Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Do you want Brad Arthur as coach

• Yes

Votes: 109 48.0%
  • No

Votes: 118 52.0%

Happy MEel

It's defined by results, which means convincing a group to align their objectives with yours. Obviously from a footy perspective it's simple to say that they all want to win, so leadership isn't required, but footy players want more than that. In the short term they have all these competing priorities such as family or chasing skirt, and in the long term they are wanting to maximise their earnings. All of these can reduce their commitment to winning in the short term (this week) and longer term (this year or longer). Leadership can genuinely convince people that commitment to the team is more important than spending an extra couple of hours with the wife and kids, or staying up late the night before training to bang some bloke from Grindr.

It can even convince a team mate to take a couple hundred grand less to re-sign with the team and put off the big pay day until the next contract.
How was Camillion’s commitment to the team when he and his high profile mates signed two contracts, whilst the rest of the squad wore the brunt of it?

what about the qualities on display when a bloke was paralysed on the field from a Storm tackle and Cam thought it appropriate to argue a penalty?

How strong was his influence on Big Nelson over in Bali, or stopping Bromwich getting on the gear?

Smith is a f**kwit, but he’s a leader. The two aren’t mutually exclusive.

TheRam

• Integrity
  • Ability to delegate
  • Mince
  • Communication
  • Self-awareness
  • Gratitude
  • Semen
  • Learning agility
  • Influence
  • Puddings
  • Empathy
  • Courage
  • Respect
  • Plop

• Integrity
  • Ability to delegate
  • Mince
  • Communication
  • Self-awareness
  • Gratitude
  • Semen
  • Learning agility
  • Influence
  • Puddings
  • Empathy
  • Courage
  • Respect
  • Plop
  • Meat Pies
  • Arthur Beatson

TheRam

Agreed

Because they will suddenly stop doing what they did to make us a consistent top six side? Makes sense

Because their ideas and voices have become stale and predictable. The coaching staff need a freshen up, similar to how the playing squad need new blood always challenging the top squad.

How dumb, dumb are you that someone on a forum needs to explain this to you? Maybe so you can get your head around it, you need to look up the stats on this? How often do the top teams change the coaching personnel by necessity or by desire, but change is change? Sometimes even when change is forced upon you, it turns out it actually was of greater benefit.

TheRam

I'm sure they're aware of what footy fans are like and how much they love a scapegoat. But unlike footy fans these merkins don't live in imaginary land where there's no budgets. They have to make do with the resources they've got.

The budget is $5m merkin. Stop making out like we are so way behind the top sides.

What so we can't and don't spend the $5m like they do, is that what you are saying?

If that is what you are on about, show us. Prove it, don't just constantly crap on that we are an inferior club to them and can never compete. I tend to think it is very similar to the salary cap for the players. Some clubs manage their roster well, and others like the Tigers suck at it, but all clubs have the same amount to spend. Sure there is the sombrero talk, but unless it is proven, then it is just talk. There are some players that have great sponsorships sure, but that is more the elite players now and well since we haven't produced one or signed one for ages, well that is on us.

Our club sells itself. If we can't get the best involved and eager to be part of such a stellar football enterprise like us then there is something massively wrong with the top brass of our club. Which other club in the NRL besides the Broncos, Storm, and soon the Roosters(the new stadium), have all the assets and bits and pieces that go to making a great club like us? Also do I need to remind you again that we are the number one watched sporting team of any code on television. Sponsors should be tripping over themselves to get a piece of our pie.

So go on prove it!

Gazzamatta

Nah mate, the CEO is convinced Brad Arthur is the best coach in the NRL and Murphy/Kidwell are the best assistants. We're just incredibly lucky the demand hasn't driven their salaries out of our price range.
Understanding your tongue in cheek response Poo id suggest the talk of the two not getting on is more than that.

Because their ideas and voices have become stale and predictable. The coaching staff need a freshen up, similar to how the playing squad need new blood always challenging the top squad.

How dumb, dumb are you that someone on a forum needs to explain this to you? Maybe so you can get your head around it, you need to look up the stats on this? How often do the top teams change the coaching personnel by necessity or by desire, but change is change? Sometimes even when change is forced upon you, it turns out it actually was of greater benefit.
Blah blah blah...

As far as I can all that happened was that someone predicted we'd freefall into the bottom 4 next year and someone else questioned whether thats likely. Weirdly, you went on the attack against the second bloke. 🤪

I'm fairly confident that regardless of what happens we wont be in the bottom 4 next year. I reckon most NRL fans would agree with me.

Why do you tolerate such bullshit statements? Because they suit your narrative?

How was Camillion’s commitment to the team when he and his high profile mates signed two contracts, whilst the rest of the squad wore the brunt of it?

what about the qualities on display when a bloke was paralysed on the field from a Storm tackle and Cam thought it appropriate to argue a penalty?

How strong was his influence on Big Nelson over in Bali, or stopping Bromwich getting on the gear?

Smith is a f**kwit, but he’s a leader. The two aren’t mutually exclusive.
None of those things indicate a lack of self control.

Some clubs manage their roster well, and others like the Tigers suck at it, but all clubs have the same amount to spend.
So here's the point you're missing. How much do they spend on the people managing these things? Clubs are made up of people, and none of them are working for free.

Gazzamatta

So here's the point you're missing. How much do they spend on the people managing these things? Clubs are made up of people, and none of them are working for free.
And sometimes too much can be spent on the wrong people. Then theres those that are employed to do a certain job only to be micro managed and dictated too. Any chance of these situations happening? Id suggest every bit as much as shopping in the bargain basement.

That’s true, but I don’t think a loss of self control is the only catalyst for being a f**kwit.
Obviously 'f**kwit' isn't something clearly defined by Merriam-Webster (yet), so we are just arguing over definitions. I believe to be a f**kwit you need to be a bit loose, like Kenny Edwards. It could be that you define a f**kwit as a loathsome individual, which is surely how Merriam-Webster will word their definition when it is finally approved.

Regardless, I’d argue Moses has a fair degree of self control
Agreed

And sometimes too much can be spent on the wrong people. Then theres those that are employed to do a certain job only to be micro managed and dictated too. Any chance of these situations happening? Id suggest every bit as much as shopping in the bargain basement.
Wouldn't that just indicate the (micro-)manager isn't effective and we need a better one? Only problem is, all things being equal, a better one would cost more and would likely be out of our budget.

Gazzamatta

Wouldn't that just indicate the (micro-)manager isn't effective and we need a better one? Only problem is, all things being equal, a better one would cost more and would likely be out of our budget.
Maybe maybe not. Hypotheticals a plenty mate. Nobody knows and thats my point.

Yet we want to blame the merkin who might be the most effective one in the organisation? The one who could be keeping it all together?

He's the man in charge ffs for what happens on the field. 8 years he's been in charge and I'm not seeing any improvement. It's the same old/same old season after season. He "MIGHT" be the most effective in the organisation? He also might not be.
You can make all the excuses you want and say it is a full organisation responsibility for our lack of success, yet you have not once come up with one alternative. All you have ever done is defend the decisions the club makes and always come up with the same old rhetoric. A broken record.

Happy MEel

Obviously 'f**kwit' isn't something clearly defined by Merriam-Webster (yet), so we are just arguing over definitions. I believe to be a f**kwit you need to be a bit loose, like Kenny Edwards. It could be that you define a f**kwit as a loathsome individual, which is surely how Merriam-Webster will word their definition when it is finally approved.

Agreed
Yep, that’s closer to my definition of a f**kwit. Glad we can agree on the second point 👍