Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Coach Flanno

qld redvee

Saints have a better coach than Dogs and Tigers so I feel they will improve on them no matter how many marquee players they sign. There was an image on NRL360 a few weeks ago when Burton put up a bomb and 5 players did not even bother to chase. There were a few "marquee" signings in that image some were co-captains I might add. My point is they are a bigger mess than Saints. Dogs are now looking to get Mann and Hutchison (2 x Saints rejects). Tigers have a bit more promise as they actually have juniors coming through in Bulla who will be a star and some good forwards. They are more of a threat but Benji is still learning his trade. Saints have Flanno. He will bring out the best in what they have and plug some gaps with some smart signings in the offseason. In Flanno we trust.

I hope he keeps Hunt away from discussions on players signing? The sook is saying he has been let down but I am sure he pushed for the slug McCullough (his best mate) to come in. It all went down hill once Hunt got his mates in. It has been chaos since. I can only blame the management for listening to Hook and his disciple. These media releases are the work of Hasler being in Hunt's ear. It is a carbon copy of what he made Saab go through prior to getting his release to Manly.

At 33 he needs Flanno to teach him about leadership and how to close down games. This is the highest paid player we are talking about here. For 1mil a season you would hope that the player would deliver on those 2 yet he complains.
If Benny still wants out I hope flanno doesnt teach him too much about leadership and how to close down games - we dont need him to show us what he learnt whilst playing for the opposition !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Just heard Flanno on radio.
he won’t let us down.
my concerns are with members of the team who’s ego mightn't aline with his desires for success.
And then there is management - reliable
I hope Flanno can work miracles because as it stands he has mostly an ordinary group of individuals to work with. As at present the club is in a sad state and with no notable recruitment imminent. Its going to be a monumental task to turn things around. Maybe Flanno has that magic touch.

Slippery Morris

Bellamy is one of the best coaches when it comes to Finals and only 4 coaches have beaten him in a GF. Cleary, Robbo, Flanno and Hasler. Saints have 1 of these coaches so we have every reason to be optimistic for the next couple of years. I don't care who Saints bring in all I hope is that in a few years time our best signing is Flanno. Last time Saints signed a Premiership winning coach we all know what happened. Lets hope history repeats. We finally have a coach who won't buckle under the big coaches and we can feel a bit more confident when we compete against them.

I hope Saints are top 8 next season and looking like a huge threat all year whilst the Gold Coast still flounder in the bottom half. Then Saints sack or release Hunt 1 year early to go to the GC whilst Saints prepare for 2025 finals with a halfback who wants to be part of the success. Keep an eye out for Lachlam Lam as he is killing it in the ESL? If he backs it up again next season in the ESL he may be the answer. He also kicked a field goal for Leigh in the final to win them silverware for the first time in many years. It would be funny as he was in the Chooks when Kyle was there and they picked him over Kyle and released Kyle Flanno.

Dragon David

I watched it the other day. Very good movie.
Just watched it tonight. A great motivational movie based on a true story. It shows that you can win in other ways and that makes you stronger.

Poor bastards had it tough in those days but reading how the characters turned out, it was good to see what they were able to achieve once they grew up.

Russell was a great coach and he made sure the boys played for each other.

Thanks you guys for the recommendation.

Gardenia

I heard an outake on radio where he said the Knights gave Johnson too much space and if he was coach he would have told his players to rough him up a bit, niggle, pull his jumper over his head and tell him they were going to smash him every time they tackled him ....my kind of coach!!
Id love to listen to this. was it on 2gb?