Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Crowd Watch, Part III

RLNY

Ok, with the beginning of a new thread, let's go beyond whining and having dick-measuring contests and discuss how to improve crowds.

Here are my suggestions:
1. First and foremost, go to games. I know a lot of people on this forum already do this, so good for those who do. (I personally live on the other side of the planet, so that is my excuse). I know some of you like to complain about the weather, traffic, etc., but it is still the sport you love. (Why would you be here in the first place otherwise?). For me personally, rugby league is my second favorite sport, and if I were in a position that I could to NRL games, I most likely would. I know a lot of you have work commitments, money troubles, flooded houses, etc., that prevent you to go to games. If you don't, then go to matches.

2. I would love for the NRL to meet with clubs to develop a long-term plan for where teams are based. I also think the NRL needs to meet with the ARU and the FFA to ensure that quality rectangular stadiums are built in Australia.

3. Long-term, I think tv scheduling needs to be looked at for the next tv contract. I do not think MNF works for any club. Personally, for the next tv contract, I would like to have 2 games on Fri Night, 2 games on Sat Night, and the rest on Sunday. I would have a game on Sunday night, and have the broadcaster (either FTA or pay) pick the game from the Sunday games to be broadcast on Sunday night a few weeks ahead of time. I think that is a compromise between totally fixed schedule and one where fans don't know what day their team is playing until a couple weeks ahead of time.

4. I would have the NRL start a week earlier. Therefore, there can be a standalone weekend for Origin game 1. The ARLC can market that weekend as "Origin Weekend", akin to NBA All Star Weekend. I would fill that weekend with PI tests, a NZ origin game, an NRL skills competition, and Origin style games in lower grades. I would have games 2 and 3 played on Wednesdays, as is the case now, with games spread 2 weeks apart from each other. On the weekends straddling games 2 and 3, I would try to schedule low drawing games and schedule as many games in expansion/regional areas as possible. This approach would reduce the impact the SOO has over the NRL competition while still maintaining the traditional timeslot for 2 of the 3 games.

5. I would try to market more games. I know there a lot of games played in the Sydney metro region. As such, there is a lot of noise when it comes to NRL games in Sydney. I would therefore market a "Sydney Game of the Week" series where the best games in Sydney (by traditional rivals and ladder position) are highlighted to drum up fan interest in the games.

6. I would try to keep ticket prices as low as possible. If it all possible, the NRL should subsidize ticket prices for the clubs.

7. I would have events for the fans (especially members). Like autograph sessions, or something like the AFL has with kick-to-kick.

Panther_Daz

Today's shocking crowd at Penrith can solely be blamed on the club. Their promotion for this match was absolutely pathetic.

In a positive, next week's Newcastle v Roosters crowd should be massive.

Manly looks a picture this afternoon. Would love to be down there.

Improving crowds? I'd love a match of the round at the SFS/ANZ, scheduled not too far out so as to have the very best teams playing (as per OP's suggestion).

BunniesMan

10240 on a priceless rare Sunday arvo timeslot is a disgrace in Penrith.

Souths v Dragons would have got over 30k. We haven't got a single arvo game all year and Penrith keep getting them. Why do Gus's mates keep giving Penrith the best timeslots.

Panther_Daz

I hate Sunday afternoon footy! We always lose. We are undefeated at home at night time in 2013.

BunniesMan

In response to the OP:

Ideas to increase crowds include setting up a system where every club offers a membership that includes away games. Also, moving origin to stand alone weeks or even having it as a 3 week series in October after the GF.

I hate Sunday afternoon footy! We always lose. We are undefeated at home at night time in 2013.
I would gladly trade a bunch of our night games for some afternoon footy. Having no home arvo games all season should not be allowed.

the dude

I think I would prefer
1 Thursday (7:30pm)
1 Friday (7:30pm)
3 Saturday (3:30pm, 5:30pm, 7:30pm)
3 Sunday (2:00pm, 3:00pm, 6:00pm)

BunniesMan

It's just another problem with the scheduling. So, so many anomalies.
If it was upto me every team would have to get at least two day home games and two FNF games.

Teams like the Raiders keep getting dudded in one area, and we've been dudded in another.

Jason Maher

Souffs vs Dragons tomorrow: I reckon around 15k. Seems the weekend for utter shite crowd numbers. Origin hangover?

In response to the OP:

Ideas to increase crowds include setting up a system where every club offers a membership that includes away games. Also, moving origin to stand alone weeks or even having it as a 3 week series in October after the GF.

I would gladly trade a bunch of our night games for some afternoon footy. Having no home arvo games all season should not be allowed.

Souffs fans don't have jobs, so it shouldn't matter when you're scheduled. I'm sure this was taken into account when the draw was scheduled.

DC_fan

Souffs vs Dragons tomorrow: I reckon around 15k. Seems the weekend for utter shite crowd numbers. Origin hangover?

We will find out in the next couple of weeks. If crowds don't start improving then the NRL may have a problem

Today's shocking crowd at Penrith can solely be blamed on the club. Their promotion for this match was absolutely pathetic.

I've seen family fun day adverts running on Foxsports all week for the game, ticket prices for families where very reasonable. Team is travelling ok, weather was lovely, SUnday afternoon which everyone claims to prefer. Time to face the reality that Penrith just does not have many fans.

In regards to op, what I'd do to grow crowds

Standard fee to all games
$30 best seats
$20 other areas
$2 anyone U16,
$5 seniors and students

Scheduling, schedule to maximise crowds
Stand alone origin/international weekends
Memberships, only count full ticketed memberships in the competition for members
$5 entry to away games for all Sydney full ticketed members
If a full ticket member you can get into any game not featuring your team for 50% discount.
Min standard for NRL stadiums (min 20k capacity, min 10k seats undercover)
Sydney Game of the week on a Friday night at Allianz or anz. Lots of competitions, entertainment etc to make a real event feel to it.
Sydney Suburban Sundays, schedule Sunday afternoon games for Sydney suburban ground games (and pray it doesn't rain)