Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Crowd Watch 2014 part 2

LineBall

Last night was 16th v 10th and rated not far off most games. How many would that game expect SOO or not? SOO is fine for the 34 odd players involved what about the other 230 odd players for the month of no footy? Or NZ.

Um, haven't you read any of the other threads discussing having a Pacific Cup, New Zealand Origin during the Origin period as well? Plus those players not playing get the benefit of resting up and having time to get over injuries.

SLRBRONCOS

Last night after the Souths vs Sharks game I could have purchased 6 seats together across just about every category available. There's no way they sold that many today within the space of a few hours. 110% they printed them and gave them away.

They're probably keeping the last 2000 or so to sell at the gates to walk-ups.

Yeah. I do agree. BUT... I had to fill in at reception this morning for my firm (LOL) and heaps of workers were loving all the pandemonium/ crazy decorated buses, all the coffee take away cups being maroon from everywhere, maroon stuff everywhere etc etc.

You don't get this in Sydney, it influenced a few staff into buying some. (some blatantly unaware of the reduced pricing) I think the leftover seats in the NSW bay were handouts, along with general (upper tier) silver.

But yeah the QRL will do everything in their power at getting 52k plus.

These single seats $265, $250, $180, and $140. Who the F will buy that for game one. They should sell the singles for $20 DOLLA.

franklin2323

Um, haven't you read any of the other threads discussing having a Pacific Cup, New Zealand Origin during the Origin period as well? Plus those players not playing get the benefit of resting up and having time to get over injuries.

How do said players get released? Koroisau and Waqa would of been handy for Fiji last month....Except the clubs said no. Same with Matai etc. The clubs have it the way they want and it won't change anytime soon.

Having 230 odd players rest up for a month will bring on a horrible standard when the comp resumes. Like a mini pre-season will take a few weeks to get up to scratch combine that with a few Origin players not being fit. Sadly this is the only way

guyver78

Yeah. I do agree. BUT... I had to fill in at reception this morning for my firm (LOL) and heaps of workers were loving all the pandemonium/ crazy decorated buses, all the coffee take away cups being maroon from everywhere, maroon stuff everywhere etc etc.

You don't get this in Sydney
, it influenced a few staff into buying some. (some blatantly unaware of the reduced pricing) I think the leftover seats in the NSW bay were handouts, along with general (upper tier) silver.

But yeah the QRL will do everything in their power at getting 52k plus.

These single seats $265, $250, $180, and $140. Who the F will buy that for game one. They should sell the singles for $20 DOLLA.

Mate that's very true, you just don't get that in Sydney at all. I was talking to a few people about Origin here at my work today and sure you do get a few people that will have a chat with you about it but the average Joe or Jane really couldn't care less.

So in saying all that I really wonder if ANZ really will sell out for game 2 given the prices and the fact there's 30,000 more seats to sell.

SLRBRONCOS

Mate that's very true, you just don't get that in Sydney at all. I was talking to a few people about Origin here at my work today and sure you do get a few people that will have a chat with you about it but the average Joe or Jane really couldn't care less.

So in saying all that I really wonder if ANZ really will sell out for game 2 given the prices and the fact there's 30,000 more seats to sell.

A mate just uploaded a picture on his instagram with his tickets he got today. Pax 51,992. He also said there was a line up at the Suncorp agency.

A telling point now will be how many show up. I know of a few people who bought bronze, then when the white category came out they double booked for better seats.

I really want game two to sell out. If they do need to reduce the prices, they should tell everyone. The QRL released crap banners, crap adds and crap Facebook updates that only said: "Get your 100th origin tickets".

guyver78

A mate just uploaded a picture on his instagram with his tickets he got today. Pax 51,992. He also said there was a line up at the Suncorp agency.

A telling point now will be how many show up. I know of a few people who bought bronze, then when the white category came out they double booked for better seats.

I really want game two to sell out. If they do need to reduce the prices, they should tell everyone. The QRL released crap banners, crap adds and crap Facebook updates that only said: "Get your 100th origin tickets".

I have a feeling they did that because wanted the game to sell out but they didn't want to focus TOO MUCH on the discounting part of tickets if that makes sense. Kinda like telling your mate your car is worth X amount, selling it for Y amount then telling your mate you still got a really good price for it.

Nice pic of the bus btw. You get that in some parts of Sydney but to a much lesser extent.

On another note I really don't know how the sales of Origin tickets works anymore. In Sydney for instance all the Diamond seats for this game had "Allocation Exhausted" next to them for months. Then just out of the blue as of today I try and buy tickets and I get the following

Category: Diamond Section:106-1Row:26Seat/s:49-58

10 seats side by side in Aisle 106 which is basically smack bang right on the half way line...

Someone explain because I'm lost

Canard

I have a feeling they did that because wanted the game to sell out but they didn't want to focus TOO MUCH on the discounting part of tickets if that makes sense. Kinda like telling your mate your car is worth X amount, selling it for Y amount then telling your mate you still got a really good price for it.

Nice pic of the bus btw. You get that in some parts of Sydney but to a much lesser extent.

On another note I really don't know how the sales of Origin tickets works anymore. In Sydney for instance all the Diamond seats for this game had "Allocation Exhausted" next to them for months. Then just out of the blue as of today I try and buy tickets and I get the following

Category: Diamond Section:106-1Row:26Seat/s:49-58

10 seats side by side in Aisle 106 which is basically smack bang right on the half way line...

Someone explain because I'm lost

They cancel some sold tickets due to scalping etc.

SLRBRONCOS

For Suncorp games scalping is dealt with 3 weeks after the on sale.

They also hold tickets back across random categories and label them corporate. Work gave out tix today, corporate, but allowed in the northern stand corporates (no field viewing) and the seats are located in section 329. If they aren't selling well they release them to gp.

guyver78

cheers mate that makes sense, how do they know you're scalping the tickets tho? Do they just check ebay or gumtree for example, see who's selling them and pick out the sellers that look suspicious?

some11

The fact the game is 24 hours away and you can buy 6 tickets in a section, speaks volumes however.

No doubt, tomorrow some clever poster on LU is going to say "See its all OK, the game has near sold out, why was everyone complaining"

Which is completely missing the point, that the real issues is lack of sales meaning tickets were heavily discounted and virtually given away, thus pissing off people who purchased tickets initially.

It wont be some poster from LU, the QRL already have the press release ready.

The fact it usually sells out in minutes and this year they have had to discount and still seats available shoes the ARL have monumentally failed in their pricing increase model. Sure it might get 50k but the ill feeling caused in the RL community is far far more costly.

SLRBRONCOS

cheers mate that makes sense, how do they know you're scalping the tickets tho? Do they just check ebay or gumtree for example, see who's selling them and pick out the sellers that look suspicious?

As soon as a profit exceeds 10% you're technically a scalper (in QLD), so some idiots put it on ebay with exact seat details.

I once had to sell some spares, so I listed them with the title: "Queensland Maroons scarf with a free gift of two origin tickets".

Or they just don't give out seat details and they are hard to trace.

Cumberland Throw

I like this market based method;

I call on a teams to charge as much as the market will possibly bear, especially ones that easily sell out

Manchester United should make tickets minimum $1000...

Green Bay should make packers tickets minimum $2000...

Hell Pink sells out her shows,, why not make mimimum ticket $5000...

See how many suckers buy it...

Why not, who cares