Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

burt living life on the edge

so true.

Difference is that you're not talking footy, you're just taking the chance to abuse someone.

Go right ahead champ - if it makes you feel bigger/ better - whatever it takes!

sorry if I've mortally offended you by something I've said against you personally - but I don't think I've gone there. You chose to, that's your bed, you can lie in it or not - that's your decision not mine.

Why not type some more swear words in at me? That should be fun.
if the shoe fits - wear it

84 Baby

You can say whatever you want mate - but with 2 minutes to go we were lining up a kick for extra time 2 meters to the side of the posts and 22 out.

I think it's justified to be more than a little upset that an absolute specialist goalkicker misses that don't you?
Round 2 v Manly - 4 tries each, 4/4 kicks for Burt, 2/4 for Lyon
Round 6 v Souths - Burt kicks 5/5 and scores a try = 14 points funnily enough the winning margin
Round 7 v NQ - Burt kicks 4/4 we win by converted try
Round 10 v Manly - not only 3/3 but also nails a field goal
Round 15 v Newcastle - alright Burt missed kick
Round 16 V Brisbane - he missed another one but we lost by 4 points not 2
Round 24 v Wests - alright he misses crucial kick but he kicked 3 so that despite Tigers scoring 1 more try than us we only lost by 2

So that's what 4 wins from Burt's boot to at best 3 losses. That's a winning record of 57% compared to the teams 45%... Even if he kicks the goals, against Brisbane we lose, and we at best go to golden point against Tigers & Newcastle & no guarantee we win those.

That's right I'm Statsman
6494435208a51782006m.jpg

You can say whatever you want mate - but with 2 minutes to go we were lining up a kick for extra time 2 meters to the side of the posts and 22 out.

I think it's justified to be more than a little upset that an absolute specialist goalkicker misses that don't you?

I dont and im a Mad Tigers Supporter.

The truth is Tigers outplayed the Eels in every aspect of the game for 60-65 mins. Almost every Eels player across the park got outplayed at 1 point in the first 60-65 mins. The tigers attack was brilliant (although we bombed 3 sitters)and their defence wasnt too bad either. Did an excellent job on Mateo.

At the point when the eels got themselves back into the game i though to myself here we go (i watch every eels game too, have a soft spot for them)

I was a little conflicted after the game. Happy as f**k we won but you cant put that on Burts sholders. If all your players played like he did week in week out you would not be in this position to start with.

The question you must ask yourselves is this.

If Inu had taken the kick (after the shocker he had 78 mins previous, in my opinion) and got it would you say he WON you the game????

oldmancraigy

If Inu had taken the kick (after the shocker he had 78 mins previous, in my opinion) and got it would you say he WON you the game????

well it would've only got us to extra time - then Inu would've caught a bomb in spectacular fashion only to lose it off his knee while trying to play the ball and handing the Tigers a golden chance at a FG.

But if Inu had missed the kick, would you say he had LOST the game?

The thing is, we were definitely outplayed etc etc - but football is an 80 minute sport. There's no TKOs in footy - the refs don't stop the fight. And we played well enough in the last 11 minutes to have a shot at extra time and keeping our season alive.

And with 1 minute to go, an absolute sitter is missed by a guy who is in the team mainly to do just that - kick goals.

If Inu had done his job better, sure we might not be in that position. If Cayless hadn't pegged the ball away 0 tackle - sure we might not be in that position.But in the wash up, that's the position we were in - why can't I get upset that he shanked a sitter? Why can't I say that was total crap on his part?

The thing is that the Tigers don't have someone who is in the team mainly to kick goals. IF you did and he missed the goal, then I reckon you'd more pretty upset about it.... And justifiably so.

SeftonBoy

oldmancraigy is 100% correct.

Luke Burt in my opinion should be moved on. His time has come to exit the NRL. It's just not that kick at goal but he just doesn't add anything to this team in terms of go forward. He gets dominated in attack which just slows down momentum. He doesn't take bombs. He's just too small in the modern age.

I'm a rugby league fan before i'm a Parra fan. Maybe some of you should look at this guy from that perspective before you launch into people who have a valid point about Luke Burt. He's just not up to it. Cometh the hour cometh the man. He failed.

SDM

oldmancraigy is 100% correct.

Luke Burt in my opinion should be moved on. His time has come to exit the NRL. It's just not that kick at goal but he just doesn't add anything to this team in terms of go forward. He gets dominated in attack which just slows down momentum. He doesn't take bombs. He's just too small in the modern age.

I'm a rugby league fan before i'm a Parra fan. Maybe some of you should look at this guy from that perspective before you launch into people who have a valid point about Luke Burt. He's just not up to it. Cometh the hour cometh the man. He failed.

Are you offering to pay him out personally?

SeftonBoy

Of course you can you idiot. Greg Inglis still had a contract with Melbourne for 2011 but will play for Brisbane. And moving on just doesn't mean cutting him altogether from the club. Ever heard of NSW Cup???? Just higlights a crap decision to sign a 30 yo winger for two years. You are a dead set imbo mate of the highest order. Get of this forum you are embarresing yourself....................again.

SDM

Did you mean to call me a bimbo?

Inglis was a mutual decision. And playing for Wenty would be getting dropped, not moved on.

SeftonBoy

I called you an imbo. An imbecile.

They're not all mutual decisions mate. A lot of players get moved on before they're contract expires. The only downside is that you have to pay out or pay some of the contract if they move to another club.

Getting moved on from the NRL side was my point mate. That means not playing for Parramatta anymore. If that playing for Wenty then so be it. He finished.

mrpwnd

Of course you can you idiot. Greg Inglis still had a contract with Melbourne for 2011 but will play for Brisbane. And moving on just doesn't mean cutting him altogether from the club. Ever heard of NSW Cup???? Just higlights a crap decision to sign a 30 yo winger for two years. You are a dead set imbo mate of the highest order. Get of this forum you are embarresing yourself....................again.
Please, the situation with Storm is completely different, they had to cut a few players off regardless of contract durations.

?????????

He missed a goal from 22m out adjacent to the posts....

Sure, you can say that the other 12 players should've had us ahead by 20 at that stage - but they got us to the stage where we shouldn't have lost and then the 1 guy who is in the squad for the sole purpose of kicking goals misses an absolute dead set sitter.

He missed 2 tougher kicks against the Knights a couple of months ago - but very makeable kicks - and lost us that game too (if he made just one of them we don't lose).

In reality our halves have been crap all year, but Burt has left 4 competition points on the field by failing in his job too. If he did his job, as rubbish as our halves have been, we're just 1 win away from second place.

Queue all the Burt sponsors now who will makes excuses for how he missed yesterday; how it was wet in Newcastle etc etc :roll:

Speaking of golden boys, how bout that kid at fullback dropping a simple Cayless offload first tackle 20m out from the Tigers line....:roll:

That play lost us the game, if Cayless holds it, or Hayne catches the simple ball, we score that set. We had them absolutely shot and it would have been the first. Burt's miss compounded a comedy of errors that started much, much earlier, and blaming him is quite simply ludicrous. It wasn't his toughest shot, but to say it was a sitter simply shows people either want a scapegoat they think no one will defend, they weren't watching or they've never had a shot in their life.

mrpwnd

We give away way too many errors.
Doesn't help that our go-to man Hayne gave a few as well.
Haven't seen such an error-filled side since the blues in 09-10.

God-King Dean

If I were a Parra fan I'd be more concerned with Burt's laziness.

I'll be very surprised if Burt has done 10 hitups in a single game.

Ron Jeremy

If I were a Parra fan I'd be more concerned with Burt's laziness.

I'll be very surprised if Burt has done 10 hitups in a single game.

exactly, he's scared and always been a choker/looser, our team will never win a GF with him on our wings, for every good game he has he goes missing in 15, offers nothing from dummy half, can't catch a bomb.......only when the team is peforming he plays well, much like Fitzhenry from the Tigers.

Parra Guru

Speaking of golden boys, how bout that kid at fullback dropping a simple Cayless offload first tackle 20m out from the Tigers line....:roll:

That play lost us the game, if Cayless holds it, or Hayne catches the simple ball, we score that set. We had them absolutely shot and it would have been the first. Burt's miss compounded a comedy of errors that started much, much earlier, and blaming him is quite simply ludicrous. It wasn't his toughest shot, but to say it was a sitter simply shows people either want a scapegoat they think no one will defend, they weren't watching or they've never had a shot in their life.

Dumb offload on the first/second tackle. Story of the season really. It wasn't a sitter to catch either.