Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Cronulla post game discussion

beecww

I think Tod Carney summed it up in the after the game interview. "It was a fluke and if we play like that against the roosters we will get beat by 50." And unfortunately that's where we are at. After all that I still think we were unlucky. Can anyone tell me if Lewis was onside in that second last try.

watatank

In summary we play well in patches, never the full 80 minutes and when we do shock horror get in front panic as we don't know what to do, it's like sh@t 3 quick tries, Sharks on back foot, this was not in Prices game plan......what do we do now Boss?.....The big Red hand is pointing back to the coach here...

That comes down to on field leadership, some common sense and discipline as well. If they need the coach to tell them what to do they shouldn't be in first grade.

R&WTILLIDIE

We only play good in patches because the other team makes us look good. Lets face it...we suck...cronulla muscled up a bit and we shit ourselves

Blood Shot Eyes

Nightingale doesn't attempt to take the ball and is cleaned up by Lewis then it wouldn't have been a try. We lost not because of those calls but because we let Cronulla roll up the field. Not to mention our woeful last tackle options.

Im a bit confused here what was Nightingale supposed to do ..he was the fullback of course it was his job to take the ball....and yes we did let the sharks roll up the field that's why we are at the bottom of the ladder....but if the wrong calls hadn't been made regarding the trys then we wouldn't be having this conversation would we.

evil_p091280

I think Tod Carney summed it up in the after the game interview. "It was a fluke and if we play like that against the roosters we will get beat by 50." And unfortunately that's where we are at. After all that I still think we were unlucky. Can anyone tell me if Lewis was onside in that second last try.

Dude in sharks forum (who is sharks fan) reckoned he was offside but happy for it to be awarded.

I didn't think he was but. I was more concerned with the elbow knocking ball forward and hitting a player without the ball.

Bet if that was Inglis (not Nighty) it would been no try.

Smurf

Re: Cronulla post game discussion
I am Smurf's partner and I only watch when he makes me (haHa) and then I am more demonstrative than he is (ie. rewind... Watch this ... That was not right etc etc...). My points are twofold for this match----Having grown up in a sporting family, I loved all sports. One of the first things I learnt at 7 yo was 'go to the ball'. If St George could only hear me every game.... Their defense is terrible... They run backwards or stand still. Every team they have played makes a minium of 5 meters usually 10 when they are defending. Tonight they showed that they have some very talented players and are capable of attack when they are confident (sports psych coaching anyone?!). They lost through bad defense and 2 really bad video ref decisions- the last try was a Nightingale hand on the ball first... And one mid way through was an obvious double handling!,, I do not propose to be anywhere near an expert but if
I am watching these games I can't help but weigh in..... Please someone teach the dragons defense and I think it would flow from there with some decent ref decisions... ��

Fair Dinkum those last 2 tries awarded to the Sharks were 2 of the worst decisions I have witnessed.....Lewis shoulder charged Nightingale off the ball ...and the last try well it just wasn't....if Nighty didn't get his hand to the ball first then I must be blind....and the Sharks player didn't even ground it....absolute joke......and they reckon there's flaws in DRS in cricket ...and as for that over rated Anasta's comments where he obviously wanted the Sharks to win well hes an even bigger joke......call it sour grapes if you may and I don't mind getting beat fair and square but when you are plainly robbed then that's a different story.....and seriously Creagh really is to soft as captain in my opinion..can you imagine Smith or Thurston not chewing the refs ear off if those 2 trys were awarded against the Storm and Cowboys..end of story

As bad as they were, Referee calls did not cost us the game. The softness that has become culturally Dragons, did!

It's what lets the Opposition roll 70m per set upfield through the middle.

It's what permeates such poor goal-line defence

It's why we cannot arm wrestle when 12 pts in front or protect a lead.

It's why we don't contest kicks

It's what Permits us to play so dumb

...all despite when the Opposition Plays so poorly and gives us the game to win.

I was in there and I thought the try pulled up for the scum for a forward pass was pretty ordinary tbh

We tried hard but started the lateral garbage before going forward stuff as soon as the second half started

11000 crowd says it all, 3 years ago you're looking at 17-18K. It will eventually force the boards hand
That loss really hurt

inside_pass

Our coaches' instructions:
"Throw the ball around and hope for the best".
At least that is what it looks like?
Price has no f**cking idea!!!!!.......

Lewish33

Do they have actual referees in the video refs box anymore? I know they had Mellor and Patten in there.

FlameThrower

..I guess a telling sign for me was from the 1st minute to the last minute really not that confident we would win...I m now expecting a loss every game....Btw another record broken...2013 all the wrong records being broken..

Blood Shot Eyes

Do they have actual referees in the video refs box anymore? I know they had Mellor and Patten in there.

Cant answer that.....Im waiting for them to introduce the hot spot like they do in cricket...just to make sure that a player actually grounds the ball or not......:cool:

11,000 was good for such a shit house team its simple most fans have got the clue this club is falling in a heap and refuse to waste their hard earned money and time on what i describe as utter shit.

Poor results always lead to a loss of revenue any decent Businessman would see that even Doust isn't that stupid he can't hide the fact people are sick and tired of what is going on and don't want a bar of the club.

Once the membership returns start drying up, less tickets are purchased and no one wants to buy the clubs merchandise he may act but by then the damage has already been done.

Doust its simple sack Price show you won't tolerate failure if you don't you'll lose supporters very quickly.

Blood Shot Eyes

11,000 was good for such a shit house team its simple most fans have got the clue this club is falling in a heap and refuse to waste their hard earned money and time on what i describe as utter shit.

Poor results always lead to a loss of revenue any decent Businessman would see that even Doust isn't that stupid he can't hide the fact people are sick and tired of what is going on and don't want a bar of the club.

Once the membership returns start drying up, less tickets are purchased and no one wants to buy the clubs merchandise he may act but by then the damage has already been done.

Doust its simple sack Price show you won't tolerate failure if you don't you'll lose supporters very quickly.

I agree.... as much as we love our team and support them win or lose....when we spiral down as quick as we have , then its time for some drastic measures.....Price has to go irrespective of who we have recruited for next year....if he doesn't then Im afraid we will be writing the same words this time next year

hardbaby

That team (with all the injuries) was always pushing up-hill but the last 20 minutes said it all. Our forwards just couldn't contain the Sharks. Just like the Dogs game. Every set was 60+ metres up field and that is truly gutless. nobody tries to hurt the opposition. Nobody puts on hits. There is no pride. I loathe our pack. Next year will be heaps better with a decent set of halves in there but have no doubt about it. Our pack is as soft as f**k.

Dea

Only a few years back and we wouldn't lose a game once we were 2 points infront..... Sigh, how things have changed...

Im a bit confused here what was Nightingale supposed to do ..he was the fullback of course it was his job to take the ball....and yes we did let the sharks roll up the field that's why we are at the bottom of the ladder....but if the wrong calls hadn't been made regarding the trys then we wouldn't be having this conversation would we.[/QUOTE]

I disagree.

Or at least ...if the wrong calls weren't made and we did win ..we should still be having 'this' discussion, because the Dragons would've only just won instead of winning by 50.

Refer to Todd Carney's post game comments... They are about exactly that.

"...if they we were a top side we would have been beaten by 50 if we played like that"

Cronulla were so poor.

It's all about Standards of expectation - and where you set the bar.

Have a look at post match presser with Steve Price.

He is the Coach. He sets the Standards.

chemics

just watched the highlight reel on the nrl website and I have to say after 20+
frame pauses nightingale got there first... another shocking display from the officials,and that crunching hit by lewis should of sent alarm bells shoulder first imo..
geez I hope we can re-group and get some momentum to beat the tigers at scg..
the guys must feel like shit after that..