Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Corey Norman??

rednwhites

Surprised Norman has been picked tbh. Without having a good look at who else QLD have available there must be some better options. I suppose Milford and Taylor don't exactly get a look in. He's hardly been in the origin league, though he's been solid and improving.

I'm past being bitter of how our team is disrupted. That only matters in the seasons where we have a chance. This experience is a good lesson in selflessness.

Crush

Anyone else Kevy and Freddy?
Sure you don't want to maybe select K Sims? Maybe chuck McInnes on the bench or something?
Look just because we are a rabble and coming dead last don't let that stop you completely and utterly decimating our team for the game vs Storm.

Paddles

I think Norman is a good choice by Queensland. Given Munster is always banging on about wanting to be fullback, I can see him shifting to 1 and Norman to 6. They'd be able to convince themselves they were getting some St George combination with Hunt at hooker (hopefully Qld replicate our attacking prowess this year...)

But Norman has been very good and consistent this year. He has a 'rocks or diamonds' reputation, but I can't remember a real rocks game. Certainly not since Widdop went down and he became a more senior figure in the team. And even in games when the forwards have been beaten he's always been dangerous.

I think he has a bit of James Maloney-like confidence/arrogance about him. He wouldn't be over-awed by Origin - he'd reckon he belongs there and would just waltz in, he wouldn't hold back from playing creatively, and he enjoys talking and organising.

OTOH it would be good if Kevvie's weird coach whisperer got him to do something really wacky, make some other odd selection instead, and save Norman for the weekend.

I think Norman is a good choice by Queensland. Given Munster is always banging on about wanting to be fullback, I can see him shifting to 1 and Norman to 6. They'd be able to convince themselves they were getting some St George combination with Hunt at hooker (hopefully Qld replicate our attacking prowess this year...)

But Norman has been very good and consistent this year. He has a 'rocks or diamonds' reputation, but I can't remember a real rocks game. Certainly not since Widdop went down and he became a more senior figure in the team. And even in games when the forwards have been beaten he's always been dangerous.

I think he has a bit of James Maloney-like confidence/arrogance about him. He wouldn't be over-awed by Origin - he'd reckon he belongs there and would just waltz in, he wouldn't hold back from playing creatively, and he enjoys talking and organising.

OTOH it would be good if Kevvie's weird coach whisperer got him to do something really wacky, make some other odd selection instead, and save Norman for the weekend.
I'd be happy if Munster played fullback for SGI. So if he is yearning for the chance to play fullback on a regular basis, make him an offer.

getsmarty

I'd be happy if Munster played fullback for SGI. So if he is yearning for the chance to play fullback on a regular basis, make him an offer.

Agree possm,......... but why would he leave Bellamy ?..no chance....you would have to offer Massive overs and that affects the balance of the rest of your squad.

Mate , you ate too much fruit cake on your birthday :birthday:That slime Munster will finished his contract with the Storm and be resigned on a far heftier pay packet . Until our uncle Bruce decides to come to the party and open his ‘ Scottish ‘ wallet we just won’t be in with any chance of luring him away from the southern capital.

getsmarty

Corey Norman officially named at five-eighth for Maroons
Author
QRL Media Release
Timestamp
Wed 3 Jul 2019, 10:26 AM

Kevin Walters has confirmed the Queensland Maroons line up for next Wednesday’s State of Origin decider at ANZ Stadium in Sydney.

Cameron Munster moves from five-eighth to fullback in the absence of the injured Kalyn Ponga, with Dragons playmaker Corey Norman the new No. 6.

In the forwards, Joe Ofahengaue is set to make his first starting appearance for the Maroons with Christian Welch to debut from the interchange bench.

“We’ve had a really positive start to our camp since we’ve got back together here in Brisbane,” Walters said.

“Now we’re about to get into some of our bigger training sessions so it’s an exciting time for everyone, particularly the players who have been given a new opportunity at this level.

“Cameron has always enjoyed playing fullback and I can sense how eager he is to make a strong contribution.

“The same can be said for Corey. He’s been in our system for a number of years now and he’s stoked to get the chance on such a big stage.

“Now it’s about getting down to business and making sure our preparation is spot on.”

Queensland Maroons
1. Cameron Munster
2. Corey Oates
3. Michael Morgan
4. Will Chambers
5. Dane Gagai
6. Corey Norman
7. Daly Cherry-Evans (C)
8. Joe Ofahengaue
9. Ben Hunt
10. Josh Papalii
11. Felise Kaufusi
12. Matt Gillett
13. Josh McGuire
14. Moses Mbye
15. Christian Welch
16. Tim Glasby
17. David Fifita
18. Ethan Lowe

https://www.dragons.com.au/news/2019/07/03/corey-norman-officially-named-at-five-eighth-for-maroons/

getsmarty

Norman perfect as Qld Origin No.6: Gillett
  • NRL
    r0_0_800_600_w1200_h678_fmax.jpg

Corey Norman (centre) impressed Queensland stalwart Matt Gillett (right) at the Brisbane Broncos.
    On paper, Corey Norman appears a huge risk after being named to make his Queensland debut as starting five-eighth in a State of Origin series decider.

But after making his NRL debut alongside Norman 10 seasons ago, Maroons backrower Matt Gillett reckons there is "no better bloke" than the St George Illawarra playmaker to pick at No.6 for July 10's clash in Sydney.

Maroons coach Kevin Walters raised eyebrows on Wednesday when he finally confirmed his 17 more than 48 hours after unveiling his game three squad by naming Norman at five-eighth and Cameron Munster at fullback.

Norman had been tipped to fill the bench utility role with the more seasoned Michael Morgan to partner captain Daly Cherry-Evans in the halves.

But 20-Origin veteran Gillett said he had no problem with Norman stepping up in the hot seat after getting to know the livewire on NRL debut back in 2010 for Brisbane.

"There's no better bloke than Corey. He is a cool customer," Gillett told AAP.

"I debuted with him back in 2010 and he hasn't changed one bit.

"He is a footy player. He plays what is in front of him. He doesn't get too caught up over whether it is a big game or anything like that.

"You couldn't have picked a more perfect bloke for this occasion."

Norman's halves combination with Cherry-Evans is as yet unproven.

However, Gillett believed Norman's understanding with Queensland hooker - and St George Illawarra halves partner - Ben Hunt would help ease the burden for the rookie in game three.

"He's been playing great with Ben Hunt at the Dragons so the combinations are great coming into this game," he said.

"And club combinations coming into Origin are very important."

Maroons great Billy Moore was also convinced.

"I've always had this theory that if Corey Norman was given a chance at Origin level he would do a good job and now we get to find out," he told Fox Sports.

"And he has to play No.6. DCE (Cherry-Evans) loves to be the general and lead the team around the park and has a great kicking game and that should free Norman up to be a strike player."

Norman turned Cherry-Evans into a believer after their first Maroons training session on Tuesday.

"He has had to wait a long time (for Origin selection) but it hasn't fazed him," Cherry-Evans said.

"I'm sure he has been hungry and motivated but for him to rock into camp and train like he did (on Tuesday) and fit right in with the group is exciting."

"I have known Corey for a while now so there hasn't been a worry about us not gelling.

"Now it is just about combinations on the field and that will come with repetition this week."

Australian Associated Press
https://www.illawarramercury.com.au/story/6256229/norman-perfect-as-qld-origin-no6-gillett/?cs=7486

getsmarty

Norman won't hold back on Origin debut
  • NRL

Corey Norman doesn't appear to be feeling the heat ahead of his State of Origin debut.
    Queensland five-eighth Corey Norman insists he won't hold back on debut in next week's State of Origin decider.

The St George Illawarra playmaker has vowed to be vocal and lead from the front against NSW as the Maroons attempt to bounce back from their mauling in Perth to regain the Origin shield.

Norman will partner Maroons' captain Daly Cherry-Evans in the halves with Kalyn Ponga's calf injury meaning Cameron Munster drops back to fullback for the decider.

After 180 NRL appearances across three clubs, the 28-year-old believes he is ready to be thrown into the Origin arena particularly after sampling the atmosphere as the Maroons' 18th man for game two.

"That's part of my job ... I can't be out there not saying anything," Norman said.

"Who doesn't want to play State of Origin in a decider? I think as a kid that's what you want to do.

"I just need to really need to knuckle down and worry about doing my job for the team and just do that."

Raised by a single mum in the suburbs of Logan south of Brisbane, Norman's first call after being told by coach Kevin Walters he would start was to his mother.

"It's only ever been me and mum," the Beenleigh Lions junior said.

"Obviously I wouldn't be here if she didn't take me to all the football games and work overtime and the lot.

"She was definitely getting the first call and it's kind of a reward for her for all her hard work to see me in a Maroons jersey."

Queensland continued their preparations on Thursday with an open field session in Brisbane.

Utility Moses Mbye spent parts of the session in left centre with Michael Morgan still on restricted duties due to concussion protocol after being caught high by Tariq Sims during North Queensland's NRL clash with the Dragons last weekend.

https://www.theleader.com.au/story/6257267/norman-wont-hold-back-on-origin-debut/?cs=9737

getsmarty

norman_20190704.jpg

STATE OF ORIGIN

'I wouldn't be here without my mum': Norman
Author
Joel Gould NRL.com Reporter
Timestamp
Thu 4 Jul 2019, 02:26 PM
gouldjoe-head.png

Corey Norman admits he wouldn’t be making his Maroons debut if it wasn’t for his mum Sandy so it was only natural she was the first person he called after coach Kevin Walters gave him the news that he would finally wear the Queensland jersey.

There were tears of joy on the other end when the 28-year-old Dragon rang to tell her that he had realised a boyhood dream. Sandy brought Corey up on her own in a housing commission area of Logan and worked overtime so he could play junior football with the Beenleigh Lions.

Walters’s call on Sunday while he was on his way to a St George Illawarra teammate's home will remain a moment he never forgets.

"I was actually driving to one of the boys’ houses and got the call and he told me I’d be in camp and get a jersey. I was so excited and then when I got off the phone I had a big ‘yes’ moment," Norman said after Maroons training on Thursday.

"Then obviously I rang my mum and told her and she was over the moon as well. She broke down in tears and was so excited for me. It was a bit upsetting hearing her cry, but all her hard work has paid off.

Corey Norman: Footy, business and the strong woman in his life

"She was a single parent as well. It has only ever been me and mum. I wouldn’t be here if she didn’t take me to all the football games and work overtime so she was definitely getting the first call.

"It is a reward for her and all her hard work to see me in this Maroons jersey. All my family is around that Logan area and we are proud Queenslanders so it is very special for me and my family."

The Dragons five-eighth wasn’t brought up with a silver spoon in his mouth but he is only proud of the journey he made from Beenleigh Lions junior to Broncos under 20s star and then NRL debutant in 2010.

"It is what it is. That is life. We have all done what we needed to do and it has made me the person I am today," he said.

Norman said there were "so many emotions" rolling around inside him when he got the news initially but he has since got down to business with the Maroons squad at training as he fine-tunes his role for the State of Origin series decider at ANZ Stadium on Wednesday.

He will partner Daly Cherry-Evans in the halves and try and get the backs firing. Spending a week in camp in Perth for game two has assisted him in that endeavour.

normanc-19070407701-sd.jpg

Corey Norman at Maroons training. :copyright:Scott Davis/NRL Photos
"Coming into camp in Origin II really helped where I got to run a few sessions and got to know the calls and plays so coming into this camp has really made me feel a lot more comfortable," Norman said.

"For me and Chez [Cherry Evans] we have still got Cameron Munster at the back who is going to have very big involvements so for us it is about keeping it simple and knowing our roles."

Mbye trains at centre, Norman ready for Origin debut

Munster and Cherry-Evans are big personalities and ooze confidence. Norman is no different and said he would not be daunted when asked whether he would find it difficult to assert his authority as a debutant.

"That is part of my job as a half. I can’t be out there not saying anything," he said.

"I have got to really know my role and do it well for the team. I don’t have to come up with any special plays or anything like that. I just have to worry about what I have to do."

Do fans think the Maroons can win without Ponga?

It is fitting that Norman will wear the No.6 jersey, the same one his idol Darren Lockyer wore when he was a schoolboy watching the game on TV at home.

"Locky was a big one for me, because he was just a freak," Norman said.

Norman spent a month out of action for the Dragons with a fractured cheek but said he had never lost faith that he would get an opportunity to play for Queensland after a decade in the top grade.

"I have always been confident in my own ability. Who doesn’t want to play State of Origin in a decider? As a kid that is all you want to do."

https://www.dragons.com.au/news/2019/07/04/i-wouldnt-be-here-without-my-mum-norman/

Frank Facer

Technically, both our halves are current origin players, but one is playing hooker for Qld and the other is only there due to an injury to Ponga.

getsmarty

Maroons' Norman has his own style: Fittler
  • National Sport News

Queensland playmaker Corey Norman (R) creates a new challenge for the NSW defence in Origin III.
    NSW coach Brad Fittler is adamant his team can repeat their game-two clampdown on Queensland's new-look attack in the State of Origin decider.

Fittler is expecting a different look from the Maroons in game three after the injury withdrawal of star fullback Kalyn Ponga.

Ponga's absence has forced Queensland to move Cameron Munster to fullback and hand Corey Norman his Origin debut at five-eighth.

Fittler concedes the Norman factor presents a new challenge for his defence, which had limited the Maroons to a penalty try in Perth.

"(Queensland will) definitely be different. The way Corey Norman ... not many people play like him. He's just got a style of his own," Fittler said.

"So the blokes playing week in, week out, will have had a good look at him. I'm pretty confident we can shut it down."

Norman re-unites with St George Illawarra halves partner Ben Hunt, who has blossomed at hooker this series for Queensland.

The pair have struck up a strong chemistry at the Dragons, with Norman setting up 11 tries and making just as many line breaks.

Hunt has 12 try assists and 13 line-break assists.

With two more training sessions until game day, Fittler is confident his side will be adequately prepared for whatever Queensland throw at them at ANZ Stadium.

"(The players) do a lot of research on these fellas, week in, week out. They know a lot of their mannerisms and habits and traits they go back to," Fittler said.

"We obviously go through their team and look at what we think can happen.

"But I'm very confident in what we're doing in our training sessions can stop what they want to throw at us."

The Blues have a new spine of their own after the dramatic recall of veteran playmaker Mitchell Pearce in place of the injured Nathan Cleary.

The former NSW No.7 had just two sessions with the team before the squad broke camp for the weekend.

Fittler is hoping Pearce's familiarity with a number of current Newcastle teammates, and former Sydney Roosters players, can hasten their preparation.

Pearce and five-eighth James Maloney won a grand final together in 2013 at the Roosters, and featured in two Origin series in 2013 and 2017.

"It's more the fact that him and James Maloney work together," Fittler said.

"That's the key. Fact is they've played grand finals together and a lot of big games together. So that will be a help, unbelievably, going into a big game.

"They just know each other's voice. They know people around them."

https://www.theleader.com.au/story/6261384/maroons-norman-has-his-own-style-fittler/?cs=13069

getsmarty

Norman worthy of Qld No.6 jersey: JT
By AAP
a day ago
A handful of training sessions have been enough to convince Queensland great Johnathan Thurston that Corey Norman is the man to step up in the Maroons No.6 jersey.

Thurston admitted the entire Queensland team was on notice ahead of July 10's State of Origin series decider after an "un-Maroon-like" display in their horror 38-6 game two loss to NSW in Perth.

But Thurston had no problem with Norman stepping up as Queensland five-eighth on Origin debut in Sydney after witnessing the St George Illawarra playmaker take charge at training.

Maroons assistant Thurston has been working closely with Norman since the Dragons X-factor was drafted into the side after a backline reshuffle following fullback Kalyn Ponga's withdrawal with a calf injury.

Regular Maroons pivot Cameron Munster has been slotted into fullback for the decider, opening the door for Norman to make his Origin debut at 27 in the halves.

It appeared a big risk.

But Thurston - one of the Maroons' greatest five-eighths thanks to a stellar 37-game Origin career - was quick to confirm the Dragons star was worthy of the Queensland No.6 jersey, tipping him to be the difference in game three.

"Corey Norman is making his debut but he has a lot of talk out there (at training), getting players around him, making sure they are running the right lines and letting them know what he needs from those players," Thurston told QRL website.

"I have been really impressed with him.

"He's got a lot of first grade experience under his belt and been knocking on the door now for a couple of years - I am really happy for him."

Norman has been a sponge around Thurston at Camp Maroon as Queensland look to respond following a "brutal" video review of NSW's game two rout.

"Our effort area was really poor (in game two), it was a very un-Maroon-like performance," Thurston said.

"They have had a very harsh and honest review. Now that has been put to bed they have trained really well.

"Hopefully it will be better in game three. No doubt it will be.

"But they have come flying out of the blocks at training. The ball is in their court now so I am really confident they will get the job done."

Another who has impressed Thurston is Norman's halves partner, captain Daly Cherry-Evans.

"He is the right choice (as captain) for this side now. He needs to now that but I think he does - I have been really impressed with his leadership," Thurston said.

"He doesn't talk just for the sake of it but he is very direct and gets his point across extremely well - that's what you want from your leader.

"He's cool, clam and collected which is vital when you are on the footy field - I have been very impressed with him."

:copyright:

https://wwos.nine.com.au/nrl/norman...ersey-jt/3368c016-0069-4a15-b8f1-758b5a23f5bf