Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Doctors Diagnosis on TC

Sideline Eye

Forget about him back this season, the clubs main concern is getting him to walk properly again.
All knee ligaments, except anterior cruciate are stuffed, hamstring, quad and calf all torn as well.
Fingers crossed he plays footy again.

The Nulla #2

I just hope he gets to throw a footy around again.

It would be a shame for the kid to not make it back on a field.

This could hold him up from signing with dragons could it not?

Stonecutter

Shows how smart Raper is. He said it is only a 4 to 6 week injury in the post game interview. I reckon TC will get a second chance and hopefully it is with
the sharks.

The Nulla #2

SHARK-SPURS said:
Shows how smart Raper is. He said it is only a 4 to 6 week injury in the post game interview. I reckon TC will get a second chance and hopefully it is with
the sharks.

you idiot.

Do u think raper was going to sit there and yeh mate well hes been fully examined and hes got htis this this and this?

Frenzy might oppose, but your kidding

Stonecutter

If he didn't know then he shouldn't of said anything except that they don't know the full extent. He got my hopes up to only be crushed by this thread.

The Nulla #2 said:
you idiot.

Do u think raper was going to sit there and yeh mate well hes been fully examined and hes got htis this this and this?

Frenzy might oppose, but your kidding

No I won't oppose but there is a doctor on hand who would of known better. A better statement would of been "we don't know yet" or " we need to run investigations". They wouldn't of known exactly what damage was done but it would of been very clear it was never going to be a 4-6 week injury.

They use too many throwaway lines.

beekershark

The sharks are giving him all the time he needs before chatting about re-signing. Obviously other things are more important at the moment.

ghoti

I think we all knew in the back of our heads that this injury wasn't going to be 4 - 6 weeks. When any joint moves into such an irregular position there's going to be a lot of associated structures damaged. Just think of the muscle attachments around the knee joint - Gracilis, Sartorius, Biceps femoris, Semitendinosa, Semimembranosa, etc (upper leg muscles) all attach to the lower leg or there abouts and lower leg muscles such as Gastrocnemius and Plantaris attach to the upper leg (femur)....when you push all those muscles that far beyond it's normal range of motion you're going to be causing a lot of damage.

Now think inside the knee joint...inside the tibia, femur and patella and all of the ligaments associated with stabilising that joint...they're made to resist against minor movements exceeding range of motion....throw a leg that hard out of position and there will be some major tears happening. Forget the season...forget the first half of next season even...he'll have to go through a lot of rehab to get to walking let alone jogging, running, sprinting and strength training. It's very likely that he'll never be the same.

Good spot Frenzy for seeing through the post-match statements. I guess you're pessimistic attitude to everything has FINALLY gotten you somewhere!

SHARK-SPURS said:
the sharks.

That has to be the dumbest statement I've ever heard on here. The advice would have come from the Sharks medical staff. You're not going to get a true indication of the extent of the injury until a MRI is done.

Give yourself an upper cut, mate.

ghoti said:
Good spot Frenzy for seeing through the post-match statements. I guess you're pessimistic attitude to everything has FINALLY gotten you somewhere!
You have turned into quite the sniper haven't you?

About time you came up with a post that people actually read & take notice of yourself, before criticising other hey.
People actually read Frenzies posts in this area & Frenzy was the first person I spoke to in regards to this and many other incedents.
Not only does he have relevant career experience in the area, relevant personal experience in the area, but also a medical contact in this very area.
As far as pessimistic attitude, well, at least he doesnt repeat half arrseed whinges to a club official, in type, on public forum.
Who wouldthe CSSC have to talk to if you had have upset the honcho too much hey?

ghoti said:
I think we all knew in the back of our heads that this injury wasn't going to be 4 - 6 weeks. When any joint moves into such an irregular position there's going to be a lot of associated structures damaged. Just think of the muscle attachments around the knee joint - Gracilis, Sartorius, Biceps femoris, Semitendinosa, Semimembranosa, etc (upper leg muscles) all attach to the lower leg or there abouts and lower leg muscles such as Gastrocnemius and Plantaris attach to the upper leg (femur)....when you push all those muscles that far beyond it's normal range of motion you're going to be causing a lot of damage.

Now think inside the knee joint...inside the tibia, femur and patella and all of the ligaments associated with stabilising that joint...they're made to resist against minor movements exceeding range of motion....throw a leg that hard out of position and there will be some major tears happening. Forget the season...forget the first half of next season even...he'll have to go through a lot of rehab to get to walking let alone jogging, running, sprinting and strength training. It's very likely that he'll never be the same.

Then there's the vastus medialis obliqus, vastus medialis, the soleus, the femoral epicondyle. Major atrophy of just abour every muscle in his leg.