Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Crowd Watch 2014 part 3

Jason Maher

11570 up north. That's disgraceful. The game at the bush last week got 8k in a 13k capacity.

All you people who sook for taking more games to the bush, why would we want more to go there when these regions can't even sell out their small ovals? These places get 1 game a year and don't bother to show up.

I'm really over this 19th century romanticism of the bush. If people wanted to live in these places they'd be big enough to called cities and they wouldn't be the bush anymore.

There is no reason at all for anything more important than trial games in the bush.

ESPECIALLY when the NRL wants 20k averages.

You might have a point if people were showing up to games in Sydney. Overwhelmingly, they are not showing up. We are a hell of a long way from a Sydeny-wide 20k average. Principally because there appears to be nothing approaching a plan from the NRL or any of the clubs to achieve that goal.

DC_fan

You might have a point if people were showing up to games in Sydney. Overwhelmingly, they are not showing up. We are a hell of a long way from a Sydeny-wide 20k average. Principally because there appears to be nothing approaching a plan from the NRL or any of the clubs to achieve that goal.

JM, while ever we have 9 Sydney teams we will never average 20k per game in Sydney. While I am not a fan of taking games away to the bush, it is not the biggest problem the game has.

Jason Maher

Bullshit. The AFL has 9 teams in Melbourne. The worst crowd average is St. Kilda - the team coming last - with 22,617. Sydney has an extra million people to cover 9 teams. We can absolutely achieve an overall Sydney crowd average of 20,000 - if we want to put in the effort.

RWB

Souths last 5 home games against Newcastle in Sydney averages 11,355

There's a good reason why Souths management continue to take this game elsewhere.

All nsw teams should appoint one low drawing game to take on the road eg cows vs bulldogs. If supporters dont show up to these games at home take them away from them saves the embarrassing empty stadium and excuses.

pHyR3

Just have a round of footy in non typical plaeces every year. It will generate far more itnerest if the NRL can campaign collectively rather than a couple of games here and there.

e.g. Kiama, Cairns, Perth, Dunedin, Bathurst, Adelaide for a couple of examples.

undertaker

Doesn't help that the game in Cairns was on Sunday arvo in hot and humid conditions (the very reason why the Cowboys don't host day games. Cairns is approx. another 350km north of Townsville), not to mention as Sydney Knight says it was held the next day after the Cowboys home game (poor scheduling from the NRL to have the match in Cairns in the same round as a Cowboys home game).

The game should've preferably been held on a Saturday night.

Souths last 5 home games against Newcastle in Sydney averages 11,355

There's a good reason why Souths management continue to take this game elsewhere.

Those 5 matches that you refer to include matches all the way back in 2004 and 2002.

If management insist on relocating our match against the Knights then we should play them at Gosford.

We played the Knights at Gosford 4 times for an average of 16,452.

DC_fan

Bullshit. The AFL has 9 teams in Melbourne. The worst crowd average is St. Kilda - the team coming last - with 22,617. Sydney has an extra million people to cover 9 teams. We can absolutely achieve an overall Sydney crowd average of 20,000 - if we want to put in the effort.

If you and others want to bury your heads in the sand then fine. But one of the big problems our game has is that there is too many team playing out of Sydney.

user_nat

If you and others want to bury your heads in the sand then fine. But one of the big problems our game has is that there is too many team playing out of Sydney.

The 9 teams in Sydney probably aren't helping with the average, but it's not like the majority of the remaining teams do much better.

The game can and will succeed with 9 teams in Sydney.

None of them are going anywhere so get used to it.

the same 9 teams are holding the game down due to there inability to get there house in order after decades to figure it out. In particular, clubs such as manly and roosters who have success but little crowds to show thus wasting it.

mongoose

the same 9 teams are holding the game down due to there inability to get there house in order after decades to figure it out. In particular, clubs such as manly and roosters who have success but little crowds to show thus wasting it.

Merge them, they would be the ultimate silvertails.

Canard

Capacity is nearly 20k according to Wikipedia, not sure where you'd fit them in.

No way it's 20k.

The biggest crowd there previously was a Cowboys pre season v Storm that drew 17k.

But that was when it was mostly hills with no temp grandstands.