Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

China

coldhardbitch

I have a good chinese friend at griffith uni here, who is getting into league.

I am proposing that he and I recruit chinese students on the coast at uni to have a go at TGG and see if they like it. then i was willing to coach them and teach them about rugby league.

Mar (my friend) tells me that the rugby uion team over there is just uni stdents anyway.

I would feel privelegged to show these guys about league, as I have a strong chinese background myself (grandparent).

It would probably(if at all) be small for starters, but it could grow.

any tips for getting started would be appreciated

roopy

coldhardbitch said:
I have a good chinese friend at griffith uni here, who is getting into league.

I am proposing that he and I recruit chinese students on the coast at uni to have a go at TGG and see if they like it. then i was willing to coach them and teach them about rugby league.

Mar (my friend) tells me that the rugby uion team over there is just uni stdents anyway.

I would feel privelegged to show these guys about league, as I have a strong chinese background myself (grandparent).

It would probably(if at all) be small for starters, but it could grow.

any tips for getting started would be appreciated
Advertise in RLR or one of the other league publications for potential players.

ali

There's no shortage of Chinese getting into RL as spectators, but I think getting them to play may be a bit harder. I've got a Chinese mate who never misses Friday night footy and loves a bet on the games, I reckon there would be thousands of others like him throughout Sydney.

DIEHARD

----
On a side note I remember a story about a Chinese guy in Melbourne who used to broadcast AFL radio (I think it was) games in mandarin for Chinese people in Melbourne.

It apparently really opened up a new demographic.

BatiFan

A great idea. I think this is something that could work quite well. Like Roopy said, advertising in the RL publications is a great way to try and get the word out there. I also think that advertising at the local uni there would be valuable and worthwhile.

As you said, it wouldnt be anything major to start off with, but imagine if the Chinese took to league WOW! I have heard rumours that a few years back China were close to playing league domestically and I think they may even have some league on TV through the Star network (not 100 percent on that). Look at what Greece, Italy, Lebanon, Malta have done from starting a base here in OZ. I think it is great that you have seen this vision and I wish you the best of luck with your endevours.

yakstorm

CHB, first thing I'd do if I was you in trying to get a Chinese team going, especially considering your based at Griffith, is first talk to the Group 20, 17 and 9 Country Rugby League (the 3 closest) and see if the secretaries of those groups know of anyone of Chinese decent who is playing in their competitions.

If you need contact details for them, just let me know and I'll PM them to you.

Now whilst it is possibly unlikely that there are many or any Chinese playing in that area, it certainly can't hurt to see. If you find a couple it will go a long way to helping your cause.

I also propose to do some recruiting through the uni. I'm sure your mate Mar and yourself know of other chinese at Griffith or other nearby Uni's which might be interested in giving League a go.

I'd also do some promotions through sites like League Unlimited, Rleague and the likes on the news pages, stating your intentions of getting an ex-pats side going and contact details.

Singapore XIII might be able to help here as well, as he is also dealing with the Asian community, so might already know of some interested Chinese or ways of breaking into this target audience which isn't well known for playing the code.

yakstorm

Okay I've just realised my stupidity......you mean Griffith Uni on the Gold Coast, not Griffith in the NSW Riverina area.

Okay well I think stick with most of what I've said, but instead contact Group 18 and 1 in the NSWRL CRL, and Southern Division in the QRL.

coldhardbitch

Yeah. I'm a gold coast boy. but it's really just something i'm considering and taling about atm. it may not even happen. just getting a few ideas anyway

roopy

The Pandas

I'm not sure about his ethnic background - but a guy named Jacob Ling plays for the Knights SG Ball side. He is a handy second rower who played for NSW u17s last season.

thommo4pm

Guys I can tell you, that the wheels for China may be further developed within China then most of you think.
I know for a fact that there are plans underway from China to start a domestic Rugby League competition.....yes this is factual.

Copa

thommo4pm said:
Guys I can tell you, that the wheels for China may be further developed within China then most of you think.
I know for a fact that there are plans underway from China to start a domestic Rugby League competition.....yes this is factual.
hmmm ...... Will they play "Rugby League" or will they play in a "Rugby" league??

yakstorm

Hindyscrack said:
but instead contact Group 18 and 1 in the NSWRL CRL, and Southern Division in the QRL.

Group 18 is gooooooooorne

Seniors yes are now part of that Northern Rivers Rugby League...but the Juniors are still about aren't they?

joshreading

I heard the Singapore Rugby league president saying that they were in contact with Chinese that were going to be setting up RL in China. In this case the connections are common because a good percentage of Singapore is of Chinese heritage. I think RL could spread massively in China especially if you could get the Army involved and Uni's.

Send an Army team or two to China, a Uni team and I think that would help. Make the Sport as Chinese as possible so push the Singapore angle. Use logic to show why RL is a better option than Union also.

thommo4pm

BatiFan said:
thommo can you fill us all in a little bit more?

I will tell you as much as I can without betraying the trsut that was placed in me.
A very powerful Chinese Businessman has approached certain people involved in our game and asked for assistance in getting "Rugby League" started domestically in China.
They are looking at getting a 6-8 team domestic comp going, in the not too distant future.
Trust me there is a lot more then just this, this is the best I can do for now, but guys I promise you not, this is no lie, and I have seen the plans and proposals that were being drawn up.
The Chinese Businessman owns a massive company in China, and was recently in Australia(when I say recently, I mean he was here for work purposes for a few years), and got to see some League games while out here and loved it.

I hope this has been of some help to all of you. Sorry I can't give further information, as soon as I can I will.

Copa

thommo4pm said:
BatiFan said:
thommo can you fill us all in a little bit more?

I will tell you as much as I can without betraying the trsut that was placed in me.
A very powerful Chinese Businessman has approached certain people involved in our game and asked for assistance in getting "Rugby League" started domestically in China.
They are looking at getting a 6-8 team domestic comp going, in the not too distant future.
Trust me there is a lot more then just this, this is the best I can do for now, but guys I promise you not, this is no lie, and I have seen the plans and proposals that were being drawn up.
The Chinese Businessman owns a massive company in China, and was recently in Australia(when I say recently, I mean he was here for work purposes for a few years), and got to see some League games while out here and loved it.

I hope this has been of some help to all of you. Sorry I can't give further information, as soon as I can I will.
You're the best at keeping secrets. :shock: You'd last 2 seconds if you worked at my work place.