Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

News Coronavirus and NRL

Its totally inexcusable.

They both should realise that everyone in the world is going through a rough time in these circumstances. Yes its sad the current laws prevent people from visiting others but the message is clear, stay home, stay safe and we will get through it.

Unfortunately this message is continuingly ignored and when two big name NRL stars ignore the rules and make an @rse of themselves, its an insult to the hard work that Vlandys and co are doing to resume the season as early as possible.

stryker

Contracts DO NOT automatically "get re-interpreted" because there may be a breach or failure to comply. Mate, you have NFI. If you think you know anything at all, go ahead and explain it.

Until then, I am as settled as much as you are at blowing gaskets.
I didnt say automatically you stupid prick I said this one was going to and it has.
So just f**k off with your lies and incorrect crap.

Danish

The NRL should just enforce a 14 day quarantine on the 3 of them. 14 days they have to stay locked in their homes until they can ben cleared again to play. If they leave their home, the 14 day counter starts again.

Ultimately if they follow this, they'd lose only 1 week of training. No biggie. If they turn up at training though, well then the entire team is on 14 day quarantine from each other.

That is a small enough punishment if they follow orders, with enough of a threat for their respective clubs to ensure they are following it.

If a player breaks quarantine protocol during the season, it should be an automatic 2 week suspension/quarantine, with their team forfeiting 2 rounds if they attempt to have a quarantined player train mid-season.

Xcalibre

Fox sports has a case of bipolar disorder. Earlier tonight they showed a clip of Paul Kent criticising the two players. Just now they reported the story with a very supportive tone and even had advice to call lifeline at the end. Give me a break! I’m sure there’s plenty of people that were suffering mental illness before the pandemic that could be much worse with the current situation. Most of them have stayed home.

Maybe if there wasn’t video of them yahooing on dirt bikes and with guns I’d have some empathy...

Last Week

Fox sports has a case of bipolar disorder. Earlier tonight they showed a clip of Paul Kent criticising the two players. Just now they reported the story with a very supportive tone and even had advice to call lifeline at the end. Give me a break! I’m sure there’s plenty of people that were suffering mental illness before the pandemic that could be much worse with the current situation. Most of them have stayed home.

Maybe if there wasn’t video of them yahooing on dirt bikes and with guns I’d have some empathy...

The mental health thing is bullshit also.

A family member is having suicidal thoughts? OK. Let's give them a gun and go shooting together. Great plan.

Xcalibre

OMFG, I just read this from the article posted before.. “The pair, alongwith Roberts-Davis, were caught on the hunting and camping trip on the mid-north coast at Mitchell’s property at Caffreys Flat, near Taree in photographs and videos with nine other friends and relatives.

They also travelled nearly 200km from Caffreys Flat to a remote beach between Hat Head and South West Rocks to go trail bike riding.

Police spoke to the three men on Monday before issuing them with the $1000 infringements.

But the breach was not the first time police had spoken to Addo-Carr for failing to adhere to the lockdown laws.

With the country being urged to stay at home, Addo-Carr was given formal warnings by police on April 3 and April 14 – both at Glebe after being found sitting in a car without good reason. He was also warned on April 16 for driving an unregistered car at Forest Lodge.

Detectives are also investigating Addo-Carr for allegedly firing a shotgun owned by Mitchell despite not holding a firearms licence – a charge whichcarries a maximum of five years in jail.

And Mitchell, who is the registered owner of several weapons, is being investigated under section 39 of the NSW Firearms Act (1996) for allegedlynot taking precautions that the shotgun did not come into the possession of aperson not authorised to possess it.

That charge has a maximum penalty of fines of thousands of dollars or two years in jail.”

So not only did JAC and possibly both (maybe LM was already at his property?) drive from Sydney to there, probably stopping along the way and possibly coming into contact with others, then they go with their 10 mates on a 400km round trip to ride unregistered bikes on a beach? FMD. It didn’t occur to me before but that is a big no-no in the dirt bike community (well amongst mature riders) because if you hurt or kill someone while doing so, zero insurance. Obviously it’s a VERY big no-no in the law enforcement community too.

And they post it all online for anyone to see. How dumb can you be?!

Timbo

Josh Addo-Carr was warned twice before controversial camping trip
The camping trip that has put the NRL’s comeback plans on the brink wasn’t Josh Addo-Carr’s first warning over social distancing restrictions. And the Melbourne Storm star’s problems could get even more serious.

Josh Addo-Carr was warned twice in 11 days for violating COVID-19 restrictions before he was caught for a third time on a weekend camping trip that has thrown the NRL into crisis.

The Melbourne Storm winger, South Sydney superstar Latrell Mitchell and Newcastle Knights player Tyronne Roberts-Davis have each been fined $1000 by police for breaching social distancing protocols in photos Addo-Carr released on social media, which were then published in The Daily Telegraph.

But the monetary penalties and public embarrassment of breaching the lockdown laws may not be the only problems for Addo-Carr and Mitchell, who are also being investigated for possible criminal charges relating to firearms.

The pair, along with Roberts-Davis, were caught on the hunting and camping trip on the mid-north coast at Mitchell’s property at Caffreys Flat, near Taree in photographs and videos with nine other friends and relatives.

They also travelled nearly 200km from Caffreys Flat to a remote beach between Hat Head and South West Rocks to go trail bike riding.

Police spoke to the three men on Monday before issuing them with the $1000 infringements.

But the breach was not the first time police had spoken to Addo-Carr for failing to adhere to the lockdown laws.

With the country being urged to stay at home, Addo-Carr was given formal warnings by police on April 3 and April 14 – both at Glebe after being found sitting in a car without good reason. He was also warned on April 16 for driving an unregistered car at Forest Lodge.

Detectives are also investigating Addo-Carr for allegedly firing a shotgun owned by Mitchell despite not holding a firearms licence – a charge which carries a maximum of five years in jail.

And Mitchell, who is the registered owner of several weapons, is being investigated under section 39 of the NSW Firearms Act (1996) for allegedly not taking precautions that the shotgun did not come into the possession of a person not authorised to possess it.

That charge has a maximum penalty of fines of thousands of dollars or two years in jail.

Police will also investigate whether any of the men committed traffic offences for riding unregistered trail bikes on the beach without licenses.

While police spent the day investigating the players, a furious NRL boss Peter V’landys worked alongside the integrity unit to determine what penalties head office should hand out.

The Daily Telegraph understands all three players are facing suspensions of up to a month, or possibly two weeks combined with heavy fines.

“The players will be afforded due process and natural justice,” V’landys said. “However this is a serious matter.”

He refused to comment when asked if the players would be suspended.

Earlier the NRL issued a statement to say their behaviour was ‘unacceptable.’

The incident has created doubts about the ability of NRL players to adhere to the strict protocols the NRL is putting in place for a training resumption next week and a return to playing on May 28.

It makes V’landy’s job far more difficult in upcoming negotiations with health officials and government ministers about hopes for a May 28 return.

At least the Addo-Carr and Mitchell apologised via their social media accounts afternoon as the seriousness of their actions came to light.

After originally denying any wrongdoing in an interview with The Daily Telegraph, Addo-Carr said: “I’m really sorry from the bottom of my heart.

“Nothing was intentional or deliberate. A couple of family members of mine were going through a really tough time at the moment.

“I got into touch with Latrell to try to go out to his private property to try to connect to our culture again. Try and put a smile on their faces and have a bit of fun as well.”

He made no mention of his previous issues with police re COVID-19 protocols.

Mitchell also used his Instagram account to say sorry.

“It was a little bit of a slip up,” he said. “Foxy reached out, had his cousins going through a bit of stuff in Sydney and wanted to get away up to the bush and making sure they’re getting culturally connected again.

“That’s what the concept of the weekend was. He wasn’t here to break any rules or hurt anyone.

“We’re not being selfish. I couldn’t turn the brothers in a time of need. Just wanted to let youse know on behalf of me and Foxy and all my mob we do apologise.”

What unbelievably entitled f**kwits.

Furthermore, their apologies are clearly not apologies for doing it, rather apologies for getting caught. Look at the list of shit Addo-Car has done in the last fortnight alone.

I hold very slim hopes that the boneheads who play in this league will be able to maintain a quarantine to get us playing again.

The battle continues!

To play, or not to play. That is the $33 million question.

Forget the Twenty20 World Cup and its implications for rugby league, because the NRL will be forced into a decision - as early as Monday - on the length of its season without knowing whether the cricket is on, off or postponed.

Whether it's a 17 or 20-round competition will come down to one fundamental question: what is more important, money or integrity?
This column has been told by sources close to negotiations that at least one broadcaster, potentially both, has agreed only to pay for what was stipulated in the original broadcast contract, which was an NRL season that ended on October 4.

What will stand up in the court room as "fulfiling contractual obligations", which is interpreted differently depending on who on you ask, is an argument nobody intends to have.

It's why a 17-round season, beginning on May 28 was agreed as a minimum at a meeting between ARLC chairman Peter V'landys, Foxtel boss Patrick Delanyand Nine chief executive Hugh Marks on Friday afternoon.

The rest, which includes the potential for a maximum 20-round competition, will depend on how much the NRL is willing to sacrifice.
Roughly, the NRL gets about $11 million from its broadcasters per round - $8 million from Fox Sports for all eight games and $3 million from Nine for Thursday night, Friday night and Sunday afternoon games.

It's no secret Nine has been looking to save as much money as possible from its rugby league deal in 2020, so it's safe to assume if one of the two broadcasters expressed an unwillingness to pay for more than the 17-round season, it was the free-to-air network.

If only Nine doesn't pay, the NRL will be about $9 million down if it plays another three rounds. That skyrockets by about $24 million if Fox follows suit.

Fox Sports is desperate for content to provide its subscribers, but no one could blame the pay-TV network for not wanting to pay for a product that Nine could get for free for up to as many as the final three rounds.
The alternative the NRL now faces is lowering the broadcast fee per round, a way of appeasing Fox if Nine doesn't pay.

It's either that or upset club powerbrokers, including one of V'landys' biggest advocates in Roosters boss Nick Politis, who are questioning the integrity and authenticity of a shortened competition.

https://www.smh.com.au/sport/nrl/cash-v-integrity-the-nrl-s-33-million-dilemma-20200426-p54ncd.html

GongPanther

A period of games but not the whole season
I just hope that in one or two weeks time, this hasn't faded into history. Clamp down on these buffoons and let the other players know that hey are dead set on notice from now on. The clubs expect it, the sponsors expect it, and mostly the fans demand it.

How fooking hard can it be just to have common sense these days?

Phil Gould has called for Latrell Mitchell and Josh Addo-Carr to be suspended for the rest of the NRL season over their camping trip fiasco, as leading journalist Paul Kent said the players’ excuses of it being a ‘cultural’ exercise didn’t wash.

Both the NRL and NSW Police are looking into the incident, with both players being issued with $1,000 fines.

There is also a probe over the use of a firearm by Addo-Carr which was posted to social media.
“They’ve let themselves down, they’ve let their teammates down, they’ve let the code down,” Gould told 2GB. Asked what he would do if he was in charge of their clubs: “For the protection of your own club, you need to isolate these boys from the rest of the group.

“Honestly, they don’t deserve to be playing this year.

“What they’ve done is horribly irresponsible, its might seem like a harsh penalty, and that was uncalled for, particularly when our game is trying to convince government that we can restart.
The Daily Telegraph’s Kent says that the actions of Addo-Carr and Mitchell have put the competition’s future in jeopardy.

As the game works towards a May 28 restart date, the behaviour of Addo-Carr and Mitchell has endangered the sport’s ability to resume.

“These two pelicans have put all of that at risk,” said Kent
“Just a week ago Project Apollo were saying to coaches if you go out and break these isolation rules, you potentially lose competition points.

“Now not even a week later, they are posting their own crimes – I mean, that’s where we’re at.”

6cdad3f6d2cb275af8c5411850b3364c

Josh Addo-Carr and Latrell Mitchell flouting social distancing rules during a trip to Taree.Source: FOX SPORTS
Kent also said that the excuses used by the pair didn’t wash.

“Saying a couple of blokes were struggling and wanted to get back to culture, that’s just an excuse. In the fair dinkum states, everybody is doing it a little bit tough to different degrees,” he added.

“We’re all going through a bit, as far as the culture goes. I get going for a camp, but riding motorbikes and shooting guns – I don’t think it is what Aboriginal people regard as their culture.
“That’s just a cop out, a sympathy vote, to say look after me, mental wellbeing, culture card gets played.

“It’s just rubbish, act like a man and try and do the right thing. And if you do the wrong thing, apologise say I stuffed up and go away and learn the lesson.”

The loss of $1,000 in police fines is not all Josh Addo-Carr and Latrell Mitchell face the prospect of slipping from their grasp.

Mal Meninga has warned the pair, who were part of the Australian side that beat New Zealand but lost to Tonga at the back end of 2019, that this will impact their future selection for Australia.
Meninga said he was disappointed in their actions on Fox League Live, after Mitchell invited Addo-Carr up to Taree.

The pair posted videos on social media, riding around on bikes, shooting and sitting around a camp fire.

And their blatant breaking of social-distancing protocol, is likely to cost them a Kangaroos jersey in the future.
“We’ve got a values system that is really important, for how we do things,” Meninga said.

“One of those things is about being good role models.

“When you put on the green and gold jersey, you accept that responsibility to be a leader in our game and in the community.
“They have shown they can’t be trusted, for me, it makes me look at whether they are deserving of a green and gold jersey.”

Australia were due to play England in a three-match Ashes series later this year ahead of next year’s World Cup, but the future of that tour remains uncertain due to coronavirus.

The NRL is expected to hand down a punishment for Addo-Carr and Mitchell on Tuesday.

https://www.foxsports.com.au/nrl/ka...s/news-story/59b28ec7ba81d27d4152ed2917af2801

Hello, I'm The Doctor

The battle continues!

To play, or not to play. That is the $33 million question.

Forget the Twenty20 World Cup and its implications for rugby league, because the NRL will be forced into a decision - as early as Monday - on the length of its season without knowing whether the cricket is on, off or postponed.

Whether it's a 17 or 20-round competition will come down to one fundamental question: what is more important, money or integrity?
This column has been told by sources close to negotiations that at least one broadcaster, potentially both, has agreed only to pay for what was stipulated in the original broadcast contract, which was an NRL season that ended on October 4.

What will stand up in the court room as "fulfiling contractual obligations", which is interpreted differently depending on who on you ask, is an argument nobody intends to have.

It's why a 17-round season, beginning on May 28 was agreed as a minimum at a meeting between ARLC chairman Peter V'landys, Foxtel boss Patrick Delanyand Nine chief executive Hugh Marks on Friday afternoon.

The rest, which includes the potential for a maximum 20-round competition, will depend on how much the NRL is willing to sacrifice.
Roughly, the NRL gets about $11 million from its broadcasters per round - $8 million from Fox Sports for all eight games and $3 million from Nine for Thursday night, Friday night and Sunday afternoon games.

It's no secret Nine has been looking to save as much money as possible from its rugby league deal in 2020, so it's safe to assume if one of the two broadcasters expressed an unwillingness to pay for more than the 17-round season, it was the free-to-air network.

If only Nine doesn't pay, the NRL will be about $9 million down if it plays another three rounds. That skyrockets by about $24 million if Fox follows suit.

Fox Sports is desperate for content to provide its subscribers, but no one could blame the pay-TV network for not wanting to pay for a product that Nine could get for free for up to as many as the final three rounds.
The alternative the NRL now faces is lowering the broadcast fee per round, a way of appeasing Fox if Nine doesn't pay.

It's either that or upset club powerbrokers, including one of V'landys' biggest advocates in Roosters boss Nick Politis, who are questioning the integrity and authenticity of a shortened competition.

https://www.smh.com.au/sport/nrl/cash-v-integrity-the-nrl-s-33-million-dilemma-20200426-p54ncd.html

Pfft, false dichotomy. Never let your opponent decide the question you need to answer...

Do you want:
A) a short season with lots of money?
B) a longer season but less money?

Obvious fan answer “we want B!!” And C9 get heaps of content without paying extra.

Never let the opposition decide the question you have to answer.