Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Dragons Post Mortem

lingard

Let's face it. Our season is over. I've got the butter knife out (the plastic one) and starting on the wrists.

I could be a while. Y'all keep talking and I should have at least chafed skin by the morning.

Onya mate. Keep us posted. I`m gunna use the electric shaver - might take longer, but it will be a smoother cut.

where have i use personal attack to insult anyone ?

fair enough i do reply about criticism towards the dragons , but i dont use personal attacks so nothing ironic about it

you've been sprouting all summer that we won't make the 8 and you're entitled to your call but for a side that won't make the 8, we still matched you try for try and with every rub of the green and a sh*tload of possesion go your way and you couldn't beat us by more than 6..if what you say is true? than you blokes are in deep, deep, deep sh*t...

we both should enjoy a long season together,

Gaba

you've been sprouting all summer that we won't make the 8 and you're entitled to your call but for a side that won't make the 8, we still matched you try for try and with every rub of the green and a sh*tload of possesion go your way and you couldn't beat us by more than 6..if what you say is true? than you blokes are in deep, deep, deep sh*t...

we both should enjoy a long season together,
Yes but the eels were near full strength , and the dragons had injury cloud over hornby and hurt himself in the game after the try, had forwards in the centres, lost fein

But i admitt in game 1 of the season eels defence was better then i expected , but still sticking with my opinion though

Hayne is the main attacker , struggling to see who else is capable of being another threat like he is in the eels team , why i think the eels attack wont improve from last year

Dragons will have a similar year to last year, they will be in the 8 for sure, possibly top 4.

Worrying is that they have a predictable game plan, something that at the back end of the season they might falter again. The way they play the game their forwards are gonna have a long long season and could run out of puff and not be as effective at the back end once again. Bennett doesnt have the luxury of absolute legends of the game in Webcke, Lazarus, Cinevoceva as he did at the broncos plus the added luxury of backline superstars that can score tries in a wink

Us?

You would assume we would improve. We started training a good 4-6 weeks before any other side in the comp, due to DA promising the players before the semis if we made the GF then no training till Xmas. This is why I reckon we were short of gallops in the trial compared to the opposition. Our fitness will improve, concentration and cohsion with it. Though it may be a few good weeks till we come to the level we can play the way we want

Still early days for both sides. Without trying to be biased. I can see a lot of improvement in us. The dragons, they may improve a little here and there, but in the main, they rely on mistake free footy, this is what they are all about. Im not sure they have the artillary at the back end. But Bennett with make sure he does everything simply enough to make sure that they are in the running

Cant wait till our game vs Manly on Sunday

Yes but the eels were near full strength , and the dragons had injury cloud over hornby and hurt himself in the game after the try, had forwards in the centres, lost fein

But i admitt in game 1 of the season eels defence was better then i expected , and i might be wrong the eels may make the 8

it wouldn't matter who you had on the field, if a ref like Archer rides the same wave as your team, you'll always finish further than most, get used to it, because I doubt that the piggy back will be on offer all year.

But i admitt in game 1 of the season eels defence was better then i expected , but still sticking with my opinion though cant see the eels improving in attack

Hayne is the main attacker

btw, nice edit Gaba, but I'll quote your original post instead..;-)

DaSuperHero2

"Moderator"
im loving all the arm chair experts taking the credentials to our win rather then focusing on there own.

"oh the dragons will choke again" hahah top class call after theyve beaten your squad.

lingard

how was i flipping i always said hayne is the eels main attack and playmaker

the eels dont have other options and is made look by that fact , he still overrated as the best fullback

Check grammar and punctuation. Also check eyes.

EelsFan05

In hindsight the decision to start Fui off the bench was a mistake. Getting benched after the season he had last year would have had him thinking "wtf" and I think he played accordingly. Poore was the player that looked short of a run and would have been better suited coming in after the first 20-30 mins.

Hayne is a super star but by far and away positional play in defence is the worst aspect of his play. It lead directly to the Dragons first try and Grothe getting caught in goals.

We looked dangerous in attack every time we got the play in the attacking half but it didn't happen very often.

The Telegraph suggests that the Shack is out for the season!! Any other info cause he is a monster.

The Dragons had 59% of position... and had a 94% completion rate compared with 62% or so for Parra. Normally such stats would result in a side winning by 30, not being two tries apiece after 80 minutes. I don't think the Dragons fans should get that excited because they're not have it all their own way like they did last night all season.

And for the record Gaba, we lost Joel Reddy in the warm up and Shacks just after half time so we were just as worse off as you guys were.

fred92

Yeah, we cant and you can:crazy::lol:
Both teams defended strongly last night but their lack of ability to make line breaks makes me wonder if either club has the ability or the halves to contest the grand final.

And you base that on the first game of the season :lol: Did you see us after round 1 last season???? FMD some people have no idea :crazy:

IMO:

1. Hayne - was pretty good. Got heavily involved and showed glimpses of good form. His positional play was not too good though.

2. Burt - had a great game, kicking two sideline conversion, shutting down their right side attack and getting us in good position.

20. Inu - I thought he was really good. Made a few corking try-saving tackles early on against Prior. Looked sharp in attack.

4. Tahu - nothing flash, but looked good. Some strong runs.

5. Grothe - outstanding. A powerhouse.

6. Mortimer - some really nice touches. He's coming along nicely. Was nicely involved in defence, too.

7. Robson - imo he was really good. Kicking game wasn't great, but neither was anybody else's. But his running game and his footy brain was spot on.

8. Cayless - very strong.

9. Keating - solid but unspectacular.

10. Poore - I think he tried hard and generally did well, but got dominated by the Dragons' pack. I expect him to improve, though, and especially so when his nerves settle after having to play his former club so early in the year.

11. Hindmarsh - imo was great.

12. Smith - our best on field for mine. Pleasantly surprised at his metres and defended like a beast.

13. Mateo - a bit rusty but showed glimpses.

14. Keating - tried hard but seemed rusty.

15. Shackleton - ran hard and tackled hard. Impressed by his work ethic.

16. Mannah - solid.

17. Moimoi - not his best but he wasn't awful.

All in all, despite the loss, it was a pleasing performance. We made a lot of errors and did get dominated a little up front, but our defence was amazing and when we started throwing the ball around we looked crisp.

Glenn

In hindsight the decision to start Fui off the bench was a mistake. Getting benched after the season he had last year would have had him thinking "wtf" and I think he played accordingly. Poore was the player that looked short of a run and would have been better suited coming in after the first 20-30 mins.

A player should be 100% mentally prepared to play either starting or coming from the bench.
Fui look below his best last night and not looking like someone who should be starting IMHO.