Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Corona Virus and NRL Games

Are you saying that people’s lives outside football haven’t been impacted by viruses excluding Covid-19?

What parallel universe are you residing this evening, champ?
The key point is the quote “more than anything we’ve seen in our lives”.

Given we’re all apparently stupid in your eyes, can you please point out a virus that has created as much disruption this side of WW2.

Not one iota and yes....seething. As anyone who knows me will attest, I love cricket :cricket:

Did you miss the part which says 94% recovered/discharged?
Ok - so if 6% is an appropriate death rate for you, at what point does the death rate become inappropriate? 8%? 10%?

And you appear to have skipped over the graph at the top. Given in the past 10 days we have 10x the number of infected people, at what point does your supremely advanced mind see that rate stopping?

Not many viruses out there with that infection or kill rate..

Saint_JimmyG

The key point is the quote “more than anything we’ve seen in our lives”.

Given we’re all apparently stupid in your eyes, can you please point out a virus that has created as much disruption this side of WW2.

The key part to your not-well-thought-out riposte....”disruption”. could you provide a bit more clarity because that’s very open to subjectivity. Is it a simple matter of morality rates or the lockdown of society as seen in New Zealand and India (just to give a brace of examples)?

And no, despite your proclivity (amongst many things) chicanery, I don’t believe that your statement “(that” we are all apparently stupid in your eyes etc”) is correct. You, however, on an individual basis is an entirely different story altogether.

SBD82

As a kid I was told “she is the cat’s mother”.

To this date I still have NFI what that actually means..
I just spent far too long looking into the origins of this phrase.

And do you know what I found? f**k all. That’s what.

Damn it Muzby. This is going to haunt me for weeks.

Crush

Sure, please do. Let’s reconvene in the first week of May. In the interim and as a suggestion, keep an eye on a website called Worldometres.com (or something similar) which keeps informed people abreast just how Corona virus is affected the Australian populace by large.

It’s not as catastrophic as the government (and media outlets) would have you “think”.
1st week of May?
Friday 20th April is one month. Its in my diary to check in and see if we are all back at work, watching live footy and going out for seafood dinners again.
Unlike you I don't think it'll blow over in a month. If I had to put a date on it I'd say more like July...at best.

Saint_JimmyG

Ok - so if 6% is an appropriate death rate for you, at what point does the death rate become inappropriate? 8%? 10%?

And you appear to have skipped over the graph at the top. Given in the past 10 days we have 10x the number of infected people, at what point does your supremely advanced mind see that rate stopping?

Not many viruses out there with that infection or kill rate..

I’ve never stated any kind of death rate is “appropriate”. I dare you to demonstrate where I have done so. Kindly desist making up shit as difficult as it must be for you to do so. All deaths are sad no matter the circumstances.

Let’s be clear on this; my position is that while Covid-19 shouldn’t be treated lightly, there has been far too much hysteria for a virus with a high recovery rate. As many experts agree, thee are far worse viruses with much higher casualties. Think of Ebola as a perfect example, which transpired after WWIII.

One more item of note: your final line infers that there ARE viruses with “that infection and kill rate”, which, of course, is very true. The irony here is delicious.

Saint_JimmyG

1st week of May?
Friday 20th April is one month. Its in my diary to check in and see if we are all back at work, watching live footy and going out for seafood dinners again.
Unlike you I don't think it'll blow over in a month. If I had to put a date on it I'd say more like July...at best.

Somewhere....elsewhere...I indicated “about a month’s time”, but point taken. I still reckon (provided the government doesn’t continue acquiescing to scaremongering), normality will resume sooner rather than later.

BTW, I’m still slaving away at work, No rest for the wicked, I’m afraid.

Saint Pedro

The key part to your not-well-thought-out riposte....”disruption”. could you provide a bit more clarity because that’s very open to subjectivity. Is it a simple matter of morality rates or the lockdown of society as seen in New Zealand and India (just to give a brace of examples)?

And no, despite your proclivity (amongst many things) chicanery, I don’t believe that your statement “(that” we are all apparently stupid in your eyes etc”) is correct. You, however, on an individual basis is an entirely different story altogether.
Are you one of those people that believe if others don’t understand a word you used, then you are smarter than them? Just wondering. I knew a guy that tried to belittle everybody by knowing a barely known band to shiw their wisdom of music. He couldn’t play a note himself. Anyway, try the Australian Oxford thesaurus, for the rest of us. Cheers/salut/ Le chaime

kumbaya, my lord, kumbaya...

Can't we all just get along?

Would love to , but went to my local Bunnings today and the place was crawling with panic buyers - no tools nor hardware in their ‘ big as a mini-bus ‘ trolley but gloves disposable masks , disinfectant and spray cleaners - all gone.

Certainly not the actions of the dinky-di Aussie shopper neither .

I just spent far too long looking into the origins of this phrase.

And do you know what I found? f**k all. That’s what.

Damn it Muzby. This is going to haunt me for weeks.

“ She is cats mother “

Instead of using a woman’s name you call her ‘ she ‘ - ‘ she ‘ being the name given to a cat that has a litter of kittens .

Or the other being an old wives saying when speaking about a woman who is extremely calculating in her ways “ She is a cats mother “ - she is the matriarch of all cats .

Saint_JimmyG

Are you one of those people that believe if others don’t understand a word you used, then you are smarter than them? Just wondering. I knew a guy that tried to belittle everybody by knowing a barely known band to shiw their wisdom of music. He couldn’t play a note himself. Anyway, try the Australian Oxford thesaurus, for the rest of us. Cheers/salut/ Le chaime

Was the band originally called Spiff Rouch, later known as AustralianCrawl?

Saint_JimmyG

Would love to , but went to my local Bunnings today and the place was crawling with panic buyers - no tools nor hardware in their ‘ big as a mini-bus ‘ trolley but gloves disposable masks , disinfectant and spray cleaners - all gone.

Could you buy a sausage sizzle though, out the front?

Old Kogarah Boy 1

Panic buying of late has been ridiculous.
Just the other day, l purchased another 6 bottles of gin and all around the bottle shop and Woolies were these fools rushing everywhere, grabbing this, grabbing that .............. total bedlam l say!