Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Eels Appoint Brad Arthur as Head Coach (Part Deux)

Djay

Well they didn’t replace Gentle and we still don’t have a head of football, questions need to be asked is BA getting enough help???

And why are we skimping on the football department???
Questions do need to be asked.

I don't know enough about the workload the assistants deal with but if Gentle has not been replaced and that is another area BA has had to pick up then it would make it pretty difficult for him on top everything else.

His a good coach and I have seen more then enough to suggest the guy can coach but being an assistant short wouldn't be helping.

Nor is it the sole problem right now.

Joely01

He's from Sydney. I'm sure he knows the two sports are different.

We are getting dominated through lack of possession.

I assume it was to cut costs. Max has stated many times this is his goal.

Well talk to people at the Giants and you’ll understand my worry...

We have been dominated 3 weeks in a row, this isn’t simply a oh it’s fine, we will get better. There are reasons behind getting dominated in all 3 games so far and it needs to be questioned and fixed!

Joely01

Not disagreeing totally but I reckon change is good. Cant afford to become stagnant. There were significant issues last year. It wasnt smooth sailing. Our defence was average and at times poor. Our ruck control has always been average and we faded in games on many occasions. Change was required but has it improved us? Id like to say the jury is still out but on current evidence? Well. You know the rest.

I don’t think it’s about stagnant, it was finally all coming together for us.
I still stand by if we don’t get dudded by the refs call against the storm in the finals game we would’ve made the GF and possibly won it.
We were doing things that were working and would work now.
I personally think the pre season changes to staff haven’t been what was needed.

How did we have so many already out injured before round 1? If you look at the injury list most were leg injuries, what was the training programs...

Well talk to people at the Giants and you’ll understand my worry...
Sounds like they found a scapegoat.
We have been dominated 3 weeks in a row, this isn’t simply a oh it’s fine, we will get better. There are reasons behind getting dominated in all 3 games so far and it needs to be questioned and fixed!
We've been getting dominated because we haven't had any f**ken ball FFS!

Joely01

Sounds like they found a scapegoat.

We've been getting dominated because we haven't had any f**ken ball FFS!

Yes and there is a reason...

We gave a penalty away on the first set because we wouldn’t be behind the kicker last weekend to start the game... it’s piss poor and there is no excuse.
We are doing it to ourselves!
Forced passes, giving it to the winger when he is basically on the Touch line and can be flicked out.
We are lacking possession from our own stupid decisions and laziness.

Cloeel

Yes and there is a reason...

We gave a penalty away on the first set because we wouldn’t be behind the kicker last weekend to start the game... it’s piss poor and there is no excuse.
We are doing it to ourselves!
Forced passes, giving it to the winger when he is basically on the Touch line and can be flicked out.
We are lacking possession from our own stupid decisions and laziness.
Luckily they are all things we can work towards getting out of our game.
If we manage to get rid of 80% of our stupid mistakes and penalties and gain some discipline we can easily gain some confidence and jag a few wins in the coming weeks.
You can’t score points without the ball in hand, we start completing more sets - we start scoring more points. It’s as simple as that.
Dumb erratic play will go once we start gaining some confidence.
I reckon once we jag our first win we will go on a roll. Our team is full of confidence players which was evident in the Penrith game after half time when we put our heads down after a few dropped balls and penalties.
Timmy Mannah really needs to be able to keep these confidence players in check when things aren’t going our way because we lose confidence quite easily and self implode.
We really really need to get a strong head taking control of these guys (hopefully our captain) once we get that right everything else will take care of itself.
Anyways that’s just my 2 cents

IFR33K

Outmuscled and unfit would be more question marks to the head trainer...
Yes the coach should over ride certain things but I’m sure he also puts faith in the head trainer.
This is the AFL guy correct!?

From all reports we did a heap of fitness, a heap of running in the off season.
Have we let a guy take control of things who really doesn’t know much about a rugby league off season?
Was there more concern put towards getting miles in the legs and less on the wrestle etc?
Because we continue to get dominated in most league related matters on the field so far, and so early on in the season is a massive concern.
I got a post deleted just after the loss about this trainer so I need to be careful what to say, but there needs to be serious questions asked of him and why we got rid of so many coaching staff after a successful year?

If BA appointed the AFL merkin, then that’s on BA!!! Seriously wtf were they thinking, Tep looks like a fcking AFL player!!!!

@Jake the snake, no one wants to see BA sacked, but anything below a top 8 appearance and I’ll be happy for the next coach to come in.

Joely01

Luckily they are all things we can work towards getting out of our game.
If we manage to get rid of 80% of our stupid mistakes and penalties and gain some discipline we can easily gain some confidence and jag a few wins in the coming weeks.
You can’t score points without the ball in hand, we start completing more sets - we start scoring more points. It’s as simple as that.
Dumb erratic play will go once we start gaining some confidence.
I reckon once we jag our first win we will go on a roll. Our team is full of confidence players which was evident in the Penrith game after half time when we put our heads down after a few dropped balls and penalties.
Timmy Mannah really needs to be able to keep these confidence players in check when things aren’t going our way because we lose confidence quite easily and self implode.
We really really need to get a strong head taking control of these guys (hopefully our captain) once we get that right everything else will take care of itself.
Anyways that’s just my 2 cents

I think that could be another problem all together though. I think off the field Mannah is a great captain.
But on the field I don’t think he is our best choice as captain

Joely01

If BA appointed the AFL merkin, then that’s on BA!!! Seriously wtf were they thinking, Tep looks like a fcking AFL player!!!!

@Jake the snake, no one wants to see BA sacked, but anything below a top 8 appearance and I’ll be happy for the next coach to come in.

You may well be joking about the Tep comment but it’s a good point you make.
Having been to all 3 games live so far its quite significant how much smaller our side looks to who we have played so far.
Yes Evans has height but even he looks like a rake...

Hence my continued questions over the pre season, I just don’t understand!
Your first few weeks for mine is a reflection of your pre season, it’s why most of the rep players come back and take a few games to get going, because they had a disrupted pre season.
We just don’t seem to have had a very good pre season at all, and missed or not spent much time on some key areas in the game.

Moeroa said in an interview last year that he was trying to lose weight so he could play longer minutes in the middle. This was before ‘AFL merkin’ was part of the coaching staff.

People need to accept Brad Arthur has a different coaching philosophy to theirs. He finished top four in his last full season so have some faith. We won 29 games in two years. Don’t let three games overshadow that. We’ve always had losing streaks in us.

You may well be joking about the Tep comment but it’s a good point you make.
Having been to all 3 games live so far its quite significant how much smaller our side looks to who we have played so far.
Yes Evans has height but even he looks like a rake...
Evans said in the pre-season that the club wants him to be fatter (not his exact words). I’m sure even an ‘AFL merkin’ knows how to make that happen. f**kwits all over Australia manage to gain size in the gym without any professional coaching support at all.

IFR33K

Moeroa said in an interview last year that he was trying to lose weight so he could play longer minutes in the middle. This was before ‘AFL merkin’ was part of the coaching staff.

People need to accept Brad Arthur has a different coaching philosophy to theirs. He finished top four in his last full season so have some faith. We won 29 games in two years. Don’t let three games overshadow that. We’ve always had losing streaks in us.

Stop shifty the posts mate. We have been shit this year, why are you sugar coating it?

Tep wouldn’t do anything without consulting the coaching staff. This isn’t a park footy team, despite playing like one, these are professional athletes we’re talking about.

Stop shifty the posts mate. We have been shit this year, why are you sugar coating it?

Tep wouldn’t do anything without consulting the coaching staff. This isn’t a park footy team, despite playing like one, these are professional athletes we’re talking about.
This is what Pou does. He loves to defend plodders because he is one himself.