Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Brisbane Jets

MugaB

I was responding to the post about the Bombers having a 1940s Americana vibe. I find North American brands boring. They're either really snobby really cartoonish.

We're a more laidback country with a cheeky sense of humour. A brand that reflects that would appeal to a wider range ot people and be unique.
Who are the Bombers in america?

The Bombers' logo had an American WWII propaganda feel to it with the stars and stripes. It looked like the sort of logo you would pin on a military team and have boring military music playing in the background as the team runs onto the field.

MugaB

The Bombers' logo had an American WWII propaganda feel to it with the stars and stripes.
Its just wings and two stars, i dont see stripes

Ive always like the logo, just not the mascot name, Jets are more suitable name for this bid, infinitly much better than the bombers

Hello, I'm The Doctor

Took me longer than i thought the font is weird and hard to alter, but i reckon for a few hours work it will do for a mock up, theres some rough edges
View attachment 47321
@The Mad Hatter @Hello, I'm The Doctor

https://ibb.co/9tk929N

Good job!!!

The obvious problem is that “Jets” (the word) is a fair bit shorter than “Bombers”, meaning that is too tall and not wide enough to suit the logo.

Maybe “Brisbane Jets” all together would fix it (although that might be too far the other way. Hell, maybe i am just used to the other...

MugaB

Good job!!!

The obvious problem is that “Jets” (the word) is a fair bit shorter than “Bombers”, meaning that is too tall and not wide enough to suit the logo.

Maybe “Brisbane Jets” all together would fix it (although that might be too far the other way. Hell, maybe i am just used to the other...
I was actually thinking before i started on it to replace "Bombers" with the word Brisbane, and have a cursive original broncos style text like "jets" beneath it... that would dredge up memories of old logos

Screenshot_20210407-170039_Samsung Internet.jpg

They actually had this text on the bronx training jersey recently

Hello, I'm The Doctor

Queensland already has 3 teams using American brands. We don't need a fourth. Give it a local brand and it'll differentiate it from the others

I didnt mean “American brands”, like copying the NFL logos. I meant “Americana”, that idealised 1940s&50s era (think, that first Captain America movie set in WW2)...

That would be SUPER appreciate for Australia as that is basically the John Howard version on history; “the 1940s and 50s under Menzies the Great and our wonderful American leaders was the perfect Australian era and we should do whatever we can to get back to that simpler time...”

I dont agree with that telling of history, but it is widely accepted and admittedly a lot of fun.

That seemed to be the vibe the Bomber were originally going for...
148041-brisbane-bombers.jpg

I didnt mean “American brands”, like copying the NFL logos. I meant “Americana”, that idealised 1940s&50s era (think, that first Captain America movie set in WW2)...

That would be SUPER appreciate for Australia as that is basically the John Howard version on history; “the 1940s and 50s under Menzies the Great and our wonderful American leaders was the perfect Australian era and we should do whatever we can to get back to that simpler time...”

I dont agree with that telling of history, but it is widely accepted and admittedly a lot of fun.

That seemed to be the vibe the Bomber were originally going for...
148041-brisbane-bombers.jpg
I see. It would definitely help separate the club from the existing brands in Queensland. Whichever bid is given the licence needs to stand out so it can be noticed.

Hello, I'm The Doctor

I see. It would definitely help separate the club from the existing brands in Queensland. Whichever bid is given the licence needs to stand out so it can be noticed.

I think it goes beyond differentiation. I think you also need to consider the dumb bits of branding and fan culture that the club will develop across the years...

Compare the Raiders with the Titans (both relatively new teams with humanoid mascots, yet dramatically different result re: branding)

Raiders were able to broaden from the Viking imagery to include horn beanies, the viking clap, the horn. It also plays perfectly into the metaphor of the team of outsiders "raiding" the Sydney competition. That isnt even mentioning the "Green Machine" stuff. Great branding!!!

Titans (a decent name) gave us a logo consisting of an indistinct helmet and crappy swords. The didnt lean into any kind of mythological story, they didnt create a story about "the great RL players were titans of the game", they didnt give us any wider context for calling themselves "Titans". That is why their merch branding has nevr gone beyond the literal logo. They did try to make themselves the "beach" team (like Manly, Cronulla, Easts), but what possible metaphorical story links "cartoon soldier" with the "beach". Bad branding...

The Brisbane Jets (instead of limiting themselves to aeroplane stuff) can widen their imagery to nostalgia for early Australian Federation, The Bob Menzies Era and the childhood of the Baby Boomers. For lack of a better word, Americana....

I think it goes beyond differentiation. I think you also need to consider the dumb bits of branding and fan culture that the club will develop across the years...

Compare the Raiders with the Titans (both relatively new teams with humanoid mascots, yet dramatically different result re: branding)

Raiders were able to broaden from the Viking imagery to include horn beanies, the viking clap, the horn. It also plays perfectly into the metaphor of the team of outsiders "raiding" the Sydney competition. That isnt even mentioning the "Green Machine" stuff. Great branding!!!

Titans (a decent name) gave us a logo consisting of an indistinct helmet and crappy swords. The didnt lean into any kind of mythological story, they didnt create a story about "the great RL players were titans of the game", they didnt give us any wider context for calling themselves "Titans". That is why their merch branding has nevr gone beyond the literal logo. They did try to make themselves the "beach" team (like Manly, Cronulla, Easts), but what possible metaphorical story links "cartoon soldier" with the "beach". Bad branding...

The Brisbane Jets (instead of limiting themselves to aeroplane stuff) can widen their imagery to nostalgia for early Australian Federation, The Bob Menzies Era and the childhood of the Baby Boomers. For lack of a better word, Americana....
Great post. Titans should team up with the Fortitude Valley Diehards. Create a logo of a gladiator, similar to the one used by Valleys but modernised, and link the clubs together to extend their reach into Brisbane. Valleys and Tweed Heads Seagulls merged in 1988 and won the Woolies Pre Season Cup and Winfield Cup.

Maybe the 2nd Brisbane club could brand themselves after Sir Johanes Bjelke-Petersen to evoke the "us vs them" mentality of Queenslanders. He's a very popular character up here, despite being dead for over 15 years. People remember him for putting Queensland on the map by bringing Expo to Brisbane and snatching Movie World away from Sydney. South Queensland would be a good name for a team based around Sir Joh.

Hello, I'm The Doctor

Great post. Titans should team up with the Fortitude Valley Diehards. Create a logo of a gladiator, similar to the one used by Valleys but modernised, and link the clubs together to extend their reach into Brisbane. Valleys and Tweed Heads Seagulls merged in 1988 and won the Woolies Pre Season Cup and Winfield Cup.

Id be more inclined for GC to "renew" their logo by referencing back to the original Giants logos...

160px-Gold_Coast-Tweed_Giants_logo.jpg
images

Dont touch the name (Titans is still good), dont touch the colour or the jersey (the 2021 strip is perfect!!).

Just give us a logo that has a bit of meaning.....

Maybe the 2nd Brisbane club could brand themselves after Sir Johanes Bjelke-Petersen to evoke the "us vs them" mentality of Queenslanders. He's a very popular character up here, despite being dead for over 15 years. People remember him for putting Queensland on the map by bringing Expo to Brisbane and snatching Movie World away from Sydney. South Queensland would be a good name for a team based around Sir Joh.

Hahaha, maybe.....

Id love to see one call the "Brisbane Queenslanders" with a cartoon of this mad f*cker as the logo

mooreb-qld-14052809.jpg

"QUEENSLANDER!!!!"

MugaB

Id be more inclined for GC to "renew" their logo by referencing back to the original Giants logos...

images

Dont touch the name (Titans is still good), dont touch the colour or the jersey (the 2021 strip is perfect!!).

Hahaha, maybe.....

Id love to see one call the "Brisbane Queenslanders" with a cartoon of this mad f*cker as the logo

mooreb-qld-14052809.jpg

"QUEENSLANDER!!!!"
Already did this last year, i even sent to them to use it if they so pleased for a old boys day or promotional usage, whatever they pleased, they replied with thank you and they might do in future
Gold Coast Titans.png

I incorporated the Giant, with a titans style helmet, added a few seagulls in the background to show depth, and a city in front to build the giants scale, then had the giant holding a bolt to pay homage to the chargers

Already did this last year, i even sent to them to use it if they so pleased for a old boys day or promotional usage, whatever they pleased, they replied with thank you and they might do in future
View attachment 47354

I incorporated the Giant, with a titans style helmet, added a few seagulls in the background to show depth, and a city in front to build the giants scale, then had the giant holding a bolt to pay homage to the chargers
How there were 2 GC Giants logos?

MugaB

How there were 2 GC Giants logos?
There is only actually one Giants logo, its the one where he is running, the other one is a stimrol card mascot busting out of the logo, its not the real logo uses by gold coast giants
All the teams had mascots busting thru the logos as collectable cards

images

Hahaha, maybe.....

mooreb-qld-14052809.jpg

"QUEENSLANDER!!!!"
The Gold Coast Vikings represented the region in the old Winfield State League. The Titans/Giants theme ties in with that. Maybe make the new Titans logo a mixture of the Vikings and Giants.

Brisbane Brethren would be a good name for a team trying to tap into the "us vs them" theme.

MugaB

The Gold Coast Vikings represented the region in the old Winfield State League. The Titans/Giants theme ties in with that. Maybe make the new Titans logo a mixture of the Vikings and Giants.

Brisbane Brethren would be a good name for a team trying to tap into the "us vs them" theme.
Vikings have nothing to do with them, they were giants in the NSWRL, vikings were the interstate BRL Rep team, so there was never a promotion or affiliation between these clubs other than being a feeder club to the gold coast franchise

Santino Patane

Sorry mate, no on so many levels......

Vikings have nothing to do with them, they were giants in the NSWRL, vikings were the interstate BRL Rep team, so there was never a promotion or affiliation between these clubs other than being a feeder club to the gold coast franchise
I know Vikings were the Winfield State League team that played from 1982 until 1995. Their logo was a gladiator, similar to Valleys. I'd like to something similar as the mascot for the Titans.

0EA4A8CE-7825-42E1-AF9E-4A98D3210653.jpeg

Santino Patane

Whenever the ref awards a try to the opposition the ground announcer can blast out a sound clip of Sir Joh saying "you are wrong" to Jana Wendt on ACA. The Broncos should do it now just for laughs. With the way they're going we'll get to hear it up to 10 times per game.
I hope this is all for laughs....... Joh was a demagogue with strong authoritarian desires, not someone to celebrate. Sure he did some good but he did a lot of shit things too. Plus I don’t think anyone under 35 would even know who he is- you seem like a rarity that has some idea of history.

Also, no need to do anything with the Titans- they have it right. Everyone forgets how much merch was out there for our first few years- our fall came from the original owners f**king over the community for the Centre of Excellence, then the slide in form looking for a quick fix. Watch the crowds come back once some more sustained on field success comes with the new team.