Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Dragons poised to make a play for Bellamy

I am sure Doust would be in touch with Bellamy and have a good idea which way this is going. The fact that he has not withdrawn the offer indicates that he thinks we are in with a good chance. of securing his services

corvettedragon

If he had signed with the Storm, there wouldn't have been a delay and it would have been announced by now. He doesn't want to destabilize the his current club leading up to the the England trip. He is coming to the Dragons, just wait and see.

Crescent dragon

You are on the mark mate. I think he certainly wants to come to the dragons, just waiting to fend off the kitchen sink that I reckon will be thrown at him very shortly by the Storm. Dragons are being very professional about all this, win or lose.

getsmarty

You are on the mark mate. I think he certainly wants to come to the dragons, just waiting to fend off the kitchen sink that I reckon will be thrown at him very shortly by the Storm. Dragons are being very professional about all this, win or lose.

The problem is the kitchen sink....News Limited will not want to lose Bellamy especially when they are looking to sell. Hopefully we can somehow entice him to want to come to the dragons.

Maybe the Storm is not a profitable business.

Maybe News Ltd have been subsidising the Club since inception and the extra $m p/a might make the sale unattractive.

Who would know, I don?t think this type of info would ever be made public.

So this issue could be a sticking point for 'throwing the kitchen sink' at Bellamy.

RedVee

Maybe the Storm is not a profitable business.

Maybe News Ltd have been subsidising the Club since inception and the extra $m p/a might make the sale unattractive.

Who would know, I don?t think this type of info would ever be made public.

So this issue could be a sticking point for 'throwing the kitchen sink' at Bellamy.

I'm sure the info that the Storm are unprofitable and supported by the NRL via News Ltd is common knowledge.

Minh

One wise man by the name of Kerry Packer once said there is no money in owning footy clubs.

Breathingfire

I tend to think the longer this goes on the better our chances are to be honest. If he was staying at the Storm you would think it would have been announced by now. He could have announced it weeks ago and got on with preparing for the WCC and the beginning of the 2013 season with all of the contract talk behind him.

I at the very least think he must be having a good hard think one way or the other which puts us firmly in the race.

If we miss Bellamy, I think Sheens is firming as the next option.

Sheens is making no secret of his desire to coach a fifth club in a career that spans almost three decades, but his priority is to ensure Australia replace New Zealand as world champions.

He knows failure to do so will heap pressure on his position as the coach of the national side.

"I do hope to coach again at NRL level but my focus at the moment is the Anzac Test followed by the World Cup," Sheens said. "What will be after that will be. We have to do well here and I've got to make sure the Australians come back as winners or there'll be a lot of pressure on me personally, let alone Australia.

Read more: http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-league/...-nrl-return-20130131-2dnoe.html#ixzz2JZqMXXKw

Country Dragon

Sheens is making no secret of his desire to coach a fifth club in a career that spans almost three decades, but his priority is to ensure Australia replace New Zealand as world champions.

He knows failure to do so will heap pressure on his position as the coach of the national side.

"I do hope to coach again at NRL level but my focus at the moment is the Anzac Test followed by the World Cup," Sheens said. "What will be after that will be. We have to do well here and I've got to make sure the Australians come back as winners or there'll be a lot of pressure on me personally, let alone Australia.

Read more: http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-league/...-nrl-return-20130131-2dnoe.html#ixzz2JZqMXXKw
No one in their right mind would give Sheens another gig after the way that Wests went last year especially.

Jubileeboy

You seem to be the only person that wants Sheens.....have you not seen the Tigers over the last 5 years?

Minh

I don't want Tim Sheens but I'm still of the firm belief that the guy can coach.

Possm, are you related to Tim Sheens? Are you his manager? Or are you Tim Sheens?

I just want the Dragons to have a good coach. If Price went well last year, I would be in full support of an his contract being extended.

You do know that my first preference is Bellamy.

You do know that in the past I promoted the idea of having Potter as an additional assistant coach (attacking play) to work alongside Folkes (defencive play). At the time Potter said he would be happy with an assistant role for 2013.

I have also expressed a positive view on the appointment of Brown for 2014 on.

So no, I have no personal relationship or inside info on Sheens. All I know is that he is coach of the Kangaroos and has been successful in that role.

I don't think we can dismiss the fact that the Tigers administration has been a basket case for the past few years with board members and administrators fighting amongst themselves and communicating directly with players - undermining the authority of Sheens.

Remember it was only two years ago that there was a big rumour that Sheens was wanting to go back to Penrith as head coach. The Tigers Club hosed down this rumour saying that Sheens would be staying put.

If you?re looking for a reason why the Tigers have not lived up to expectations over the past few years, I think you would be closer to the mark in pointing the figure at those players who have recently left the Club + Benji and certain members of the board/administration.