Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Crowd Watch 2012 Mk II

Evenflow

Difference being the Bulldogs have LESS members but a HIGHER home crowd average than South Sydney and have done so for years. f**kwit.

It was only very recently you berated me for resorting to name calling for disagreeing with someone else's point and then you come out and call me a f**kwit. Like I said you're a massive hypocrite and you couldn't possibly have proven my point any more strongly :lol:

Point 1 wont make a difference. Points 2 & 4 = Cheaper tickets. Point 3 wont change anything for some clubs.

Marketing doesn't sell a product better? you could save the business world billions if you let them know!

DC_fan

I was at ANZ today and was surprised my the crowd of 13,096. It was bigger then I thought it would be.

If Manly fans get a bad wrap for not travelling then so should Panther fans. It would have been lucky to have been a 100 Panthers fans at the game today. They can't say its too far to travel. I live in the Penrith district and still went to the game. Yes admittedly I am a Souths season ticket holder.

I attended Souths game against the Panthers at Penrith played in R3. The crowd that day was 13,800. Bigger then todays crowd. But the interesting thing about that day was the number of Souths fans who were at the game. Many more Rabbitoh fans attended that game then Panthers fans attended todays game.

It was only very recently you berated me for resorting to name calling for disagreeing with someone else's point and then you come out and call me a f**kwit. Like I said you're a massive hypocrite and you couldn't possibly have proven my point any more strongly :lol:

You seem interested in only playing the man, not the ball.

Try actually holding a discussion for once instead of initiating an attack and you might get somewhere.

Evenflow

Lol nice deflection Tim but still doesn't change the fact you're a massive hypocrite. Don't have a crack at people criticizing crowds when you're notorious for doing it yourself. That's not playing the man, that's just stating a simple fact that's there for all to see in the crowd threads dependent on how much you like or dislike a club and/or state.

DIOGENES

Souths need to get redfern oval up and going again, play 3 or 4 big matches out at anz if they want get some big stands at redfern oval they will get 15k with ease every game.

Redfern's capacity is now below 7000. Who is going to supply the millions to make it a ground suitable for NRL when SFS is 5 minutes away?

Deflection?

You completely ignored the facts I presented on the difference between Souths and Canterbury's crowds.

If Souths drew a good crowd, I'd probably compliment them on it. As it happens, the only time they seem to get anyone through the gates is when they're playing the Bulldogs.

Ziggy the God

Deflection?

You completely ignored the facts I presented on the difference between Souths and Canterbury's crowds.

If Souths drew a good crowd, I'd probably compliment them on it. As it happens, the only time they seem to get anyone through the gates is when they're playing the Bulldogs.

Bullshit.

You continually have a stab at us on this point, yet how many clubs in Sydney have worse crowds than us Timmy?

Yeah, your club has bigger crowds than us, is that what you want to hear?

Congratulations.

That's not what it's about at all. Your club is consistently belting on about having the best memberships in Sydney and being the "pride of the league", yet isn't producing the crowd figures to back it up!

There are plenty of clubs with far less resources doing a much better job in converting membership $$$ into match-day $$$ and it appears at least to me that Souths are one club struggling on that front.

I have no problem admitting that I don't like Souths, but I don't find that to be relevant to my opinion on this. 13k on a fine Sunday afternoon is a cause for concern for ANY club, let alone one with 20k+ members, especially when said team is in good form (on track for a top four berth if we're being fair dinkum) and only missing one key player.

In Souths' defence, Penrith's travelling fanbase was about 3 men and a dog... but something needs to be done. Whether that's at NRL level in allocating more marketing $$$ to clubs in Sydney or not, I'm not sure.

I just feel that with the resources Souths have at their disposal they should be going a little better in the crowds dept.

M2D2

Marketing doesn't sell a product better? you could save the business world billions if you let them know!
No amount of marketing is going to change alot of peoples minds that tickets are too expensive and are not a family friendly way to spend a sunday arvo.
You could have advertised the f**k out off the rabbits game on sunday and it wouldnt have mattered.
The only games that marketing will work for are top of the table blockbusters which STILL wouldnt matter as much as cheaper tickets would.
I know this is hard for your western mind to understand because you want your shitty WA team in the NRL and need marketing for anybody to care. But thats not the cure all for everything in the NRL.

P.S. You know what timmah is going to post every week that souths have a home game. The same bullshit he posts every time.

M2D2

Advertising a game and advertising that tickets are cheaper are not the same thing.
Those tickets should be the prices for every game and not for only 24 hours.
Stick to talking up your waste of space team.

Glad we agree, marketing and cheaper tickets will lead to bigger crowds. Knew we'd get there eventually!

Dogs Of War

Advertising a game and advertising that tickets are cheaper are not the same thing.
Those tickets should be the prices for every game and not for only 24 hours.
Stick to talking up your waste of space team.

I agree, doubt many would know this is happening, as I knew there $10 tickets were going to be made available, just didn't know it was only for one day.

It really should be for all presold tickets. I think at that price we might even get 40K+ turning up to take advantage of it.

Not convinced that pricing has a big deal to do with tbh. Bullodgs and Sth's got 19k, more people than that have paid memberships so effectively could have got in for no charge.. there isnt enough hype around games, and hype comes with marketing.

Why does the Melb cup get 100k yet most races get 100's? Same event on the field, different hype around it. People are willing to pay ithey think the product they are getting is worth the cost.

Having said that a cap of $20 adults and $5 kids at every NRL game would be a good thing and take away one of the excuses.

Bullodgs and Sth's got 19k, more people than that have paid memberships so effectively could have got in for no charge.. there isnt enough hype around games, and hype comes with marketing.

This. x 12108310947304972304.

The Round 6 match (Easter weekend) raked in 35k because it was HEAVILY marketed, public transport included and Easter Show tickets offered cheaply on the side. They also used it as stand-alone Good Friday afternoon footy, a genius idea.

The following clash (in Round 13, arguably a better match between two teams who had improved greatly since the previous clash) was barely mentioned, stuffed into a Saturday 7:30pm timeslot at the start of winter. No transport options were available and no marketing apart from the limited resources of the home club.

Someone's gotta take better responsibility for marketing our big games.

This. x 12108310947304972304.

The Round 6 match (Easter weekend) raked in 35k because it was HEAVILY marketed, public transport included and Easter Show tickets offered cheaply on the side. They also used it as stand-alone Good Friday afternoon footy, a genius idea.

The following clash (in Round 13, arguably a better match between two teams who had improved greatly since the previous clash) was barely mentioned, stuffed into a Saturday 7:30pm timeslot at the start of winter. No transport options were available and no marketing apart from the limited resources of the home club.

Someone's gotta take better responsibility for marketing our big games.

Definitely agree with how big the promotional aspect is. When you market games as must be there 'events', people will flock in.

Although, a pretty poor example was round 10, 2011 Bulldogs v Dragons @ ANZ. Game was heavily promoted as being the largest regular NRL season crowd in Sydney. Numbers throw up of 42k and the crowd fell well short, attracting 34k. Crowd was still pretty solid, but i daresay without the heavy promotion it still would've attracted 30k imo.