Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

News Drugs, sex, domestic violence: football's dark cover up

magpie_man

Yep I think you would get the police straight away. What sort of dad doesnt?

That's the part that I'm struggling to get my head around too.
If a partner/spouse did to my daughter what Burgess allegedly did to his, there would be instant and irreversible hell to pay, without a shadow of a doubt. She wouldn't be spending another second with someone like that, I'd do eveything in my power to make sure of it.

franklin2323

If a partner/spouse did to my daughter what Burgess allegedly did to his, there would be instant and irreversible hell to pay, without a shadow of a doubt. She wouldn't be spending another second with someone like that, I'd do eveything in my power to make sure of it.

Which is why I am holding fire on Burgess until more details are confirmed

gordsy

If I was to guess and it's only my opinion I would say this is a revenge play from the missus. She has gone to the journo mate and they have decided to go after Sam. Who is telling the truth i have no idea but i know Sam won't come out of this cleanly. If he is found guilty then he is unlikely to be able to be employed by Souths, nrl, fox etc . If he is cleared then people will still say he is guilty but he wormed his way out of it. Which is wrong but that's what happens/

Yeh, I know Sams a big bloke but its hard to believe the dad would just stand there and watch it unfold and do nothing, either at the time or afterwards.
I think we can all agree he's a sht for cheating on his Mrs, the use of medication thing sounds the worse part of the story if true, and the DV stuff sounds dubious given the only sources are two people with civil legal action pending against him.

nick87

Firstly, ive got no idea if those claims are true re: DV

But hypothetically, assuming it is true, and this elderly man saw a hulking, off his tits psychotic elite athlete assault his daughter, this is a guy undoubtedly twice his size, and able to literally beat him to death if he wishes to...

Now i know we're all heroes who would kick his arse or at least try because thats what us big, tough, heroe'y blokes do right?

But there is at least a chance the old boy was frankly to scared to confront him in that state... as for not spending another second with "that man" after this incident... he cant force her to leave and if she is was hypothetically still in love with him, and thinking the man she married, and loving father of her children was still there somewhere, then she wouldnt be the first to ignore pleas of loved ones to stay with an abuser, or last. It happens literally every day to people in all walks of life... I have seen and heard of cases where the hero dad DID step in, put on a good ol fashion arse kicking and all it served was to further alienate his daughter from him...

That hypothetical situation would not be an unusual story by any stretch of the imagination when it comes to DV.

But hypothetically, assuming it is true, and this elderly man saw a hulking, off his tits psychotic elite athlete assault his daughter, this is a guy undoubtedly twice his size, and able to literally beat him to death if he wishes to...

Now i know we're all heroes who would kick his arse or at least try because thats what us big, tough, heroe'y blokes do right?

But there is at least a chance the old boy was frankly to scared to confront him in that state... as for not spending another second with "that man" after this incident... he cant force her to leave and if she is was hypothetically still in love with him, and thinking the man she married, and loving father of her children was still there somewhere, then she wouldnt be the first to ignore pleas of loved ones to stay with an abuser, or last. It happens literally every day to people in all walks of life... I have seen and heard of cases where the hero dad DID step in, put on a good ol fashion arse kicking and all it served was to further alienate his daughter from him...

That hypothetical situation would not be an unusual story by any stretch of the imagination when it comes to DV.

TBF he doesn't look a frail old man! He did play AFL though so that might explain his reluctance to get involved.
sam.jpg

magpie_man

I'd struggle to fight my way out of a wet paper bag mate but when it comes to your kids' (and grandkids') safety any thought of self-preservation goes out the window.
Even if you didn't physically try to interject you'd be yelling at him with all the force you have to stop and you'd be calling the police immediately, surely?
Understand what you're saying about the pleas for her to leave him falling in deaf ears though...
I'd imagine if you had his kind of financial clout you'd be using whatever assets you had at your disposal to get her away from him though.

Aliceinwonderland

I think this has more than a ring of truth in it. DV is oft very complicated, it's not as cut and dried as some may think.

The dad is probably in his 70's, what chance would he have against someone like Burgess at the peak of his physical powers. This is why the DV was taken out by dad he was intimindated yep frightened.

Aliceinwonderland

I'd struggle to fight my way out of a wet paper bag mate but when it comes to your kids' (and grandkids') safety any thought of self-preservation goes out the window.
Even if you didn't physically try to interject you'd be yelling at him with all the force you have to stop and you'd be calling the police immediately, surely?
Understand what you're saying about the pleas for her to leave him falling in deaf ears though...
I'd imagine if you had his kind of financial clout you'd be using whatever assets you had at your disposal to get her away from him though.

I suspect the old bloke was frightened, and probably paralaysed by fear. A bloke like that on the rampage.

bileduct

From what I read there was only one incidence of physical assault, right? The one where Burgess took a batch of bad pills and was off his tit. The way the assault was described it didn't sound to me like his actions were malicious and deliberate, and that's probably how the wife and father saw it at the time.

Start up some legal action and throw in a couple of lawyers, however, and things start getting framed differently. Saw it happen with one of my own good friends. He married this absolute merkin of a woman and had a child with her, and she controlled him in every way, cutting him off from his friends, etc. Her father stuck his nose into everything, criticised everything he did. In the end he got sick of it all and asked for a divorce. She told him she wanted reconciliation, only to then ask for divorce herself a few weeks later. Only by that time she was all prepared with lawyers to cut off his access to their kid. He's suddenly hit with all kinds of accusations about his "anger management" issues, and all the times she "felt scared" he was going to do something. Dude is the most non-confrontational guy I know. He makes his point calmly and walks away. Never once saw him get aggressive with anyone in the entire time I've known him, including being his housemate for five years.

Things get blown up once the lawyers get involved.

nick87

From what I read there was only one incidence of physical assault, right? The one where Burgess took a batch of bad pills and was off his tit. The way the assault was described it didn't sound to me like his actions were malicious and deliberate, and that's probably how the wife and father saw it at the time.

Start up some legal action and throw in a couple of lawyers, however, and things start getting framed differently.

Yeah that’s certainly another possibility here, and not all that uncommon either. When it comes to family courts these types of incidents can get reframed very quickly

blue bags

Is a pulsating boner some kind of new taser?
spray gun, with tingling feelings

Footy star Sam Burgess stands down amid serious allegations about his marriage and wild lifestyle as his ex-wife's alleged texts to Russell Crowe are revealed - with police and the NRL investigating
  • A report in The Australian has made serious allegations against Sam Burgess
  • Burgess' lawyer Mark O'Brien has denied all accusations against the NRL star
  • The article also includes text messages Burgess' ex-wife sent to Russell Crowe
  • Peter V'landys said NRL will launch probe and police have started investigating
  • Burgess stood down from Rabbitohs coaching role and commentating gig
  • Club says it is treating the allegations with 'utmost seriousness'

NRL star Sam Burgess has stood down from his coaching role at the Rabbitohs after serious allegations about his marriage and wild lifestyle were published in a newspaper report.

The explosive claims about the 31-year-old former Rabbitohs player were published on Thursday night by The Australian.

The article included text messages Burgess' ex-wife Phoebe allegedly sent to Hollywood actor Russell Crowe, who owns the NRL club.

Staff members at South Sydney Rabbitohs have also been accused of covering up Burgess' alleged indiscretions.

The lawyer acting for Burgess, Mark O'Brien, strongly denied all allegations.

33871092-8795389-image-a-50_1601574888800.jpg

Serious allegations about Sam Burgess' marriage and wild lifestyle were published in a newspaper report. He is pictured with ex-wife Phoebe

33890416-8796319-image-a-3_1601615085923.jpg

Explosive claims about the 31-year-old former Rabbitohs player's wild lifestyle were published on Thursday night by The Australian. The former NRL star is pictured in Mexico in October 2019

In the wake of the allegations, the 31-year-old stood down from his roles as Rabbitohs coaching assistant and Fox Sports commentator. Burgess is pictured in August

The four-month investigation by the newspaper also claims to have uncovered text messages between Phoebe and Russell Crowe - who owns the NRL club

'The allegations are false and constitute an indefensible defamation against my client,' Mr O'Brien said.

The NRL and NSW Police have both launched investigations into the allegations.

The newspaper claims to have uncovered text messages between Phoebe and Crowe in November 2018.

'I thought we had the world at our feet together,' Phoebe allegedly wrote to the actor.

'He might need a good friend because he is just not our Sam.'

The article also included text messages Burgess allegedly sent to Phoebe, after her initial conversation came to light.

'Phoebe why did you message RC saying everything,' Burgess allegedly wrote.

'What are you trying to solve here.'

Burgess and Phoebe broke up in December 2018, weeks after the birth of their son, Billy. Their divorce after four years of marriage was finalised in April. They also have a daughter, Poppy

'I thought we had the world at our feet together,' Phoebe allegedly wrote to Russell Crowe about Sam Burgess

The article also included text messages Burgess allegedly sent to Phoebe, after her initial conversation with the Hollywood actor came to light

Phoebe Burgess shares video of herself walking outside in a mask

NRL CEO Andrew Abdo said the league has launched an investigation into the claims but they will not take action based off allegations.

'The action we have taken is to initiate the investigation,' he said on Friday.

'Because these are allegations, we don't have the facts before us, we're not going to be taking any further action until we have the information needed to do that.

'However, I believe that Sam Burgess has stood himself down from South Sydney Rabbitohs duties this weekend.'

'And I also believe that he has stood down from Fox Sports as well.'

NRL CEO responds to allegations against Sam Burgess
https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/ar...ess-rejects-allegations-newspaper-report.html

blue bags

The former couple are seen together at a David Jones event in Sydney on February 7, 2018

NRL CEO Andrew Abdo (pictured on Friday) said the claims against Burgess are 'very serious allegations', which are 'new information' to the league

33890406-8796319-image-a-6_1601615669788.jpg

The former NRL star is seen carrying a woman on his shoulders during a party in Mexico in 2019

Mr Abdo said the claims against Burgess are 'very serious allegations'.

'We will look to work with the club to find out what happened and to get to the bottom of the facts.

'We will also cooperate with the NSW Police, who have also begun an investigation into the matter.

'If these allegations are proven, we will take the strongest possible action that we can.'

NSW Police said they would be conducting their own investigation.

'On Wednesday 30 September 2020, officers from The Hume Police District received a report outlining various allegations relating to the conduct of a 31-year-old man,' a NSW Police Force spokesperson said.

'Police have commenced inquiries and as these inquiries are in their infancy, no further comment will be provided at this time.'

Phoebe Burgess offers glimpse of her parents' country estate
Peter V'landys (pictured), the chairman of the Australian Rugby League Commission, announced the NRL would investigate the allegations published in The Australian

South Sydney released a statement saying the allegations were very concerning and they would be treated with the 'utmost seriousness'.

'There is no place in our society for violence, harrassment or abuse against women. If anyone is found guilty of allegations of this nature, the club will take the strongest possible action.'

Peter V'landys, the chairman of the Australian Rugby League Commission, on Friday morning said the NRL would investigate the allegations.

Mr V'landys added that every person in the community deserves due process and natural justice.

'The allegations have to be tested and we have to undertake an investigation,' he told The Daily Telegraph.

'We should have no prejudgement. Both Sam and the club should be afforded that.'

'We are taking the matter pretty serious because these are serious allegations.'

Mr V'landys was also asked whether Burgess would be allowed to remain in the Rabbitohs COVID-19 safe 'bubble' ahead of this weekend's finals match.

'Again, at this stage they are allegations. We will start up an immediate investigation and see what evidence we can get,' he said.

Mr V'landys said the NRL would take appropriate action if sufficient evidence is gathered.
Burgess and Phoebe (pictured) together have two children, Poppy and Billy

Phoebe Burgess shares video from self-isolation at home with family
Last year, an apprehended violence order against Sam Burgess was taken out by police to protect Phoebe's father Mitchell Hooke.

The AVO came after an alleged domestic violence incident at Mr Hooke's property in Glenquarry, in the NSW Southern Highlands, on October 19.

Burgess was charged with domestic violence-related intimidation. He has pleaded not guilty.

The matter is due in court in November.

Burgess and Phoebe broke up in December 2018, weeks after the birth of their son, Billy.

Their divorce after four years of marriage was finalised in April.

They also have a daughter, Poppy.

Since his retirement in October 2019, Burgess has been a coach at former club South Sydney Rabbitohs

Burgess was 21 years old when he joined the Rabbitohs in 2010.

In two stints between 2008 and 2019 he played rugby league for England, including at the 2017 World Cup, and in 2007 represented Great Britain.

Burgess was lured to rugby union in 2014 and joined Bath in England.

In 2015, he was whisked into Stuart Lancaster's ill-fated World Cup squad just nine months after his union debut. England failed to get beyond the pool stage of their home tournament.

After they crashed out, Burgess quit union and tore up his contract with Bath, returning to Australia and rugby league.

He retired last October, but stayed at the Rabbitohs where he is now a coach.
https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/ar...ess-rejects-allegations-newspaper-report.html

blue bags

Fresh twist in case of Sam Burgess saga as former Rabbitohs teammate could be a key police witness after footy star's ex-wife Phoebe Burgess called him during an incident at the couple's home
  • Sam Burgess' ex-teammate Jason Clark could be a key witness into bombshell allegations levelled against him
  • Clark was reportedly called to the Burgess mansion by his ex-wife Phoebe during an incident at home in 2018
  • The well-respected South Sydney Rabbitohs veteran reportedly stayed at the home until the situation calmed
  • Bombshell claims about Burgess's personal life during his time at South Sydney were last week revealed
  • The Burgess family gathered for a three-hour crisis talk at his apartment in Coogee, Sydney, on the weekend
  • The 31-year-old Englishman stood down from his coaching role at South Sydney and Fox League job on Friday
  • Burgess vehemently denies all allegations against him and pleaded not guilty to intimidating Phoebe's dad
By JOSH HANRAHAN and BRITTANY CHAIN and ZOE ZACZEK FOR DAILY MAIL AUSTRALIA

PUBLISHED: 10:36 AEDT, 5 October 2020 | UPDATED: 11:01 AEDT, 5 October 2020. A former teammate of Sam Burgess will be questioned by police over Zoom this week from the UK, as they probe what he knew of bombshell allegations levelled against the NRL legend.

Jason Clark, a former South Sydney Rabbitohs teammate of Burgess', could be a key witness in the police investigation into accusation about the superstar forward's marriage and supposed excessive partying ways.

Clark was the person Phoebe Burgess turned to during an incident at their home in 2018, The Australian reported last week.

He will this week be interviewed by NSW Police over Zoom, as he is currently playing in the English Super League.

Clark will also be interviewed by the NRL integrity unit who are also investigating Burgess and South Sydney.

The rugby league veteran was reportedly a well-respected and much liked leader at South Sydney and will assist police in their enquiries, his manager Steve Gillis confirmed.

Sam Burgess' (right) former NRL teammate will be a key witness in the investigations into bombshell allegations against him. Jason Clark was reportedly called by Phoebe Burgess (left) during an incident in 2019

33979988-8804529-Phoebe_reportedly_called_Clark_pictured_with_his_daughters_a_wel-a-3_1601855787389.jpg

Phoebe reportedly called Clark (pictured with his daughters) - a well respected South Sydney Rabbitohs veteran

NSW Police confirmed over the weekend they had launched Strike Force Irrabella to investigate allegations made in The Australian about Burgess and the South Sydney Rabbitohs.

The allegations related extensively to Burgess' personal life and professional career.

Burgess and his legal team have made it clear they vehemently deny all allegations.

Among the major allegations were claims of an incident at the Burgess mansion in Maroubra, in Sydney's east, in 2018 where the father-of-two was behaving erratically.

Clark attended the couple's house along with Burgess' mother Julie.

Evidence he gives to police will form a key part of the investigation into Burgess and South Sydney, as well as the team's medical sta
SHARE THIS ARTICLE
NSW Police detectives have reportedly already interviewed Phoebe and visited several key locations, including an underground carpark where Burgess allegedly received medical treatment.

A pharmacy linked to the club's doctor Andrew McDonald has also reportedly been visited by police.

Burgess has been holed up at his home in Coogee since the allegations were published.

He stood down from his off-field coaching role with the club and commentary role with Fox League has been left 'devastated' by the accusations against him, a close friend told The Daily Telegraph.

'He is angry and feels like he doesn't have a voice,' the friend said.
A close friend told The Daily Telegraph that Burgess was particularly upset about the allegations regarding his marriage to ex-wife Phoebe Burgess (The former couple are pictured together at a David Jones event in Sydney on February 7, 2018)

The Burgess family gathered for crisis talks in Sydney over the weekend after bombshell allegations about Sam's marriage and wild lifestyle were published in a newspaper report (Burgess's mother Julie is pictured leaving the discussions in a grey hoodie, followed by Burgess' lawyer Bryan Wrench)

The oldest of the four Burgess brothers Luke (pictured), met with the former NRL star at his apartment in Coogee, in the city's eastern suburbs, on Saturday

'[The allegations are] something that is abhorrent to him, which makes it all the more harder to stomach.'

In addition to the NSW Police probe, the NRL's integrity unit has also commenced an investigation.

South Sydney Rabbitohs CEO Blake Solly was spoke to league officials at length on Friday.

Following the extensive allegations made by the Australian against several high-profile members of the club, Mr Solly said he knew nothing of them until being contacted by journalists.

On Sunday morning, club coach Wayne Bennett also said he had only just become aware of the accusations.

'I've been here since 2018 and I knew nothing about it until I'd been told in the last 24 hours,' Bennett said.

'I have never had a player or any staff member talk to me about it in any shape or form.

'They are allegations. When we get all the facts together and see this at the end of the day, we will take another position on it and make another statement.'

Ms Burgess remains with her family in Bowral, caring for the two young children she shares with Burgess.

Her manager Sharon Finnigan said: 'Phoebe is trying to get by and manage and care for her two children… She is doing her best as a single mother.'

Burgess and Phoebe (pictured) together have two children, Poppy and Billy. They separated just weeks after Billy's birth

33930144-8802321-The_sighting_comes_as_NSW_Police_proceed_with_their_investigatio-m-3_1601761430647.jpg

qith her English-born sons, wore a large grey hoodie over black leggings

Meanwhile in Coogee, Burgess' mother Julie and brother Luke met with the former NRL star on Saturday.

They were joined by Bryan Wrench, a star criminal lawyer who is defending Burgess in current domestic violence and restraining order proceedings involving him and Phoebe's father - Mitchell Hooke.

Police took out an apprehended violence order (AVO) against Burgess to protect Mr Hooke after an incident at the Hooke family's sprawling property in Glenquarry, in the NSW Southern Highlands, on October 19.

Burgess was charged with domestic violence-related intimidation. He has pleaded not guilty.

In the wake of the initial article on Friday, more bombshell claims about the English-born NRL star came to light.

They included Julie Burgess - known in rugby league circles as 'Mrs B' - being required to pull Sam and her oldest son Luke away from a swanky Sydney hotel where they were staying after a big night out.
https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/ar...ex-teammate-key-witness-NSW-Police-probe.html