Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Cherry-Evans asks Manly for a release.

seaeagle sam

Thats like saying you let Bob Fulton go to Easts so you could sign Craig Field 20 years later you clown.

Hayne, Mateo, Inu, Mortimer, Kris Keating and Kingston were all up for renegotiation. Hayne had the GWS offer that Folau eventually got. They had already re-signed Tahu - maxing out their salary cap, and then the dream run started. This inflated everyones value. They kept Hayne at 600k. Mortimer on $250k and let Keating and Kingston go. Salary cap pressure meant they couldnt retain Mateo and Inu after the Warriors threw gold by the tonne at them.

Then Tahu lost the plot, and left. Unexpectedly, Eric Grothe retired. Their combined wage made up the $600k they were suddenly under the cap by in the off season. There was no quality on the market at that stage, so they bought the likes of Webb and Walker on milk money.

I have never heard of a club dumping players to sign others years in advance. But I understand that you have no idea of that concept, seeing Manly's traditional answer is to throw more money around and sign entire teams.

But it looks like Karma is coming around in a massive way. Its funny to look at Manly struggling for $ in the player market - a bit like seeing Bill Gates at Centrelink. When DCE, Foran, Ballin and the Stewart brothers leave you can still have our rejects like you always bought. Manly in poverty and fighting to stay in the comp - what a delicious irony. :lol:

Maybe, but I reckon you would secretly hate it if it happened

BunniesMan

Erin Molan on the Footy Show says Cherry literally didn't have 15cents to feed himself.

The best halfback in Australia can't buy himself a feed. Manly are starving their best player because he's getting paid so little. Situation needs to change ASAP.

Manly, he won you a premiership. Either pay him properly or let him go. You owe him that much.

ceagle

Erin Molan on the Footy Show says Cherry literally didn't have 15cents to feed himself.

The best halfback in Australia can't buy himself a feed. Manly are starving their best player because he's getting paid so little. Situation needs to change ASAP.

Manly, he won you a premiership. Either pay him properly or let him go. You owe him that much.
Are you farkin serious? You reckon its because Manly aren't paying him enough and not that he was just short on change? :lol:

Give me 85k a year any time thanks.

He signed the contract, Manly have done nothing wrong, they won't release him and I do expect them to re-sign him soon as they just said.

Geohood

winnyason

Honestly is every souths supporter a freak, are you from coffs I know a special souths fan from there. Deal with it f**khead he is going nowhere snake leaves gave us 9 good years the money goes to dce.

seaeagle sam

He's on 10k more than me and 70k more than you, I have a house, 4 kids and save every week. You are one strange, ignorant f**kstick.

BunniesMan

Are you farkin serious? You reckon its because Manly aren't paying him enough and not that he was just short on change? :lol:

Give 85k a year any time thanks.

He signed the contract, Manly have done nothing wrong, they won't release him and I do expect them to re-sign him soon as they just said.
I didn't say they have.

Legally they've done nothing wrong.

But IMO after the kid won you a premiership you owe him to pay him properly from 2013 or let him go so he gets what he deserves.

Legally you have every right to pay him $1500 a week or so for the next year and a half. Morally you owe him his market value ASAP.

You're getting him for a steal this year, give him what he deserves for 2013 or release him.

ceagle

I didn't say they have.

Legally they've done nothing wrong.

But IMO after the kid won you a premiership you owe him to pay him properly from 2013 or let him go so he gets what he deserves.

Legally you have every right to pay him $1500 a week or so for the next year and a half. Morally you owe him his market value ASAP.

You're getting him for a steal this year, give him what he deserves for 2013 or release him.
Souffs wont get him

winnyason

Oh f**k off goose, your desperation is laughable your club is a joke when the game expands to Perth, 2nd Brisbane, new Zealand 2, png your club will be left behind.

BunniesMan

Souffs wont get him
I've said the Broncos are favourites. We are a long shot.

But I'm talking morals, and morals are the same whether you benefit from something or not.

I have a very strong set of morals that I use to guide my opinions and actions, regardless of whether I benefit from it or the teams I follow benefit.

blaza88z

use your morals and f**k off then

there's only 2 possible outcomes in this situation, he stays at manly after an upgraded contract or he goes to a qld based team

souffs isn't a possibility

BunniesMan

use your morals and f**k off then

there's only 2 possible outcomes in this situation, he stays at manly after an upgraded contract or he goes to a qld based team

souffs isn't a possibility
Replace "Manly" with "Melbourne" and "upgraded contract" with "cap scandal" and you'd have a nuffys opinion of where GI was going 18 months ago.

Then we got him.

If Cherry is released, we are the second best chance of getting him.

blaza88z

Replace "Manly" with "Melbourne" and "upgraded contract" with "cap scandal" and you'd have a nuffys opinion of where GI was going 18 months ago.

Then we got him.

If Cherry is released, we are the second best chance of getting him.

the weather saved us from signing him, good thing too

blaza88z

parramatta have set a precedent by offering Sandow the kitchen sink, now any halfback who's good just had to look at Sandow and think "oh, i'm better then you, I should be on more"

broncos70

someone please explain how a team randomly finds an extra 400k a year in their salary cap. How can they offer him this deal? if they had an extra 400k they'd buy another gun player. Something doesn't sound right