Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Dragons can't gag me, Raper

it seems a certain Immortal thinks his viewpoint is more important than the club. He should put the club that gave him the opportunity and chance to become who he is today. I know who i would rather have associated with the club. It is not the older of the two. Baz has done the right thing and said nothing, he has shown more style and grace than the old has been has shown.

bender

What are you two talking about?

Raper is an alltime great and maybe if the dragans, fans players and officials listened to him a little bit more they could lift the club back to somewhere near the heights it enjoyed when Raper played.

If Barrett really cant except criticism that he hasnt put in the effort, he doesnt have the heart to be the champion player he almost is. Certainly not in the league of a Johnny Raper.

I havent seen Sg George play much this year but unless you guys are suggesting that Barret has been playing above himself, you are nuts to be criticising Raper's comments. Barrett has the potential to be the most dominating player in the game (including Johns and Lockyer) at the moment he isnt.

The Preacher

Bender, get off those mind altering substances. To say Barrett isn't "putting in" is Bullsiht. If you think Chook is right in what he says, you must be watching games the same way as he does, through the bottom of an empty glass.
PS. It's the DRAGONS, and St.George. Not dragans, and not Sg George.

Southernsaint

Chook doesn't criticise Barrett because he wants him to fail. I'm sure he'd be happy to be proven wrong by Trent in September / October...

It's tough seeing potential wasted...

The Preacher

That doesn't give him the right to come out at a function and in the press with that sort of tripe. :(

bender said:
What are you two talking about?
About Raper and his comments on Barrett. That's a free heads up.

bender said:
Raper is an alltime great and maybe if the dragans, fans players and officials listened to him a little bit more they could lift the club back to somewhere near the heights it enjoyed when Raper played.
Oh I see, its the fault of the fans now. LOL.

Raper is very close to the club, players and officials. This in addition to the NRL and its officials, and the media. Whether we agree with him or not, we all listen to what he has to say. Do you have evidence that his words are ignored by everyone?

bender said:
If Barrett really cant except criticism that he hasnt put in the effort, he doesnt have the heart to be the champion player he almost is. Certainly not in the league of a Johnny Raper.
Where is your evidence that Barrett can't take criticism? And where has Barrett said he is in the league of Johnny Raper?

Quite frankly I think he has handled himnself quite well. He has done his talking on the field. Its now reasonable to assume that Raper is saying what he said to fire up Barrett and the team. Barrett's media comment/reply was that he has all the motivation he needs.

bender said:
I havent seen Sg George play much this year
Meaning you don't know Jack.
bender said:
but unless you guys are suggesting that Barret has been playing above himself, you are nuts to be criticising Raper's comments.
What? Who has said that?
I think you missed the point. I doubt anyone here thinks that Raper wants Barrett or Saints to fail.
bender said:
Barrett has the potential to be the most dominating player in the game (including Johns and Lockyer) at the moment he isnt.
Don't you mean had the potential? Or perhaps he is going to reach that goal in the 2006 NRL finals. How can you talk of Barrett's 'potential' when he is in the twilght of his career? Do you even know the meaning of the word? Sounds like you don't even know he is going to the UK next year.

Trolls inevitably trip up over their own words.

bender

Willow said:
About Raper and his comments on Barrett. That's a free heads up.

Oh I see, its the fault of the fans now. LOL.
Attitude of the club as a whole. probably filtered down from management or just from constant poor showings. A once great club shouldn't be happy with three second places to the Broncos and Melbourne and a so called best team in the comp on paper that consistently finishes as the 8th or so best. Yet they seem to be.

Raper is very close to the club, players and officials. This in addition to the NRL and its officials, and the media. Whether we agree with him or not, we all listen to what he has to say. Do you have evidence that his words are ignored by everyone?

[\quote]
Fair enough actually. Good to see you are agree ing with me that they should listen to him. And if willow says they are listening to him, that is good enough for me. Do you agree with me that the two posters i replied to should listen a bit more to also?

Where is your evidence that Barrett can't take criticism? And where has Barrett said he is in the league of Johnny Raper?

Interesting point actually, again you are probably correct. Barrett has said nothing, the right thing to do, although he would have been better imo to come out and say that he agrees 100% with Raper. Perhaps the criticism should be levelled at the team rather than Barrett himself. As it was Barretts team mates supposedly were trying to silence (or did i read the article wrong). Absolutely ridiculous and assuming that Barrett knew about this, one would hope that he pulled them into line and told them to mind their own business and listen to what a great man is saying. Of course if he was aware of it and said nothing, well that is another story. I guess neither of us really knows.

Quite frankly I think he has handled himnself quite well. He has done his talking on the field. Its now reasonable to assume that Raper is saying what he said to fire up Barrett and the team. Barrett's media comment/reply was that he has all the motivation he needs.
fair enough again, i guess i get a little riled when supporters have a go at the greats for speaking out and telling things like they are as opposed to the stupid standard cliched responses. One of the reasons i actually dont mind the Man, even if most of his comments are always cliched in the opposite direction.

Meaning you don't know Jack. What? Who has said that?
I think you missed the point. I doubt anyone here thinks that Raper wants Barrett or Saints to fail.Don't you mean had the potential? Or perhaps he is going to reach that goal in the 2006 NRL finals. How can you talk of Barrett's 'potential' when he is in the twilght of his career? Do you even know the meaning of the word? Sounds like you don't even know he is going to the UK next year.

The point is that you guys seem to think that your club officials cant or shouldnt criticise your current players when that is warranted. That is your decision, but dont be surprised if it creates a culture of losing because your team/players is built up to believe that they are performing far better than they are. In fairness, the Broncos have a similar problem, imo, which is why we have been unsuccessful for so long. Really you are right, it isnt my concern as i am no St George fan, but when the ridiculous criticism of an all time great- probably the 2nd best player of all time occurs as was happening and the young impressionable minds start calling such a great a has been who should keep quiet etc then sometimes they need to face a few realities.

Barrett might not have ever said he was in John Rapers league, but he should be aiming to be. He is as strong as fast, as good as passing, tackling etc. He has represented NSW and Australia with distinction. You are right, he is going to UK. He should be good enough to command an automatic selection for NSW from there (ala Allan Langer for Qld) as NSW are really struggling for halves at the moment. You talk about potential, but I am sorry you are confusing potential All time great status with potential first grade status. Look at Andrew Johns. In the past 3 or 4 years he has gone from a good halfback to probably one of the best halfbacks ever. Barret has the potential to do elevate himself to the same status but he needs to lift his game and not accept the crappy performances Raper has described. His effort needs to be 120% every game not the current 90 or even 100%. That is what i believe Raper is saying (without the references to atg statuses) and he is 100% right.

Trolls inevitably trip up over their own words.

Trolls are for fairytales. Those living in fantasyworlds about their own performances invariably end up losing to "forward passes".

By the way, Good to see you in full form willow, i will have to start taking notice of the dragons forum more often. Is borat and Daith Connelli still around?:thumb

STEVE R

If they can't bag John Raper, the Sharks would appreciate it if someone bound and gagged Stuart Raper (and took him away). Please? Anyone?!?

It does not matter where the comments came from. It just makes it worse that they came from a supposed icon of the Dragons and the game itself.

Raper basically accuses Barrett of not giving 100% to the club, a lack of heart, and thinking of himself. Completely misguided, but worse when considering...

This, from a bloke who "legendarily" (a word i just made up) had been known to spend all night on the drink before waking up with a sore head, lacing on the boots, and playing for the mighty dragons. If he played well or not, is that giving 100%????????? Hypocrite.

Immortal or not, comments like this will see his star will continue to fizzle out and his reputation will gradually turn into that of a silly old goat rather than a rugby league great, a-la George Piggins. Have another beer Chook.....

Steel Dragon

Do you think that Raper resents the Steelers merge and as such is dirty on Barrett for not being a 'St George' Dragon?

Or is the old-timer just off the meds?

Dragonheart

The Preacher said:
That doesn't give him the right to come out at a function and in the press with that sort of tripe. :(

He has just as much right as anybody on this forum who bags the team when they are below their best. In fact, I would say he has more right, since he is one of those who are responsible for the legend attached to the club.

Barrett has been below par lately, they all have, even the players admit that.

Dragonheart said:
He has just as much right as anybody on this forum who bags the team when they are below their best. In fact, I would say he has more right, since he is one of those who are responsible for the legend attached to the club.

Barrett has been below par lately, they all have, even the players admit that.

Yes he has the right to say it, but doesn't mean he is right.

He may well be an immortal, it is a shame he cannot conduct himself in a manner that befits his "status" off the field. if he was really that concerned he would have spoken to baz before making his comments public.

I defy anyone to say he has not been putting in, he may not have been in the best of form. To say he does not deserve to wear the crest above his left breast is ridiculous. I think it is a shame that this "immortal" cannot conduct himself in a manner that is befitting of his status. if he had any issues with baz, i am sure baz would have been happy to sit down and have a chat with him.

The Preacher

I agree 100% _Johnsy, Barrett may not have played great footy every time he took the field, but he gave his all in every game he played.
He would be in the same boat as Lockyer as far as being heavily marked in every game. And that's because of his incredible talent.
To say he's not fit to wear the jumper and emblem is utter Buffoonery, spewed forth by a man that should just sit back, accept the hospitality afforded him and shut his mouth when it comes to the press and statements about The Dragons.
Drink and be merry Chook, keep the bagging to yourself and inhouse.

petetheileet

The Preacher said:
I agree 100% _Johnsy, Barrett may not have played great footy every time he took the field, but he gave his all in every game he played.
He would be in the same boat as Lockyer as far as being heavily marked in every game. And that's because of his incredible talent.
To say he's not fit to wear the jumper and emblem is utter Buffoonery, spewed forth by a man that should just sit back, accept the hospitality afforded him and shut his mouth when it comes to the press and statements about The Dragons.
Drink and be merry Chook, keep the bagging to yourself and inhouse.

i agree, however it worked didnt it?

spider

petetheileet said:
i agree, however it worked didnt it?

Not really mate. You guys played better than us, but it was a very ordinary game. You should have put 40 plus points on our ass, but you didnt.