Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Calling to ALL Parra Fan's

Parraren said:
Hey thats a great idea, just like the poms with the Soccer. I think someone suggested this along time ago on this board? Was it you Freak?

Anyway, I want to get me a scarf for this Saturday night, anyone know where they sell them? Peter Wynns?

That was Freak.

By it from the Leagues Club. Generally a bit cheaper than Pete's.

Freak

Parraren said:
Colonel I suggested to the office that they should get Parramaniac Scarfs made up and they can replace the wigs. I think the idea was taken on board but no-one has followed through with it!!

Hey thats a great idea, just like the poms with the Soccer. I think someone suggested this along time ago on this board? Was it you Freak?

Anyway, I want to get me a scarf for this Saturday night, anyone know where they sell them? Peter Wynns?

Yes that was me!
Im a big believer in the scarf look consdering the restrictions with flags!
Not difficult to find outlets with scarfs I even think they have them inside the ground!!!

Freak said:
I think it is important to promote the PM's at home games before the end of the season in an attempt to increase their numbers for 2005. How about a game of touch footy at half time against some Parra Legends.
Parramaniacs Vs Parra Legends
I would be envious of that!!!

Actually not a bad idea......... I'll see what can come of it.

Freak said:
Parraren said:
Colonel I suggested to the office that they should get Parramaniac Scarfs made up and they can replace the wigs. I think the idea was taken on board but no-one has followed through with it!!

Yes that was me!
Im a big believer in the scarf look consdering the restrictions with flags!
Not difficult to find outlets with scarfs I even think they have them inside the ground!!!

I've also been a big fan of the scarf look, and tried it with several others on the North Hill when it was a hill, but f*** it was hard just trying to get people to hold them in the air.
Frustrating really.

Maybe in a Bay full of people wanting to do it might just work.

The Godfather

eelavation said:
Colonel Eel said:
The one game all year I want to be at......... and the wife puts her foot down. Not exactly but her work has had this dinner planned for two months and I have been told we need to go. Oh well...........

:(

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

I'm glad I'm not the only one under the thumb!!!...but hey! atleast I'll be released from detention for a few hours on saturday.........I think :oops:

Do what I did you spineless sorry excuses - Put your foot down or get a divorce and get your lives back !!!
Your first and true love was Parramatta - not some naggy cow that is going to get old, fat, ugly and suck your will to live away.

GoParra

I only wish I had the opportunity to attend every week, but you can rest assured i'm there in spirit and most around here think that i can probably be heard at the ground .... :oops:

I know what the issue is. There are two:

(1) Most fans (NOT me hehe) are too embarrassed to start chants and compliments unless we are doing fine.

I always notice I start the Parra chants on my own, and only when we start doing better do people join in.

(2) On Sunday I sat next to the loveliest elderly gentleman (Blue and Gold fan, naturally). I was cheering as much as I could as loud as I could for most of the game (by the end I seriously had no voice, but still tried).

I noticed whenevr we ran sideways or dropped the ball or made a mistake or missed a tackle, he'd drop his head into his hands; whenever we were in a great attacking position, he'd do the same. Whenever we defended, he'd do it.

Problem? I believe too many fans are not confident enough in their team.

Why would you be, I hear you say?

I don't know - but to me, THAT is what it is about.

You go there, make as much noise as possible REGARDLESS of the previous week's result and try to enjoy yourself and cheer yourself hoarse as you lift your team.

I am too loud according to my firends and family - whatever, I really enjoy it and feel that the boys feed off it.

THIS IS AN URGENT MESSAGE TO ALL PARRA FANS WHO ATTEND GAMES REGULARLY - WHENEVER YOU HEAR THE PARRA CHANTS GO UP, DO NOT BE SHY; JOIN IN; IT'S FOR THE BENEFIT OF THE TEAM.

UP THE MIGHTY EELS FOREVER!!!!!

Well I would come this week if I could... do the last 18 years as a season ticket holder count?

Regarding the "drop" in crowds over the years, I think Pay TV had an effect, but not so much through people staying away and watching it. It had to do with the changing of game times. You went from a league where you had one night game (Friday - or Mondays, remember them?), one or two Saturday games, and the rest Sunday arvo games.

Now days, Saturday arvo games are a thing of the past, and you're in fact more likely to get a night game than a Sunday arvo game (four to three), especially if you team is doing well. The emphasis on night games has taken away a whole demographic of supporters, being the senior citizens that I know used to sit all around me back in those days, now not game enough to brave the night chill. Also I'd imagine it is hard for supporters with young kids whose bedtimes are before 9:30/10pm to attend anymore? It made a big change over a period of just a few years.

Since the game times are now more or less controlled by the TV interests, the club has to focus more on those demographics that are up for night (or Sunday arvo) footy to increase the crowds. That would mean providing things that would appeal people from age 15 upwards, independent young adults, people with (not too young) kids, and wider family groups, to get them to the games.

The Parramaniacs thing sounds like a good idea, just needing the time to catch on. And like everything it will gain momentum the better the team goes on the field.

Freak

I think the game in general lost a lot of the older patrons with the introduction of Super League, and in particular Parramatta supporters as we had just gone through the early to mid ninties struggle and then the super league disgrace at the back end of that!

You cannot exactly blame them for giving the game away, especially considering what they would have been used to seeing.
EG: The 70's & 80's!!!

May be the club should have a promotional day for the elderly. Perhaps Seniors get in for free with any paying grand child. (As long as they are wearing blue and gold ;-) )

sportive cupid

Parraren said:
Sad fact is, IMHO, when Parra stadium is packed it's 60% bandwagoner's 40% true blue & gold tragics :(

Watch them all jump on board when we start winning...

Regardless, i'll be there Saturday night cheering my lungs out with 3 mates :p
In a sense I wonder if it is this concept of Bandwagoners V true blue that is one of the things holding fans back.In my opinion it doesn't really matter if a person has given 25 years of good service as a fan or just discovered last week that the Eels are worth cheering for.So long as they cheer with their full voice I am happy.
Now before some of you jump down my throat here I am not wanting to open up the can of worms that is the Bandwagoner issue.I am merely wondering what is best in the long run for crowds and audience participation :)

DvdHntr said:
I can't afford to go to every game. I go when I can but before this season I hadn't gone since 1995.

Come down and join the 'Maniacs then Dvd........ :D you can afford it every week then.

Parraren

The crowd for the same game last year was 12,097 in Round 7. We were 2 wins & 4 losses at that stage.

I think the crowd will be around 14-15 thousand this year.

Freak

If we get over 12 the club will be extremely happy.
I think rain is forcasted as well!! :cry:

sportive cupid said:
Parraren said:
Sad fact is, IMHO, when Parra stadium is packed it's 60% bandwagoner's 40% true blue & gold tragics :(

Watch them all jump on board when we start winning...

Regardless, i'll be there Saturday night cheering my lungs out with 3 mates :p
In a sense I wonder if it is this concept of Bandwagoners V true blue that is one of the things holding fans back.In my opinion it doesn't really matter if a person has given 25 years of good service as a fan or just discovered last week that the Eels are worth cheering for.So long as they cheer with their full voice I am happy.
Now before some of you jump down my throat here I am not wanting to open up the can of worms that is the Bandwagoner issue.I am merely wondering what is best in the long run for crowds and audience participation :)

Mate I agree.

As a bloke who returned to my native land of Australia in 2000 after a 10 year absence, I am now as passionate and emotional about the Eels as a 30 year veteran.

I am a newbie in terms of support, but I would give anything to be a part of this great community of players, staff and fellow fans.

UP THE MIGHTY BLUE AND GOLD PARRAMATTA EELS!!!