Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Chooseday Night Footy on Fox

bradeel

Just watching Caylo ice the game with the final try of the match. Nearly brought a tear to my eye to think that this was his first (possibly 2nd) season and we just watched him play his final NRL match. The youth and joy on his young face as well as his speed was brilliant to see.

Also amazing when you look at that North Sydney side how many of their key players spent some time at Parra later:

Jason Taylor
Michael Buettner
Gary Larson
Glenn Morrison

Just watching Caylo ice the game with the final try of the match. Nearly brought a tear to my eye to think that this was his first (possibly 2nd) season and we just watched him play his final NRL match. The youth and joy on his young face as well as his speed was brilliant to see.

Also amazing when you look at that North Sydney side how many of their key players spent some time at Parra later:

Jason Taylor
Michael Buettner
Gary Larson
Glenn Morrison

willie layshon .... he was a gun player for us :sarcasm:

Jason Taylor
Michael Buettner
Gary Larson
Glenn Morrison

About to post the same thing myself. Cayless was awesome. That was his first ever try in first grade. Jason Smith for mine was absolutely sublime. What a talent !!

Captain BF

About to post the same thing myself. Cayless was awesome. That was his first ever try in first grade. Jason Smith for mine was absolutely sublime. What a talent !!
100% agree on both.

Question for people who are more in the know than me, why did Smithy pension him off?

boxhead

i thought it was more along the lines of:
touchy: he was the aggressor
dymock: of course i was. i hammered him.

I think it was more;
"Touchy: He was the aggressor
Dymock: Of course I was. I f**king smashed him."

100% agree on both.

Question for people who are more in the know than me, why did Smithy pension him off?

The Canterbury 4 were on massive money. I'm talking over $600K per year each. The salary cap came in after the war and we had to shed players. Smithy was used to getting big $$$ so he left for England as nobody else could offer that money in the NRL.

Captain BF

The Canterbury 4 were on massive money. I'm talking over $600K per year each. The salary cap came in after the war and we had to shed players. Smithy was used to getting big $$$ so he left for England as nobody else could offer that money in the NRL.
Thanks mate. Makes sense really...

People put sh*t on Fitzy but after the war but Denis stated and made a line in the sand that the most Parra would pay a player is $400K. From memory he said that in early 2000. That basically held true for many years. Hayne was probably the first player to pass it after that statement.

I remember one year we offered Menzies the ceiling amount of $400K to come and he was all but coming and changed his mind at the death.

Captain BF

It was an absolute cracker of a match! But, you have to give credit to the Bears as well. They got bashed, but never gave up. They gave plenty back as well.

That Parra team had 3 half backs and we can't scrounge up one genuine number 7!

oh - and how ANNOYING was Kelvin Jeffs .... omfg, I thought the current crop were annoying with their player chats :lol:

Schiltzenberger

Pay was inspirational, even if he was a bit over aggressive at times.:D

Cayless had so much potential but really was just an average prop for most of his career. That game showed how good he could have been, at the time I was hoping he'd be a new Dean Pay, but he never had the same amount of mongrel in him. I could be wrong but in hindsight I think his neck injury at Brookvale really hampered his progress more than I thought it had.

How good was it to see some Parra halves that knew the value of a repeat set? and John Simon pointing the team around to get the best spot for a field goal, our current merkins don't have a clue. Simon and Bell were only average halves as well, yet they would run rings around Robson and Mortimer.

Raper = 1998 version of MK, I never did like him.

Kelvin Jeffs sounded like Robbo, if you only had audio from the game you'd think Robbo was the ref.

eel01s

A couple of things stood out for me:

The baggy old style jerseys - fair dinkum they all looked about 5 sizes too big!
The amount of nuffies we had: Lovell, Cariage, Weston, etc.
All the halves options in the team: Simon, Bell, Penna, Moran. Apart from Simon, the others couldn't organise the side properly (sound familiar?).
Luke Burt is a Schifcoske clone.

Geez Pay, Smith and Dymock had class!

Gordy

A couple of things stood out for me:

The baggy old style jerseys - fair dinkum they all looked about 5 sizes too big!
The amount of nuffies we had: Lovell, Cariage, Weston, etc.
All the halves options in the team: Simon, Bell, Penna, Moran. Apart from Simon, the others couldn't organise the side properly (sound familiar?).
Luke Burt is a Schifcoske clone.

Geez Pay, Smith and Dymock had class!

Yes they did. But Jason Smith was an absolute genius. Top shelf.

_mUSASHI_

HOLY CRAP. One of my all time favourite games. I was in the Thornett stand cheering on the brutal defence. I have wanted this game for years, and i just saw it on the TV guide. Thankyou foxtel.