Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Crowd Watch Thread 2009

bobmar28

There's no way in the f$%king world there was 24k at that stadium tonight. The apparent capacity is 27k for skilled stadium, and there were spare seats everywhere in that joint. Me thinks the management are inflating the figures, maybe to try and deter the AFL from the area??? I don't know, but IMO there was no way 24k there.

Not this again. If you are right and crowd figures are all bullsh*t, why are we even bothering with this thread?

ouwet

Just spoke to my daughter who went last night and she said the ground was 90% full, and there was more red and white than blue and yellow. Top effort drag fans.

:lol: Sorry mate but it was definitely NOT 90% full and there was Definitely NOT more Red and White in the stadium, maybe your daughter needs to take off her Red n white glasses? YES there was plenty of St George supporters but they clearly weren't the majority (No where near). Good effort though by St George QLD supporters and there traveling Sydney fans.

Serc

Definitely not 24k at Skilled last night.

20k was what they put on the scoreboard at the game last night as well...which sounds much closer. Northern end was about 2/3 full, eastern side was pretty well covered except the ends which seemed to be almost empty (around 3/4 full perhaps) and the western side was about 2/3-3/4 full as well, with two completely empty bays on the ends and more gaps in the middle compared to the eastern side.

I would've guessed about 18k given the past matches I've been there for the Knights, but 20k is probably believable.

Edit: Great turnout by Saints supporters last night, lots of red and white around the ground! Mate of mine is up from Sydney for the week (Saints fan) and went along to the away supporters bay - great fun :D

At the pre season game in Perth there was also thousands of St George clad fans in the ground. Either they travel alot or there is alot of people who have left the area and gone to live elsewhere!

Like the rest of the league, way too high. AFL get big crowds because of their cheap tickets. Kids in for $3?

Some clubs may do specials depending on who and where they are playing but generally tickets are the same price as NRL. WC Eagles cost $25-55 for a seat and have no problem packing 42,000 in every week.

You didnt go mate? Your team was playing up the road?

working mate.

Titans Defeat Dragons

Monday, June 08, 2009
The Dragons have tonight been defeated 28-24 by the Titans at Skilled Stadium in front of 20,416 fans.

http://www.dragons.com.au/default.aspx?s=article-display&id=17185

ouwet, I said there was more people in red and white (drags colours) than those in titan colours. I didn't say there were more saints fans than titan fans. I really should tell my young daughter to approximate a touch better, more like 80% full than 90% full. :roll:

dragondad

If i was StGeorge i would be moving more games up too QLD asap. They have soooo many fans up here....

Doust has told the fans numerous times that Qld wants us to move 1 game per year to Suncorp.But the club has made no plans to do so yet.

Round 14 (Women in League round)
Fri: Warriors v Knights @ Mt Smart 16,000
Fri: Broncos v Bulldogs @ Suncorp 41,000
Sat: Roosters v Titans @ Bluetongue 9,000
Sat: Panthers v Manly @ CUA Penrith 15,000
Sat: Rabbitohs v Storm @ MES Perth 15,000
Sun: Raiders v Sharks @ Canberra 12,000
Sun: Dragons v Cowboys @ WIN W'gong 15,000
Mon: Eels v Tigers @ Parramatta 11,000

Round 14 Estimates..... (Women in League round)
Fri: Warriors v Knights @ Mt Smart 15,000
Fri: Broncos v Bulldogs @ Suncorp 35,000
Sat: Roosters v Titans @ Bluetongue 7,000
Sat: Panthers v Manly @ CUA Penrith 14,000
Sat: Rabbitohs v Storm @ MES Perth 15,000
Sun: Raiders v Sharks @ Canberra 9,000
Sun: Dragons v Cowboys @ WIN W'gong 14,000
Mon: Eels v Tigers @ Parramatta 11,000

Coaster

There was a bucket load of STG supporters there last night, no question, but there was by no means more STG then Titans, the only difference was that last night was freezing cold, and even i noticed not as much Titans merchandise being worn.

That being said the atmosphere was fantastic, where i was anyway, Legion was loud and proud.

Prices are pathetic, cheapest ticket i could get, didnt matter where in the stadium, as we were going to the Legion area, so just wanted the cheapest seat possible, was $31.

4 beers cost me $24.50 the .50 cent was for the flaming tray, because they didnt have enough mark up in that $24 for the 4 cups of flat warm light keg beer.

Makes it hard to afford footy when they drain you for every single coin you have.

BTW as stated just a tick over 20k there, not sure where 24k came from

Panther_Daz

Expected to be 0 degrees at Penrith Saturday Night. That will keep alot of people away unfortunately. My prediction of 15k might not happen now.

Be interesting to see how many fans a Dragons v Dogs premiership match would attract at Suncorp. I reckon with both teams going as good as they are, 30k wouldn't be out of the question.

Flapper

Man up Penrith.

So you'll be there then?

I don't think the cold will keep people away from CUA as much as rain will. I think Penrith's fans can cope with the cold.

It's the Monday night crowd that worries me. Even after Parra winning I don't think it'll hit 10000.

Solid

Be interesting to see how many fans a Dragons v Dogs premiership match would attract at Suncorp. I reckon with both teams going as good as they are, 30k wouldn't be out of the question.

It would be a GREAT crowd

Earlier this year when the Dragons played the Broncos at Suncorp, easily 30% were Dragons supporters.