Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Early tip: Sandow won't see out his contract

Someone

LOL are you really saying Hayne is no good coz he is at a shit club?

Hayne came through the ranks at Parra, we went out of our way to recruit Sandow.

Did Sandow have other options other than our deal of 400-500k a year to ensure he had plenty of pokie money?

Joely01

40-0? sounds like cronk was playing behind a soft pack, isnt that sandows excuse?

Thurston is over rated imo. Plays well with superstars around him , i.e Origin and for Australia, but i cant remember the last time he done anything amazing for his club.

Cronk, Carney, DCE, all better and more influential club players.

What!!!!!!

BennyBoy

Hayne came through the ranks at Parra, we went out of our way to recruit Sandow.

Did Sandow have other options other than our deal of 400-500k a year to ensure he had plenty of pokie money?

I believe he did, wasn't Rusty crying on twitter to retain him?

Mate a lot of truly great players have played for clubs that were going shit, it's a silly point.

Someone

I believe he did, wasn't Rusty crying on twitter to retain him?

Mate a lot of truly great players have played for clubs that were going shit, it's a silly point.

Fair enough, and your probably right.

But im talking about when he had 'options' but went with Parramatta. I know we offered overs but i highly doubt our figure was even remotely challenged, and that's because no one else wanted to touch him. If we was any good, clubs would have been lining up. Simple as that.

Clubs going through rough patches have great players (Thurston, Hayne, Farah,), but how many great players GO TO clubs on the obvious decline to risk their career image in the way Sandow has?

But im talking about when he had 'options' but went with Parramatta. I know we offered overs but i highly doubt our figure was even remotely challenged, and that's because no one else wanted to touch him. If we was any good, clubs would have been lining up. Simple as that.

Clubs going through rough patches have great players (Thurston, Hayne, Farah,), but how many great players GO TO clubs on the obvious decline to risk their career image in the way Sandow has?

But he's not great; he was a young player on the rise. And he's been let down by his teammates, which has led to him letting himself down with off field issues.

mrpwnd

How many clubs have actually done something as stupid as offering the amount of money as Parra reportedly have for a player like that? Lol, let's face it, it's not the kind of money you take a gamble on.

As much as I was happy to see Parra signing a potentially decent halfback, even I was blown away by some of the reported figures he was offered.

Someone

How many clubs have actually done something as stupid as offering the amount of money as Parra reportedly have for a player like that? Lol, let's face it, it's not the kind of money you take a gamble on.

As much as I was happy to see Parra signing a potentially decent halfback, even I was blown away by some of the reported figures he was offered.

i dont disagree with anything you have posted here.

Chipmunk

Yeah and when Sandow was in that top 4 squad they finished 9th or 10th. He's an alright attacking player with his flashy stuff but apart from intercepts, chip-and-chases and field goals he doesn't cut it. And then of course he's deadset the worst defensive player in the comp.

Thurston is the type of player that excels at the highest level but goes into his shell at club level. And I don't think he's overrated at rep level, he's often one of the best for Qld or Australia, but he's nowhere near Johns or Lockyer level at club footy.
Cronk I think is a vital cog in an excellent machine. He does his job really well, but so does all the players at Melbourne. And Smith is a class above. Now there's a player that's at a Johns-like level of influence. Storm have won something like 40% of games without Smith. If Cronk was that great a half that percentage would be higher. He's to Smith like Buderus was to Johns. A great supporting role but not the best lead.

Oh wow, now Sterlo's an idiot. God this forum can be dumb sometimes :crazy:

Hang on. How many of those 40% of games the Storm have won without Smith did Cronk actually play in? What is the percentage of games the Storm have won without Smith but with Cronk?

But he's not great; he was a young player on the rise. And he's been let down by his teammates, which has led to him letting himself down with off field issues.

Awesome - I didn't know it was so easy to blame other people for your own indiscretions.

In that case, I blame everyone on this forum for me getting so drunk last night that I shit my pants whilst asleep.

Someone

when does poor chris sandow take some responsibility.

and this is where i start my argument of him being surrounded by crap players. maybe if he was any good a club on the up/established contenders would have chased him.

Or does he belong with crap players that 'let him down'? because, secretly, he is crap.

mrpwnd

and this is where i start my argument of him being surrounded by crap players. maybe if he was any good a club on the up/established contenders would have chased him.

Or does he belong with crap players that 'let him down'? because, secretly, he is crap.
Strong this. Him and Souths did a good job in making sure Parra spent as much of their cap chasing him though lol. Both sad and funny.

BennyBoy

Well I'm not going to defend what he's being paid that's for sure, I have already posted twice before in this thread that he's not earning his money, no doubt about that.

The only question is now that he's on our payroll is it worth subsidising offloading him to another club and playing kelly. As we have to foot the bill either way til his contract is up I'd prefer him over Kelly as kelly offers nothing that I can see. If we could somehow save the money I'd be all for it.

What are you proposing we do with him?

Awesome - I didn't know it was so easy to blame other people for your own indiscretions.

Who's blaming other people? For all we know Chris Sandow is only blaming himself.

But I blame the environment he came into for his drop in form, and I reckon that has caused his relapse into poor life decisions.

I am qualified to believe this because I used to make poor life decisions (even though I knew they weren't good decisions) back when I was in a toxic environment. Now that I am in an extremely supportive environment it is much easier to make good decisions and I am reaping the rewards.

Given the change in Chris Sandow's on-field fortunes I think it is reasonable to assess a similar situation is happening here.

Is he crap? He was awesome before he came to Parra.

broncos2010

Is he crap? He was awesome before he came to Parra.

He is not crap, he is a very class player when he is on form and is confident.

To be honest you could put Cronk or JT behind the pack at parra and you would probably get the same result.

Football games are won in the forwards these days and then the backs build of the go forward time and space they get from them.

I would love Sandow at the broncos behind our pack with all the big names we have when they are in form that is.