Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Crowd Watch Thread 2009

miccle

20,114 @ Suncorp.

By Broncos standards, pathetic.

Absolutely. Still, considering how the teams played last week, that's 20,114 more than they deserved!

It's funny JW, I said the same thing to a mate last night - it was louder than most 35k crowds we've had this year. It's brilliant when the "event" footy "fans" don't show up - and there would've been nothing to persuade anyone who wasn't a diehard supporter of either side to show up last night.

Smaller crowds aren't good at all, but I must say the walk back to Roma Street station after fulltime was fantastic! Usually anything up to a half-hour, but only took me 10 minutes last night :D

Hugh Mungus

I think we were always going to have a smaller than usual crowd however having the Royal Show on this weekend did not help.

I know the Broncos usually push for a Sunday arvo game at this time of year so that the country folk down for the show head out. I worked at the show last night and there were thousands of kids and their parents waiting to watch the fire works at 8pm.

Also it would be a choice this week, the Ekka or the game. I did not buy a ticket nor any showbags or anything, just food, drinks and some other odds and ends and it still cost me $200. If I was a parent with kids and had to pay for tix, rides, showbags and food - cost me a fortune. Could not do both the show and the game in one week. Far too expensive.

:lol: I love how we get shot down for any excuse by QLDers and they have one bad crowd and all of a sudden there's a whole checklist of them...

I was referring to the post above mine, whoever that was, rambling on about competing events and such. Just seems rich when we offer those things as excuses and get shot down, but the shoe on the other foot seems to fit perfectly, so to speak.

miccle

Sorry mate just saw that one. Laughable really - there are always a million excuses why something isn't better, but I think last night's crowd was a great representation of just how things will go for the Broncos if they don't keep up the high standards of the last 17-odd years.

Seriously, put it into perspective - 20,000 after just eight weeks of poor performances. What if we missed the finals and played like hell for eight years? The mind boggles... :crazy:

That to me seems to be the problem with the mentality of certain QLDers and others who bag out Sydney crowds. They have little-to-no understanding of failure from their club's on-field performances and how that affects supporter morale. Only now is that starting to show north of the border.

Quiet chook, someone might think I did it intentiionally :lol:

Hugh Mungus

I was referring to the post above mine, whoever that was, rambling on about competing events and such. Just seems rich when we offer those things as excuses and get shot down, but the shoe on the other foot seems to fit perfectly, so to speak.
Sweet heart, it was not an excuse, it was an explanation.

I agree the crowd was sh!t, I was merely offering a explanation as to why.
Lets just wait and see what the figures are for the next match before we start flinging the proverbial around the place hey?

If it is still poor, then I will sit back and listen to all the broncos kickers whinge about the one team town, Brisbane just being a back water with nothing else to do whilst Sydney is the center of the universe for everything etc etc.

CLUB HOME AVERAGES

Broncos: 9 games
Total: 304,520
Average: 33,836
Best: 45,022 v Cowboys R1
Worst: 20,114 v Cronulla R22

Titans: 10 games
Total: 195,323
Average: 19,532
Best: 26,336 v Broncos R20
Worst: 14,009 v Eels R18

Bulldogs: 9 games
Total: 167,058
Average: 18,562
Best: 31,664 v Eels R20
Worst: 10,923 v Storm R11 (Bluetongue)

Cowboys: 10 games
Total: 165,178
Average: 16,518
Best: 21,489 v Storm R3
Worst: 11,892 v Knights R11

Wests Tigers: 10 games
Total: 163,673
Averages: 16,367
Best: 29,970 v Rabbitohs R10 (SCG)
Worst: 9,675 v Broncos R11

Warriors: 10 games
Total: 162,284
Average: 16,228
Best: 24,538 v Broncos R3
Worst: 10,205 v Titans R22

Knights: 9 games
Total: 139,440
Average: 15,493
Best: 18,322 v Bulldogs R12
Worst: 11,258 v Titans R9

Dragons: 10 games
Total: 148,565
Average: 14,856
Best: 20,047 v Sharks R3 (Kogarah)
Worst: 10,623 v Panthers R12 (W'gong)

Rabbitohs: 10 games
Total: 145,384
Average: 14,538
Best: 24,217 v Bulldogs R21
Worst: 9,017 v Panthers R18

Roosters: 10 games
Total: 138,282
Average: 13,828
Best: 28,926 v Dragons R7 (ANZAC Day)
Worst: 6,232 v Titans R14 (Bluetongue)

Panthers: 11 games
Total: 150,414
Average: 13,674
Best: 19,987 v Dragons R22
Worst: 8,074 v Raiders R19

Sea Eagles: 10 games
Total: 135,375
Average: 13,538
Best: 17,942 v Tigers R5
Worst: 8,182 v Raiders R15

Eels: 10 games
Total: 124,654
Average: 12,465
Best: 19,017 v Dragons R5
Worst: 7,014 v Sharks R12

Storm: 10 games
Total: 117,809
Average: 11,781
Best: 15,318 v Broncos R13
Worst: 9,041 v Knights R17

Sharks: 10 games
Total: 108,512
Average: 10,851
Best: 15,201 v Dragons R11
Worst: 8,117 v Broncos R15

Raiders: 10 games
Total: 103,576
Average: 10,358
Best: 13,100 v Roosters R2
Worst: 8,383 v Warriors R11

Total 2009
158 games
2,470,047 fans
15,633 average per game

dragondad

Cowboys v Bulldogs - 17k
Souths v Titans - 14k
Roosters v Manly - 10k
Raiders v Dragons - 12k
Eels v Warriors - 14k
Sharks v Tigers - 15k
Broncos v Panthers - 31k
Knights v Storm - 16k

bobmar28

CLUB HOME AVERAGES

Broncos: 9 games
Total: 304,520
Average: 33,836
Best: 45,022 v Cowboys R1
Worst: 20,114 v Cronulla R22

Titans: 10 games
Total: 195,323
Average: 19,532
Best: 26,336 v Broncos R20
Worst: 14,009 v Eels R18

Bulldogs: 9 games
Total: 167,058
Average: 18,562
Best: 31,664 v Eels R20
Worst: 10,923 v Storm R11 (Bluetongue)

Cowboys: 10 games
Total: 165,178
Average: 16,518
Best: 21,489 v Storm R3
Worst: 11,892 v Knights R11

Wests Tigers: 10 games
Total: 163,673
Averages: 16,367
Best: 29,970 v Rabbitohs R10 (SCG)
Worst: 9,675 v Broncos R11

Warriors: 10 games
Total: 162,284
Average: 16,228
Best: 24,538 v Broncos R3
Worst: 10,205 v Titans R22

Knights: 9 games
Total: 139,440
Average: 15,493
Best: 18,322 v Bulldogs R12
Worst: 11,258 v Titans R9

Dragons: 10 games
Total: 148,565
Average: 14,856
Best: 20,047 v Sharks R3 (Kogarah)
Worst: 10,623 v Panthers R12 (W'gong)

Rabbitohs: 10 games
Total: 145,384
Average: 14,538
Best: 24,217 v Bulldogs R21
Worst: 9,017 v Panthers R18

Roosters: 10 games
Total: 138,282
Average: 13,828
Best: 28,926 v Dragons R7 (ANZAC Day)
Worst: 6,232 v Titans R14 (Bluetongue)

Panthers: 11 games
Total: 150,414
Average: 13,674
Best: 19,987 v Dragons R22
Worst: 8,074 v Raiders R19

Sea Eagles: 10 games
Total: 135,375
Average: 13,538
Best: 17,942 v Tigers R5
Worst: 8,182 v Raiders R15

Eels: 10 games
Total: 124,654
Average: 12,465
Best: 19,017 v Dragons R5
Worst: 7,014 v Sharks R12

Storm: 10 games
Total: 117,809
Average: 11,781
Best: 15,318 v Broncos R13
Worst: 9,041 v Knights R17

Sharks: 10 games
Total: 108,512
Average: 10,851
Best: 15,201 v Dragons R11
Worst: 8,117 v Broncos R15

Raiders: 10 games
Total: 103,576
Average: 10,358
Best: 13,100 v Roosters R2
Worst: 8,383 v Warriors R11

Total 2009
158 games
2,470,047 fans
15,633 average per game

The Storm and Raiders can be forgiven for those numbers because they are expansion areas. The Eels can't, they are in western Sydney. Sharks? Well they need to do something.

ouwet

I see you didn't include the double header in those figures Timmah?

Should double headers be including in Crowd averages? Seeing as though the Bullodgs & Broncos took 50% each of takings, i think it should be split 50/50...