Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Do you want Brad Arthur as coach

• Yes

Votes: 109 48.0%
  • No

Votes: 118 52.0%

JokerEel

I'd be harassing roughly in this order:
Bellamy
Bennett
Cleary
Fitzgibbon
Payton
Slater
Robinson
Flanagan
I realize some of those are unavailable. They are all upgrades. If none of them are interested after we give them everything, they want then keep Brad Arthur for another year.

Payton No
Flanno No

The rest yes! They will be an upgrade

Chipmunk

I reckon the new board situation we have got ourselves in is good for the club but terrible for footy.
I think they've been kissed on the arse with some decisions that were made prior to their arrival that has probably made the onfield success...the Head Coach and the CEO at the time (Bernie) I think are the major reason for the success up until now.

I think the Head Coach was the person to get us to where we got to, but he's achieved all he is going to achieve with this playing group and his time is up.

If we go backwards from here, I doubt the current board have any idea of how to get us out of the trouble, and we will be in the same place as the Tigpies.

King-Gutho94

This is what we did after 2005 and it led to the pre-2019 disaster years.
Well the cock up against the Cowboys was the final straw after a string of prelim and GF losses earlier under Smith where we should have made at least 2 more GFs under him.

If we had won in 2005 which we should have Smith probably gets another 3/4 years and does a 15 year stint.

King-Gutho94

I think they've been kissed on the arse with some decisions that were made prior to their arrival that has probably made the onfield success...the Head Coach and the CEO at the time (Bernie) I think are the major reason for the success up until now.

I think the Head Coach was the person to get us to where we got to, but he's achieved all he is going to achieve with this playing group and his time is up.

If we go backwards from here, I doubt the current board have any idea of how to get us out of the trouble, and we will be in the same place as the Tigpies.
The CEO we have currently has no presence in the game.

Only pascoe from the Tigers is a bigger joke and more incompetent.

Where do you see or hear Sarantinos putting pressure on the NRL like a Blake Solly from Souths or Brian Fletcher from Penrith. Those 2 are in the papers nearly every week quotes from them addressing Issues in the game or affecting there club.

He just stands back and says nothing unless he wants to write a letter to members bragging about membership numbers and merchandise records. Probably a KPI for him.

He was prancing around last night like everything was looking hunky-dory atm.

Chipmunk

The CEO we have currently has no presence in the game.

Only pascoe from the Tigers is a bigger joke and more incompetent.

Where do you see or hear Sarantinos putting pressure on the NRL like a Blake Solly from Souths or Brian Fletcher from Penrith. Those 2 are in the papers nearly every week quotes from them addressing Issues in the game or affecting there club.

He just stands back and says nothing unless he wants to write a letter to members bragging about membership numbers and merchandise records. Probably a KPI for him.

He was prancing around last night like everything was looking hunky-dory atm.
I think given the structure of the club, we probably need a bigger Head of Football than we currently have with the current CEO, as in reality he is just an admin and finance manager (of which he is probably doing a decent job). If we had someone in mind, we are probably better off letting MON go to the Tigpies. I'm wondering if Nathan Brown would be an ideal Head of Football?

King-Gutho94

I think given the structure of the club, we probably need a bigger Head of Football than we currently have with the current CEO, as in reality he is just an admin and finance manager (of which he is probably doing a decent job). If we had someone in mind, we are probably better off letting MON go to the Tigpies. I'm wondering if Nathan Brown would be an ideal Head of Football?
He probably is and I am pretty sure that's what Brown wants to go do.

He said after getting axed by the warriors he wouldn't coach again but wants to still be apart of the operations still like a HOF.

Hindmarshisgod2

Given the majority if not all of the Eels board are business people rather than footy people, I don't think results are the be all and end all for them to base decisions off. They will look at the over 35K members and say we are successful. I would say only a significant drop in members, crowd numbers and sponsors and therefore income would agitate them to move on from the coach. But that takes a few years of losing seasons
So unfortunately I can't see anything changing anytime soon
Absolutely

They don't care about winning premierships. They care about profits......close enough is good enough for them.

Chipmunk

He probably is and I am pretty sure that's what Brown wants to go do.

He said after getting axed by the warriors he wouldn't coach again but wants to still be apart of the operations still like a HOF.
To be honest, if we have Nathan Brown here, and the Tigpies looking for a Head of Football, we're probably better off just making the change there.

King-Gutho94

What happens if we finish 6th next year. Win one finals game and then knocked out? Do we keep going with him again?

I just feel we need a change. Billy Slater would be first choice. I wouldn't be against Dean Pay
Dean Pay won't coach again.

I doubt he will ever be involved in RL again.

He wasn't happy how he got treated at the Dogs and pretty dissolutioned with the game.

King-Gutho94

To be honest, if we have Nathan Brown here, and the Tigpies looking for a Head of Football, we're probably better off just making the change there.
I wonder have Barrett and Brown made up yet.

I thought there fued was still going a few years back when they were coaching against each other after the slapping incident 20 years ago.

Chipmunk

I wonder have Barrett and Brown made up yet.

I thought there fued was still going a few years back when they were coaching against each other after the slapping incident 20 years ago.
Who cares, I think Brown can bring more to the club than Barrett. If Barrett can't work with Brown, then find another job.

He obviously didn't have an issue coming here though even though Brown was already here. I suspect it's not as big a deal as what the media has made out.

They couldn’t mess the coaching decision up like they did then. Hagan was a terrible decision. It was definitely time to get rid of Brian Smith.
Was Hagan really a terrible decision? I reckon the club was in decline anyway without Smith double hatting the GM role. We should’ve kept him to do that and hired a coach (Taylor?) to run the team. But maybe you can’t just stick a coach in the GM position if he still wants to coach?

butch82

I’d be pulling off the Band-Aid quick with this guy but it will never happen. Why delay the rebuild with his one trick pony methods? I thank him for his service even though the club owes him nothing. I’d be putting the feelers out for Holbrook or John Morris who have worked in our lower grades or knows the club respectively. If we have an appetite for a rookie I’d take Ben Hornby.
hey mate , would u have a crack with madge maguire ? proven winner both in SL & NRL