Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

News Coronavirus and NRL

There's never been a better time for the TV product.

People are sitting around doing nothing and have been for weeks. They've already watched everything they want to watch on Netflix. They will sit and watch even the most boring games at the moment.

Yes but is there the same advertising dollars?

I would have to assume not in the current climate and that is what FTA broadcasters pay big money for.

T-Boon

There's never been a better time for the TV product.

People are sitting around doing nothing and have been for weeks. They've already watched everything they want to watch on Netflix. They will sit and watch even the most boring games at the moment.

Exactly. I cut Fox the day NRL stopped. After Stan runs Better Call Saul final episode in a couple weeks I will cut Stan. All I will have is Netflix. I am actually thinking of putting DVDs into a DVD player or worse read a book. I would eat dog shit to be able to watch NRL right now.

I recommend
51wrfkuAg-L._SX397_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

13838032.jpg

AJB1102

What’s the point people are losing their jobs advertising dollar is shrinking we still have social distancing in place, is football more important than peoples lives...

RL's return would obviously return lost job opportunities and no doubt create a few.

It's not more important than people's lives. It's not case of "no footy and no deaths" vs "footy and deaths" - they got nothing to do with each other. Don't be a drama queen.

Perth Tiger

Yes but is there the same advertising dollars?

I would have to assume not in the current climate and that is what FTA broadcasters pay big money for.
Well that is their problem. They have paid the NRL for their product and they are doing everything they can to provide within the confines of gov regulations. This hissy fit is nothing more than trying to leverage the situation to alter the contract.

King hit

Channel 9 bagging someone over mismanagement :joy::joy::joy:

big words from the channel that has Eddie racistguire as a star, garbage like ACA staying on years beyond its relevance, bigots like Hadley as commentators, screwed up once great sports coverage and trashy shit like MAFS as it’s ratings winner

And these morons are talking about management

Cactus

Have 9 thought this through ?

There is still a contract albeit one in which both parties are currently in breach. Questionable as to what the legal ramifications and the rights and wrongs of that is.

Its obvious 9 thinks that they can either a) get rights for vastly reduced sum or b) move away from the contract with the intention to cite the NRL is in breach.

But there may well be a third option. Publicly coming out with statements saying they want to renegotiate is not a smart thing to do. Just the mere suggestion of a willingness to not comply with a contract is enough to actually put that party in breach of the contract.

That could well mean an open the door for other broadcast parties and 9 lose their incumbent advantage.

Well that is their problem. They have paid the NRL for their product and they are doing everything they can to provide within the confines of gov regulations. This hissy fit is nothing more than trying to leverage the situation to alter the contract.

Well they already haven't delivered the promised product, correct?

It is a matter of economics, they pay X amount for the product knowing (or theorizing) that they will get Y back in income where Y > X.

If you are going to excuse the NRL for not delivering the promised product due to government regulation then it is fair to excuse channel 9 wanting to pay less due to that same government regulation affecting their ability to sell advertising slots at the pre COVID-19 prices

Both parties should just come to the table and negotiate a separate deal for this year and get back to business this year. If it is true that the NRL hasn't notified or engaged their key stakeholders about the plans to re-start the season and the relevant modifications then that is just poor business.

bubs

I'm no financial expert, but I'm wondering if the clubs are doing their dosh on hiring grounds from councils, and security for these grounds.
I read that the Sharks, (we own our own ground) need a crowd of 13000 odd to break even.
How much are the clubs paying to councils to hire their grounds for each game? And how much the security companies are fleecing the clubs. These things must hurt the clubs big time too.

It's true but would it have been so hard to consult with them?

Just more incompetence from an organisation with no idea.
If you believe more than 10% of Nine's statement, for which they couldn't even put a name to, then you're more gullible than I ever imagined.