Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Cooper Cronk Leaving??????

saint.nick

Wow after all the years we tried to poach him and then we signed up hunt for 6 years then now this happens.. sucks but that's how it is. Would have been amazing to have Widdop / Cronk the Melbourne wining halves
We can't complain though. It was either buy a very good half in Ben Hunt when we had a great chance, or compete with half a dozen other Sydney clubs to get a guy with only a couple of years left in him, with a greater likelihood of missing out and starting 2018 with no good halfback recruit at all.

TruSaint

We can't complain though. It was either buy a very good half in Ben Hunt when we had a great chance, or compete with half a dozen other Sydney clubs to get a guy with only a couple of years left in him, with a greater likelihood of missing out and starting 2018 with no good halfback recruit at all.

agree 100%.

saint.nick

Luv your optimism mate, but we are struggling to sign our 6 and 1 on money that is nowhere near what Cronk would desire.

Dugan and Gaz still in talks...

Would take more than a yum cha meal to skin this deal. :) :)

PS Hunt and Cronk are 7's... and specialists at that.

Not fussed at all. Cooper will take the big bucks as he should and good luck to him. Dogs / Sou$$s / Chooks etc .

One of the few Storm players i respect.
....yeah but don't forget, the money we are offering to Widdop and Dugan is definitely lower than what we'd offer to Cronk. Widdop hasn't yet justified a Cronk-level salary, plus they can't afford it anyway while they still aim to keep Dugan as well. If we made a play for Cronk, we'd let both of them go and offer a huge deal to Cronk.

Dragonslayer

Wherever he goes, I bet there will be a clause inserted in his contract that he doesn't play against the Storm, similar to what we had with Sims last year.

saint.nick

His partner is in Sydney and they want to marry & have kids.

I'd say he'll look for a more big paycheck on a one year deal ...........
Probably Rorters ................... old Nick has the money and the cars to offer a great deal, TODAY!!!
What on earth makes them the favourites to his signature? Have you not noticed how well their new halves combination is playing? Why would they completely disrupt a potentially great long term halves pairing just so they can get Cronk for 1 year?

If Cronk wants a lot of money and a car then I'm sure other clubs than the Roosters can give that to him.

...unless you weren't being serious...

TruSaint

What on earth makes them the favourites to his signature? Have you not noticed how well their new halves combination is playing? Why would they completely disrupt a potentially great long term halves pairing just so they can get Cronk for 1 year?

If Cronk wants a lot of money and a car then I'm sure other clubs than the Roosters can give that to him.

...unless you weren't being serious...

Dogs mate...
I can see him at Canterbury.

BennyV

I would like to think he'd sign with Tigpies. There are a few ways to instantly improve the culture and performance of your team, and signing Cooper Cronk is one of them! Cleary needs all the help he can get and as one of the most professional blokes in the NRL, Cronk would be the man to do that.

Other option would be Dogs and they'd be mad not to throw every underperforming hack in their squad down the drain to get him. They've got a young halfback who debuted last week and didnt disgrace himself who could learn a lot from Cronk, it would allow Mbye to revert to his natural position and would set up their spine for years. Although I hope he doesnt go there because they are a bunch of merkins who deserve to fail at everything they ever attempt.

Frank Facer

Yes , I believe that you are right T.Saint , that certainly makes sense , however as T.R.V.river mentioned , his decision has come out off the blue , and has caught everyone off-guard - there will be a lot of scrambling going on now . This will prove to be very interesting , perhaps he may really like the Wollongong area and take a huge pay cut ? :rolleyes:
Someone told me a few weeks ago that Cronk was going to sign with a Sydney club. I am not sure which club he said, I think he said that Cronk was going to Wests and that Brooks was going to possibly Canterbury or Melbourne, but I am not exactly sure of this. When he told me, I replied that Cronk was under contract with Melbourne next year. So it may not be as out of the blue as it appears.

He is way to smart to come out of a very good system to even contemplate possibly finishing on the slide with a Sydney club.
He has a stellar career in media / commentary just waiting for him to turn up in Sydney.
I think he will take the suit out of the locker and put the boots in it.

TruSaint

Tedesco will stay a tiger, so to Moses and Woods. If I was Brooks, I would want to play under Bellamy, his game would improve so much that he would end up being a marqee player

I doubt they will keep 3 of the so called big 4.
IMHO they have a BIG 1.

Blood Shot Eyes

It was on the table. The club made a HUGE play for Cronk and Bellamy just a couple of years ago but they us back to stay in Melbourne.

I'd say this decision to come back to Sydney would have happened in the last day or two. It was a very personal decision, highly doubtful that any clubs would have known about it.
Mate I seriously doubt hes coming to Sydney to play footy...more like a job with Fox sports imo

Blood Shot Eyes

With respect Gaz... to replace whom ? We signed a half for 5 years. He will be 34 next year. Hunt deal is done and dusted, so where would a quality player like Cooper slot into our squad ? Even if we cant retain Gareth Widdop ( which i think we will ). Doesnt stack up my mate.

His decision came 24 hours after Dez was re-signed by the Dogs, and also Cleary appointed to Wests. Im guessing he wanted to see what lay ahead of him before going public.

Again, its only an opinion drawn from recent events, so i may be way off. There is no chance he will come to us, as his role has been filled, and we cant afford another 7 figure man.
Hi mate....look imo I doubt if he will play for another team .....he will be 34 and its not as if he would be short of a quid...end up on the the tele with Fox