Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Credit to Kearney

That second half turnaround to get back in the match, get the lead and then close it out was something rarely seen in recent times.

Credit where credit's due - I've been a critic of the impact of Kearney's half-time talks and tactical changes, but whatever happened tonight, he did it right :clap:.

Hopefully in future weeks, with the confidence boost that comes with keeping the Sharks scoreless in the second half while running in 23 points on them will mean we'll see the lads competing for 80mins end to end for the weeks that come!

Well it has taken nearly 18 months for him to relax his Melbourne like structured style that even Melbourne don't play anymore.

confidence is EVERYTHING in football and we can probably thank the sharks lack of it in the second half as much as our abundance of it for the win

i thought we would tire in the second half after defending so much in the first but i didnt think about how much confidence it would give the eels knowing they could defend the line

Ron Jeremy

That second half turnaround to get back in the match, get the lead and then close it out was something rarely seen in recent times.

Credit where credit's due - I've been a critic of the impact of Kearney's half-time talks and tactical changes, but whatever happened tonight, he did it right :clap:.

Hopefully in future weeks, with the confidence boost that comes with keeping the Sharks scoreless in the second half while running in 23 points on them will mean we'll see the lads competing for 80mins end to end for the weeks that come!

so when we win Kony getss credit, but when we loose its the players fault? :lol:

Ill give some credit to the coach after any win, always do, but when we loose...

Springs

Since the bye he's got the boys up for the game well. As I said before, if it continues like this I wouldn't mind him seeing out his contract. It looks like they are playing with pride again and I am enjoying watching them play. I don't care if they lose every match, if they play as well as they have the last two weeks I will still be proud. Unlike the first ten rounds.

f**k of Bart.
You are such a suck.

Would you like me to quote all your posts from the past how ever many weeks where you want him sacked and you reckon he is shit?

Springs

so when we win Kony getss credit, but when we loose its the players fault? :lol:

Ill give some credit to the coach after any win, always do, but when we loose...

Bartman bags out Kearney relentlessly if you didn't notice. It's the Kearney supporters that always bag the players and rarely blame the coach. Burt and Morgan are the most hated. Everyone up to Hindmarsh and Hayne have been ordered to retire or leave. Some fans it seems hate the whole team.

True EEL

I'm still a little shell-shocked we showed some real backbone against the Sharks and won the game with some terrific ball movement and passion in the second half when the weight of possession finally turned around.

But the thing I found most hard to come to grips with or ironic was the fact that Andy Raymond (sideline reporter on Fox Sports) told the viewers that SK's mood was tense and quiet at halftime and his comments centered on 'we can get back into this game through control and simplicity'.....Now did that second half by the players look like control and simplicity? Because it sure as hell didn't to me? It looked like they said screw it, let's have throw the ball around and have a real crack....!?

f**k of Bart.
You are such a suck.

Would you like me to quote all your posts from the past how ever many weeks where you want him sacked and you reckon he is shit?
Nice one, Suitchild. :roll:

I'm not sucking up on an internet forum :lol:. Reason I started this thread was that I've always said I'd be happy to be proven wrong - and I'm happy to admit when I've got it wrong.

This week's game proved that my statements leading up to this week about Kearney's impact at half-time were wrong. Simple as that. That performance has earnt him a week free of criticism on my part, and I fully intend to honour that.

If, in your childish obsession with posting personal insults about fellow fans on here rather than focussing on the footy content they are writing about, you can't understand and respect that, then I pity you and whatever makes you feel that way. But beyond that, this thread is not about you Suitchild, it's about credit for Kearney on the back of that performance. :clap:

Ron Jeremy

Bartman bags out Kearney relentlessly if you didn't notice. It's the Kearney supporters that always bag the players and rarely blame the coach. Burt and Morgan are the most hated. Everyone up to Hindmarsh and Hayne have been ordered to retire or leave. Some fans it seems hate the whole team.

it was tongue in cheek mate, was just using an exxample;-)

Springs

f**k of Bart.
You are such a suck.

Oh pfft. So he has to stick to his original opinion no matter what? Why do you think he reckoned he was shit? Wouldn't be the way he had the team playing would it? You know, when they had won 1 from 11? God in his eyes Kearney did something right and as bart said, credit where credit's due.
You are such a sook.

And I thought you didn't like name calling oh mighty suitman?

f**k of Bart.
You are such a suck.

Come on mate you know he is always happy to be proven wrong.......

Parra Pride

Kearney actually looked like he was, you know, talking at half time this week, usually when they show it he is sitting there all quiet.

#ItWasRefreshingToSee

It was a good win but I'm not getting aboner over it. IIRC we beat Manly coming off the back of Hindy copping it in the press. We won this one after speculation over SK's termination.

It was a good win indeed, but if we get lapped in the next two it means zippo.

Since the bye he's got the boys up for the game well. As I said before, if it continues like this I wouldn't mind him seeing out his contract. It looks like they are playing with pride again and I am enjoying watching them play. I don't care if they lose every match, if they play as well as they have the last two weeks I will still be proud. Unlike the first ten rounds.
Yeah, consistency week to week is what we've lacked after good performances for some time, and seeing them compete to the death against St George, and then back it up with a stellar reversal in the second half tonight is real positive stuff - more like we'd expect to have at this stage in a three year contract.

Kearney actually looked like he was, you know, talking at half time this week, usually when they show it he is sitting there all quiet.

#ItWasRefreshingToSee
Thanks for posting that PP, I was hoping there would be some footage from the sheds confirming that Kearney was active in this week's halftime break and so could get the credit no questions asked. Like you, I've seen footage in previous weeks where it didn't look too inspiring, so whatever went down tonight worked a treat!

#keepingitpositive

Now did that second half by the players look like control and simplicity?

f**ken oath it did.

First half:
64% completion
7 errors

Second half:
86% completion
3 errors

We moved the ball but we did it simply, which was always the plan against the Sharks' big, tough pack.

Note: only three ofloads all game to Cronulla's seven.

What was it about our performance that didn't look controlled or simple to you?

Aragorn

well done to the team and SK. They've had to take on so much shiet since the start of the season that its good to see them finally get a second win.... you eels fan should just enjoy the moment while you can.....

It was a good win but I'm not getting aboner over it. IIRC we beat Manly coming off the back of Hindy copping it in the press. We won this one after speculation over SK's termination.

It was a good win indeed, but if we get lapped in the next two it means zippo.

Can't get it up hey, VIAGRA!!