Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Brian's last chance.

PB

junior009 said:
I have a feeling we might see JT as our next head coach. They seem to be grooming him for the job.

Possibly. But i would have thought if they were doing that, they would have given him the vacated Premier League job this year.

bartman said:
I trust Pazza meant DANIEL Anderson?? Not Chris, anything but Chris... #-o

Top four must be the goal for this season - let's see how we go, and deal with the blame games later (if at all).

The talk up here is that Chris Anderson will be coaching the new Gold Caost Team, next year.

You heard it here first.

The Worm

My apologies to those who are fed up with this topic. I personally will not let it rest until there is a resolution.

There has been a resolution. Alan Overton has said that he stands behind 100% for this season. :roll:

The Worm

That's not a resolution. It's just something executive board type people say to shut up people like me.

Seems to have had the desired effect on you.

Whichever way you look at it Brian will be coach for 2004 so I would have thought that was pretty close to a resolution.

If we get to Round 6 and we have a full squad and we haven't won a game well go for your life. I'd rather wait until the season starts before I condemn someone....

Misty Bee

True, you won't hear any condemnation from anyone here. However, his results had better be bloody spectacular by October for me to call for his retention.

Nice to see HJ has already got the excuse book ready!

Mate, I'm not about to say that his job is easy.

But if we don't get results this year - POSITIVE results -, I'll be condemning him.

He has, after all, been with us for 7 years no?

Misty Bee

I'd say he needs to win a premiership to sabve his job.

Say we made the GF again, and lost. After 8 years, is that good enough?

My ultimate hope is that Smithy DOES win that premiership, and a long carer at Parramatta sees him fulfiling his potential,and taking his place next to Big Jack as multiple eel premiership winning coaches.

Misty Bee said:
Nice to see HJ has already got the excuse book ready!

Don't think injury is an excuse..it's a reason and there are differences between the two. We have paid good money to develop and keep the likes of Burt, Hindy and Caylo for good reason - they are the players that can win Premierships. Yet last year out of a possible 72 games between them, they played 20! 20 for God's sake! And the second half of 02 was no different, with those key players missing games. How do you expect a team to win when their captain, best forward and utility back don't get on the field? Some people just wanna complain......

Anyways, I thought I said only last 4 standing was acceptable....... Go figure?

The Worm said:
That's not a resolution. It's just something executive board type people say to shut up people like me.

Seems to have had the desired effect on you.

If Ovo says it, you can put your house on it. If Ovo says Smithy is backed til the end of this year, then he won't be going anywhere even if he loses every single game. Ovo is the most honest bloke in the universe, possibly even more honest than me *shock*horror*

Misty Bee

Yeah, HJ, and Hindy and Cayless were on the field whenEasts flogged 'em,and Melboring flogged 'em,and Penrith flogged 'em. That's why we have a BENCH, to replace injured players.

Some valid points Hollywood.

However, I am not happy with the club's First Grade progress since Brian Smith was appointed head coach. Don't ge me wrong - I love the bloke and respect him very much. But as far as I am concerned, he needs to be looking at winning the Premiership every year.

Some people argue that he is building the club's future. Fair dinkum, but his job is to win as many Premierships as possible while he is coach. And by 'building' the team, whilst in the long run effective, he is wasting short-term time.

For example, in most other sports the coaches do their best to win the trophy every year - that is their job. If they can't do it within an allotted period of time, they are sacked or suspended.

I am not saying sack Brian Smith - the 2004 season hasn't even kicked off yet. What I am saying is if he wants to keep his job, he should change his strategy a little.

Eelementary said:
What I am saying is if he wants to keep his job, he should change his strategy a little.

I also think he should change his strategy. Whoever said he overcoaches sometimes could be right. I reckon more beer, less yappin in the ear!

Well, I do agree that more actions are required and less yappin'.

I mean, Brian is a smart man with a smart footballing brain. And as most know I am a Wags fan when he is fit. However, for most of 2003 he was not fit and should not have been played.

I am afraid these sorts of 'favouratism' decisions could be detrimental to the club's Premiership chances.

Misty Bee said:
Yeah, HJ, and Hindy and Cayless were on the field whenEasts flogged 'em,and Melboring flogged 'em,and Penrith flogged 'em. That's why we have a BENCH, to replace injured players.

How long did Hindy last against Easts? And I'd say we weren't actually flogged. Beaten, for sure, but not a flogging like Melbourne.

As for the Storm, Caylo should never have played that game. I knew he was coming back a week too early and it was easy to tell.

Can you honestly say that with Hindy for the whole year we wouldn't have been a Top 4 Club? How many games did we lose by 6 or less? Sheesh

The Godfather

Hollywood Jesus said:
Misty Bee said:
Can you honestly say that with Hindy for the whole year we wouldn't have been a Top 4 Club? How many games did we lose by 6 or less? Sheesh

Yup - we would maybe have just scrapped into the 8 like we did in 2002 when we had Nathan. Looking back now, the only thing that really prevented 2002 from being a disaster was that Hindmarsh was not injured.

And those close games we won (Auckland, Cowboys, Broncos) ?

Misty Bee

I still find it funny how we can blame a 50 point flogging on "Cayless coming back a week early".And losing Hindmarsh meant many games lost, despite the presence of everyone else (Bar Cayless and Burt).

This is an old argument. BUt if you are saying that with Hindy fully fit, we might have slipped into the 8? Well, what then prevented us from winiing the minor premiership? Other factors maybe? Like poor coaching and poor player performances?

GoParra

LOL I can't believe this old subject is getting another thrashing even before the season has kicked off, It's a new year, a new season, a whole lot of new faces and most importantly hopefully we will (for the first time in a while) have a relatively injury free year and see what we can achieve.