Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

cronulla board

Generalzod

sharkman4ever said:
the cronulla board should all be sacked,bring some new blood in

We should be learning from Canterbury, Hired Malcom Noad from News Limited.
Nepotism and freebies are over at Canterbury...

SadShark

Trying not to go witch hunting but, they surely must want the club to do well.They ain't buyin' too well. There is just too much to do and all too late for 2004.

Feej

I don't think Gow can come back at the moment, but I would vote for him again in a second.

OOhh i see thats all takes. hard nuts!
& there silly me was thinking that it took smark cookies.

Here's a virtual challenge for sharkman.
We are gonna follow your plan & a benefactor has given us unlimited funds.
Now which team will win the comp this year, because we are going to buy that team & coaches, lock stock & barrel, right now.
Shouldn't be too hard, just pick who's going to win the GF this year. Any tough nut could pick that, surely?

Shark

Clean it out. The whole stinking place.

Sack Rogers. Overthrow Lord Peirce. Jettison Stand-In Stu. And THEN you might be able to start creating a footy team that has half a chance of winning something.

After all, isn't that what this is all supposed to be about? Winning? Isn't WINNING the reason Lang is now at Penrith, Graham is now at the Tigers and the reason Deano watched last night's game from the Peter Burns Stand?

Lord, give me STRENTH!

beekershark

it's naught to do with funds blackie, just the monkeys we've got spending it that's the problem.

Saturday night was a classic evening in our clubs history, another night when board members, official shirt, tie and all were seen stumbling to their cars at midnight, bellies full of drink, pink glow in their cheeks, and in their eyes a " bloody top night !"

pity the bloody footy team losing put a dampener on their festivities !

these guys are jokers.

maybe they are, maybe they are not.
But you are not posting anything so earth shattering to change my mind on who to vote for, & I consider myself open to offers.
in fact, all of the people who have been complaining about the board have offered "naught" as to why change is neccessary.
I have askedmany times for people in the know to post any info possible so as to educate us ingnorants.
But all I ever hear is "Andos gonna costa fortune, so sack the board"
or
"geez they were pissed at the home game, jobs for the boys"
Well f**k, I expect them to be pissed. There doin what I'm doin except on the arse kissin sponsorship level.
if I'm swingin anyway, I'm swingin for Bazz purely because nobody has raised any serious issues.
PJ excluded who did analyse the P&L and wrote a summary.

markstan

Save our sharks Mr Gow[/b][/u]

SOS directed at Mr Peter Gow As i believe you are aware the current board of the Cronulla Sharks have shown an inability to help the club in any way. They seem to like firing people, You CA, John Lang, etc etc, pitty Donald didn't seek a full trademark on "You're fired, theyd be making another trip to court id guess. When will this board bloody learn, kinda wish they got slapped with a big sum to pay however that'd really stuff the club up. People talk about the loss of jobs in enron etc god i reckon Barry and the club have surpassed that, i'd hate to see the figures but since Peter Gow has left we must have lost more players, trainers, coaches, than any club in that period for sure.

Lets face it the club ain't rolling in cash and the way the board is handling the money it is insufficient. They have only suggested one project which is in limbo, the banks are going to come calling soon, and just maybe Mr Gow might not be able to help the club out of this mess.

The pierce's are running the club to the ground and must be stopped or the club will seise to exist. Steve Rogers seems utterley incapable of doing what ever job his assigned be it, media rep, CEO, etc. Im not greatly aware of everyone else on the board but it's clear they dont want to do there job properly, as is the request of the fans.

The club is indebted to Mr Gow and it's time he was restored to the top. Albeit not for a couple of years or maybe he can get that ban overturnedwho knows ?. Mr Gow has always helped us and i feel terrible that he had to resign, and for what for he showed some passion so we hang him. God if anything it was our fault there should have been a security guard around to fend of that ___ Mr Beath, the man in charge shouldn't be fending of the patrons.

Please Mr Gow organise a candidate and get this club back to were you had it.

The Popper

IMO the Club has been on a slippery dip since Gow was knifed. It'd be great to see him back. But I think he has another year or two of suspension to serve. I don't know who's standing yet but it's very possible part of his `team' may be e.g. Sorenson, O'Driscoll. The election should have been held in February but was postponed to May - to deliver a positive Balance Sheet, to hope things improved on the football field and to hope things improved for the encumbent Directors. Unfortunately I'll be out of the country when the election is on so I do hope the members vote wisely. I guess it's just a matter of seeing who's standing, weighing up the options e.g. what have they done? what can they do? and voting accordingly. My main concern is not so much how we are performing on the football field, but how the Development is progressing to ensure our long term future. Although I'm sure our on field performances will also effect whether we are a club forced to relocate or otherwise suffer demise when the NRL issues new contracts in a year or two - we have the Central Coast and Gold Coast (expansion areas much preferred by the NRL waiting in the wings). I'm sure if Gow was at the helm then all current difficulties may have been overcome or sidestepped.
Maybe the postponement of the election has worked in favour of the current Directors - IMO the Balance Sheet result was positive and the club renovations are good - but that's all.
Don't forget the BLOCK VOTE when voting. Be very wary of this when voting.The Directors card will list them as a team. To get a new candidate elected it is essential that you vote them in at the expense of ALL the encumbents. e.g. just say members all want a new candidates in but vote against different encumbents then they will fail because the existing encumbents will still have the numbers. If voting FOR a new candidate new members must ALL vote against the same encumbent (i.e. leave him out). That's the only way a Board change can be effected. The best guide to getting the person elected that you want elected is to follow the voting card issued prior to voting. The blokes that prepare these usually know what they're doing and if enough people follow a new card exactly there's a big possibility that a new group of candidates will be elected to the exclusion of existing Directors.
Damned hard to explain all this, so I hope you've got the picture. The BLOCK VOTE is so hard to overcome that even the great Johnny Raper failed to overcome it at St.George years ago. Yep. all or most clubs use it.

I have no idea who to vote for. Barry Pierce is such a good bloke that I really want to vote for him. If Gow was available I'd want him back but he isn't so what's the point of changing til then?

The Popper

Nobody knows who to vote for yet because the candidates won't be announced for just over a month. Then it's just up to each member to vote as he/she sees is best for the club. Although no doubt voting for your mates will play a part

PJ

So Blacky the bit I posted several times with the Judge from the Gow case calling Peirce a witness of no credibilty and accusing him of decieving the board holds no sway?

If you are happy with a bloke in charge who lies to to the board then I doubt any other facts will sway you much.

But a few points to look at when thinking about the performance of the club.

Where have they gone with the development?

How are the games being marketed?

What initiatives have been put in to get people to the club on non game days?

And in particular what is being done to get the club less reliant on pokies with the new tax coming in?

What initiatives have been put in to ensure they get people who come to games to come back?

My opinion on the boards performance are pretty clear, I think they have performed poorly on all the above points.

And Blacky you may remember I was pro this board a few years ago. Since then they have done nothing and we are entering a crucial time in the club's history. If there is any credible opposition they'll be getting my vote.

Marlin

when the how to vote cards come out can they be scanned and put up here. then popper can re explain it and those who want new blod can see what to do as well as those who want th old hanz can see what to do too

sharkman4ever

hey blackie u must be good mates with bazza pierceits morons like u that make our club f#%%#! thats why we will win the wooden spoon this year