Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Broncos in salary cap trouble

bottle

THE Broncos are under investigation over $500,000 in possible salary-cap irregularities following the resignation of club legend Andrew Gee as football operations chief.

Queensland goes into Wednesday night’s Origin opener with the state’s flagship club in crisis with Gee’s controversial departure the prelude to an NRL salary cap probe.

News Corporation can reveal Broncos hierarchy have alerted NRL bosses to a number of serious cap-related issues involving Brisbane’s recent recruitment activities.

Andrew Gee with Broncos development coach Brian Edward and coach Anthony Griffin. Source: News Limited

The NRL was notified of the potential problem last week and confirmed on Tuesday evening it will begin an immediate investigation into the Broncos’ handling of the salary-cap.

“The Brisbane Broncos have advised the NRL of some possible salary-cap irregularities and asked us to look at them which we will do,” an NRL spokesman said.

GEE QUITS BRONCOS POST

Gee, a Broncos premiership player, has been on leave for the past fortnight since rumours emerged of potential irregularities in the Broncos’ salary cap.

The club confirmed on Tuesday that the 25-year Broncos veteran had resigned after News Corp first revealed last week Gee was set to sever ties with the club.

Ben Barba move to the Broncos will come under the spotlight. Source: Getty Images

The NRL probe will involve the contracts of some of the biggest-name players in the NRL.

Recent dealings involving superstar recruit Ben Barba will be put under the microscope, although there is no suggestion the former Dally M winner is involved in any rorts.

News Corp understands the NRL probe will specifically examine third-party agreements and the fact at least one-big name player is out of pocket for a six-figure sum.

The player in question is allegedly owed money by the Broncos in relation to third-party sponsorships, but there is no suggestion Gee is guilty of orchestrating a salary-cap breach.

Anthony Griffin testing time as Broncos coach doesn’t look like it’s getting any easier. Source: Getty Images

Gee took leave from the Broncos to consider his future. On Tuesday, he officially advised the Broncos he would be leaving the club where he first shot to prominence under then coach Wayne Bennett.

The shock move comes after the Broncos opted to restructure some of Gee’s many roles in the football department, with the hiring of Peter Nolan as list and recruitment manager last month.

Gee had hired Nolan, who was sacked by the club at the end of 2010, to separate the recruitment and list management from the day-to-day duties of the football manager.

Broncos CEO Paul White has yet to respond to calls about the salary cap probe. Source: News Limited

Scott Czislowski, who has been the Broncos under-20s team manager since 2008, also fills the NRL welfare manager’s role at the club. He will immediately move into the team manager responsibility with the Broncos’ NRL squad.

Broncos boss Paul White did not return calls but the club confirmed Gee’s departure with a statement.

“The Broncos acknowledge the significant contribution Andrew Gee has made in his current role and in his former roles as both as a player and an administrator over a 25-year period,” the statement said.

“The club wishes both him and his family all the best for the future.”

http://forums.leagueunlimited.com/showthread.php?t=434680&page=4

Weipa Dragon

Ha the broke back horses have been uncovered. As fat pizza would say " sucked in habib". Could not happened to a finer team; the ones that beat us in 92/93 with the basically the australian and qld origin team and told us " st george can't play", no salary cap issues there. The same tossers that led the super league charge and basically killed traditions and turned many of us off footy for a while for the dollar. The same team that every moron in qld believes you have to barrack for, because they are the only ' qld ' team even though there are another 15 teams with qlders and two believe it or not in qld. Yeah, couldn't have happened to a finer team. Poor broncos...

goodplayer

Ha the broke back horses have been uncovered. As fat pizza would say " sucked in habib". Could not happened to a finer team; the ones that beat us in 92/93 with the basically the australian and qld origin team and told us " st george can't play", no salary cap issues there. The same tossers that led the super league charge and basically killed traditions and turned many of us off footy for a while for the dollar. The same team that every moron in qld believes you have to barrack for, because they are the only ' qld ' team even though there are another 15 teams with qlders and two believe it or not in qld. Yeah, couldn't have happened to a finer team. Poor broncos...

brwankos 10 year cap exemption

finally broke back wankers pay :roll:

gregstar

depending on the scale of this, it could determine creeping jesus' future.

small drama & i'll reckon he'll return there to be seen as the savior.

large drama that rips the club a new one & i'd reckon he'd try another queenland club or maybe stay in nsw.

tumbidragon

What! The Bronco's having salary cap irregularities?. Noooo. I don't believe It... But surly they fly straight as an arrow and have done so for many years?..

Lethal25

The part of this that bugs me more than anything is it appears the Broncos have dobbed themselves in. The NRL didn't find any issues with them over the last few years??? The Storm had a whistle blower, NRL fail again.

It only makes me believe that clubs with money will cheat and the cap is a complete waste of time unless it's run on a points per player system.

Mr Red

they are over the cap with their 2014 squad??? they are referring to 2014 right?
wow... now thats gross salary cap mis-management at its finest...
their squad isnt that great, and still over the cap..... Jeez..

jenninga

Don't know why it's called Brisvegas,the casino is sh*thouse.

The part of this that bugs me more than anything is it appears the Broncos have dobbed themselves in. The NRL didn't find any issues with them over the last few years??? The Storm had a whistle blower, NRL fail again.

It only makes me believe that clubs with money will cheat and the cap is a complete waste of time unless it's run on a points per player system.

I have always held the view that the players contracts should be held by the NRL and the NRL should pay all player salaries. Club's should rent players from the NRL under a draft system with special rules for local juniors.

No cap problems, no more poaching NRL players by other sports and instead the NRL could pick up some players form other codes.

bottle

The High Court killed the draft system for RL in 1992 following the Terry Hill case.

Having the NRL pay the players wouldn't stop payments taking place outside of the cap. Boats, cars, brown paper bags, home renos, golf course bets, the possibilities are endless.

In this particular case though I believe the issue is related to 3rd party payments and the Broncos guaranteeing same.

Again, the NRL paying players directly wouldn't address that. Only the richer clubs can afford to go down this path. Both extra-cap payments and guaranteeing 3rd party payments would kill struggling clubs like ours if we tried to keep pace.

Our only hope is stringent monitoring of the cap as it exists, and hope they catch the culprits by chance every now and then.

Mattc

I have always held the view that the players contracts should be held by the NRL and the NRL should pay all player salaries. Club's should rent players from the NRL under a draft system with special rules for local juniors.

No cap problems, no poaching from other sports and we could pick up some players form other codes.

I agree to a point.
Third party agreements are now a fact if life, and a player's right to make some coin.
I would like to see the NRL pay the player salaries ( they give the clubs the money anyway), and all other payments go through the NRL.
Effectively, the NRL will know who is paying whom what.
If a player accepts money from any other source, they are complicit in any cheating that goes on and can face bans themselves.
I believe the only way to remove clubs cheating is to make the players accountable.
Think of the Storm situation. Not one player was accountable, even though some signed two contracts.

The High Court killed the draft system for RL in 1992 following the Terry Hill case.

The style of the suggest draft system would not be the same as the style of 1992. There would be no restriction of trade as the NRL is paying the salary and the Club is mearely renting the player from the NRL. AFL has a legal draft however, it is quite different from what I am suggesting.

Having the NRL pay the players wouldn't stop payments taking place outside of the cap. Boats, cars, brown paper bags, home renos, golf course bets, the possibilities are endless.

Easily solved. All third party arrangements must be arranged by the NRL with co-operation of the player concerned. Any third party arrangement would have nothing to do with Clubs and would have to be signed by three parties, the sponsor, the player and the NRL. Such a clause could be made standard in the player contract.

In this particular case though I believe the issue is related to 3rd party payments and the Broncos guaranteeing same.

Under my suggested scheme, Clubs would have no part to play and players would not really be restricted in the amount earned under third party agreements. The NRL must sign all third party agreements so no rorting would occur.

Again, the NRL paying players directly wouldn't address that. Only the richer clubs can afford to go down this path. Both extra-cap payments and guaranteeing 3rd party payments would kill struggling clubs like ours if we tried to keep pace.

Clubs would have nothing to do with third party agreements. The player, the player's manager and the NRL would be the only entities involved in seeking such sponsorship.

Our only hope is stringent monitoring of the cap as it exists, and hope they catch the culprits by chance every now and then.

Same old, same old hasn't worked till now and won't work in the future.

Under this player rental scheme, I imagine the rent would be set by the NRL and Clubs would select players on say a three year rental deal in turn and in accordance with rules set by the NRL. E.g. Clubs have first pick for their juniors and the Clubs in turn select available players. Bottom teams to top team.

Let's face it. The Broncos are just a bunch of dirty cheaters! Like many others.

Personally, I suspect that the true scale of their misdeeds will never be uncovered. I do hope I'm wrong about that though, because I would love to see an even and a fair playing field. I've been watching Rugby league since around 1975 and it's always been a battle between the haves and the have nots. And cheating makes it all the worse.

I'm just an outside observer of course, but if the Broncos haven't been over the cap for years, then I'll reconsider my position on Scientology.

The Dragons may sometimes struggle for success, but at least they do it honestly.

bottle

possm, people do bad things.
It's illegal to kill people, you go to gaol for it. People still do it.

If you truly believe that the clubs and players putting their hands on their heart and saying 'We won't do anything wrong, promise', actually means they won't do anything wrong, then God bless your naive self but it doesn't mean shit. Your second paragraph response is in relation to 3rd party payments, not what I was referring to, which is payments outside of the cap to rort it. NOT easily solved if they are intent on doing it.

The rich clubs can rort via a means NOT UNDER THE WATCH of the game's administrators if they are determined to do so.

Your last paragraph, bottom teams to top, is a draft. Quashed by the High Court. How does it differ? Rent set by the NRL is clearly a restraint of trade if a player can earn more by being a free agent.

possm, people do bad things.
It's illegal to kill people, you go to gaol for it. People still do it.

If you truly believe that the clubs and players putting their hands on their heart and saying 'We won't do anything wrong, promise', actually means they won't do anything wrong, then God bless your naive self but it doesn't mean shit. Your second paragraph response is in relation to 3rd party payments, not what I was referring to, which is payments outside of the cap to rort it. NOT easily solved if they are intent on doing it.

The rich clubs will rort via a means NOT UNDER THE WATCH of the game's administrators.

Your last paragraph, bottom teams to top, is a draft. Quashed by the High Court. How does it differ? Rent set by the NRL is clearly a restraint of trade if a player can earn more by being a free agent.

Oh dear! I'll give it one more shot:

A Club would have no incentive to offer insentives because the Club would gain no advantage. The player may end up at any Club under this scheme. There is NO negotiation between a Club and a particular player and no chance of a Club attracting a player by virtue of offering a third party contract.

If a player acted outside the rules, it would be a breach of contract by the player. Under this scheme it is the player who will lose out, not Club members.

Under this proposed scheme, a Club can only - in turn - select a player or reject a player.

It would not be a restriction on trade because there would be no limit on a contract price (salary) and no limit on third party sponsorship. The salary and third party sponsorship would be the same no matter which Club the player is selected to join.