict. However, he IS our best halfback at present. MArsh? Well, if Smith uses him at half, he needs a shovel across the back of the head. When was the last time PJ MArsh wore a 7 shirt?

If he wanted a half, he should have bought a half. Orford, Firman, Head, McLinden, Johns - they all negotiated contracts in 2004.

Although Witt has played ok in the last 2 games, I still have my concerns about his game. I believe that our answer to the halfback issue is in the lower grades, but we will have to wait till they step up. Hopefully TimSmith will be putting some pressure on Witt next year.

Avenger said:
Smith was also asked about the halves for next year. In regards to Dykes he basically said that he had to go as he did not spend enough time on the field. He described Thorman as a fair player who chose to go back home. He said that Witt would be in there somewhere, however he still was not sure if he was the answer as our long tem halfback. He stated that he would need to lift more against the big teams. Reading between the lines I would say that he thinks its easy to have a big game against teams out of form like the Warriors last week and say the Souths game last year. He said that he was a very good goalkicker and kicker in general play. I personally think that Smith does not rate him as a halfback and next year there will be another player in that position. I think that player may be PJ Marsh, let me rephrase that, I'm almost certain it will be Marsh.

Well of course he won't lift yet Brian - he's young and he never gets a fair go!

Would you call the game against the Roosters lifting? Fair dinkum most of our tries came off his boots!

I really rate the guy - I wonder why Brian doesn't?

Oh that's right - he rates people like Dykes and Thorman as great halfbacks.

fish eel

Witt needs to step up over the next two weeks, and perform against quality sides.

I know he did well last year for a kid when he came in to the side, but there were games where he went missing and was just a passenger....in fact once Dykes came back into the side, there were a couple of matches where he was such a passenger and so ineffectual that he got interchanged.

The kid has a great opportunity over the next two weeks, I hope he really steps up...just not sure he has it in him, but I'll be cheering for him anyway.

True EEL

perhaps Witt does need to step up a little in the last two games against Penrith and Roosters and perhaps he does need to concentrate on staying with it in the back half of games.......

but fair dinkum, this "kid" - i stress "kid" must think he ran over a china man, with BS making such comments about him as soon as he has any success??? instead of backing him and supporting him and instilling some confidence in him

BS is out to ruin another career here and another Parramatta career at that - mark my words - i reckon he just doens't like Witt or there has been a falling out since last year when he thought he was the best thing since sliced bread

he will be brushed next year for someone else in the halves, you can see that in his comments - don't get me worng, if it is PJ Marsh, well maybe i can cope with it, but i think Witt deserves a fair chance and he won't get it being kept in reserve grade and used in the back half of the year when the season is over

giev the guy a chance BS - a fair chance.......................... :evil:

William Hung

Hey True Eel- do you know Michael Witt??? Didn't think so. Fact is Brian Smith does- and maybe he is the type of kid who reads his own headlines- maybe he's the type of kid who looses focus easily- maybe he is the type of kid who doesn't always put in the extra yards.

Ever thought that maybe Brian is trying to give Michael the message that if he doesn't work hard on improving his deficiencies he won't cut it in first grade.

How you can say Brian doesn't like him and is out to ruin his career is beyond me. Then again you were sticking up for Jamie Lyon over BS and shot down his comments about 'owing the Warriors one'. Seriously dude- you're blinded by your dislike for the bloke.

True EEL

William Hung.....

ok, i'll concede that "trying to ruin his career" may have been a tad strong and over the top, but i get so frustrated by BS's hot and cold attitude to some players and his will to stick by others no matter what

and William do you know Michael Witt or Brian Smith. No. I didn't think so.

Maybe BS "is" the type of guy who gets a bit of a set on people or players at his club and wants everything run his way - and ok i don't know BS, but i have been told by people close to Jamie Lyon that BS and his "coaching" methods and retention and recruitment policies played a big part in Jamie Lyon leaving Parramatta and some of those people even summed it up by saying that...."in general BS is just not a very nice bloke from all accounts"

there are you happy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

i just don't think Witt has been given a fair run and it sounds like he won't be again next year, which will make it two years in a row that he has finished a year as Parra's incumbent halfback and then gets brushed at the start of the following year (if this happens next year)

i'm not blinded by hatred for BS, i'm blinded by wanting the best for my team - the Parramatta EELS and i don't think BS has got what it takes to deliver the best - thats my opinion - so either let me have or stick it up you arrogant arse

True EEL

ever thought that BS gave him that message for rumoured poor attitude early in the year and that is why he brushed him to reserve grade????

ok fine - but leave it at that

don't come out and bag your halfback after two fine performances - support him and definitely don't bring up crap about "oh he was in a lot of trouble from all of us about THAT charge down against the Sharks" from a game ago in a press conference about another game.......big deal he got a kick charged down - gee no other halfback in the history of the game has had a kick charged down????? :evil:

True EEL

and on the information i have about the JL thing i'll continue to stick up for him - to a degree - if you bothered to read many of my posts about the situation lately - i have been quite critical of Lyon for how he has handleds things of late

but then again i haven't sunk to a level where i have to use personal and hateful remarks and namecalling about him to get my point accross, similarly i don't do that about BS when expressing my opinion of him

William Hung

I don't really care what you think mate.

I'll leave you with this though

:Maybe BS "is" the type of guy who gets a bit of a set on people or players at his club and wants everything run his way "

Name me one coach who doesn't. If I was BS i'd clear all those who don't want to play by my way out the door (I wouldn't give a shit who it was) and i'd build a team who wanted to do things my way. I'll think you'll find the disciplined, professional, enthusiastic blokes who always give 100% both at training and on game day are the ones who'll want to give your way a go anyway.

Sure- support the halfback after 2 fine performances- but also support the coach ;-)

True EEL

i know you don't care what i think, because your only interested in what spews out of your own mouth and mind......

so good luck with all of that William????

and no, good coaches welcome the thoughts of senior players and star players and makes compromises and incorporate suggestions......are you trying to tell me that if Brad Fittler or Darren Lockyer or Andrew Johns didn't like soemthing or had a suggestion to make about the team or playing style that Stuart, Bennet and Hagan (respectively) would tell them to go F@#k themselves and we'll do it my way????

i don't think so............

and how come a guy like Steve Folkes can keep the Bulldogs at a consistently high level on the field - when things are consistently falling apart all around them off the field and threough injuries and rep football????

answer - he is a good coach who can spot and work with good talent and commands the respect of his players

The Godfather

Does anyone ( apart from Brian Smith ) prefer Daniel Wagon in the halves to Michael Witt ???

Is it a co-incidence that we have scored 40+ points in our last 2 games when Wagon was moved into the pack ?

Maybe it's taken Smithy 23 rounds to work that out, but if he let's Wags ANYWHERE near the backs next season, nothing has been learnt.

Misty Bee

True Eel, love your sentiments, especially re Lyon. He never deserved the shit he copped from some so called fans. Especially the ones who still support Smith!

I, too, am baffled by Smith's remarks re Witt. Earlier in the year, Witt was stuck in the reggies, and Smith reckoned that he was our long term halfback. And Parra lost games.

Now we are winning. The main reason is that we have a half (Witt) and 5/8 (Thorman) who is firing. And Smith reckons Witt is not the answer any more. So lets recap on Brian Smith's scrumbase analysis for 2004.

MICHAEL WITT - potential long term Eel halfback, untill he gets in first grade, pilots the team around to score 90 points in 160 minutes, now he's no good.

CHRIS THORMAN - 'We wanted to keep him" says Brian, as he makes Pearson halfback over Thorman. So Thorman, wisely, moves to distance himself from this strange club, and as soon as the Huddersfield Contract ink is dry, he FINALLY gets the gig at 5/8 in firsts. And plays well.

ADAM DYKES - our standout player for the first 10 or so rounds, despite being inexplicably dropped and benched for a few matches. Decides that Cronulla don't do stupid things like that, and leaves.

DANIEL WAGON. Cannot pass. Cannot kick. Cannot run. BUt at least we have a 5/8 who can make 50 tackles. This pleases Smith, as the skills that made great 5/8s like Kenny, Lewis, Daley, Fittler et al are not really needed. Wagon is constantly given the job. Yet the other halves pay the price!

So, Smith loves it when our attack falters, and hates it when we score points. Hence, the pinnacle of his coaching career, the crisp, exciting Pearson/Wagon scrumbase combo v Wests!

Geez, William, I don't know what goes through your scone at times, to support a lunatuc like that!

William Hung

I support whoever is working hard to get us back to the top. I'm not saying he's the man for the job necessarily- but whilst he's there i'll live with what he does.

TrueEel- i'm not saying players can't make decisions- but at the end of the day Brian has to prepare them to make the best decisions they can- sure, give advice, and i'm sure Brian is willing to listen. You must be listening to Hadley too much.

I don't know Brian- I do know someone playing under him and trust me, players are allowed to suggest things and try different things on the field.

True EEL

well William you must care after all and you have certainly backed down from "i'd get rid of everyone who didn't want to do everything my way" sentiments????

and no i haven't been listening to Hadley too much - i have just seen and heard a lot of things at Parra over the last 3-4 years with my eyes and ears (and my mind) wide open and can see what is going on

but by the same token, you have your view and so be it, just let me ahve mine and don't slander me and abuse me in the process

and Misty.....thanks and good to know that someone is listening and can see the problems and is willing to put their hand up and say the same things even when we are winning - its easy to say BS is no good when we are losing - but its hard to have the guts to stick by your convictions when we start winning again

and all of the points you brought up Misty are spot on - BS just flip flops all the time over what he thinks is best or the players he thinks are good and bad and he does seem to have something against Michael Witt even though he dubbed him "our best long term half option" and signed him for 4 years just last year

and he loved Dykes and now he's on the outer as well????

and some good calls there too Godfather

GAME FIRST

William Hung said:
I support whoever is working hard to get us back to the top. I'm not saying he's the man for the job necessarily- but whilst he's there i'll live with what he does.

TrueEel- i'm not saying players can't make decisions- but at the end of the day Brian has to prepare them to make the best decisions they can- sure, give advice, and i'm sure Brian is willing to listen. You must be listening to Hadley too much.

I don't know Brian- I do know someone playing under him and trust me, players are allowed to suggest things and try different things on the field.

You are a big clown Hungy- Smithy is so structured even Dykes in this weeks big league openly expresses it and says he found it too hard to adjust after he won the Dally M 5/8 of the year before he came over!

He is a class player but could not play under HIS STRUCTURE!

He is not the first and the last class player that sees this as Smithys downfall- his teams dont adjust nor have enough creativity to adopt to a game where their structure isnt relevant - but Brian believes in it so much he doesnt want them changing it under any situation!

And Hungy that is a fact my poor little fool! 8) 8) :) :)

Witt's test will come this week, and next. It's true, you have to dominate a top side before you can begin to claim the 7 as your own. Witt hasn't really done this. But, he has last year's Grand Finalists ahead of him in the next fortnight and victory means a spot in the finals.

Let's see what Witt brings to the table this week, and then judge whether Smith's comments were inaccurate or not. I, for one, would love to see Witty prove Smith wrong, because as I said, if he does this we make the finals :)

I hope Witt is the one too, but my gut unfortunately tells me he is not. I hope I'm wrong.