Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Darius Boyd at it again

Jason Simmons

As a previous poster pointed out, he refuses to take part in any media activities yet is no doubt more than happy to take more money as part of the broadcasting deal.

Sorry, I didn't realise the media broadcasting deal paid for by particular broadcasters gave any media person full and unfettered access to any rugby league employee any time of day or night and under any circumstance they (not the employee) choose.

Here I was crazily thinking they paid for the right to broadcast rugby league games...

How silly of me.

Your comprehension work isn't flash.

Of course that's not my thesis. My thesis is that if something becomes news just because the media CAUSED IT, then that's not real news. Articles like this one are simply to serve people who are bored out of their f**king skull at work and have done a full navigation of the world wide web...twice. It means nothing. It's filler, Perez Hilton-style shite.

If Darius had offered an opinion on his Dad's future and whether he'll continue to suck at the teet, great - that's news. He didn't say anything legible, so it's not really news is it? It's a no comment, in the words of an imbecile. No comment=no news.

And she failed as a professional because she asked dead-shit questions, picked the wrong time to ask them then folded like an accordion as soon as he wouldn't play ball on replying to her jabber. And hey guess what, she didn't get anything before anyone.

What she could've done, is ring the Maroons or Newcastle media manager, and enquire when or whether Darius is going to speak at any stage (yes, I am well aware he won't, which ala the NFL etc he should be forced to). But under your model of professionalism, she is actually now allowed to shove a microphone under his nose at any given time in a day. That's not a world I want to live in.

Might have to end yourself then.

She did her job. Derius behaved like the merkin he is and suffered as a result. I'd say that's a fair result all round.

Penrose Warrior

Might have to end yourself then.

She did her job. Derius behaved like the merkin he is and suffered as a result. I'd say that's a fair result all round.

I thought you said her job was to ask about Bennett..presumably the point of asking questions would be to gain answers? Either that means she failed to do her job, or you think her job is to ask questions and create a 'news story' simply by doing so - which is paparazzi-style BS of the highest order.

If you want a TMZ/E News sports desk in Sydney, that's your prerogative.

'End yourself'...stay classy.

The new broadcast deal should demand better media access from players, like in the NFL where the changing rooms are thrown open at certain times and unwillingness to participate earns those players/officials fines for failing to promote the code.

However, as Jason Simmons said, it doesn't give some wannabe media type the right to stick a microphone up someone's nose at any time of the day.

I was going to say it'd be akin to the little fat kid with a runny nose following you around all day back in the school yard, but possibly for a lot of posters that's a hard perspective to grasp when they WERE the runny nosed chubster.

natheel

I thought the interviewer was fine with her approach to Boyd at first I've seen players interviewed that way before its just how they handle themselves.

Darius gave shit answers and acted like the tool he is so the reporter just kept baiting him

ellskimore

This is a whole level of who cares. But the people that are so anti-media that they have resorted to defending Darius are just being moronic.

Glen

Let's all forget about the different views about the role and ethics of the media and just bask in the wonderful tears from Darius

some11

Not going to defend Darius, he's an imbecile.

But these media types are pathetic. What gives them the right to hound guys while they go about their business trying to get somewhere? And the questions they ask in these 'doorstops' I believe they call it are consistently shit.

All they're doing is hoping for a slip of the tongue and a headline, ala the mole that turned up to Bulldogs Mad Monday a couple of seasons back. Before anyone says it, I know it doesn't excuse the filth that came out of whoever's mouth that day, but they sent her as live bait - not as anything else.

Partly agree, given this mong never fronts up for media interviews at any stage during the year, yet was happy to take a bigger cut of the game's new broadcasting rights.

But the media believe they have 24/7 rights to the players, the ability to stop them on the street, to confront them when they leave their house etc.

Bullshit. Game days, practice, sponsors days etc - no issues. But if they don't want to speak on the way to the car the next day, or leaving their house, that's their right. Leave them the hell alone.

Can't argue with that.

What's he going to do after football? I cannot seriously for the life of me figure out what he can contribute to society.

If they don't chase him, and wait for an official media opportunity - ie at Knights training on Thursday or Friday - why would it be too late? Then everyone is able to fire well-thought out, proper questions, not the dross this woman sent at Boyd. Seriously, 'bit of a bugger he's going' and 'did you have some celebrations last night'? Good lord.

I'm well aware there's a middle ground, where Boyd would speak, in proper English, in proper time. Certainly that's his responsibility as an Origin/Test player who has taken a sweet old chunk of the new broadcast deal.

But this doorstopping, yelling shit at players as they try to go about their every day business is crap. Gary Ablett popped a shoulder out this week and was doorstopped basically at every door he walked through, short of his dunny.

I'm a fan, and I don't want news clips of a player with a microphone shoved up his nose, when most of the time it's attempting to contrive a story by an off-guard quip or getting dumdum to do his usual 'I hate you media' stuff in this case.

My message to the media would be this - if you weren't there, and it would still be reportable (ie a coach leaving, Carney's bubbling, a serious incident etc) that is news. If you weren't there and it wouldn't have happened (ie Bulldogs Mad Monday, this Darius rubbish, Weidler v Teo etc) it isn't, and most people don't give a f**k. They care about issues that pertain to on-field performance.

Firstly, you didn't read what I said correctly. I said issues 'that pertain to' on-field performance. Did this latest Darius crap? No. Did the bubbling? In a way yes because Carney's long history of not preparing and exhibiting himself as an NRL player, let alone an elite one is way off and clubs have run a mile. But I don't give a f**k if Darius is a mong and can't perform basic English, whether a Pussycat Doll has horrible taste and sleeps with Mitch Pearce, the Mad Monday shit etc. That is news only because the media is there

If you want to tell me what that woman did was professional journalism, then that's your opinion. I'd suggest it's all part of the new wave of 24-7, grab a quick headline over a decent story bullshit that has spawned out of online and social media.

And honestly, when was the last time a decent piece of news or a sound bite came out of one of these door stops? I watch the news every day and every one I see is a lame question followed by a cliche answer. No thanks

The issue is, grubs like Reynolds are now labelled 'competitive' and even worse, 'Origin players'. Please. It also means we're probably going to be forced to endure lame grub-fests like Origin II for years to come. Funny how when it opened up in Origin III, Reynolds was exposed for the fraud he is, and a turnstile on defence. I can't remember one decent thing he did all series.

Your comprehension work isn't flash.

Of course that's not my thesis. My thesis is that if something becomes news just because the media CAUSED IT, then that's not real news. Articles like this one are simply to serve people who are bored out of their f**king skull at work and have done a full navigation of the world wide web...twice. It means nothing. It's filler, Perez Hilton-style shite.

If Darius had offered an opinion on his Dad's future and whether he'll continue to suck at the teet, great - that's news. He didn't say anything legible, so it's not really news is it? It's a no comment, in the words of an imbecile. No comment=no news.

And she failed as a professional because she asked dead-shit questions, picked the wrong time to ask them then folded like an accordion as soon as he wouldn't play ball on replying to her jabber. And hey guess what, she didn't get anything before anyone.

What she could've done, is ring the Maroons or Newcastle media manager, and enquire when or whether Darius is going to speak at any stage (yes, I am well aware he won't, which ala the NFL etc he should be forced to). But under your model of professionalism, she is actually now allowed to shove a microphone under his nose at any given time in a day. That's not a world I want to live in.

Oh no doubt, having a guy who does nothing is better than a guy who does less than nothing.

I thought you said her job was to ask about Bennett..presumably the point of asking questions would be to gain answers? Either that means she failed to do her job, or you think her job is to ask questions and create a 'news story' simply by doing so - which is paparazzi-style BS of the highest order.

If you want a TMZ/E News sports desk in Sydney, that's your prerogative.

'End yourself'...stay classy.

The new broadcast deal should demand better media access from players, like in the NFL where the changing rooms are thrown open at certain times and unwillingness to participate earns those players/officials fines for failing to promote the code.

However, as Jason Simmons said, it doesn't give some wannabe media type the right to stick a microphone up someone's nose at any time of the day.

I was going to say it'd be akin to the little fat kid with a runny nose following you around all day back in the school yard, but possibly for a lot of posters that's a hard perspective to grasp when they WERE the runny nosed chubster.

But what do you make of his SuperCoach stats?

I mean he's only averaging 42.25 so far for the year but has a 3 round average of 86.33.

Can he keep it up?

Penrose Warrior

But what do you make of his SuperCoach stats?

I mean he's only averaging 42.25 so far for the year but has a 3 round average of 86.33.

Can he keep it up?

Even if he does, and he's in your side, you won't gather enough points to avoid losing the game of life.

LOL
"Accosted"
I can picture you in a shopping center being ''accosted'' by a little old lady.
"Excuse me, can you tell me where K-Mart is?"

"What this?...Im not allowed to enjoy my shopping experience am I?"

Seriously...''accosted'', youve lived a privileged shelterd life if thats what you think it was

Nice introduction of hyperbole there.

I suggest you look up the definition of the word.

franklin2323

If they don't chase him, and wait for an official media opportunity - ie at Knights training on Thursday or Friday - why would it be too late? Then everyone is able to fire well-thought out, proper questions, not the dross this woman sent at Boyd. Seriously, 'bit of a bugger he's going' and 'did you have some celebrations last night'? Good lord.

I'm well aware there's a middle ground, where Boyd would speak, in proper English, in proper time. Certainly that's his responsibility as an Origin/Test player who has taken a sweet old chunk of the new broadcast deal.

But this doorstopping, yelling shit at players as they try to go about their every day business is crap. Gary Ablett popped a shoulder out this week and was doorstopped basically at every door he walked through, short of his dunny.

I'm a fan, and I don't want news clips of a player with a microphone shoved up his nose, when most of the time it's attempting to contrive a story by an off-guard quip or getting dumdum to do his usual 'I hate you media' stuff in this case.

My message to the media would be this - if you weren't there, and it would still be reportable (ie a coach leaving, Carney's bubbling, a serious incident etc) that is news. If you weren't there and it wouldn't have happened (ie Bulldogs Mad Monday, this Darius rubbish, Weidler v Teo etc) it isn't, and most people don't give a f**k. They care about issues that pertain to on-field performance.

Great post. Atleast give him a chance to speak to Bennett before commenting

ek999

But then all he needs to do is say something along those lines. Instead he acted like a dickhead. Besides punching her in the face, I don't think he could have handled the situation any worse than they way he did

franklin2323

But then all he needs to do is say something along those lines. Instead he acted like a dickhead. Besides punching her in the face, I don't think he could have handled the situation any worse than they way he did

What he's too expect to have to answer questions while loading the car after Origin? There's a protocol that's what team managers are for.

Charlie124

That might be a valid argument if it weren't for the fact that Boyd has done the same thing in instances when it is a pre arranged media conference or interview. He didn't act like a wanker just because this woman caught him off guard on the way to his car, he acted like a wanker because that's how he acts anyway.

Penrose Warrior

Yep, quite right (on the first part). But we all know Darius goes full genius and has zero idea when it comes to the fact that he earns a very good living from a game that makes its money from broadcast rights. And he sooked all year about non payment, a part of which I presume was third party - what the f**k would they get from being aligned to this mong?

What he's too expect to have to answer questions while loading the car after Origin? There's a protocol that's what team managers are for.

They weren't exactly tough questions.
It's not like he was being asked deep philosophical questions or something about aeronautical engineering...
He just had to give a basic response.

betcats

A simple "no comment" would have handled the situation. Boyd is an idiot people get jumped by the media all the time what makes poor Darius special?

Misanthrope

The interview in question was a joke. He comes across as a petulant child when he could easily have just given his opinion on something that mattered to him and moved on.

Instead, he acts like a sook and shows how criminally low his IQ is with his misunderstanding of what an interrogation is.

Can't wait for the merkin to no longer be at the club. Can't stand him.

Yeh, saw the tape again on 360 last night. The reporter wasn't that bad, it was Darius that went over the top. I cringed watching that performance.