Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Delays to restarts for more ads!!!

Slappy

Apologies if this is old news!

http://www.smh.com.au/news/league/delays-to-restarts-for-more-ads/2006/07/06/1152175720265.html?page=fullpage#contentSwap1

Delays to restarts for more ads
Jacquelin Magnay
July 7, 2006

RUGBY league rules will be changed at the request of broadcasters so there is a 30-second delayed restart to slot in an advertisement.
As part of the $100 million-a-year contract signed off by Channel Nine and pay TV operators for the rights to NRL matches, a deal has been struck allowing a guaranteed time between any try conversion kick attempts and the re-start of play. The rule change will be introduced for the start of next season.
It is understood Channel Nine and Fox Sports were keen to have a green and yellow light system - similar to that which has been in operation in AFL - that would tell the referee when it was OK to restart the game. As well as offering a time slot for an advertisement, it would also allow a small window of opportunity to show replays of the try.
However NRL chief operating officer Graham Annesley said the referee would control the restarts, not a television director.
"It will not be done with lights," Annesley said. "We have agreed to at least 30 seconds' break between a conversion taken and a game restarting so that they can fit in one television commercial. It will prevent quick restarts."
Annesley said the change to the rules was "negligible". He said a survey of restart times had shown there was an average break of 25 to 40 seconds.
"The change, if any will be negligible and it is not a big deal at all, it will be completely invisible to people watching the game," he said.
In last night's Origin decider in Melbourne, there was criticism of Channel Nine's quick switch to an ad break before a replay of a crucial match-winning try by Darren Lockyer was shown. The critical pass thrown by Blues fullback Brett Hodgson which was scooped up by Lockyer was replayed just once - from a wide angle - after the conversion attempt and an ad.
"It would be unacceptable to miss the quick kick-off, and we did show the replay, but we wanted to show the ecstasy of Lockyer and the agony of Hodgson because sport is about theatre and we had to go to the celebration," said Channel Nine's director of sport, Steve Crawley.
More than 400,000 viewers in Melbourne tuned in to watch the riveting decider live on Channel Nine on Wednesday night.
But it hasn't taken long for normal transmission to resume. Any new league converts keen to watch Friday night's blockbuster match between premiership leaders Melbourne Storm and second-placed Brisbane Broncos will have to get up at 5.30am on Saturday morning - or go to the game at Olympic Park.

Storm chief executive Brian Waldron is expecting the Storm's best crowd of the season at the game, with the corporate areas all sold out, the premium seating nearly all gone but lots of standing room still available.
For a club that has struggled to get more than 10,000 to a game all year, organisers are privately hoping for about 15,000 as a direct spin-off of the big-spending Origin promotion. But clearly any chance to build television
viewing momentum for club games off Origin has been lost.
"Our biggest crowd this year has been over 11,000 for the Cowboys match and we are hoping to top that," Waldron said.
In NSW and Queensland the television ratings showed Origin viewing habits have changed slightly. Across Australia a peak of 2.4 million viewers tuned in to the game and the average audience was 2,224,000.
Viewing numbers were up in Brisbane by 16 per cent on the same match last year, and regional viewing figures also improved, but figures were down 3 per cent in Sydney.
But most interest surrounded the Melbourne audience of the match, which was shown live from 7.30pm. Viewing figures lagged behind Seven's Beyond Tomorrow (501,000), but were still dramatically higher - 49 per cent - than last year's late night telecast. Nearly 390,000 tuned in from kick-off to full-time.
Interestingly, callers to Melbourne's talkback radio were disappointed there wasn't more physical confrontation.
"It was a great result all round and a really encouraging one in Melbourne," ARL chief executive Geoff Carr said. "The Melbourne Storm continue to go well and we've had a lot of positive interest in the fact we have a Tri-Nations match there later this year and further matches in the years ahead."

humpy

Can't believe that this has not happened sooner.

We all whinge about not having enough live footy, well this is a way that we can have live footy on FTA, but the guys paying the big bucks for the rights can actually recoup some of this money without having to cut away during live action (i.e. during state of origin they cut away prior to a drop out and came back with a penalty??)

Thought they may have gone 1 step further and stopped the clock when a try was scored, and restart at kick off.

Sea_Eagles_Rock

What about the quick ad in between scrums and 20 metre taps? Sometimes in live matches we miss an entire set as a result of these greedy ad breaks. I wish they would cut those out. Put something at the bottom of the screen and stay with the action.

ibeme

This is a good thing all round as far as I can see. It makes live games far more attractive for broadcasters as increases revenue generated for live games. It'd also be more attractive for advertisers, because when they throw in long ad breaks in delayed telecasts, a lot of people see it as an opportunity to take a leak, channel surf etc. With only one ad, people will be more inclined to leave watch it. And it's hardly an intrusion into the game.

Azkatro

Can't believe Melbournites have to watch the Melbourne/Broncos match at 5:30 in the morning on Saturday... what a joke :lol:

Danish

humpy said:
Can't believe that this has not happened sooner.

We all whinge about not having enough live footy, well this is a way that we can have live footy on FTA, but the guys paying the big bucks for the rights can actually recoup some of this money without having to cut away during live action (i.e. during state of origin they cut away prior to a drop out and came back with a penalty??)

Thought they may have gone 1 step further and stopped the clock when a try was scored, and restart at kick off.

That f**k up will still happen. It was during a 20m restart. They aren't going to be taking mandatory 30 second breaks for that.

I also agree that they should just stop the clock after a try is scored, and restart on kick off. I reckon thurston spent a good 2 mins lining up his final kick, and a measly $1000 fine hardly stops anyone from winding the clock down in a major game like that.

And if they won't stop the clock, then a shot clock set to 1:30 whereby if the kick isn't taken in the allowed time, it is not taken at all.

forward pass

Great idea.

During last years semi fianls - channel 9 did not replay any tries so they could go to ads. It was shocking.

This will hopefully fix that problem !

bulldog

I can see this being stretched to cover other breaks in play, it's a good idea, but will they start breaking for an extra 30 secs. to pack a scrum or during a handover in a low scoring game? As long as it's used in certain set circumstances it will probably work, but we all know TV will try to squeeze it for every $ they can get.

nadera78

You guys all seem in favour of it, but I've got to say if a broadcaster tried putting ads in the middle of a game (of any sport) over here in the UK there would be an uproar. And don't say it's needed for sponsors, it's just greed on the part of the TV companies.

Sky pay an absolute fortune for Premier League football over here but they don't interupt the game for ads. It just wouldn't be acceptable. They only have ads before kick off, at half-time and post-match, and they seem to generate enough income out of it.

nadera78 said:
You guys all seem in favour of it, but I've got to say if a broadcaster tried putting ads in the middle of a game (of any sport) over here in the UK there would be an uproar. And don't say it's needed for sponsors, it's just greed on the part of the TV companies.

Sky pay an absolute fortune for Premier League football over here but they don't interupt the game for ads. It just wouldn't be acceptable. They only have ads before kick off, at half-time and post-match, and they seem to generate enough income out of it.

Well soccer's a bit different, isn't it mate? It's impossible to put ads in the middle of a soccer match. Even when nine had the '02 world cup they showed it uninterrupted.

Where as in League there's plenty of stops in play, so there's an opportunity to do it.

I'd be in favour of them stopping the clock when the referee awards a try. The other good thing is time wouldn't restart until kickoff, which could set up exciting finishes to games with close scorelines. Eg: team 'X' scores with 30sec on the clock, convert and are 4 points behind. They'd get the ball again with that time remaining from the restart.

Misty Bee

I can see this becoming a monster, where TV begins to dictate how long it can take topack a scrum, goal line drop etc.

Interesting though, considering everyone puts up with Video refs stopping the game for 5 minutes while they do their forenzic study - and then come upwith 'ref's call'!

mattyg

Im for it. I mean it might get annoying but the tv stations pay multi millions to get the rights to broadcast nrl matches. They have to make that money somehow, and stopping 30 seconds for an ad isn't too bad. If it means more free to air games then yeah its all good.

Mr_Ugly

Azkatro said:
Can't believe Melbournites have to watch the Melbourne/Broncos match at 5:30 in the morning on Saturday... what a joke :lol:

We get it at the same time here in Hobart, and I can tell you it sh*ts all over the usual midnight start time! Get to wake up in the morning and switch on the footy ... kids get to watch it too. Wish they did it every week!