Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Do you want Andrew Voss back

• Yes

Votes: 426 83.5%
  • No

Votes: 84 16.5%

undertaker

True, but its do hard to miss the result. It was shown on QLD TV 2 hrs after the game started so the result was known before the telecast started. Nine think this leads people to watch their Sunday news but it turns me away from Nine because of their arrogance

Oh, I forgot that it was on 2 hr delay in QLD (due to daylight saving), which pretty much means that game was already over by the time it was televised in QLD. Reminds me of 3 yrs ago when the Storm/Dragons Good Friday match was shown at 4pm in NSW/QLD, yet the game kicked off at 2pm and furthermore, no competition from rival sporting codes and wasn't even shown in Melbourne! Shows how arrogant Ch9 really are.

IMO, and I'm not alone in saying this, but delayed telecasts are well and truly a thing of the past and the sooner people realise it, the better. You can throw up your crappy, illogical excuse of Ch9 needed to put 50 zillion ads to recoup their investment, it's a load of rubbish. Ch9 could also easily broadcast the 9:30 Friday match at 7:30pm on one of their other two channels but choose not to. The AFL realised this when negotiating their current tv deal that live AFL was a must and hence the marquee Friday night and Saturday night matches, as well as the Sunday arvo FTA game on Ch7 have to be shown live into Melbourne (whereas Fri night/Sunday games were on 1hr delay and Sat night games on 30 min delay in the previous tv deal).

People want live sport, nearly every major sporting code in the world broadcasts matches live, and whilst there are legal or illegal (whichever way you look at it) live broadcasts on the internet, people are going to sooner or flock to them in droves.

Tone83

The only thing disappointing about this exciting season isn't the drug scandal, couldn't give a toss, its the fact vossy still hasn't taken back his rightful spot and hadley is still lingering around like a pungent fart. A thousand times yes I want vossy back calling games and hosting the roast and I want hadley to have burning tire put on his neck before he gets thrown off a high bridge.

bobmar28

Hadley is disgusting.

I lasted about 10 minutes before I turned off the Dragons v Storm game today. I cannot stand his commentry. He is a woeful Tv commentator.
At first he wouldn't shut up, now he hardly ever speaks.
Bring back Vossy.

Lambretta

Complaints for Channel 9 - addresses

NSW Viewers: PO Box 27 Willoughby, NSW 2068
Vic Viewers: PO Box 100 Richmond, Vic 3121
QLD Viewers: PO Box 72 Brisbane, QLD 4001

Details To Include

You should include your name, address and if possible, a daytime phone number. Complaints cannot be addressed by Channel Nine unless they are submitted in this way.

Show Specific Complaints

Show specific complaints should be addressed to "The Executive Producer" of that program

What information should your complaint include?

Your complaint should include the following information:
  • Your name, address and telephone number
  • The name of the program, advertiser/product or program promoted
  • The station on which you saw or heard the program/advertisement
  • The date and time you saw or heard it
  • Reasons for your concerns
My complaint will read thus.......

Dear Channel 9

I am writing in my disgust at your continued employment of Ray Hadley as part of the Rugby League commentary team. I appreciate that Fox Sports have taken all the best commentators and the barrel you're left to scrape is very poor indeed, however Ray Hadley should be the last person on the planet you should consider for this position.

He is almost universally despised by the Rugby League viewing community for his commentary style plus on top of this reports have abounded as to his disgusting nature as a human being. He is known across the broadcasting industry as a bully and on top of this it has now been reported that he is a coward to boot.

You had one of the best commentators in the Rugby League World, namely Andrew Voss and yet you sidelined his brilliance and replaced it with the slime that is Hadley. How dare you? That is akin to replacing a Ferrari with an excrement covered pair of hob nail boots that you stole off a blind beggar. Supporters of Rugby League are disgusted by your behaviour and I will no longer be watching any broadcast that Ray Hadley is a party to.

yours sincerely

Lambretta

undertaker

Dear Channel 9

I am writing in my disgust at your continued employment of Ray Hadley as part of the Rugby League commentary team. I appreciate that Fox Sports have taken all the best commentators and the barrel you're left to scrape is very poor indeed, however Ray Hadley should be the last person on the planet you should consider for this position.

He is almost universally despised by the Rugby League viewing community for his commentary style plus on top of this reports have abounded as to his disgusting nature as a human being. He is known across the broadcasting industry as a bully and on top of this it has now been reported that he is a coward to boot.

You had one of the best commentators in the Rugby League World, namely Andrew Voss and yet you sidelined his brilliance and replaced it with the slime that is Hadley. How dare you? That is akin to replacing a Ferrari with an excrement covered pair of hob nail boots that you stole off a blind beggar. Supporters of Rugby League are disgusted by your behaviour and I will no longer be watching any broadcast that Ray Hadley is a party to.

yours sincerely

Lambretta

Lambretta, I thoroughly appreciate that you're trying to do most of us anti-Hadley ppl on this forum a favour. However, whilst Hadley is still a sycophant of the people who matter the most (in the case of Ch9, David Gyngell), Ch9 will do nothing other than put your email into the trash bin. It's unfortunate that people are allowed to get away with what he does, but that's a sad reality of life. One day, justice will be served and what goes around comes around, but not before the damage is already done.

Lambretta

Lambretta, I thoroughly appreciate that you're trying to do most of us anti-Hadley ppl on this forum a favour. However, whilst Hadley is still a sycophant of the people who matter the most (in the case of Ch9, David Gyngell), Ch9 will do nothing other than put your email into the trash bin. It's unfortunate that people are allowed to get away with what he does, but that's a sad reality of life. One day, justice will be served and what goes around comes around, but not before the damage is already done.

Nothing ventured, nothing gained and if Channel 9 ignore our warnings then they only have themselves to blame.

Maybe I should see if anyone in the Eastern suburbs that I know is friendly with David Gyngell?

Izz

Interview in the NZ Herald with Voss:

Sky churns through its league commentators the way Sonny Bill Williams changes addresses.

The subscriber channel looks to have finally sorted the situation out with the appointment of the highly respected Australian caller Andrew Voss, the fourth head commentator in four years following on from Jason Costigan, Stephen McIvor and Dale Husband.

Voss will call the home games while Channel Nine and Fox commentators cover Warriors matches in Australia. Voss, a 46-year-old Sydneysider, chats with the Herald.

What led you to taking the new job?

I've always been the Channel Nine commentator who came across for the Warriors games, and the more I thought about the opportunity, the more excited I got. I'd love to play a bigger role in growing the game in New Zealand ... if Sky is interested I'd love to help produce our own shows with a flavour for the New Zealand audience.

How about Kiwi test matches?

Yes - I'm already locked in to cover the test in Canberra (in April).

You were born in ...

Sydney, the youngest of three boys. My brothers picked the teams closest to home (in Ryde) ... I liked rabbits so I picked the Rabbitohs to support. I was a league groupie as a kid - there wasn't a weekend when I didn't got to a game somewhere.

Did you play?

Tried my best, but was no good.

Childhood hero?

Bob McCarthy, the barnstorming backrower for Souths and Australia. I got into golf early and was a big fan of Jack Nicklaus and then Greg Norman. My bedroom was covered in posters of McCarthy, Nicklaus, Norman ... and Suzi Quatro in her leathers.

Was your golf better than the league career?

I did break par at my local course. My tombstone can read "called a bit of footy, sang in a band, had a role in a little movie, and broke par".

Your commentary career highlight?

Not being corny - but every first-grade game because all I wanted to do as a kid was call footy. The 2000 World Cup at Old Trafford - the theatre of dreams with a crowd of 44,000 - was a highlight.

A low point?

I absolutely hammer myself when I call a player wrong, particularly in a try-scoring play. One instance ... in a semifinal involving North Sydney I had Greg Florimo running up the field and I was going "go Greg you old thing" but it was a player called Nigel Roy. I'd done a great spiel about the old legs carrying Florimo along for 70 metres.

What would you change in your industry and league?

Over here some media personalities believe they are bigger than the game - we've all got tremendous jobs and should quit sniping at each other. The players are the stars and we are just the sideshow. I'd love a much greater emphasis on international rugby league ... the clubs are happy to hand over players for 10-day State of Origin camps yet for test matches the attitude is different.

You were rumoured to have been offered the job of Parramatta CEO ...

The rumours were true. The club gave me a call completely out of left field. I'd never even contemplated a role in administration until then. I had a couple of meetings and threw a whole lot of ideas at them and that pretty much is where we left it.

What about those Warriors?

I have them in my top eight this year, but then again I had them there last year. It is most important they get a good start.

What's your calling technique - do you watch games live or via a monitor?

I mainly ID players with the naked eye or through binoculars although you always have to be conscious of what the viewers are actually looking at. I still pack the binoculars that belonged to my father who died when I was eight. I use a better quality pair for the job but I always feel good to have my dad's binoculars with me.

Drugs, Cronulla, scandals ...

To cover sport these days you've almost got to be a lawyer and a chemist. It is so complicated - some of these drugs are not on the banned list yet nor on the approved list. Essendon AFL players are reported to have injected up to 40 times in a season. It sounds outrageous but maybe that is where sport is going. It is time that everyone got together - the athletes, officials and drug testers.

Summit topics?

Maybe players can take things for injury recovery, but must stop when they are back playing. There is so much to be looked at - I'm not condoning illegal drugs but we need to take a look at the lists. I hope a lot of good comes out of this. Police in New South Wales and Victoria have already said there is not enough evidence to press criminal charges, and there are no charges or infractions for the NRL to act on. This whole thing started with a massive (crime commission) media conference six weeks ago and I'm afraid the cart has come before the horse.

If you weren't a rugby league caller ...

I'd be on a ride-on mower, cutting people's lawns, dreaming about being a rugby league commentator.

ETA: Link added: http://www.nzherald.co.nz/sport/news/article.cfm?c_id=4&objectid=10871582

God-King Dean

You were rumoured to have been offered the job of Parramatta CEO ...
The rumours were true. The club gave me a call completely out of left field. I'd never even contemplated a role in administration until then. I had a couple of meetings and threw a whole lot of ideas at them and that pretty much is where we left it.

lolPawwa

Usain Bolt

Hadley is a legend, Voss is a grubby sook that threw his toys out of the cot once he knew Hadley got promoted to call the 2nd Friday night game over him.

lol @ people calling Hadley a bully just because he expects his co-workers to do their jobs efficiently?

Bretto

lol @ people who lol @ people without knowing anything about what they're loling about.

People are calling Hadley a bully because he physically threatens people and when someone actually stood up to him and told him to punch on, he got his shits on and cried to his mummy.

Ray Hadley is a terrible Rugby League commentator and a fairly unscrupulous human to boot.

bobmar28

Hadley is a legend, Voss is a grubby sook that threw his toys out of the cot once he knew Hadley got promoted to call the 2nd Friday night game over him.

lol @ people calling Hadley a bully just because he expects his co-workers to do their jobs efficiently?

Hadley can't call a football game. I'd rather turn the volume down or tune in to abc radio for the audio.

AlwaysGreen

You get the Golden Trollie for troll post of the year.

Iafeta

Hadley sounds like he should be calling the Trots at the old Harold Park. Monotone, calls it like he's calling radio, and barely takes time to take a breath and give the viewer a break.

Welcome Mr Voss, finally a good lead commentator in New Zealand. I hope SKY take him up on his vision and he gets to do some league programming in NZ aside from just calling the game.

Bretto

You get the Golden Trollie for troll post of the year.

Troll post? I just assumed it was stupidity and ignorance. Guess those 2 things have gone out the window now in favour of being a "troll".

The grass is obviously pink and I think Hitler did a good job with his cleansing in the early 40's.

On topic though, I think we all want Voss back.

One Warrior

Great to have a decent commentator calling Warriors games again, Costigan was amusing sometimes, but the best commentator we had was Graeme Hughes.

Canard

Watching a Broncos game last night without Hadley was a joy, he is so monotone and boring.

And Warren and Gould are SHITFUL in the extreme, I mean last night it was clear live that Hodges injured himself, yet they both completely missed it (it wasn't until Wally chimed in 5 mins later that they realised).

But I would still take that over Hadley's boring monotone any day, f**k Id take Terry Kennedy over Hadley.