Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Bulldogs fullback Ben Barba stood down indefinitely

With greenberg we all know his press conference was an oscar performance, he wont sack barba and has never thought of it...it's just the game he plays in the media daily.

It wouldn't be the first time for this club, they caught someone out last time, and went to sack him.. He said if you sack me then what about the other 3 guys I was with?

ps: whats going here and why is the kasiano injury low key?

I think you left your tinfoil hat at home.

Spot On

The bloke didn't look sick scoring all those try's just the other night .

Very very sus .

Nor did he sound like it in an interview after the game, which was shown on the news, where he was lavish in praise for J. Thurston and the week's experience with the Indigenous players. He was clearly blown away by the experience and by JT's performance. He couldn't believe how good he was. He stated many times that he was now ready to go back to Belmore and do his job, his best, for the Dogs.

gUt

He definitely should have burst into tears and told Australia all his problems live on air at that exact moment.

Spot On

Wasn't a live interview for starters. Fail there.

He seemed to enjoy playing that game didn't he? Was all smiles during and after it. I picked as much up watching the highlights. I did not watch the game but if people are of the opinion his heart wasn't in it then please say so.

You think he turned to the trainer and told him he had had enough during that game?? Laurie Daley, after spending the week with him, even said he had absolutely no idea Barba was have having any issues.

http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-league/...arba-as-long-as-takes-ceo-20130228-2f9c2.html

Game will back Barba as long as takes: CEO

Date
March 1, 2013

Brad Walter
Chief Rugby League Writer

NRL chief executive Dave Smith is prepared to accept that Ben Barba may never play again but he has vowed that the game will always support the Canterbury star.

Smith, who met with Bulldogs chief executive Todd Greenberg and chairman Ray Dib at 7.30am last Monday to discuss Barba's off-field problems, said that was the message he had wanted to relay at Wednesday night's season launch.

However, Smith's speech was overshadowed by a gaffe in which he mistakenly referred to Barba as ''Benji'' instead of ''Benny''.

''I am a bit pissed off because I really care about what we have done for Ben,'' Smith said. ''In my notes I put Benny because when I met him at the indigenous camp that is how he introduced himself.

''I stuffed up and I am irritated with myself as much as anything because I didn't want to detract from the fundamental message, which is about a young guy who is going through a difficult spot.

''It is also about rugby league's approach to these issues because I think culturally that is where we want to be and we want people to know that, from time to time, they are going to go through tough times and when you do we will be there.''

Smith said he had dealt with people suffering similar problems to Barba, whose life spiralled out of control during the off-season, in his previous job as chief executive of Lloyds International and his first thought was for the welfare of last year's player of the year.

''We are all young once and I can see how the pressures of life can get on top of you,'' Smith said. ''At the end of the day I am a humane sort of person and, whether you are an elite athlete and or a person working in an organisation, the pressures are intense in this modern day.

''If you take what Ben has been through in his rise and just how phenomenal he is, it is a lot of pressure for someone of his age.

''Nobody wants to see a player like that go out of the game but it pales into insignificance when it comes to his welfare as a human being.''

Even if Barba did not return to the playing field, Smith said he and his family would receive ongoing support from the game.

''He is a talented guy and it would be fantastic if he comes back to rugby league but equally as a human being whatever his ambitions in life are we want to help him through that,'' Smith said.

''He has given a lot to the game and he deserves our support. That is where the club was coming from and I was fully behind Todd and the chairman.

''I always think about player welfare first so we will support him, help him get through it and hopefully he will be back playing footy.

''I know the club has also looked after his family and the kids so, from my perspective, that is exactly the way it should play out.

''We wish him all the best and we will support him all the way and we are proud of him.''

gUt

Wasn't a live interview for starters. Fail there.

He seemed to enjoy playing that game didn't he? Was all smiles during and after it. I picked as much up watching the highlights. I did not watch the game but if people are of the opinion his heart wasn't in it then please say so.

You think he turned to the trainer and told him he had had enough during that game?? Laurie Daley, after spending the week with him, even said he had absolutely no idea Barba was have having any issues.

So??

Hooch

Let the dogs lose 4 on the trot, and watch all the fans who are praising this pissweak Dr Phil handjob of a decision suddenly decide Benjis had enough time find himself.

Packy

You know how when you lose ya wallet you are angry/depressed but then ya mates buy you some beers you kinda don't care about it anymore.... until tomorrow at which point you care again.

That is what happens with depression. Ben may have not even noticed shit was sour, but when it hit it hit him all at once and he had a meltdown.. had a moment in the trial and lashed out at a team mate at training..

Let the fella have a few weeks and either come back, and have flogged his demons or wander off in to the sunset leaving us with a 100 memories and a thousand questions.

Maybe he just doesn't want to play footy for the dogs.
Lets face it he could get a gig at any club he wanted .

Seems to enoy the shire.

Oh and
Who the hell used the lost wallet analogy to describe depression?
Bwhahahaha

You'd make a great shrink.

I could see it now
"Just get over it mate, this is just like losing your wallet"

Cammo

Oh and
Bwhahahaha

I could see it now

What he was saying is that just cause Barba was happy during the All Stars game does not mean he still wasn't hiding some issues inside.

I have seen people with severe depression that can be all smiles and happy as Larry for up a month at a time, but when their depression kicks in they can change on the spot and it can hit them hard.

They also become very adept at hiding it as they are embarrassed by it.

Those who are telling him to harden up are just heartless in my opinion and hope you never have to experience it

MSIH

Maybe he just doesn't want to play footy for the dogs.
Lets face it he could get a gig at any club he wanted .

Seems to enoy the shire.

Oh and
Bwhahahaha

I could see it now

It definitely wasn't the worst analogy I've ever heard.

Gotta laugh at all the sympathy for him.

Don't remember too many people getting upset over
Piss head Barry the forklift driver .
He too blew all his money on the pokies and piss... Then his missus left him.

And WTF was Greenbergs go by publicaly humiliating him with that press conference?
Did he need to even say anything?

RufusRex

Ben escaped nothing but admitted responsibility. Ben also is suffering. Only now callous onlookers cast accusations. It needs evidence!

Garts

What he was saying is that just cause Barba was happy during the All Stars game does not mean he still wasn't hiding some issues inside.

I have seen people with severe depression that can be all smiles and happy as Larry for up a month at a time, but when their depression kicks in they can change on the spot and it can hit them hard.

They also become very adept at hiding it as they are embarrassed by it.

Those who are telling him to harden up are just heartless in my opinion and hope you never have to experience it

I dare say quite a few people are sceptical if he is depressed or not. From people I have spoken to on the issue it seems quite divided. Some feel sorry for him and many others just think it is being used as an excuse to cover up or help justify poor/idiotic behaviour on his behalf. Personally I think it is a little from column A and a little from column B.

Fire

This whole Barba story would be so much better if he was a souffs player :lol: