Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Dragons team v Manly

TBA but there will be changes.

This from the Club:

There were no injuries to report out of Rnd 5 – Shaun Timmins (knee) and Wes Naiqama (ankle) have been cleared and are available for selection this weekend.

Luke Bailey (knee) and Jason Ryles (Hand) are on track to return in Round 7.

Then there's the speculation about Mathew Head... will he or won't make his return? I think he will.

We'll have it confirmed tomorrow but here's a speculator:

Hornby
Best
Gasnier
Cooper
Naiqama
Barrett
Head
Poore
Young
Henderson
Creagh
Sims
Timmins

Int:
Bickerstaff
Payne
Isemonger
Gorrell

Which team would you have?

Dragonwest

I think thats a good side you got picked there willow, best side available with young at 9. Price isnt up to it in defence.

I wouldnt mind Gorrell at 9 making the team look like this:

Hornby
Best
Gasnier
Cooper
Naiqama
Barrett
Head

Poore
Gorrell
Simms
Creagh
Young
Timmins

Henderson
Isomonger
Payne
Ndaria

But id still expect the Willow's side with either head playing or the a continuation of the Gaz experiment.

The Preacher

You can bet Reece will not be giving Wes a lift to Brooky on Saturday. Maybe I can organise a train ferry strike, or set-up a fictitous interview about Paulini at around 5-30pm and tell Best it's a 7-30pm game.
I can't see why it has to be Best that is the survivor on Wes's return, if it's going on form I HONESTLYbelieve that Reece should hold his spot over Best. He may not be a first string kicker, but he can pilot them at around 70%, so there's the goalkicking card "out the window" and he is 100% a Dragon, he can get across the line and he can tackle, just ask Benji.;-)

drake

Sorry Preach, I know you love the lad, but Best makes more metres in one scoot than Reece does in three. I think the Express' legs are taller than Reece. Get the fella some time on a rack, it's only his size that's bringing him down.

I know the feeling, as a teenager I could outrun anyone my size easily. Just not many that small were my age.

If were in Mr Brown's shoes I'd go for the team Dragonwest picked.

The Preacher

I knew you would be onto me Drake, just like you knew I would be having my two-bobs worth on Reece. I can't let go now, I must continue to champion the cause.
Reece has no "swamp-blood" coursing through his system, he can tackle and he's not scared. He can also score tries and kick goals. His dummy half scoots match Best's.
Reece 6 Best 2
what attributes does Best have (that Reece doesn't) that can increase his tally.
BTW, I know Reece will be the one replaced but I will not be gagged. Both wingers will be on notice. " Wes, Colliwobbles, Don't give me a reason to bag you and I will sulk in silence. Stuff-up and the world will hear me." :pray: O:)

PS. I'd like to see Gorrell start, and stay on as long as possible, and I don't care what position he's in. I suppose he doesn't care what number he's wearing either. :)

drake

I admire your loyalty Preach, don't give up. I'd like to see more players with Reece's attitude, but that's not to be. in this day of athlete footballers, guys like reece unfortunately get left behind.

What Collywobbles has is speed. He is bloody fast and when he get's going, inertia carries him further in the tackle due to his size.

The Preacher

I will lose this in the selection room, but I will not waver. He will bide his time again, and again do us proud whenever in NRL in the future rounds. It is great that we have players that can step-up whenever required.
Any inflated ego's, such as those exposed last Saturday, will be looking over their shoulder the better our PL side goes.
Now you can all wait for me to start my new bandwagon,
The Tommy Harberecht Armada. "watch these pages for details" :)

drake

The Preacher said:
I will lose this in the selection room, but I will not waver. He will bide his time again, and again do us proud whenever in NRL in the future rounds. It is great that we have players that can step-up whenever required.
Any inflated ego's, such as those exposed last Saturday, will be looking over their shoulder the better our PL side goes.
Now you can all wait for me to start my new bandwagon,
The Tommy Harberecht Armada. "watch these pages for details" :)
I certainly hope so mate. A few too many players are protected species and can turn out sh*t performances and still be guaranteed a spot.

Jamesy

Willow said:
TBA but there will be changes.

This from the Club:

There were no injuries to report out of Rnd 5 – Shaun Timmins (knee) and Wes Naiqama (ankle) have been cleared and are available for selection this weekend.

Luke Bailey (knee) and Jason Ryles (Hand) are on track to return in Round 7.

Then there's the speculation about Mathew Head... will he or won't make his return? I think he will.

We'll have it confirmed tomorrow but here's a speculator:

Hornby
Best
Gasnier
Cooper
Naiqama
Barrett
Head
Poore
Young
Henderson
Creagh
Sims
Timmins

Int:
Bickerstaff
Payne
Isemonger
Gorrell

Which team would you have?

There is only 1 problem i see with your tema Willow....there are no props on the bench.

I'd probably go with this:
1. Hornby
2. Best
3. Gasnier
4. Cooper
5. Naiqama
6. Barrett
7. Head
8. Poore
9. Young
10. Sims
11. Isemonger
12. Creagh
13. Timmins

14. Henderson
15. Payne
16. Bickerstaff
17. Gorrell

Godz Illa

I'd love to see some forwards dropped, namely Corey Payne and Andrew Price, but Brownie is hamstrung in that the pool of forwards he has to choose from lacks size and experience. If Bull and Ryles were fit and in the side, I'm sure Brownie would have no worries dropping Payne and Price, and elevating (perhaps) Te Maari and Ndaira. However, as it stands, I doubt either of them will be. If Timmins returns, my second rowers would be Creagh and Bickerstaff - I thought Bickers was one of the few good forwards last week.

Also, though I'm confident Head will play, I've got a feeling Brownie won't actually name him in the side this arvo. If so, it's a good idea, as it avoids the extra pressure a highly publicised return will bring, plus it might even catch Manly a little off-guard come game day.

Sims is in the back row and he's your extra prop. If need be, swap him around for one of the backrowers on the bench.

I just thought putiing the bigger pack out there for the opening 20 minutes would have more of an impact.

Jamesy

Dragon_psa said:
Jamesey - a Kiwis jersey in your avatar? Pray tell...

Yeah mate, havent' been on here much since the Tri-Nations, but i actually go 4 da Kiwis in test footy...

Collateral

Greenshields
Morris
Morris
Millard
Hewitt
Sheppard
Head
Houston
Ndaira
Leaeno
Haberacht
Wicks
Creagh

Poore
Henderson
Hornby
Dunning

Dragon_psa

Are you the same Jamesey from DAF? Seems odd you would barrack for us in the tests...

Still, I'm not complaining. I love all you guys, it just changes come internationals. After all, i may love Saints, but I still have to be patriotic...

RedDragon said:
Greenshields
Morris
Morris
Millard
Hewitt
Sheppard
Head
Houston
Ndaira
Leaeno
Haberacht
Wicks
Creagh

Poore
Henderson
Hornby
Dunning

I was thinking along the same lines as you :lol:

But it aint no joke. Yeah, injuries to our props limit our leeway with selections but I'm all for dropping some of our forwards (payne, price, come immediately to mind) and giving some of the premmie guys a go. Admittedly I haven't seen much premier league this year, but get some young guys in there hungry for a first grade spot, and drop some of the slackers back a grade to get their hunger back.

A side that gets thumped by near 50 needs sorting out, not second chances.