Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Craig Field

Alex28

While you lawyer-types do the job of the court system, the bigger debate is which club should be taking responsibility for developing this grub of a human. Souffs fans say he is a Tiger, Tigers fans say he is a bunny. Neither - to their credit - say he is an eagle. The eagles developing anybody - that's funny.

The man answers the question himself:

FIELD'S BUNNIES LAMENT
Your correspondent spoke to Craig Field just a couple of days before a pub incident which resulted in the former South Sydney captain being charged with murder. The 39-year-old was in good spirits when we spoke, happy to chat about his beloved Bunnies, his coaching career in Cudgen and life up north. Despite also playing for Manly, Balmain and Wests Tigers, Field said he considered himself a Souths man. ''I definitely go for Souths, they gave me my first opportunity,'' Field said last week. ''There were a lot of reasons I left Souths - I had my manager and other people saying it would be best to leave. You get a big offer from Manly and you get the hierarchy, the officials telling you to go, that it would be the best thing for your career. And then you get bagged for it. At the end of the day I have no grudges against anyone, I made my bed and I've got to lie in it. I'm happy I played 12 years of NRL but I'll never forget the 12 years I had with Souths.''

So...in the fine tradition of Darrell Trindall, John Elias and the like, they have developed yet another spiv. Well done pride of the league!

:)

Fire

Don't tell me, you have friends in high places. Mark Tedeschi is your bestie.

When you address your civil liberties conferences with him, does he do most of
the talking? It must be a fuc@#king short address since you can only manage
one sentence posts.

A fast address is a good address.

^ What is that? :lol:

CrazyTiger

Is this your lawyer friend?

Fire knows lots of important people. He is very powerful. He likes to "appeal to authority".
It is all very hush hush. Fire is so important, he appeals to authority when he can't even say
who they are. I admire Fire. Benji is terrorist you know (it is the beard).

Fire is a very important speaker at civil liberties conventions. People must hang on his
every word, all 12 of them.

Crazt Tiger - isnt a breath test just a copper randomly searching people to see if they are committing a crime too?

Maybe you were picking the child up from a pub? They have dress codes.

I love the questioning of special provisions to protect Ambos too. It would save money if we didnt have ambos and simply let people bleed to death..............

As for the school - they have duty of care. Regardless of who gave permission,it breaks their duty of care to release a child into the care of a deranged idiot - the shoes were no excuse.

Pistol_Pete

Anyone watch 4 corners last night (or IQ'd to watch after MNF) or were you re-watching footy show re-runs, wanking yourselves into a feverish lather with brohman and vautin's humour setting you off into hysterics like the brain dead morons most of you are

You lot who think police, govt's, etc (i.e the establishment) have the public's interest at heart and are accountable are a load of spastics.

Read the site of Falkvinge (who set up the Pirate Bay) to see how they were `coincidentally' given a judge who `forgot' to declare he was on 2 committees to protect the interests of copyright holders.

Fire

Fire knows lots of important people. He is very powerful. He likes to "appeal to authority".
It is all very hush hush. Fire is so important, he appeals to authority when he can't even say
who they are. I admire Fire. Benji is terrorist you know (it is the beard).

Fire is a very important speaker at civil liberties conventions. People must hang on his
every word, all 12 of them.

Benji has shifty little beady eyes.

Jason Maher

Anyone watch 4 corners last night (or IQ'd to watch after MNF) or were you re-watching footy show re-runs, wanking yourselves into a feverish lather with brohman and vautin's humour setting you off into hysterics like the brain dead morons most of you are

You lot who think police, govt's, etc (i.e the establishment) have the public's interest at heart and are accountable are a load of spastics.

Read the site of Falkvinge (who set up the Pirate Bay) to see how they were `coincidentally' given a judge who `forgot' to declare he was on 2 committees to protect the interests of copyright holders.

While I think the music, TV, and music industries are fighting a stupid and losing battle against piracy, I do enjoy a bit of a chuckle at the whining of those who believe they have an inviolable right to steal other people's intellectual property without any consequence. The Pirate Bay (and other sites like it) don't even try to hide what they are doing: flagrantly breaking the law and allowing, even encouraging, others to do so. Copyright laws are downright stupid in many ways, especially in terms of the penalties being fit for the crime, but you can't argue the point that the owners/creators of intellectual property have a case for legal protection to prevent others obtaining the fruits of their hard work for nix or worse, profiting from it.

firechild

The eagles developing anybody - that's funny.

triple_facepalm_super.jpg

AlwaysGreen

Fight the power dude. FYI - the revolution will not be televised or iq'd.

Is that what you do when you dont watch four corners?

I think they did an episode of Law and Order SVU on you once.

Yes I do, basically.
Thats the problem with tin foil hat wearers like you. The system isnt infallible, so therefore the lot are corrupt. Its the same thinking of those who think all boat people are muslim therefore are terrorists.

Yes there is police corruption. No, not all police are corrupt. The force IS there to protect. Three youths broke into a neighbours car in her driveway a week or so ago - about 2AM. She called the police - who were there in 20 minutes. Took some fingerprints - arrested them that afternoon. That's police doing their job.

I have no idea why you have a problem with that.

Hi Johnsy

I've asked my partner's sister for advice about the legislation you "spoon fed" me. She gave me the
following advice: She is not a barrister who specialises in criminal law. Pulling up a piece of legislation
in isolation and pretending to understood it is not something you can do, but was happy to pass
comment. What is required is an in depth understanding of the laws that the legislation is designed
to effect. In her opinion, "section 4 seems to remove any discretion that the judicial officer would
otherwise have under another Act". I asked for an example for the kinds of miscarriages
of justice that would likely result. I didn't write down the legal gobbledy gook, just the stuff a layman
can understand: "In a joint criminal enterprise one criminal might be held liable for the entirety of
the criminal enterprise even though they personally participated in a small part".
I asked her whether or not it was a "police power". She agreed that it is not, but said that the kind
of legislation she was looking at served to make a police force "unaccountable and give them
a sense of entitlement". She also made the point that making the life of a police officer more important
that the life of an ordinary citizen is a slippery slope, but that we are already in these dangerous
waters with regards to Ambulance officers etc. With regards to whether or not it was a police power
she said that the power was in the ability of the Police Force to be able to get that kind of legislation up
and get it through parliament. At this point, I stopped wasting her time.

I disagree with you and her regarding it being a police power. Creating an unaccountable police force
is form of power. The NSW police force ran amok from long before I was born (in the early 1970s) up until
the Wood Royal Commission. If you need a more tangible example, look no further than
the LAPD circa the LA riots of 1992, resulting from the acquittal of the police involved in the bashing of
Rodney KIng. Briefly, the LAPD felt that they could just bash african americans for no reason with
total impunity. They were right. The police were acquitted and the subclass rioted for six days In Australia
the police have a shameful record regarding the aboriginal people. Australia has a record that would make
the LAPD proud regarding Aboriginal deaths in custody.

First of all, stick to the topic and point you originally raised, that automatic life sentence for someone convicted of murder of a police officer. I have no idea what deaths in custody ave to do with this basic premise. people often try to move the goal posts once they have been shown to be clearly wrong.
I told you it wasn't, a lawyer told you it is not a police power, but that's not good enough. When looking at what powers police do and do not have, you have only one thing to guide you. yes a solitary piece of legislation. Believe it or not that is exactly what the legal fraternity do often, look at a single piece, section, sentence or even wording isolation.

It is not a Police Power, I have searched all of the state/territories police power legislation and it not in one piece of legislation. Ergo it is not a police power.
How are any Police Forces in Australia unaccountable, do you know, or are you just sprouting more ill-informed opinion.

Here is the NSW & QLD legislation which clearly states what is a police power and what isn't.
http://www.austlii.edu.au/au/legis/nsw/consol_act/leara2002451/
http://www.legislation.qld.gov.au/LEGISLTN/current/P/PolicePowResA00.pdf

If you are having trouble reading this I suggest you actually enrol in a real university, it's not rocket science.

You have completely missed the point. A breath test should be just that: a breath test. Unless you have failed the breath
test you should not be asked for identification and should not be checked for outstanding warrants. What the police
currently do at a breath test is the equivalent of coming around to your house without any cause to see if you have a committed
an offence.

No I didn't miss the point. Is your time that precious that you object to them checking if you have any outstanding warrants. personally I have no issue with them taking 2 minutes of my time if it means they are able to get another shitbag off the streets.

Again you have completely missed the point. I don't think stopping and searching people
for the purposes of preempting petty crime should be legal. It has nothing to do with the
5 minutes of my time that they waste, it is about the kind of state in which I would prefer
to live. It took 20 minutes of six police officers time. That is two hours of police time
I wasted discussing whether or not they wanted to arrest me. I enjoyed watching them
procrastinate while they tried to figure out if they should arrest me for simply explaining
that I oppose the laws that they are using to harass me while heading to Woolies at 6PM
on a Saturday.

Unfortunately you and Pistol pete are in the vast minority. if you hate it that much move to another place where you can get along with your daily life without any police/government interference at all. The story keeps changing, 6 plain clothes cops (not even sure if they were cops) in one car, firstly they just checked your id, now they were debating to arrest you to not. You can refuse, and I take it you didn't refuse. way to stand up for your rights sister, maintain the rage and all that........

I call liar liar

You think I'm a nut job? Why are the lives of road users sacred and the lives of drug users irrelevant? Australia prides itself
on being egalitarian, the fair go etc. It is our version of the American dream. Of course, as is reflected by your attitude, just
as with the American dream, you would need to be asleep to believe it.

Yes I do, anyone who is prepared to put lives before incurring a pecuniary fine is a complete nut job. let's hope it's not one of your loved ones you seem so happy to sacrifice for the greater good. FMD

I am stopped from doing the most basic things every day. My nephew goes to a local Infants school and I had to pick him
up from school as a favour to my sister. Although my sister had rung the school to tell them I would be picking
him up, he was not allowed to be handed into my care because I was not wearing shoes. I can't even ride my bike to the
shops if I don't wear a stack hat. My mum has been dead for ten years, I don't need a pimply 20 year old kid telling me whether
I should wear a stack hat if I duck up to the shops.

Stack hats save lives, who gives a flying fro if you don't like them. You can, but you may receive a fine. What happens if someone else hits you and as a result your killed all because you didn't want the man infringing on your rights. I am more concerned about the person who was driving the car, it impacts them as well. Kids see a moron not wearing a helmet and they think it's ok to go without one as well. It isn't fun having to go to someones house and tell them little Johnnie or julie is in IC or deceased because they were hit by a car and they were not wearing a helmet (that would have saved their lives) Typical selfish attitude, f**k everyone else, as long as I'm ok & I look coll while I am riding down to the supermarket at 6pm I don't give a shyte.

I refer to the Gen Y's as the dog shi@#t generation. This is because they are the first generation of children to have grown
up in Australia without ever having trodden in dog sh@#t. They haven't let off fire crackers, they weren't allowed to play on
play equipment because society had to have it removed because a child might get hurt on the monkey bars.The days of playing cricket without a box and pads being legal because it is too dangerous is not far away unless we stay
vigilant against government and police.

So a whole generation is tarred with the dogshyte generation because you have a skewed opinion of what kids should and should not be able to do. There are plenty of schools with play equipment, plenty of parks with play equipment, is this just another lie to suit your ramblings?

it's not to far away hey, based on what? more opinion, solid argument indeed.

When you have kids you as their parent can make decisions so they can tread in all the dog shyte they want, let off all the firecrackers they want, wear no protective equipment when they sport where serious injury is a real risk. let me guess, the government who you so hotly despise will be left to pick up the medical bill when little Johnny Crazy Tiger comes into Hospital with his moronic dad.

Dr. "What happened here"
CT " I was letting my boy light and throw firecrackers and it went off before we expected. i guessed he had at least 10 seconds to throw it. Well we had about 10 seconds in the 70's man. It went off early and took out his eye, then we went down to the nets and played some cricket. You know I wanted him to have a full life, a great childhood I don't want people to refer to him as a dog shyte generationer man. I came off the long run, hit him in the nuts and now it looks like they are ruptured"
Dr. " Umm"
CT"Lay off man, you and the govt are trying to control my every move man"

I pray for all subsequent children and the gene pool that you don't have kids.

Desert Qlder

Mourners have packed a church in the new south wales north coast town of murwillumbah to farewell cattleman kelvin kane, who died after allegedly being king hit by former nrl star craig field.
The 50-year-old horseman died after the incident outside the kingscliff beach hotel on july. Mr field, 39, has since been charged with murder.
In murwillumbah today, more than 700 mourners spilled on to the lawns surrounding the all saints anglican church to farewell the "man's man", who loved his horses and his cattle.
art-353-scgrafton_3634-300x0.jpg
died after allegedly being punched by craig field ... Kelvin kane, pictured at a cattle sale in february this year. photo: Sarah coulton, queensland country life

the country tunes of lee kernaghan were played to a slide show of photographs of mr kane.
advertisement
some mourners sang along to boys from the bush, with one woman remarking, "this suits kelvin".
His close friend dave green, who gave the eulogy, said the attendance at the funeral was a reflection of mr kane's popularity in numerous communities across northern nsw where he had several cattle properties.
"he was well liked," mr green said outside the church.
There was little mention of the circumstances surrounding mr kane's death, although mr green said the community was finding them hard to fathom, given his friend's warm nature.
"i don't think he had any enemies anywhere," he said.
"he loved his camp drafting. He loved socialising. He was happy when he was around people.
"he was friends with anyone. He didn't differentiate between people."
grey skies threatened rain, but one mourner said mr kane would not allow it.
"only on friday [before his death] he was saying he was sick of the rain," the woman said.
"he said he didn't want it to rain for two months ... He said his cattle were slipping in the rain.
"he hated the rain."
sure enough, the sun shone through a rare break in the clouds as mr kane's coffin was carried from the church.
Grieving family gathered behind the hearse to be comforted by friends and loved ones.
The admiration and love for the bloke originally from tamworth, who affectionately known as "kaney", was evident in their embrace.
The final song played in mr kane's memory was one of his favourites by diamond rio, one more day:
"one more day,
one more time
one more sunset
maybe i'd be be satisfiedbut then again
i know what it would do
leave me still wishing for one
more day with you."
meanwhile mr field, 39, remained in custody on remand charged with murder, alongside his co-accused, 41-year-old shaun fathers.
The pair are expected to face lismore magistrates court next month.

CrazyTiger

First of all, stick to the topic and point you originally raised, that automatic life sentence for someone convicted of murder of a police officer. I have no idea what deaths in custody ave to do with this basic premise. people often try to move the goal posts once they have been shown to be clearly wrong.
I told you it wasn't, a lawyer told you it is not a police power, but that's not good enough. When looking at what powers police do and do not have, you have only one thing to guide you. yes a solitary piece of legislation. Believe it or not that is exactly what the legal fraternity do often, look at a single piece, section, sentence or even wording isolation.

It is not a Police Power, I have searched all of the state/territories police power legislation and it not in one piece of legislation. Ergo it is not a police power.
How are any Police Forces in Australia unaccountable, do you know, or are you just sprouting more ill-informed opinion.

Here is the NSW & QLD legislation which clearly states what is a police power and what isn't.
http://www.austlii.edu.au/au/legis/nsw/consol_act/leara2002451/
http://www.legislation.qld.gov.au/LEGISLTN/current/P/PolicePowResA00.pdf

If you are having trouble reading this I suggest you actually enrol in a real university, it's not rocket science.

No I didn't miss the point. Is your time that precious that you object to them checking if you have any outstanding warrants. personally I have no issue with them taking 2 minutes of my time if it means they are able to get another shitbag off the streets.

Unfortunately you and Pistol pete are in the vast minority. if you hate it that much move to another place where you can get along with your daily life without any police/government interference at all. The story keeps changing, 6 plain clothes cops (not even sure if they were cops) in one car, firstly they just checked your id, now they were debating to arrest you to not. You can refuse, and I take it you didn't refuse. way to stand up for your rights sister, maintain the rage and all that........

I call liar liar

Yes I do, anyone who is prepared to put lives before incurring a pecuniary fine is a complete nut job. let's hope it's not one of your loved ones you seem so happy to sacrifice for the greater good. FMD

Stack hats save lives, who gives a flying fro if you don't like them. You can, but you may receive a fine. What happens if someone else hits you and as a result your killed all because you didn't want the man infringing on your rights. I am more concerned about the person who was driving the car, it impacts them as well. Kids see a moron not wearing a helmet and they think it's ok to go without one as well. It isn't fun having to go to someones house and tell them little Johnnie or julie is in IC or deceased because they were hit by a car and they were not wearing a helmet (that would have saved their lives) Typical selfish attitude, f**k everyone else, as long as I'm ok & I look coll while I am riding down to the supermarket at 6pm I don't give a shyte.

So a whole generation is tarred with the dogshyte generation because you have a skewed opinion of what kids should and should not be able to do. There are plenty of schools with play equipment, plenty of parks with play equipment, is this just another lie to suit your ramblings?

it's not to far away hey, based on what? more opinion, solid argument indeed.

When you have kids you as their parent can make decisions so they can tread in all the dog shyte they want, let off all the firecrackers they want, wear no protective equipment when they sport where serious injury is a real risk. let me guess, the government who you so hotly despise will be left to pick up the medical bill when little Johnny Crazy Tiger comes into Hospital with his moronic dad.

Dr. "What happened here"
CT " I was letting my boy light and throw firecrackers and it went off before we expected. i guessed he had at least 10 seconds to throw it. Well we had about 10 seconds in the 70's man. It went off early and took out his eye, then we went down to the nets and played some cricket. You know I wanted him to have a full life, a great childhood I don't want people to refer to him as a dog shyte generationer man. I came off the long run, hit him in the nuts and now it looks like they are ruptured"
Dr. " Umm"
CT"Lay off man, you and the govt are trying to control my every move man"

I pray for all subsequent children and the gene pool that you don't have kids.

Hi Johnsy.

I am not a lawyer. I am not going to pretend to be a lawyer. If I don't understand
something, I am happy to ask for advice. ANTILAG was doing a great job until Fire hijacked
the thread because he was shown to be a follower. Consequently I had to go and ask
someone else ("a compulsory friend").
My advice was simply that it is necessary to understand the laws that are effected by
the piece of legislation that you want to introduce (if I understood her correctly). I
was reluctant to pass comment on the legislation as I suspected it was unwise to do so.
I am not a fan of mandatory sentencing, and neither is she.

I gather you are a policeman (presumably turned lawyer). Your argument about what
is a power and what isn't, is pedantic in my mind. I am happy to agree to disagree.
You seem to be trying to "win" some kind of pedantic argument for the sake of it.
I'd rather discuss genuine issues around civil liberties.

I am sure it is very unpleasant doing all the things that you talk of regarding road
deaths etc.

Regarding the police in crows nest, they were plain clothed policeman in an unmarked
car. When they got out of the car, they shine a torch in your face and produced ID and
their guns seemed fairly convincing. I was satisfied that they were police. We had a
discussion about whether I should give them my ID. I was always polite, and am not
a violent person in any way. I was honest about the advice I was given regarding
that she agreed with you that is is "not a police power" as such, I don't know why
it is such a big deal for you. You endorse this behaviour, so why is it hard to believe
that this happens.

If you want a sensible debate (unlike fire you believe in your position), then I am happy
to explain in detail why I think what I think, and why I hold the beliefs that I do. I
would enjoy the challenge of trying to change your mind.

Our of curiosity could you answer me a few questions.
1) What do you think of the Carbon tax/ETS
2) What do you think of a mining tax.
3) What do you think about our current levels of foreign investment.
4) Would you describe yourself as a green, ALP, small L liberal, or from the far right.

PS: Without trying to be provoke you, I would suggest that your attitudes regarding drug
users reflects police attitudes. I would also suggest that our history regarding aboriginal
deaths in custody does not reflect well on police.

Actually you failed to address a number of issues that I answered. Does that mean you
agree with me on those?

CT, when did you lose your drivers licence? And under what circumstances?

I mean you either walk everywhere, or ride. Police follow you, and your nephews school wont let you near him. That, and you have a paranoia for the law and governments that even David Hicks would call insane.

To me, if you just wore your helmet without fighting for your right to get brain damage, you might be a bit more together than you normally are.

1) What do you think of the Carbon tax/ETS
All for it.

2) What do you think of a mining tax.

All for it.

3) What do you think about our current levels of foreign investment.

Not a fan, we need to keep ownership of out agricultural land.

4) Would you describe yourself as a green, ALP, small L liberal, or from the far right.

ALP

PS: Without trying to be provoke you, I would suggest that your attitudes regarding drug
users reflects police attitudes. I would also suggest that our history regarding aboriginal
deaths in custody does not reflect well on police.

No it doesn’t reflect well.

Actually you failed to address a number of issues that I answered. Does that mean you
agree with me on those?

No, just means I am sick and tired of going around in circles.

Fire

Who wants to bet CrazyTiger is off composing another 15,000 word essay to lay on us again :lol: