Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Easts Tigers and NRL SA

AdelaideRLFC

Right. So is it a bit like Perth for you then in the sense that the logo (Reds and Rams respectively) you feel brings with it a sense of baggage?

Adelaide Rams were a billionaire's creation for the Super League to fill numbers. They came into the scene with the players who weren't picked by the other teams and given the circumstances they were basically set up for failure. Came in at the wrong time and via the wrong method.

They also in some way destroyed the progress of the junior development of rugby league in SA, as after they folded we saw a dramatic change in retention rates and more players decided to find their opportunities interstate.

I personally don't associate the Rams with failure like many in the RL community in SA do, but for the most part it's a sad reminder of our failure to retain a team in the top flight of footy.

Starting a new franchise gives us the choice to define ourselves the way we want to, and to start fresh. We want to embrace being the new team, the young guns, etc. We always want to develop our game properly and thus go up the tiers rather than just have some corporate made maccas franchise given to us on a platter.

This is why our club's motto is Semper Dignus which means "Always Worthy" in Latin. We're always worthy to play in the highest form of rugby league in the nation, we're always worthy of winning the premiership.

Why not? It should be

We don't own the trademark for "Adelaide Rams" or the original logo. That name and logo is trademarked by Steve Mascord until 2029. We don't want to wait that long to field a team in the SG Ball Cup merely so we can have a name.

NRL SA's rep team are already called the "SA Rams" but they are not a club, rather that is the state team of SA. We don't want to fall into the trap of being a defacto state team like the Adelaide Crows tried to be incase there is room for another SA team in the future.

Vee

We don't own the trademark for "Adelaide Rams" or the original logo. That name and logo is trademarked by Steve Mascord until 2029. We don't want to wait that long to field a team in the SG Ball Cup merely so we can have a name.
How did that come about? Has anyone spoken to Mascord? Sort of bloke that loves RL and loves expansion, might be up for it.

The Great Dane

How did that come about? Has anyone spoken to Mascord? Sort of bloke that loves RL and loves expansion, might be up for it.
He noticed that the Rams and Northern Eagles trademarks had lapsed and saw it as a good opportunity to produce exclusive merch for his website. He's got the trademark for both and I think he's trying to get others.

BTW, I'm sure that he'd be up for it, but he'd want something in return after the investment he's made into it already.

Colk

You’re all free to reach out to him regarding Rams trademark. We’re working on our own project in the meantime.

That’s fine mate - I think it is fair enough that you want to create a new brand and there are benefits in doing that. What would you imagine the logo and colours to be?

AdelaideRLFC

That’s fine mate - I think it is fair enough that you want to create a new brand and there are benefits in doing that. What would you imagine the logo and colours to be?
The team and I at the moment are just going by Adelaide RLFC with the logo that you can seen in my display picture.

We’re still deciding on a mascot, some suggestions have been Falcons, Shrikes, Cheetahs, Lions, Leopards, Pandas, Wombats, Eagles.

We’ve even considered calling ourselves Adelaide Reds to align ourselves with Adelaide United FC.

Colk

The team and I at the moment are just going by Adelaide RLFC with the logo that you can seen in my display picture.

We’re still deciding on a mascot, some suggestions have been Falcons, Shrikes, Cheetahs, Lions, Leopards, Pandas, Wombats, Eagles.

We’ve even considered calling ourselves Adelaide Reds to align ourselves with Adelaide United FC.

Nice colours. Looks a bit like the Newcastle Jets soccer team. That’s not bad because if you go with just blue and red it would be too similaf with the Knights.

Lions and Cheetahs aren’t too bad. Is there anything that’s distinctly South Australian other than wineries? Maybe something to do with free settlers?

AdelaideRLFC

Nice colours. Looks a bit like the Newcastle Jets soccer team. That’s not bad because if you go with just blue and red it would be too similaf with the Knights.

Lions and Cheetahs aren’t too bad. Is there anything that’s distinctly South Australian other than wineries? Maybe something to do with free settlers?
Hahah Pioneers is on the table.

Colk

The thing is, is that we want a mascot that would sell plenty of merch for us. Something that everyone would identify with and is popular with kids.

Yeah true. You’d also have to worry about it being lumped into the idea of colonisation.

MugaB

Adelaide Angels, then when tassie goes for a team, they can be the tasman demons

MugaB

Just watched the world cup soccer this morning, saw spain smash it up, they have the same colors, looks great... what about Adelaide Bulls, even a calling it a certain breed of bull, might help make it more unique, Shorthorn, Angus, or Droughtmaster...
Or just BullsScreenshot_20221124-082217_Samsung Internet.jpg

Colk

Just watched the world cup soccer this morning, saw spain smash it up, they have the same colors, looks great... what about Adelaide Bulls, even a calling it a certain breed of bull, might help make it more unique, Shorthorn, Angus, or Droughtmaster...
Or just BullsView attachment 68365

Yeah good call. Either Spain colours or maybe the Barcelona colours would work well for an Adelaide side

LimeRick

I like the Shrikes. Very unique. Very SA. Could get a Bank SA sponsorship, they've got the same mascot.

Attachments

• banjSA nov.jpg
    banjSA nov.jpg
    115.9 KB · Views: 3