Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Brisbane3 - What is needed to make it a successful bid?

Vlad59

Quick! Somebody phone PVL & tell him that AFL has taken over Wellington* - We need an NRL team over here ASAP!!

(*well actually, I saw a guy wearing an Essendon beanie in Lower Hutt Pak'n'Save this morning when I was getting some groceries....)
Essendon fan? Did he racially abuse all the non whites? Thats one of their core values.

cinders7

The bayside has its own identity that transcends the city council limits of Brissie and the Redlands. It’s probably the only part of SEQ that is like this, and from speaking with people out that that way they view themselves as their own community seperate to the stereotypical Brisbane rhetoric “north or south side” or “Brisbane vs other city” debate
-No-one in the bayside suburbs and no-one in the Redlands would ever claim Iona is in the Redlands.
-No-one in the bayside suburbs would ever claim to live in the Redlands.

This isn't something people would ever debate or even get upset about. They'd just give you a quizzical look for saying it and correct you.

Like I said, it's not talking about city limits or what constitutes a city for locals. It's not some grey area intangible. It's claiming a location is somewhere it clearly isn't, and it makes no sense.

The fact old mate doubled-down just shows that he has no idea what he's talking about.

Pippen94

The bayside has its own identity that transcends the city council limits of Brissie and the Redlands. It’s probably the only part of SEQ that is like this, and from speaking with people out that that way they view themselves as their own community seperate to the stereotypical Brisbane rhetoric “north or south side” or “Brisbane vs other city” debate

So where Brisbane ends and Morton bay to north or Logan to south begin is a physical barrier between the two or is it just continuous sprawl?!

Red&BlackBear

-No-one in the bayside suburbs and no-one in the Redlands would ever claim Iona is in the Redlands.
-No-one in the bayside suburbs would ever claim to live in the Redlands.

This isn't something people would ever debate or even get upset about. They'd just give you a quizzical look for saying it and correct you.

Like I said, it's not talking about city limits or what constitutes a city for locals. It's not some grey area intangible. It's claiming a location is somewhere it clearly isn't, and it makes no sense.

The fact old mate doubled-down just shows that he has no idea what he's talking about.
You’re quite the dickhead, aren’t you or just a complete numptie. Either all, you pick.

But one thing is for sure and that is you don’t know SE QLD regarding how footy clubs that represent local regions identify themselves in the greater communities. Nor do you understand the representation of the general bayside. You’re clearly not a local that’s for sure, otherwise you wouldn’t post such dribble like what you just have.

mongoose

having flashbacks of LU expansion forum 2021 and GROTD arguing what constitutes Brisbane and what doesn't lol.
I used to argue that Moreton Bay has no identity (it doesn't) because it was created in 2008. It was always Pine Rivers and Redcliffe for decades and no one in Pine Rivers gives a f**k about Redcliffe and vice versa. Anyway Dolphins are doing the right thing and targeting all of Brisbane.

Pippen94

Seeing Queenslanders going feral is the highlight of this thread

Please continue boys

Brisbane is one big sprawling mass but such is the rivalry between areas people won't even consider that they're a single city. Just like Sydney with our NRL teams and of course Brisbane had it's own comp built on those rivalries. Now somebody will run in to say Brisbane is nothing like Sydney!!

SirPies&Beers

anyways what i get out of this threads is that ipswich, western suburbs of brissy is where the next club should be plonked in se qld. nothing has changed.

* redlands is a small coastal shire that doesnt have the necessary population for an nrl club and it's too pokey to get into.

* logan is wedged between goldie and south brissy. the area should be left to titans and broncos.

* dolphins cover all of seqld these days but obviously redcliffe and north brissy. they should be doing better on the sunny coast

* ippy/west brissy/locky val is the logical place. neither goldie or brissy are really targeting the region even though titans have current feeder arrangements with jets.

1753653943852.png

1753653980829.png
1753654032487.png
1753654056031.png
1753654089950.png

The Daddy3

anyways what i get out of this threads is that ipswich, western suburbs of brissy is where the next club should be plonked in se qld. nothing has changed.

* redlands is a small coastal shire that doesnt have the necessary population for an nrl club and it's too pokey to get into.

* logan is wedged between goldie and south brissy. the area should be left to titans and broncos.

* dolphins cover all of seqld these days but obviously redcliffe and north brissy. they should be doing better on the sunny coast

* ippy/west brissy/locky val is the logical place. neither goldie or brissy are really targeting the region even though titans have current feeder arrangements with jets.

View attachment 104617

View attachment 104618
View attachment 104619
View attachment 104620
View attachment 104621

South Queensland Jets based out of Ipswich sounds good to me

cinders7

having flashbacks of LU expansion forum 2021 and GROTD arguing what constitutes Brisbane and what doesn't lol.
I used to argue that Moreton Bay has no identity (it doesn't) because it was created in 2008. It was always Pine Rivers and Redcliffe for decades and no one in Pine Rivers gives a f**k about Redcliffe and vice versa. Anyway Dolphins are doing the right thing and targeting all of Brisbane.
It's literally not about city limit, LGAs or metro areas.

It's akin to saying Kogarah TAFE is in the Shire and people from Rockdale say that they live in the Shire. It literally makes no sense.
No-one with a passing interesting would say it, let alone someone trying to speak confidently about the area.

If this particular poster is becoming hysterical about being pulled up on something so inconsequential it puts into question everything else they post IMO.

But it is what it is.

edit: Case in point below.
It's a shame people get so invested in their internet personalities that they breakdown if they are called out for clear errors. It only lowers the level of discourse.

SirPies&Beers

It's literally not about city limit, LGAs or metro areas.

It's akin to saying Kogarah TAFE is in the Shire and people from Rockdale say that they live in the Shire. It literally makes no sense.
No-one with a passing interesting would say it, let alone someone trying to speak confidently about the area.

If this particular poster is becoming hysterical about being pulled up on something so inconsequential it puts into question everything else they post IMO.

But it is what it is.
this bozo here cinders is being a complete wanker lol. resembling his username as a small piece of burnt wood.

you dont know sh!t cob. only poster being hysterical is you cob. for example i have mates that lives in vicky point and wello point which is bayside and they say redlands cause thats the area which it is in.

so ya point is null and shows ya dont know anything. i also knew a couple blokes that played for wynnum seagulls and a lot of their juniors are pulled from redlands junior footy clubs too including their kids. I watched a few games in the chook pen, plenty locals from wello point, vicky point, sheldon, thorny etc. all redlands and neighbouring suburbs.

what @Red&BlackBear bear has said in regard to wynnum pulling a lot of their players from redlands is true, i think he has even said they pull players from logan as well.

edit: here ill check for ya

capalaba, north straddy, redlands, russell island all redlands
beenleigh slacks creek in logan

lol. there ya go, ya wrong.

where are you located in brissy anyways? you been asked and didn't answer cause ya not from there. . im in yamba and i know the area better than you lol

SirPies&Beers

edit: Case in point below.
It's a shame people get so invested in their internet personalities that they breakdown if they are called out for clear errors. It only lowers the level of discourse.
they arent errors at all lol old mate was talking about in relation to footy and ya been proved wrong, thats were seagulls pull majority oft heir footy resourcing from. redlands lol only youre at fault from not being able to understand the footy chat lol

1753658672063.png

now ya trying to play off like youre the one thats correct, lol take the loss and move on cob and maybe next time ya engage in chats about local footy have a decency to research ya shit before coming across as a know-it-all bozo. whilst wynnum might be in brissy the footy club is made up of 75% redlands locals. iona college pulls the same kids through and as a prestige school in the general area, it does the same.

https://www.redland.qld.gov.au/info/20125/our_suburbs_and_islands
1753659124390.png

1753659029630.png

If this particular poster cinders is becoming hysterical about being pulled up on something so inconsequential it puts into question everything else they post IMO.