Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Coach Flanno

denis preston

100%. The warning signs to the club were there 3 years with BBQ gate. They did nothing about the culture issues then around the disrespect for authority we had, except thinking sacking Vaughan would solve it all. Haran was in his first year or so as GM.
Still baffles me how he worked his way up to that role with minimal experience handling players in any capacity in coaching, recruiting or managing, especially the tough cookie of dealing with PM's. Doust, Young, Millward have all tried and failed over the past 12 years.
5 years ago + Haran was interviewing players for the media team.
It frustrates the hell out of me how our club has walked pass aiming to be a real professional outfit.
Who is his backer?

Just need some patience fellas.. even if we do choose to offload him.. a month of pain now could result in a significantly better roster for the following 12 and hence 24mths, and so on..
A quick release will free up approx 1m of cap space allowing Flanno to pick up a few players.

TheRev

A quick release will free up approx 1m of cap space allowing Flanno to pick up a few players.
Honestly it won't.. we havent been able to spend our cap money as it is.. even if its 2 decent reserve graders that the Titans release in trade.. without that leverage.. we wont get quality players out of their contracts.

Must say... the NRL crackdown is poorly timed for us, cause I suspect we are now the party trying to encourage players that we shouldn't be.

KogarahWarrior

“ He will learn a lot about leadership between November and the start of the season. I’ll make sure that happens and he’ll be a good leader.
“Part of our program next year will be a leadership program. It will be like our strength, our speed, our football skills and all that sort of stuff; there will be a component of leadership.

“Leadership in sport is not about being the best player any more; it’s changed, and it’s a big job at footy clubs.
“There are so many different components of it: the squads are a lot bigger, a lot of different personalities and media, social media, so many different bits of it.
“If you don’t have strong leadership, it can be really hard to manage a squad.”

Breath of fresh air. Hope Flanno pulls it off.

Lovemedragons

The article was mainly about Flanno & his plans.
Flanno's coaching stint at the Dragons could well be defined by how he manages what is a very difficult Hunt situation. Flanagan has taken the position that he can somehow make Ben Hunt fall in love with the club again and also that he has the capability to lead a limited roster out of the mire. Alternatively he could give up on Hunt and take a fresh start approach, beginning with a new 7 and lots of Hunt money to spend wisely. Frankly I think he is showing some poor judgement and wishful thinking in trying to keep him in Wollongong, Hunt moved on a while back and its a big ask to expect him to come back, and I am not convinced at his age he is capable of it.

Dragon David

Flanno's coaching stint at the Dragons could well be defined by how he manages what is a very difficult Hunt situation. Flanagan has taken the position that he can somehow make Ben Hunt fall in love with the club again and also that he has the capability to lead a limited roster out of the mire. Alternatively he could give up on Hunt and take a fresh start approach, beginning with a new 7 and lots of Hunt money to spend wisely. Frankly I think he is showing some poor judgement and wishful thinking in trying to keep him in Wollongong, Hunt moved on a while back and its a big ask to expect him to come back, and I am not convinced at his age he is capable of it.
It would be interesting in say a years time when we reflect back on all of this and see how everything unfolded. Did Hunt stay, will he play in 2025? Did he go and who did we get to replace him? Where did we end up in the competition? How bad are we? How good are we? Has Flanno been a good pick-up as head coach? Will Deano be our coach in 2025? Who has been charged for a felony?

Stay tuned Ladies and Gentlemen for the next exciting instalment of the Day of the Dragon featuring all the b class stars of yesteryear.

justadragon

Honestly it won't.. we havent been able to spend our cap money as it is.. even if its 2 decent reserve graders that the Titans release in trade.. without that leverage.. we wont get quality players out of their contracts.

Must say... the NRL crackdown is poorly timed for us, cause I suspect we are now the party trying to encourage players that we shouldn't be.
Moving forward, we should have a policy of only releasing players from contracts who agree to tear up the contract. That is, no more subsidizing any players who want to move on. Options should only be in favor of the club.

For example, if Hunt wants out let him go but now subsidy. We can do much better with his 1m dollar salary cap allocation. A K Flannagan/Josh Schuster halves combination for 2024 should prove to be just what the Dragons need. Hunt at 9 or Gonesky. Amone in reserve grade or Gonesky.

I'd say Schuster, Sualli, Holmess, and two good props are coach Flannagan's targets. I'd be very happy if he could pull this recruitment effort off.

I'm sure that other opportunities will raise their head during the off-season. I'm also sure that if player movement rumors are correct, we could very well end up with a good list for 2024:

Departing Players
Bird
Hunt
Ramsey
Sullivan
Lobb
Max Feagai
Matt Feagai
Amone
Turner
Moga
BMM
Musgrove
Fuimaono
Russell
Burns
Now that is a great cleanout.

Possible Incoming
Sele - back row
Flannagan - halfback/five-eighth
Sualli - fullback/center
Holmes - center/fullback
Williams - halfback/five-eighth
New Prop
New Prop
Enough change to facilitate a new culture.

Slippery Morris

Saints have a better coach than Dogs and Tigers so I feel they will improve on them no matter how many marquee players they sign. There was an image on NRL360 a few weeks ago when Burton put up a bomb and 5 players did not even bother to chase. There were a few "marquee" signings in that image some were co-captains I might add. My point is they are a bigger mess than Saints. Dogs are now looking to get Mann and Hutchison (2 x Saints rejects). Tigers have a bit more promise as they actually have juniors coming through in Bulla who will be a star and some good forwards. They are more of a threat but Benji is still learning his trade. Saints have Flanno. He will bring out the best in what they have and plug some gaps with some smart signings in the offseason. In Flanno we trust.

I hope he keeps Hunt away from discussions on players signing? The sook is saying he has been let down but I am sure he pushed for the slug McCullough (his best mate) to come in. It all went down hill once Hunt got his mates in. It has been chaos since. I can only blame the management for listening to Hook and his disciple. These media releases are the work of Hasler being in Hunt's ear. It is a carbon copy of what he made Saab go through prior to getting his release to Manly.

At 33 he needs Flanno to teach him about leadership and how to close down games. This is the highest paid player we are talking about here. For 1mil a season you would hope that the player would deliver on those 2 yet he complains.

Lennyb

When Christian Welch made a point at the end of his after game interview against us, saying the Dragons will be a much better side next year or something around those lines.

Gives me the feeling that we will be close to the 8 next year or in it.

I watched the sharks v storm GF recently and as far as I can see the game hasnt evolved greatly.

Im sure Flanno has great plans and as long as the board back him a GF is around the corner.

Dragon David

I trust Flanno will do everything in his power to help us improve greatly in the period he is contracted at the Dragons - hopefully it will be that good that he will get an extension. In saying this though I just hope that the weight and burden on his shoulders will not be too much to bear and he can handle the pressure of being a great head coach again.

He does possess a solid all round knowledge of the game as evidenced from his remarks as a Foxsports commentator.

So now we wait to see who he can get to the club for the next few years and for us to hopefully enjoy a better journey than what we experienced in the past 11 or so years.

Jersey No 14

If he's to go - I want a big show. I want the outside to see how much of a peasent he breally is.
Whinging and whining - we gave his mates a fair go - We gave hime several million to Captain(Im sure he understands this aspect) and he whines like a child.

He will whine until he gets his way (again like a spoiled child) then go to SOME other club and be a superstar.
Cut him - Sure he'll make a few tackles, maybe set up a few tries - but he won't put in.

Token (that's he's new nickname)
He should hang his head - I would and I would expect a barrage of condemnation if I carried on the way he has - and continues to do.
What a pathetic man. Make him pay! Dearly! What a blight on humanity and a blight on QLD Rugby League who grew guys like DCE and Cooper Cronk into outstanding individuals.
Give him the only option out - retirement. Not even the Gold Coast deserve that whining SH1T