Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

News Coronavirus and NRL

Pommy

wtf? take your silly straw man somewhere else

it’s not really a straw man though is it? I’m getting up to go to work in the morning to pay the bills, why shouldn’t the players be able to do the same? Didn’t you just watch that conference? As it stands players will be on the rock and roll and unable to pay mortgages within weeks, I’m sure some of the million dollar players can wear that but a lot of players aren’t on huge sums of money.

franklin2323

Reality is that business probably does have to shut up shop eventually.

If a place that has drunk the capitalist Kool Aid to the extent that China has is aware of this we should be too.

It will come but until then while kids are going to school and us adults work then should try to keep it going

Reading between the lines(ie. my couch conspiracy)I reckon the ARLC will suspend the season irrespective of what they said today. To me, it’s about the Govt telling them to shut down so they have a better argument for compensation.
it’s not really a straw man though is it? I’m getting up to go to work in the morning to pay the bills, why shouldn’t the players be able to do the same? Didn’t you just watch that conference? As it stands players will be on the rock and roll and unable to pay mortgages within weeks, I’m sure some of the million dollar players can wear that but a lot of players aren’t on huge sums of money.

I didn’t say cancel the comp, I said send everyone to Townsville now

Todd Greenberg seems to be twice the executive compared to V'landys.

V’landys has never been the frontman for organisations and going into this job he said he didn’t intend to be a frontman for the NRL. His skills lie elsewhere, but given the unprecedented nature of what’s happening I guess he felt he needed to step up and support along with Todd.

they’ve both been absolutely under the pump in the last week, I’m not going to be critical of anything.

Reading between the lines i think the NRL is desperate not to default on their broadcast contract.

As it stands it is possible to play so they don't have any room for negotiation with the broadcasters. The NRL will play until such time that a player contracts the virus or the government forces them to stop. That way they can at least tell the broadcasters it isn't their fault and beg them to honour the contract with some type of compensation for next year

Why can’t the biosecurity person give that advice now. Why is there a wait????
Because this is evolving day by day, hour to hour. The medical profession is still learning about this virus. The bio security person then applies the newest information to the NRL scenario & apply those decisions to what is in the NRL’s best interest. This needed to be explained?

Quicksilver

Reading between the lines i think the NRL is desperate not to default on their broadcast contract.

As it stands it is possible to play so they don't have any room for negotiation with the broadcasters. The NRL will play until such time that a player contracts the virus or the government forces them to stop. That way they can at least tell the broadcasters it isn't their fault and beg them to honour the contract with some type of compensation for next year

This really is the critical thing. I'd be doing everything possible to make sure the product is still there.

Do the Wayne Bennett. Isolate them and play them somewhere remote if necessary.

We're all going to be sitting around at home doing nothing.. We need something to watch... Hey, maybe this is their opportunity to burst on to the international sports channels. They'll need content too.. :cool:

simmo05

I really hope that everyone has enough coin saved up to survive the coming economic disaster. My thinking is that if we keep shutting shit down, people stop living their normal lives, people don't spend, millions of people will be f**ked. Businesses will collapse, homes and cars reposessed. More people will die from suicide, than from the virus. As for the footy, I am thinking that the players will be taking a substantial cut in the salary cap for the next few years. I also think that fox will have the NRL over a barrel next tv deal. A couple of clubs might not survive the year, with a possibility of the NRL no longer existingbeyond 2020.

t-ba

I don’t think they are doing the right thing talking publicly about the financial consequences of not playing. Keep those discussions private. The public line should be that everyone’s health is the main consideration.

Money Talks mate.

This is the world we live in. Look at how much more worried the Donald is about the Stonks than the actual virus. This is pretty much the thinking of most in power except they have a filter that ensures they don't say it out loud.

Quicksilver

Money Talks mate.

This is the world we live in. Look at how much more worried the Donald is about the Stonks than the actual virus. This is pretty much the thinking of most in power except they have a filter that ensures they don't say it out loud.

And while the economic impact might not kill in the first round, it will lay some people out in the following months.

I don’t think they are doing the right thing talking publicly about the financial consequences of not playing. Keep those discussions private. The public line should be that everyone’s health is the main consideration.

There is only so many times one can say everyone's health is the main consideration. Eventually, the financial story comes out.

I think he was being very strategic here by starting discussions on government assistance. He wants all major sporting codes digging in and pressuring government for help because he knows without it, the game is potentially farked. See his work on the equestrian flu a few years back where he managed to squeeze the government for several hundred million.