Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Divided rugby league fell 25 years ago – but united has it conquered? by Steve Mascord.

Pneuma

NRL still has massive potential of a Perth, Adelaide and NZ2 team. There’s thoughts of a PNG and Pacifica team. Plus a Sydney team or two, could conceivably relocate to a Wollongong or Central Coast full time. A fully national footprint will do the game wonders imho.
Exactly.

Pippen94

Because we are. Even comps like the EPL have extreme differences in crowd numbers for clubs 75000 at the top end 10000 at the bottom end. It’s just an accepted fact. Yet here it’s cannon fodder for local posters to whinge endlessly about the fact we have Clubs in the NRL with smaller followings and resources. It’s the way it is everywhere. If anything, our comp is one of the most evened out in the world. Should be proud of it.

We shouldn't be. Sign of insecurity because we a small, young nation that needs to feel important. Melbourne got it worse with afl cause they overshadowed by Sydney

Pneuma

We shouldn't be. Sign of insecurity because we a small, young nation that needs to feel important. Melbourne got it worse with afl cause they overshadowed by Sydney
Agree 100%. That code sums up all that is wrong with that place. Believe it or not Adelaide is slightly worse. They’re all bloody mad there.

westerntiger

but...

"the afl is the biggest bestest most awesomest sport in the world ever. they got 80k to a game between two Melbourne sides who have the same home ground 😆😆"

"you can't even get 10k to a rugby game in Sidney"

seriously what a pack of absolute clowns

Pippen94

but...

"the afl is the biggest bestest most awesomest sport in the world ever. they got 80k to a game between two Melbourne sides who have the same home ground 😆😆"

"you can't even get 10k to a rugby game in Sidney"

seriously what a pack of absolute clowns

They thrilled they becoming most populated city in 10 years like they getting one over Sydney. Great, ur city is going to be overcrowded

I don't really want to get into this argument but feel the need to point out what a load of crap your statement above is. I'm ex- Sydney but have lived in the Gold Coast and Brisbane since 2002 and can confirm there is huge support for Sydney teams up here, walk down any street or go to any building site and ask around who supports who and you'll find more Sydney team supporters than Broncos and Cowboy fans.

I don't know if you're trolling or are just a senile old dickhead, but I'll bite and respond.

I've lived in Brisbane and Logan my whole life. I regularly drive through Logan, Brisbane, Redlands and some times the Gold Coast. I rarely see people wearing sporting apparel of the Sydney NRL clubs. Most of the people I've seen wearing sports apparel are clad in Broncos gear.

Cowboys and Storm are vying to be the second most followed team in SEQ. When I ask people who they follow during small talk they regularly so Broncos, followed by Storm and Cowboys.

The only people I've met who follow Sydney teams are those who were forced out of Sydney by rising house prices.

So many footy fans up here hate the Broncos, it's quite amazing. Go to a Titans vs Dragons game at Carrara Stadium and the Dragons fans easily outnumber the insipid Tits crowd.

The Titans play at Robina Stadium. Carrara Stadium is home to the Gold Coast Suns. The only rugby league club to play at Carrara Stadium was the Gold Coast Chargers between 96-99.

There are plenty of people who hate the Broncos, but they're still the largest and best supported rugby league team in the world. Their attendances are routinely twice the size of any Sydney team. Only an absolute dickhead would try to claim the Sydney clubs have more support in SEQ than the Broncos.

Sydney clubs irrlelvant ? Imagine a comp without them and what have you got - the Qld teams plus Newi, Canberra and Melbourne - how exciting that would be, how short lived, Fox would go broke in a season.

Super League drew higher attendances than the ARL in 1997 and commanded more money from the broadcasters.

The poorest clubs in the NRL are from Sydney. They would be f**ked if we were to take away gaming machine revenue and the annual grant. The two clubs that make most money from football operations are the Broncos and Cowboys. Let that sink in. I've provided the facts in a separate post, based on figures released by the clubs in their annual reports. If you don't know this at your age then book yourself into a retirement village.

How did this all start ? With the Qldrs begging to join the NSW comp and play against the big boys down south and even with a virtual state side in the Broncos and coached by arguably the best coach in the world at the time you still had limited success.

That's not what happened. The NSWRL clubs had access to gaming machine revenue from 1956 because NSW was the only state that allowed licenced venues to carry poker machines until 1991. The BRL was bankrupted by the mid-80s trying to hold onto their players. From 1980 until 1985 Queensland dominated NSW with players mostly based in the BRL. Queensland resumed its dominance in 1987 with players mostly based in Brisbane. Combined Brisbane won the national knock out competition in 1984. That Combined Brisbane team was considered the best team in the country. NSW coach Ron Wiley said Wynnum Manly would have beaten Canterbury Bankstown.

QRL turned down John Quayle's request for a bid in 1986.

Then you gave us the Titans (you want to talk "irrelevant", Ladies and Gentlemen I give you the Gold Coast Titans) and the Cowboys, (who I quite like, personally) who haven't set the world on fire but at least represent a much greater portion of Qld than the Brisbane city-centric Broncs.

Titans draw better attendances than many Sydney clubs and were one of the better drawing clubs in their early days.

Cowboys have always drawn better attendances than most Sydney clubs are generate far more revenue from game day than all nine.

One more thing, the Broncos are one of the most hated teams in the comp, even in Brissie but more so on the Gold Coast and regions and I reckon the whole of Toowoomba, to a man would be happy if they never existed.

The Broncos have a very large following in the Darling Downs. I actually have family out that way. They're huge Broncos fans. I've spoken to Broncos fans at Lang Park who made the journey in from Toowoomba.

I follow the local teams up here, just so I can go to games (I rarely go to Broncos games) and it's a great comp up here and everyone loves their footy but I also know the same supporters are happy to sit down and watch Parra vs Penrith and Manly vs Dragons, I've sat right next to them, in pubs and peoples homes and rarely if ever heard the kind of crap you're spouting. Some good natured state rivalry but no-one wanting to see any Sydney clubs disappear.

I also watch the Sydney teams because I'm a rugby league fan and love watching the game. I wouldn't shed a tear if all nine Sydney clubs were kicked out for being financially unviable.

Did you know there's evidence proving you're full of shit?

Here's an article proving you are a liar. It was penned by Roy Masters in 2012.

Strong interest by broadcasters in a second Brisbane team may prompt the ARL Commission to ask TV networks to lodge a separate rights bid for an 18-team competition.

Both Fox Sports and Channel Nine are keen to televise a second Brisbane team and capitalise on the parochial ratings of Queenslanders.

With only three Queensland NRL teams in its 16-team competition - Brisbane, North Queensland and Gold Coast - Nine is frequently frustrated finding enough Queensland teams to schedule for its Friday night double header and its Sunday afternoon coverage.

Ratings are traditionally down in Queensland when Nine shows an all-Sydney game on Sundays, such as the recent Penrith-Wests Tigers match.

Fox Sports also suffers because the free-to-air coverage of the three Queensland teams means there is less incentive for northerners to take up Foxtel subscriptions.

Murphy said a report he commissioned with LEK's Colin Smith demonstrated that an additional Queensland team would add significant extra value to a broadcasting contract. The ARLC will obviously monitor the financial health of the Titans before making any decision on a fourth Queensland team.

For myself I'm happy with the NRL expansion plan so far and welcome with open arms the Dolphins and wish them all the best. I can see them becoming the most popular club in South East Qld in no time, like, by about round 4 I reckon.

LOL.

You're delusional like the dumb bastards who've liked your post.

Pneuma

I don't know if you're trolling or are just a senile old dickhead, but I'll bite and respond to this delusional crap you're spinning.

I've lived in Brisbane and Logan my whole life. I regularly drive through Logan, Brisbane, Redlands and some times the Gold Coast. I rarely see people wearing sporting apparel of the Sydney clubs. Most of the people I've seen wearing sports apparel are clad in Broncos gear.

Cowboys and Storm would be vying for the second most followed team. When I ask people who they follow during small talk they regularly so Broncos, followed by Storm and Cowboys.

The only people I've met who follow Sydney teams are those who were forced out of Sydney by rising house prices.

I think you're just senile. The Titans play at Robina Stadium. Carrara Stadium is home to the Gold Coast Suns. The only rugby league club to play at Carrara Stadium was the Gold Coast Chargers between 96-99.

There are plenty of people who hate the Broncos, but they're still the largest and best supported rugby league team in the world. Their attendances are routinely twice the size of any Sydney team. Only an absolute dickhead would try to claim the Sydney clubs have more support in SEQ than the Broncos.

Super League drew higher attendances than the ARL in 1997 and commanded more money from the broadcasters.

The poorest clubs in the NRL are from Sydney. They would be f**ked if we were to take away gaming machine revenue and the annual grant. The two clubs that make most money from football operations are the Broncos and Cowboys. Let that sink in. I've provided the facts in a separate post, based on figures released by the clubs in their annual reports. If you don't know this at your age then book yourself into an old folks home.

That's not what happened. The NSWRL clubs had access to gaming machine revenue from 1956 because NSW was the only state that allowed licenced venues to carry poker machines. The BRL was bankrupted by the mid-80s trying to hold onto their players. From 1980 until 1985 Queensland dominated NSW with players mostly based in the BRL. Queensland resumed its dominance in 1987 with players mostly based in Brisbane. Combined Brisbane won the national knock out competition in 1984. That Combined Brisbane team was considered the best team in the country. NSW coach Ron Wiley said Wynnum Manly would have beaten Canterbury Bankstown.

Titans draw better attendances than some Sydney clubs and we're one of the better drawing clubs in their early days.

Cowboys have always drawn better attendances than most Sydney clubs are generate far more revenue from game day than all nine.

The Broncos have a very large following in the Darling Downs. I actually have family out that way. They're huge Broncos fans. I've spoken to Broncos fans at Lang Park who made the journey in from Toowoomba.

I also watch the Sydney teams because I'm a rugby league fan and live watching the game. I wouldn't shed a tear if all nine Sydney clubs were kicked out for being financially unviable.

It's a pity there's evidence proving you're full of shit.

Here's an article this was penned by Roy Masters in 2012.

Strong interest by broadcasters in a second Brisbane team may prompt the ARL Commission to ask TV networks to lodge a separate rights bid for an 18-team competition.​
Both Fox Sports and Channel Nine are keen to televise a second Brisbane team and capitalise on the parochial ratings of Queenslanders.​
With only three Queensland NRL teams in its 16-team competition - Brisbane, North Queensland and Gold Coast - Nine is frequently frustrated finding enough Queensland teams to schedule for its Friday night double header and its Sunday afternoon coverage.​
Ratings are traditionally down in Queensland when Nine shows an all-Sydney game on Sundays, such as the recent Penrith-Wests Tigers match.​
Fox Sports also suffers because the free-to-air coverage of the three Queensland teams means there is less incentive for northerners to take up Foxtel subscriptions.​
...​

LOL.

You're delusional.
Good grief.

Pneuma

I don't know if you're trolling or are just a senile old dickhead, but I'll bite and respond to this delusional crap you're spinning.

I've lived in Brisbane and Logan my whole life. I regularly drive through Logan, Brisbane, Redlands and some times the Gold Coast. I rarely see people wearing sporting apparel of the Sydney clubs. Most of the people I've seen wearing sports apparel are clad in Broncos gear.

Cowboys and Storm would be vying for the second most followed team. When I ask people who they follow during small talk they regularly so Broncos, followed by Storm and Cowboys.

I think you're just senile. The Titans play at Robina Stadium. Carrara Stadium is home to the Gold Coast Suns. The only rugby league club to play at Carrara Stadium was the Gold Coast Chargers between 96-99.

The poorest clubs in the NRL are from Sydney. They would be f**ked if we were to take away gaming machine revenue and the annual grant. The two clubs that make most money from football operations are the Broncos and Cowboys. Let that sink in. I've provided the facts in a separate post, based on figures released by the clubs in their annual reports. If you don't know this at your age then book yourself into an old folks home.

That's not what happened. The NSWRL clubs had access to gaming machine revenue from 1956 because NSW was the only state that allowed licenced venues to carry poker machines. The BRL was bankrupted by the mid-80s trying to hold onto their players. From 1980 until 1985 Queensland dominated NSW with players mostly based in the BRL. Queensland resumed its dominance in 1987 with players mostly based in Brisbane. Combined Brisbane won the national knock out competition in 1984. That Combined Brisbane team was considered the best team in the country. NSW coach Ron Wiley said Wynnum Manly would have beaten Canterbury Bankstown.

Titans draw better attendances than some Sydney clubs and we're one of the better drawing clubs in their early days.

I also watch the Sydney teams because I'm a rugby league fan and live watching the game. I wouldn't shed a tear if all nine Sydney clubs were kicked out for being financially unviable.

It's a pity there's evidence proving you're full of shit.

Here's an article this was penned by Roy Masters in 2012.

Strong interest by broadcasters in a second Brisbane team may prompt the ARL Commission to ask TV networks to lodge a separate rights bid for an 18-team competition.​
Both Fox Sports and Channel Nine are keen to televise a second Brisbane team and capitalise on the parochial ratings of Queenslanders.​
With only three Queensland NRL teams in its 16-team competition - Brisbane, North Queensland and Gold Coast - Nine is frequently frustrated finding enough Queensland teams to schedule for its Friday night double header and its Sunday afternoon coverage.​
Ratings are traditionally down in Queensland when Nine shows an all-Sydney game on Sundays, such as the recent Penrith-Wests Tigers match.​
Fox Sports also suffers because the free-to-air coverage of the three Queensland teams means there is less incentive for northerners to take up Foxtel subscriptions.​
...​

LOL.

You're delusional.
Hi GROTD. I’m a Sharks supporter who loves a beer, a punt on the ponies and a bet on the pokies. Can you advise me where I can buy some adult nappies to see me through this season? 🥳

I think if anyone was starting a National League comp from scratch today you wouldn't have 9 teams in Sydney and 2 in Brisbane but not sure what you expect the NRL to do? The comp grew out of the existing Sydney competition. It is what it is.... If TV said - "hey you really need to cull some Sydney teams they are not adding any worth to the competition" then the NRL might put in place some measures but TV doesn't want that.

I do think Brisbane 2 has come far too late and Perth should already have a team. I don't quite understand why this has been so slow coming... I think League in this country is too Origin focussed and as long as that remains a massive cash cow then growth into new markets will be pushed aside.
If the ARLC didn't increase the grant to cover the salary cap with an additional $5m to bail out weak clubs then we wouldn't have nine teams in Sydney.

The least profitable clubs are from Sydney. All nine Sydney clubs draw little money from ticketing, membership, sponsorship and corporate hospitality. The market has spoken and said there's no demand for nine clubs in Sydney. I provided a detailed summary of the revenue clubs make from football operations in this thread.

Our game had a golden opportunity to kick out financially unviable Sydney clubs in 1998. It chose to keep them and got rid of the profitable Chargers and well supported expansion teams in Adelaide and Perth. By doing that they condemned rugby league to being a minority sport in two-fifths of the country's metropolitan markets and gave fumbleball a huge leg up in SEQ.

Good post. It’s just a historical fact that we dominated one part of Australia and the other mob dominated the other. They’ll get to 20 teams with coverage of 6 states and maybe one territory but half their teams will be based in one city (effectively). With Perth, NZ 2 and another Brisbane side we’ll cover 4 States, a territory and a second country but with significant player streams from across the whole South Pacific as well as Europe. Just under half our teams will be based in one city.
our mate complaining about the number of Sydney teams in the NRL is pointless.
I don't know what they put in the drinking water in Sutherland, but it sure does create some crazies.

Spin it however you want buddy, but the only reason Sydney has nine clubs is because NSW was the only state that allowed licences venues to carry poker machines between 1956 until 1991. If it wasn't for that law then the national RL competition wouldn't have nine teams in Sydney. All nine Sydney clubs draw little from ticketing, membership, corporate hospitality and sponsorship.

Don't take my word for it.

Go look at the figures from the annual reports of the clubs to see I'm right.

Because we are. Even comps like the EPL have extreme differences in crowd numbers for clubs 75000 at the top end 10000 at the bottom end. It’s just an accepted fact. Yet here it’s cannon fodder for local posters to whinge endlessly about the fact we have Clubs in the NRL with smaller followings and resources. It’s the way it is everywhere. If anything, our comp is one of the most evened out in the world. Should be proud of it.
You're cherry picking and making no sense. England doesn't have nine tiny clubs based in the one metropolitan area while 40% of the country's metropolitan markets are unrepresented.

Can you name a sports league outside of NRL that has nine small and financially unviable clubs representing one metropolitan area, propped up by gaming machine revenue and an annual grant with 40% of the metropolitan markets are unrepresented?

Pneuma

If the ARLC didn't increase the grant to cover the salary cap with an additional $5m to bail out weak clubs then we wouldn't have nine teams in Sydney.

The least profitable clubs are from Sydney. All nine Sydney clubs draw little money from ticketing, membership, sponsorship and corporate hospitality. The market has spoken and said there's no demand for nine clubs in Sydney. I provided a detailed summary of the revenue clubs make from football operations in this thread.

Our game had a golden opportunity to kick out financially unviable Sydney clubs in 1998. It chose to keep them and got rid of the profitable Chargers and well supported expansion teams in Adelaide and Perth. By doing that they condemned rugby league to being a minority sport in two-fifths of the country's metropolitan markets and gave fumbleball a huge leg up in SEQ.
I recall reading this somewhere else. That’s right it was here. By you. About 50 times.

Pneuma

I don't know what they put in the drinking water in Sutherland, but it sure does create some crazies.

Spin it however you want buddy, but the only reason Sydney has nine clubs is because NSW was the only state that allowed licences venues to carry poker machines between 1956 until 1991. If it wasn't for that law then the national RL competition wouldn't have nine teams in Sydney. All nine Sydney clubs draw little from ticketing, membership, corporate hospitality and sponsorship. Don't take my word for it. Go look at the figures from the annual reports of the clubs to see I'm right.
I’m happy to support a club that has nearly 400 junior teams, owns its own ground, is growing its asset base and is growing its brand.
It’s not the biggest club I grant you that. But in any competition of this nature some clubs will be bigger than others. That’s true of competitions all around the world including the Bundesliga and the EPL. It’s a fact of life. Proud to be a Sharkie mate. We’ll be round for many decades to come. Enjoy!

I recall reading this somewhere else. That’s right it was here. By you. About 50 times.
The figures I quoted are from the annual reports of the clubs. In the thread I made on this subject I went to the trouble of providing a link to every annual report that I quoted so you can trawl through them and see for yourself that they're legitimate.

Do you not know how to read an annual report?

Are you choosing to disbelieve the figures from the annual reports because they don't support your narrative?

I’m happy to support a club that has nearly 400 junior teams, owns its own ground, is growing its asset base and is growing its brand.
It’s not the biggest club I grant you that. But in any competition of this nature some clubs will be bigger than others. That’s true of competitions all around the world including the Bundesliga and the EPL. It’s a fact of life. Proud to be a Sharkie mate. We’ll be round for many decades to come. Enjoy!

You're entitled to be proud of your club and happy to support them. That's your right and I'm not going to condemn you for being passionate about your club.

But I also have the right to point out the harsh reality that your club is only in the NRL because of gaming machine revenue and the annual grant. It tried to enter the retail sector but its debts were so great they had to sell their stake in the project for just $39m. They've already chewed up more than half of the money they got in exchange for selling their share in the Woolooware retail development.

The stadium ain't worth shit and actually prevents them from generating significant revenue from corporate hospitality.

The club is boxed into an LGA that has just 220k people. About 5% of the people who live there are active supporters of the club. It's the reason its revenue from membership, ticketing, merchandise, sponsorship and corporate hospitality is not strong enough to keep them in the black without assistance from the annual grant and gaming machine revenue.

Pneuma

The figures I quoted are from the annual reports of the clubs. In the thread I made on this subject I went to the trouble of providing a link to every annual report that I quoted so you can trawl through them and see for yourself that they're legitimate.

Do you not know how to read an annual report?

Are you choosing to disbelieve the figures from the annual reports because they don't support your narrative?
I know how to do lots of things. In particular I love reading annual reports. The club reports demonstrate that some clubs are bigger than others. This doesn’t shock or worry me. It’s common in sporting competitions. My club is doing a great job at the moment building its junior base, its assets, its brand and its club culture. Proud to be a sharkie. We’ll be around for many decades to come. Enjoy! 😀

kit66

I don't know if you're trolling or are just a senile old dickhead, but I'll bite and respond.

I've lived in Brisbane and Logan my whole life. I regularly drive through Logan, Brisbane, Redlands and some times the Gold Coast. I rarely see people wearing sporting apparel of the Sydney NRL clubs. Most of the people I've seen wearing sports apparel are clad in Broncos gear.

Cowboys and Storm are vying to be the second most followed team in SEQ. When I ask people who they follow during small talk they regularly so Broncos, followed by Storm and Cowboys.

The Titans play at Robina Stadium. Carrara Stadium is home to the Gold Coast Suns. The only rugby league club to play at Carrara Stadium was the Gold Coast Chargers between 96-99.

The poorest clubs in the NRL are from Sydney. They would be f**ked if we were to take away gaming machine revenue and the annual grant. The two clubs that make most money from football operations are the Broncos and Cowboys. Let that sink in. I've provided the facts in a separate post, based on figures released by the clubs in their annual reports. If you don't know this at your age then book yourself into a retirement village.

That's not what happened. The NSWRL clubs had access to gaming machine revenue from 1956 because NSW was the only state that allowed licenced venues to carry poker machines until 1991. The BRL was bankrupted by the mid-80s trying to hold onto their players. From 1980 until 1985 Queensland dominated NSW with players mostly based in the BRL. Queensland resumed its dominance in 1987 with players mostly based in Brisbane. Combined Brisbane won the national knock out competition in 1984. That Combined Brisbane team was considered the best team in the country. NSW coach Ron Wiley said Wynnum Manly would have beaten Canterbury Bankstown.

QRL turned down John Quayle's request for a bid in 1986.

Titans draw better attendances than many Sydney clubs and were one of the better drawing clubs in their early days.

I also watch the Sydney teams because I'm a rugby league fan and love watching the game. I wouldn't shed a tear if all nine Sydney clubs were kicked out for being financially unviable.

Did you know there's evidence proving you're full of shit?

Here's an article proving you are a liar. It was penned by Roy Masters in 2012.

...​
Murphy said a report he commissioned with LEK's Colin Smith demonstrated that an additional Queensland team would add significant extra value to a broadcasting contract. The ARLC will obviously monitor the financial health of the Titans before making any decision on a fourth Queensland team.​

LOL.

You're delusional like the dumb bastards who've liked your post.

A Logan lad, that explains a lot. I didn't read all your post, I'll save it for bed time to put me to sleep.
Yes, I meant Robina stadium, I went to most of the Dragons vs Tits games there between about 2008 and 2015, always more Dragons fans than Tits, every time.
I think, being a Logan lad, the sporting apparel you see the most of is more likely Adidas, Nike etc wiff a bit of Tommy Hilfiger thrown in.
Do you not understand why one city clubs tend to draw large crowds ? Really, you haven't figured that out ?
The other thing you haven't worked out is that people like Roy Masters aren't journalists or an authority, they're just another person with an opinion and that using an opinion (not even your own) to "prove" anything isn't gonna get you very far.

I didn't write that post to bait you, as I said I only wrote it as a response to some of your absurd rantings that needed some.....perspective. But I'll leave you with it, good luck with the "kick out all 9 Sydney teams" caper, we can resume our chat just as soon as that happens.

Pneuma

A Logan lad, that explains a lot. I didn't read all your post, I'll save it for bed time to put me to sleep.
Yes, I meant Robina stadium, I went to most of the Dragons vs Tits games there between about 2008 and 2015, always more Dragons fans than Tits, every time.
I think, being a Logan lad, the sporting apparel you see the most of is more likely Adidas, Nike etc wiff a bit of Tommy Hilfiger thrown in.
Do you not understand why one city clubs tend to draw large crowds ? Really, you haven't figured that out ?
The other thing you haven't worked out is that people like Roy Masters aren't journalists or an authority, they're just another person with an opinion and that using an opinion (not even your own) to "prove" anything isn't gonna get you very far.

I didn't write that post to bait you, as I said I only wrote it as a response to some of your absurd rantings that needed some.....perspective. But I'll leave you with it, good luck with the "kick out all 9 Sydney teams" caper, we can resume our chat just as soon as that happens.
A delightful even tempered response. Well played sir. Given the abuse heaped upon you, you are clearly a person of reason and restraint!

I actually grew up in Brisbane. You couldn't even get that right. 🙄

Roy Masters' article is based on television ratings you dope. That's actual evidence. Not delusional fake anecdotes like the crap you tried to pass off as "fact".

This year's GF between Parra and Sydney drew the lowest national TV rating in history. It drew a terrible audience in Brisbane. That's evidence proving you're full of shit.

NRL Grand Final ratings sink to historic low

The 2022 NRL grand final has proven a ratings flop, with historically low numbers tuning in for Sunday evening’s season finale.

The 2022 NRL grand final has proven a ratings flop, with historically low numbers tuning in for Sunday evening’s contest between the Penrith Panthers and Parramatta Eels at Accor Stadium.

The Panthers secured a second-consecutive NRL premiership by toppling their cross-town rivals 28-12 in front of 82,415 fan at Sydney Olympic Park.

But there wasn’t a whole lot of interest outside of Sydney.

According to MediaWeek, 2,367,000 fans tuned in nationally for the one-sided match, making it the smallest NRL grand final television audience on record.

It marks the first time the overall television audience for an NRL season finale has dipped below 2.5 million viewers in the history of OzTam ratings data.

These numbers are substantially lower than 2020 and 2021, when most of Australia was stuck in lockdown, but also the 2019 grand final between the Sydney Roosters and Canberra Raiders.

Only 252,000 people tuned in from Melbourne, the second-lowest viewership from the Victorian capital since 2000.

The numbers for other metro markets were 391,000 in Brisbane, 77,000 in Adelaide and 114,000 in Perth, according to MediaWeek.

Of course I know why teams who have a monopoly on a city draw better crowds than nine teams who are competing over the same market. It's why I'm arguing for Sydney to be rationalised down to a number it can actually support. 😃

Thank you for proving that Sydney's nine clubs draw shit crowds because there's not enough RL fans in the market to support them. Maybe you'll get a clue and realise the only way to change this dilemma is by getting rid of a few.