Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

crowd watch 2014 part IV

pcpp

Pax 5632 at 11.30am for Souths v Manly

Just bought tickets, not sure if it provides a helpful indication of sales that early though

insert.pause

Ive been all over the world, Ive been to NBA games, NFL games, EPL, World Cups in all both Rugby Codes and Soccer etc. but being a League fan first and foremost there is NOTHING like a packed Townsville stadium when we play the Broncos in the finals.

The walk to the stadium in 2004 was something else, it was party time in the streets, it was the equivalent of a tailgate party but on a citywide scale (BBQ in the yard, streamers supporters etc.) The players get treated like Rock Stars and the everyone in the place contributes to the event.

This is something unique that we have that Union or AFL don't have, an entire regional area that can be part of a national competition.

I'm with you there mate, 2004 was epic.

insert.pause

The only game I could understand not selling out is in Melbourne.

Allianz has a capacity of only 45,000. There is just no good reason why between 2 Sydney teams they can't fill it for a final.

guyver78

Pax 5632 at 11.30am for Souths v Manly

Just bought tickets, not sure if it provides a helpful indication of sales that early though

Bay 34-->40 Practically Sold out. Next available for Category 1 is Bay 33 which is a Manly Bay so I think they're they're selling tickets to Souths members in the Manly bays now although I could be wrong.

I was under the assumption that they divided the the Bays evenly amongst team supporters.

franklin2323

Bay 34-->40 Practically Sold out. Next available for Category 1 is Bay 33 which is a Manly Bay so I think they're they're selling tickets to Souths members in the Manly bays now although I could be wrong.

I was under the assumption that they divided the the Bays evenly amongst team supporters.

For our Game. only 2 bays are reserved the Chook Pen and the Den. The rest seems to be all together. Like you I thought it would be in like halves

beave

I'm with you there mate, 2004 was epic.

Not afraid to admit it, but I was in tears at fulltime at that game in 2004. The most amazing few weeks of my life, I was lucky enough to go to all those 2004 semis that we played in but that night was just damn special.

insert.pause

Not afraid to admit it, but I was in tears at fulltime at that game in 2004. The most amazing few weeks of my life, I was lucky enough to go to all those 2004 semis that we played in but that night was just damn special.

It was a weird feeling as a Broncos supporter.

The only game I could understand not selling out is in Melbourne.

Allianz has a capacity of only 45,000. There is just no good reason why between 2 Sydney teams they can't fill it for a final.

Not sure which Sydney game you are specifically referring to but why would you expect a sell out in either given we have never achieved one in the first week of finals at that venue before. I don't think ANZ has had greater than 40k in a week 1 match either.

insert.pause

Not sure which Sydney game you are specifically referring to but why would you expect a sell out in either given we have never achieved one in the first week of finals at that venue before. I don't think ANZ has had greater than 40k in a week 1 match either.

Unrealistic or not, I don't understand how any Sydney club can't manage at least 20k fans each to attend a finals game. I think the game has reached a point where it should be expected.

maple_69

Its about time it stopped raining in Sydney. Would be great for the crowd and the games. Sick of this England crap.

Red Bear

I went to Roosters Penrith in 2010 (I think) and it was a pretty shit crowd, only 23000 and barely any Penrith fans. Hopefully both sets of supporters turn up in numbers for what should be a pretty good game

guyver78

Not having a major whinge about ticket prices because as a member I get the best seat in the house at the SFS for $60 which I think is fair for a finals footy game but I really don't understand WHY they don't lower those ticket prices to $30, pack the stadium to 45,000 capacity for both games and give the fans an experience they will be talking about. This is the perfect opportunity to do it.

Instead Friday's game will hit about 33-35K max and Saturday's game will get between 27-32K provided the weather holds up.

ouwet

For our Game. only 2 bays are reserved the Chook Pen and the Den. The rest seems to be all together. Like you I thought it would be in like halves

:lol::lol: How many Penrith fans you think will go? I'm thinking Max 5K!! Penrith fans are Pathetic!

Cumberland Throw

Not having a major whinge about ticket prices because as a member I get the best seat in the house at the SFS for $60 which I think is fair for a finals footy game but I really don't understand WHY they don't lower those ticket prices to $30, pack the stadium to 45,000 capacity for both games and give the fans an experience they will be talking about. This is the perfect opportunity to do it.

Instead Friday's game will hit about 33-35K max and Saturday's game will get between 27-32K provided the weather holds up.

ALL OTHER PRE-SALES
Adult Concession Junior Family
Category 1 $70* $50* $45* $175*
Category 2 $50* $40* $35* $135*
Category 3 $25* $15* $9* $50*
Supporter Bay $40* $30* $20* $100*
Hot Seat $45* $35* $25* $115*

Cat 3 is $25 still ok seats and a lot of them

TheFrog

lol at 12000 manly fans showing up.

You will be lucky to get 10k manly fans. fortunately there will be about 20k souths fans to keep the crowd decent. With a bit of luck manly will go out in straight sets.

The worrying crowd will be easts v Penrith, Penrith neither club have a very good fan base.

It's not that Penrith don't have a good supporter base, but for a lot of them Moore Park for a night game is a nightmare of a place to get to and from when you live right on the other side of Sydney 60-70-80km away. And hey, its on free to air. The NRL have got their billion dollars. You can't have your cake and eat it too.