Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Dave Taylor

The AXXXMAN

I dont blame Taylor for going back up to Queensland. And seriously, he appears to be the very laid back, quiet, no rush type which the lifestyle on the Gold Coast will provide. I'm really surprised he initially came down to the Sydney rat race.

Leaving South Sydney isn't my issue. It's the fact that the competition has yet another player who has already commited his future elsewhere while the current season has barely begun.

There doesn't seem to be any real commitment of player to club, or club to player, these days. The NRL is just a nexus of contracts. Players are like temps. It makes you wonder what is the point of supporting a club and the competition. No other league operates in this way. When players commit their services to a club, there is no negotiating with other clubs until the season has ended, or there is a specific transfer window in operation.

Rather than discussing the weekends games, player transfers seem to receive more airtime, column inches and joe blow discussion in the NRL.

this PR could be invaluable in Oct & Nov when the season is over. The NFL in the USA benefit from this. It would keep the NRL in the headlines into the off-season. It's a waste of valuable PR that it all gets played out during the season when the discussion at this time should be about events on the field itself.

BunniesMan

So when Taylor comes to Souths he is quality and now he is just a name? :crazy:
I'm not saying he isn't quality now. I'm saying the Titans are buying the wrong type of player.

If he went to the Broncos I'd say this was a great move by them. The Titans have IMO the worst spine in the comp, and yet in the next half decade they'll be spending a million a year on a centre and a backrower.

They bought Idris and Taylor because they were the biggest names available, not because they are the kinds of players they needed.

We needed backrowers when we got Burgess and Taylor. We needed a spine player when we got Inglis (we bought him to play FB long term, not centre).

BunniesTurd, Titans aren't anywhere near where your team of numpties was in 05-08. They've actually won a few games since they re-entered the comp
Stop living in the past you delusional hater.

Where we came in those years except 2007 is mighty similar to where they'll finish in 2011-2012.

You're talking about wins they got 2 years ago. Good on them, they came close several years ago. Last season and this season they're spoon contenders. We're about to make it 2 years in a row of finishing ahead of them. And probably 3 next year.

BranVan3000

I'm not saying he isn't quality now. I'm saying the Titans are buying the wrong type of player.

If he went to the Broncos I'd say this was a great move by them. The Titans have IMO the worst spine in the comp, and yet in the next half decade they'll be spending a million a year on a centre and a backrower.

They bought Idris and Taylor because they were the biggest names available, not because they are the kinds of players they needed.

We needed backrowers when we got Burgess and Taylor. We needed a spine player when we got Inglis (we bought him to play FB long term, not centre).

Stop living in the past you delusional hater.

Where we came in those years except 2007 is mighty similar to where they'll finish in 2011-2012.

You're talking about wins they got 2 years ago. Good on them, they came close several years ago. Last season and this season they're spoon contenders. We're about to make it 2 years in a row of finishing ahead of them. And probably 3 next year.

We definitely bought Inglis because of his name. But we needed better centres anyway. Inglis and Champion would've made a good combination as was the plan, but of course the NRL did everything it could to try and stop it happening. And we've never seen such investigation into a player signing since then

I'd argue the Titans needed centres too though. But they are paying massive overs for Idris

gUt

If he went to the Broncos I'd say this was a great move by them.

:crazy:

We're really short on quality backrowers at the moment...

BunniesMan

:crazy:

We're really short on quality backrowers at the moment...
You could always play him as a prop. My point wasn't that you are short there, just that a team that is settled in other areas should then go and buy a Dave Taylor.

The team with the worst spine in the comp shouldn't spend 400-500k on a Dave Taylor type player.

The Titans have a bad roster overall. They have an uneven roster, quality jammed into a couple of positions and then lots of crap.

It wasn't a good buy for them.

The Broncos and Cowboys would have more benefit from Dave than the Titans.

They should have spent their money on Cronk, Foran etc.

You could always play him as a prop. My point wasn't that you are short there, just that a team that is settled in other areas should then go and buy a Dave Taylor.

The team with the worst spine in the comp shouldn't spend 400-500k on a Dave Taylor type player.

The Titans have a bad roster overall. They have an uneven roster, quality jammed into a couple of positions and then lots of crap.

Got to agree with that,they are spending money on the wrong positions

BranVan3000

I think the Titans are still treating Prince like someone with years left in his career, while trying to find a replacement in somebody like a Luke Capewell. Except they really aren't good at talent scouting, or have a coach good enough to turn potential talent into something that can compete in the NRL

BDR

Dumb signing IMO. I think the Titans were a huge chance of luring Cronk there considering he is born and bred in Brisbane just up the road. Instead they have a huge chunk of their cap tied up in numpties like Taylor and Idris.

Taylor is such a disappointment, he was destroying grown men as an 18 year old in the Qld Cup. Today he seems to want to be a centre or a 5/8th instead of the dominant prop that he should have been.

BunniesMan

Can't believe they gave Cartwright a FIVE year extension.

And how many years does Prince have left on his contract?

Like Bran said, I think they think that Prince is just out of form. But at his age form can leave and just never come back.

Bananabender

I think that Prince has been a great player over the years but with great sadness also agree that his time in the top league is nearly over. Foran or Daly would be a great buy for them but sorry all ...we need these 2 at Souths even more so.

Hooch

Good on him then.

But he's still a lazy kent. At some point he's going to have to get a motor and play in the middle. Or in a few years time he'll just be a fat, slow backrower/centre.

DJShaksta

Had to laugh during the game on the weekend when Rabs commented that big Dave should go into the middle and help out the rest of the forwards.

It's not his go Rabs!!!

MARSHALL ZHUKOV

And people reckon Souths fans live in the past.

You had 2 or 3 decent years. You were a spoon contender last year. You are a spoon contender this year. I think we'll make it 2 years in a row of finishing ahead of you.

And if you keep buying the wrong players, like it looks like you will, we'll probably make it 3 in a row next year.

You have the worst spine in the comp.

Souths fans do live in the past how many Souths fans on here seen or were alive when they last won a comp in 1971?

BunniesMan

Souths fans do live in the past how many Souths fans on here seen or were alive when they last won a comp in 1971?
When's the last time I mentioned one of our premierships? Hundreds if not thousands of posts ago.

Seems like several people are living in the past in this thread, none of them are me.

PJRolls

Coming from Canada, I find it extremely odd and im sure distracting to the teams, that players announce who they will be playing with for next season. We're 3 rounds in and he already has plans for signing to another team, I don't get this. To me this really is detrimental to the team dynamic.

It's very different from how sports are run here in North America. I find it baffling.

mene

I wouldnt say lots of crap, their best side on paper is actually quite good.

The signing of Taylor will get rid of 2 or 3 "crap players"

The Titans spine is unsettled and poor, if a 5/8 steps up and impresses like Aiden Sezer and they use Zilly & Mead in attacking plays instead of the ball stranglers like Bird and Harro then I can easily envisage a vast improvement in their quality of play.

As it stands the Titans have a former forward player coaching a forward dominated team which is just plain ugly to watch.

Titans are making a play for Cronk, they are offering decent money but I dont think they will come to the table with his lofty demands.

some11

Coming from Canada, I find it extremely odd and im sure distracting to the teams, that players announce who they will be playing with for next season. We're 3 rounds in and he already has plans for signing to another team, I don't get this. To me this really is detrimental to the team dynamic.

It's very different from how sports are run here in North America. I find it baffling.

At least the speculation is over, everyone moves on.

Taylor is happy he has his future sorted and can focus on footy. I have noticed a number of times players have a ripper of a game after sorting out their contract.