Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Do you want Brad Arthur as coach

• Yes

Votes: 109 48.0%
  • No

Votes: 118 52.0%

IFR33K

He’s done nothing yet but be liked by the players. Is there a table for that ?

One semi final win in 9 years and everyone wants to blow their load.

Early days but there does appear to be some improvement which I concede.

Don’t know why the usual suspects keep bumping this thread. It’s not the regular season where there’s concern. Let’s hope BA has learnt from years gone by and we can actually win a few semi final games and may even make the big dance. This years should be our year to shine. Let’s hope everything pans out.

Don’t know why the usual suspects keep bumping this thread. It’s not the regular season where there’s concern.
Of course there's concern. Scraping into the top four through superior coaching doesn't make you a premiership contender. That requires beating the top teams in the finals which means having a strong roster. The evidence of a strong roster is winning often and winning big, which we haven't consistently done since 2005. Here's our for/against compared to the top team every year since 2005:

2005: we had the best differential
2006: -178
2007: -258
2008: -348
2009: -216
2010: -297
2011: -366
2012: -461
2013: -729
2014: -333
2015: -416
2016: -242
2017: -258
2018: -357
2019: -271
2020: -195
2021: -39 (after seven rounds)

The above table shows how comprehensively we've been outclassed by the strongest team in the comp over the past 15+ years. To project our current differential shortfall (a very rough prediction) we are looking at -134 after 24 rounds, which would be the closest we've been to the best team in the competition since 2005.

In the 16 full seasons since 2005 (inclusive) the only premiers with a bigger differential discrepancy were the 2005 Tigers (147 less than the top side) and 2015 Cowboys (158 less).

Of course there's concern. Scraping into the top four through superior coaching doesn't make you a premiership contender. That requires beating the top teams in the finals which means having a strong roster. The evidence of a strong roster is winning often and winning big, which we haven't consistently done since 2005. Here's our for/against compared to the top team every year since 2005:

2005: we had the best differential
2006: -178
2007: -258
2008: -348
2009: -216
2010: -297
2011: -366
2012: -461
2013: -729
2014: -333
2015: -416
2016: -242
2017: -258
2018: -357
2019: -271
2020: -195
2021: -39 (after seven rounds)

The above table shows how comprehensively we've been outclassed by the strongest team in the comp over the past 15+ years. To project our current differential shortfall (a very rough prediction) we are looking at -134 after 24 rounds, which would be the closest we've been to the best team in the competition since 2005.

In the 16 full seasons since 2005 (inclusive) the only premiers with a bigger differential discrepancy were the 2005 Tigers (147 less than the top side) and 2015 Cowboys (158 less).
So statistically we are on track to have our best team since 2005 when Brian Smith was our coach?

TheRam

On BA, I have as you all know been a detractor for a while now, but in almost a schizophrenic kind of way.

I have liked his forthright and honest approach. His demand for ownership and effort on effort and attention to the little things in a game. The small details that make or break a team. All that and loyalty to his players are his strengths in the day to day coaching side of things. No one can fault him on that side of things. He is a man manager of sorts, which is a massive plus for any coach.

He has made some bad mistakes at times on the field and in team prep off it when he first took over and was learning on the job how to be an NRL coach. Some of it can be attributed to doing to much when was first in charge, but that is not the case now and in the long past. But were I and others still have a niggling doubt about him is with his game plan and attacking structures in particular and the fact that he hasn't had much success at the business end of a season.

However having said all that, I am slowly coming around to keeping him and seeing what he can do over the next 1-3 years. The way the team is going now is tremendous and he deserves most of all the credit for it. They are definitely not peaking and still playing well, which is what you want to see in your team at this time of year.

What has slowly snuck up on us all though is that he is a bloody good identifier and recruiter of under valued talent. We could all see it from the start in bits here and there, but it is really evident now with a strong roster to back him up and give him more pull, that he and his team of recruitment and retention know what they are doing.

This to me above ALL else is the number one trait any NRL coach should possess and second is man management. Well he has both of these covered in spades. Where he is lacking as mentioned above, is the attacking structures and how lost at times we have looked with the ball in hand. Whether that is due to the players not following instruction or unable to follow instruction or the coach not being up to it, we will never know. But even this, this season(maybe due to A. Johns) is slowly changing and we are much more dangerous with the ball in hand.

Add to that that we also have a young Arthur playmaker in the halves in the lower grades that reminds me of a young DCE, then it would be folly to cut him loose at this stage of our quest for a premiership. If BA is retained as head coach(on merit), we won't have to worry about losing his son to another club and we should have a ready made replacement for our halves when the time is right assuring us of at least 10 continual years of team quality and success. I wouldn't mind if we/he sourced a top offensive assistant coach for next year, but so far, so good this year. Obviously we need to see how we fair in the backend of the season games, but short of a total capitulation and collapse, I think he is our man.

I don't think that it would go down well with the players or many of the fans at this point to punt him and opt for someone else. Hell if Bozo the clown can win a Premiership with Manly after all those years of trying with some of the best bought players of that era at both the Roosters and Sea Eagles, then why not Arthur, who I think is a much more loved person then Fulton ever was?

In Arthur we trust.

Kornstar

I find it odd that anyone who supported Smith as our coach giving it to BA.

Smith was in charge of some of the biggest finals chokes in the history of the game.

BA has lost 1 game he should have won, and could have won against the Rabbits last year but they lost their way and some unfortunate injuries and events, otherwise we have lost to a far superior team!

Am i happy with our finals record under BA, of course not but i can understand it and not everything is black and white. We are gaining plenty of experience for our players, and key players at that so that is a positive.

If anyone can suggest a coach that is available to coach us that is better than BA then i am for hiring said coach because i am not sure BA can get us there, but i will support him while he is our coach and we have a decent record under him since we started to get out of the salary cap shit he was left with.

I find it odd that anyone who supported Smith as our coach giving it to BA.

Smith was in charge of some of the biggest finals chokes in the history of the game.

BA has lost 1 game he should have won, and could have won against the Rabbits last year but they lost their way and some unfortunate injuries and events, otherwise we have lost to a far superior team!

Am i happy with our finals record under BA, of course not but i can understand it and not everything is black and white. We are gaining plenty of experience for our players, and key players at that so that is a positive.

If anyone can suggest a coach that is available to coach us that is better than BA then i am for hiring said coach because i am not sure BA can get us there, but i will support him while he is our coach and we have a decent record under him since we started to get out of the salary cap shit he was left with.
He's done OK this year and like the team he has improved as a coach. I wouldn't be boning him but re-evaluating in mid 2022. By then Trent Robinson may need a new challenge.

Don’t know why the usual suspects keep bumping this thread. It’s not the regular season where there’s concern. Let’s hope BA has learnt from years gone by and we can actually win a few semi final games and may even make the big dance. This years should be our year to shine. Let’s hope everything pans out.
This I agree with.

I cringed slightly when @Gronk posted his mincy gif. Equally though, there is an avalanche of degenerates ready to dismiss BA whenever we lose.

In the scheme of things life as a Parra fan is as good as it has been some time. Shame we can't collectively bond over that.

Eelogical

This I agree with.

I cringed slightly when @Gronk posted his mincy gif. Equally though, there is an avalanche of degenerates ready to dismiss BA whenever we lose.

In the scheme of things life as a Parra fan is as good as it has been some time. Shame we can't collectively bond over that.
Are you at the Barron River Hotel or the Cock and Bull?

Gazzamatta

Great start last year and this. Early days. I'd suggest only Penrith are playing to full potential but even they have Api to return. The question is have we peaked? Are we capable of improving as no doubt the best teams will? We hit the wall last year and our back half was ordinary. There are definitely green shoots. Our roster is superior. We defeated Melbourne and The Raiders at home. By any metric that's an improvement. I'm enjoying the ride though. Keep your powder dry guys. Being an Eels supporter is always a bumpy ride.
So excited to see how we perform V The Chooks on the 7th.
I'll be there shouting with the crowd.
PARRA! boom, boom, boom!

Great start last year and this. Early days. I'd suggest only Penrith are playing to full potential but even they have Api to return. The question is have we peaked? Are we capable of improving as no doubt the best teams will? We hit the wall last year and our back half was ordinary. There are definitely green shoots. Our roster is superior. We defeated Melbourne and The Raiders at home. By any metric that's an improvement. I'm enjoying the ride though. Keep your powder dry guys. Being an Eels supporter is always a bumpy ride.
PARRA! boom, boom, boom!
Interesting question. Strangely, I feel like we have more puddings left in the tank even though we are 6-1.

TheRam

PARRA! boom, boom, boom!

I think our bench has improved so much this year that burnout will not be a problem. I can't see us having the same drop off as last year. We are at least a 20% better team overall because of it and further experience as a team and players. As an example, look at the way our backrowers are now running freely and through gaps. Last year they were struggling to find a gap. Our frontrow rotation is awesome and we lose nothing now when it transitions.

Moses is thinking better and running more and so is Mahoney. The only thing that is missing is uber speed out wide. Otherwise we are almost the complete footy team. We just need to stay injury free and listen to the coach and we should be mixing it with the big boys for the big dance showdown at the end of the season.

Joshuatheeel

He's done OK this year and like the team he has improved as a coach. I wouldn't be boning him but re-evaluating in mid 2022. By then Trent Robinson may need a new challenge.

While I reckon Robinson may eventually want a new challenge I doubt it’s any time soon considering he is still pretty young in coaching terms (only 44 this yes ), the roosters always have a good squad and he now has 2 of the potentially best juniors of the last decade in his squad. Why would he risk a change just yet

Joshuatheeel

On BA, I have as you all know been a detractor for a while now, but in almost a schizophrenic kind of way.

I have liked his forthright and honest approach. His demand for ownership and effort on effort and attention to the little things in a game. The small details that make or break a team. All that and loyalty to his players are his strengths in the day to day coaching side of things. No one can fault him on that side of things. He is a man manager of sorts, which is a massive plus for any coach.

He has made some bad mistakes at times on the field and in team prep off it when he first took over and was learning on the job how to be an NRL coach. Some of it can be attributed to doing to much when was first in charge, but that is not the case now and in the long past. But were I and others still have a niggling doubt about him is with his game plan and attacking structures in particular and the fact that he hasn't had much success at the business end of a season.

However having said all that, I am slowly coming around to keeping him and seeing what he can do over the next 1-3 years. The way the team is going now is tremendous and he deserves most of all the credit for it. They are definitely not peaking and still playing well, which is what you want to see in your team at this time of year.

What has slowly snuck up on us all though is that he is a bloody good identifier and recruiter of under valued talent. We could all see it from the start in bits here and there, but it is really evident now with a strong roster to back him up and give him more pull, that he and his team of recruitment and retention know what they are doing.

This to me above ALL else is the number one trait any NRL coach should possess and second is man management. Well he has both of these covered in spades. Where he is lacking as mentioned above, is the attacking structures and how lost at times we have looked with the ball in hand. Whether that is due to the players not following instruction or unable to follow instruction or the coach not being up to it, we will never know. But even this, this season(maybe due to A. Johns) is slowly changing and we are much more dangerous with the ball in hand.

Add to that that we also have a young Arthur playmaker in the halves in the lower grades that reminds me of a young DCE, then it would be folly to cut him loose at this stage of our quest for a premiership. If BA is retained as head coach(on merit), we won't have to worry about losing his son to another club and we should have a ready made replacement for our halves when the time is right assuring us of at least 10 continual years of team quality and success. I wouldn't mind if we/he sourced a top offensive assistant coach for next year, but so far, so good this year. Obviously we need to see how we fair in the backend of the season games, but short of a total capitulation and collapse, I think he is our man.

I don't think that it would go down well with the players or many of the fans at this point to punt him and opt for someone else. Hell if Bozo the clown can win a Premiership with Manly after all those years of trying with some of the best bought players of that era at both the Roosters and Sea Eagles, then why not Arthur, who I think is a much more loved person then Fulton ever was?

In Arthur we trust.

good post.

on recruitment, we now have that “sweet spot” where we now have a decent squad where we are considered finalists each year, so players want to play for us to play finals. But also know BA has the reputation for improving them to. We can now get cheapies to improve the squad rather then paying good money for them to be top 17

BTW I reckon the squad next year will be even better with more speed added to the backline