Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Business End Of The Season

Vin Fizz

Sorry all, I think some of you guys are tripping. Believe you me if the NRL wanted us gone they had ample opportunity. They did the exact opposite and we are a very strong and wealthy club. I suspect the reason for the square up (which happen in every game) is the players and coaching staff (the latter watching the commentary btw) are able to work out the indiscretion de jus so to speak and play for it as the game wears on. Channel nine have paid for a product and have a big say in the goings on I agree. But maybe i'm too naive.

Card Shark

Good teams make their own luck & it's time to start doing it again, like we did for 15 weeks straight.

Yes some refs don't like our style of play (i.e. Sutton / Fifita) & we need to make allowances for that but if we lift intensity & enthusiasm, we will be sweet.

Surely

I think the refs are being given too much credit, they would have to know what's going on on the field before they could rig a match.

shaggs

We don't have Sutton again do we?
Cummins and the badge.
f**k the refs and just hit hard and stick. It worked for 6 months. We have been pussies for a month and ended up with 1 point from 6. Smash em, and then let the backs do there thing. Our forwards might have adequate stats but they haven't had any merkin about them

Feej

For all you guys into conspiracy theories, here's one:

What is the NRL's tagline this season, and who is the club that would be the "Poster Team" for that tagline? Imagine a team coming back from adversity and a late season form slump to win it all!

Works both ways.

Vin Fizz

I reckon the reason it looks like some teams are picked on but in reality aren't, is in no small part due to the grey matter in between the ears of the most influential players. The smart captains and halves work the game out very early. They assess what they can get away with and push it to their advantage as long as they can. Even to the point of accepting a few penalties until it becomes too perilous (ie the ref calls them over and says right mate, that's 3 in a row, im gunna sit someone down). I've seen it lots of times. That last penalty may have stopped points being scored so for the opposition it looks to all the world like a stitch up. The ref is taking the action so is blamed straight away but the reality is the captain (at least the smart ones) have influenced and in a perverse way manipulated the game. The smart captains do these things (smith absolute master at it). It's a boon if both coach and captain have that footy brain (the reason why Toovs and Lyon were so successful). Im not sure we've had that nouse in our side for a while. We might now though and its no coincidence that we are where we are IMHO. Just raving though, carry on.

I just learned that Canberra don't get a home semi and will play out of Alliance in the Qualy finals.. So in reality the only thing we are playing for is the MP.. 2nd and 3rd dont mean jack shit to either Canberra or Sharks.

Just keep that in mind if the shit hits the fan. we've got a few weeks to get it right.

I have faith.. Not really lol

bluefox1968

Not sure if this has been mentioned elsewhere, but Blake Austin has broken his hand(s) at training... Out possibly for season...

I just learned that Canberra don't get a home semi and will play out of Alliance in the Qualy finals.. So in reality the only thing we are playing for is the MP.. 2nd and 3rd dont mean jack shit to either Canberra or Sharks.

Just keep that in mind if the shit hits the fan. we've got a few weeks to get it right.

I have faith.. Not really lol

Not so sure about this^^ now. Anyway Blake Austin probably gooooorne for the season

EDIT: Sorry bfox didnt see your post.

You did see it, it is just that now you have become an old fart you will start off by making simple little mistakes like this. Mark my words comrade the rot is setting in.

lost my phone today as well, thank f**k I found it where I left it. D'oh!